Berlinale: Press Releases

Press Releases 2002

Additional Information

Feb 15, 2002:
Awards of the Independent Juries: Saturday 16 February 2002

The following independent juries will award their prizes in the presence of Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick and Secretary of State Ms Monika Beck (the official federal representative of Saarland). The Ceremony will take place on Saturday 16 February at 3:00pm in the Saarland State Offices (Ministergärten 4, 10117 Berlin):


The Fédération Internationale de la Presse Cinématographique, the International Film Critics Association, awards its prize to films screened in the Official Program (the Competition and Panorama) and Forum. One prize is awarded in each Section.

Ecumenical Jury

Since 1992, the Protestant and Catholic Churches' international film organizations, INTERFILM and SIGNIS, have been represented by the Ecumenical Jury which has ten members. The jury awards its main prize to a film entered in the Competition and two further prizes, with purses of 2,500 EUR each, to a film from Panorama and Forum respectively. The prizes go to filmmakers who either display true artistic talent in portraying human behavior in accordance with the teachings of the Gospels or who make their audiences aware of other spiritual, human or social values.

LVT - Manfred Salzgeber Prize

This jury has three members and awards a prize dedicated to the former long-standing director of the Panorama, Manfred Salzgeber. The prize goes to an innovative feature film from the Official Program that has a distributor in no more than one European country. In addition, Laser Vidéo Titres (LVT) will subtitle the film in up to three different languages.

Guild Jury

The "Guild of German Art House Cinemas" Jury consists of five jurors who run movie houses and are members of the Guild. The jury awards its prize to a film screened in the Berlin International Film Festival Competition.

C.I.C.A.E. Juries

The Confédération Internationale des Cinémas d'Art et Essai Juries, the International Confederation of Art Cinemas, consists of one jury for Panorama, in the Official Program, and one for Forum. One award will be awarded in each Section.


The Jury of The Fédération Internationale des Cinés-clubs (Don Quixote Prize). Established in 1947, the FICC/IFFS is the international umbrella organization for film societies. Films awarded the Don Quixote Prize by the FICC Jury are then included in the "Film Distribution Network" catalogue. This network promotes the international distribution of prize-winning films.

Berliner Morgenpost Readers' Jury

The Jury consists of 25 Berliner Morgenpost readers. The prize is awarded to one feature film screened in the Competition.

Berliner Zeitung Readers' Jury

Berliner Zeitung Readers'Jury consists of ten members who award a prize to a film in Forum.


The Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC) is an alliance of festival organizers and film critics whose aim is to support Asian film. The Jury, consisting of three members, views and awards a prize to an Asian film in Forum.

Feb. 15, 2002