Berlinale: Juries

Juries 2005

International Jury

Roland Emmerich

Roland Emmerich (Germany)

The career of this successful German director began with his graduation film The Noah’s Ark Principle at the Munich Graduate School of Film and Television. The film was shown in the 1984 Berlinale Competition and awakened worldwide interest. Hollywood discovered his talent and in 1992 Emmerich began his US career with Universal Soldier. This was followed by Oscar-winning Independence Day, Godzilla and The Patriot. In 2004 Emmerich made a highly topical contribution to the discussion on catastrophic climate changes with The Day After Tomorrow.

Wouter Barendrecht

Wouter Barendrecht (Netherlands)

The Dutch producer and co-chairman of the international distributing company fortissimo films is an leading expert on world cinema. Besides his advisory role for numerous festivals he has also headed the Hong Kong Asian Film Financing Forum. His most important productions include The Goddess of 1967, Party Monster, Bear’s Kiss as well as Peter Greenaway‘s trilogy The Tulse Luper Suitcases.

Nino Cerruti

Nino Cerruti (Italy)

Nino Cerruti is in demand, not only in Paris and Milan but in Hollywood as well. For decades the world-famous fashion designer and founder of the "Cerruti 1881" fashion label has designed clothes for stars in their films. For instance, Anita Ekberg (La dolce vita), Harrison Ford (Air Force One) and Tom Cruise (Eyes Wide Shut) all wore Cerruti creations. He also designed outfits for Robert Altman’s fashion satire Prêt-à-Porter.

Ingeborga Dapkunaite

Ingeborga Dapkunaite (Lithuania)

The actress Ingeborga Dapkunaite has received numerous awards for her work in a great variety of film genres. She appeared, for instance, in Nikita Michalkov’s Oscar-winning drama Burnt by the Sun (1994) and became known to international audiences with her roles in Mission Impossible (1996) and Seven Years in Tibet (1997). She appeared in 25 dégrés en hiver in the Berlinale Competition 2004.

Andrei Kurkov

Andrei Kurkov (Ukraine)

The renowned Ukranian screenwriter, cinematographer and writer is seen as one of the most exciting discoveries in the international literary scene. His prize-winning novel “Picknik on the Ice”, about changing society in post-Soviet Russia, was translated into 22 languages. Andrei Kurkov has written over 20 screenplays including A Friend of the Deceased which was nominated in 1997 for the European Film Award.

Bai Ling

Bai Ling (People's Republic of China)

People Magazine elected the Chinese actress, who lives in the USA, one of the ’50 most beautiful people in the world‘. Her breakthrough Red Corner was followed by Hollywood films such as Wild Wild West, Anna and the King, Sky Captain and the world of Tomorrow and the Berlinale entry Beautiful Country. This year’s Panorama film Dumplings won her the “Golden Horse Award”, the Chinese Oscar, for best supporting actress.

Franka Potente

Franka Potente (Germany)

Franka Potente attracted international attention with her top-form acting and running talents displayed in Tom Tykwer’s Run, Lola, Run (1998). The up-and-coming German star was soon in demand in Hollywood. Her roles included playing alongside Matt Damon in The Bourne Identity (2001) and its sequel The Bourne Supremacy three years later. Franka Potente appeared next in Che, directed by Steven Soderbergh.

International Short Film Jury

Susan Korda (USA)

Susan Korda is active as cutter, screenwriter and director. In 1990 she received an Oscar nomination for editing the documentary film For all Mankind. In 1999 she presented her documentary One of Us at the Forum. Susan Korda lectures at schools including the New York Tisch School of the Arts and at the International Film School, Cologne.

Marten Rabarts (New Zealand)

For many years Marten Rabarts worked as a producer and screenwriter for the cinema and television. In 2001 he became head of studies at Amsterdam’s Maurits Binger Film Institute. It was in this position that Rabarts made a decisive contribution towards realizing the film series Project 10 - Real Stories from a Free South Africa, premiered at the 2004 Forum.

Gabriela Tagliavini (Argentina)

Director and screenwriter Gabriela Tagliavini was born in Argentina. She celebrated one of the greatest cinema successes in Mexican film history with her feature Ladies Night (2003). Gabriela Tagliavini has also made short films and directed TV productions. She also gained recognition as a writer with her novel “Los colores de la memoria” (“The Colors of Memory”).

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the festival director.

Children's Jury

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Kinderfilmfest competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

Youth Jury

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the festival director.

International Jury Kinderfilmfest

The International Jury of the Kinderfilmfest awards the Grand Prix of the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation) worth 7,500 Euros, to the Best Feature Film. The charity's special prize, which has a value of 2,500 Euros, is awarded to the Best Short Film.

Members of the International Jury of the 28th Kinderfilmfest are: Gunvor Bjerre, Dieter Bongartz, Sayoko Kinoshita, Dominique Standaert, Ntshavheni Wa Luruli.