Berlinale: Press Releases

Press Releases 2010

Additional Information

Feb 20, 2010:
The audience celebrates the 60th Berlinale with an attendance record: Great Birthday Party With Many Guests

Today, Saturday, February 20, the 60th Berlin International Film Festival comes to a glamorous close with the award ceremony. 1600 guests are expected at the gala in the Berlinale Palast, where from 7.00 pm onwards the winners of the Golden Bear and the Silver Bears, the Alfred Bauer Prize, and the Best First Feature Award will be announced. This year's Berlinale's closing film will be Otouto, which will be presented by director Yoji Yamada together with actress Sayuri Yoshinaga. The Japanese director Yoji Yamada will be awarded the Berlinale Camera during the gala. Berlinale Director Dieter Kosslick and the International Jury with jury president Werner Herzog will present the awards; Anke Engelke will host the ceremony. The ceremony will be transmitted live on 3sat from 6.55 pm.

Further guests at the gala include Natalia Avelon, Marie Bäumer, Wolfgang Becker, Bibiana Beglau, Hark Bohm, Artur Brauner, Ingrid Caven, Pepe Danquart, August Diehl, Andreas Dresen, Florian Gallenberger, Bruno Ganz, Martina Gedeck, Matthias Glasner, Vadim Glowna, Michael Gwisdek, Fritzi Haberlandt, Thomas Heinze, Karoline Herfurth, Hannah Herzsprung, Hannes Jaenicke, Burghart Klaußner, Herbert Knaup, Wolfgang Kohlhaase, Thomas Kretschmann, Gudrun Landgrebe, Dani Levy, Heike Makatsch, Misel Matiecevic, Eva Mattes, Ulrich Matthes, Ulrich Noethen, Nina Petri, Christian Petzold, Oskar Roehler, Armin Rohde, Marc Rothemund, Lars Rudolph, Otto Sander, Helma Sanders-Brahms, Katrin Saß, Helge Sasse, Tom Schilling, Christoph Schlingensief, Volker Schlöndorff, Rolf Schütte, Jessica Schwarz, Hanna Schygulla, Robert Stadlober, Lena Stolze, Barbara Sukowa, Anna Thalbach, Sabine Timoteo, Tom Tykwer, Idil Üner, Justus von Dohnányi, Wim Wenders, Hanns Zischler as well as the governing Mayor of Berlin, Klaus Wowereit. The members of the International Jury Francesca Comencini, Nuruddin Farah, Cornelia Froboess, José Maria Morales, Yu Nan and Renée Zellweger, together with their president Werner Herzog as well as the members of the jury for Best First Feature Award, Michael Verhoeven, Ben Foster and Lorna Tee, will also be present.

The audience has celebrated the 60th Berlinale with enthusiasm: as of this morning, almost 282,000 tickets have been sold. By the end of the festival a new attendance record of almost 300,000 visitors is expected.

Amongst the numerous stars and famous film artists were James Franco, Ewan McGregor, Pierce Brosnan, Shah Rukh Khan, Kajol, Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo, Ben Kingsley, Michelle Williams, Thomas Vinterberg, Zhang Yimou, Ben Stiller, Greta Gerwig, Rhys Ifans, Stellan Skarsgård, Gael García Bernal, Fernando Eimbcke, Nicole Holofcener, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Rebecca Hall, Rafi Pitts, Julianne Moore, Jasmila Zbanic, Oskar Roehler, Tobias Moretti, Martina Gedeck, Moritz Bleibtreu, Michael Winterbottom, Pernille Fischer Christensen, Gérard Depardieu, Isabelle Adjani, Yoji Yamada, Jackie Chan, Jürgen Vogel, Michael Gwisdek, Ingrid Caven, Sibel Kekilli, Riccardo Scarmarcio, Werner Schroeter, Helmut Berger, Wolfgang Kohlhaase, Hanna Schygulla, and many more.

Press Office

February 20, 2010