Berlinale: Press Releases

Press Releases 2010


Feb 20, 2010:
Berlinale 2010: Panorama Audience Award

The audience has decided: the Panorama Audience Award - organized by “radioeins” of rbb (Berlin-Brandenburg’s public radio and television station), Berlin’s city magazine “tip”, and the Berlinale’s Panorama section - goes to: Waste Land (Great Britain, Brasil 2010), directed by Lucy Walker, João Jardim and Karen Harley.

The official award ceremony will be held on the last day of the Festival, Sunday, February 21, 2010, at 5 pm in the CinemaxX 7 at Potsdamer Platz. Radioeins deputy-editor-in-chief Ilona Marenbach, tip editor-in-chief Heiko Zwirner, and Panorama director Wieland Speck will present the award designed by Berlin artist Christian Bilger. Radioeins film expert Knut Elstermann will host the presentation. Following the ceremony, the winner of this year’s Panorama Audience Award will be re-screened.

The Panorama Audience Award is presented since 1999. Moviegoers of the 60th Berlin International Film Festival were asked to cast their ballot cards or vote online for films shown in the Panorama section. More than 22.000 votes were cast and counted. This year the Panorama presented 54 productions, 20 of which screened in the Panorama Dokumente series. Especially the documentaries were extremely popular among the audience.

Winner of the Panorama Audience Award 2010:

Waste Land, Great Britain, Brasil 2010

Directed by Lucy Walker, João Jardim & Karen Harley

2nd place Panorama Audience Award 2010:

Budrus, USA 2009

Directed by Julia Bacha

3rd place Panorama Audience Award 2010:

Daniel Schmid – Le chat qui pense, Switzerland 2010

Directed by Pascal Hofmann, Benny Jaberg

For free photos and further information, contact:

Claudia Rische, Panorama Press Office, +49 (0)1520 / 9396294

Press Office

February 20, 2010