Berlinale: Press Releases

Press Releases 2010

Additional Information

Jan 26, 2010:
Jury for the Best First Feature

The Berlinale has been even more committed to supporting the next generation of film makers since 2006, when it introduced the Best First Feature Award. The award is endowed with 50,000 Euros, donated by the GWFF (Gesellschaft zur Wahrnehmung von Film- und Fernsehrecht), a society dedicated to safeguarding film and television rights. The prize money is to be split between the producer and the director of the winning film. Additionally, the director will be awarded with a high-quality viewfinder as both a useful instrument and memorable trophy.

Debut feature films from the sections Competition, Panorama, Generation Kplus and 14plus as well as debut films from the Forum will compete for the award. The winners will be announced at the official award ceremony in the Berlinale Palast on February 20.

A three-person jury will decide on the Best First Feature:

Michael Verhoeven (Germany) – head of the jury

Michael Verhoeven, one of the formative personalities in German film, presented his feature film debut The Dance of Death in 1967. In 1970 his anti-war film O.K. led to a scandal among the members of the Berlinale Competition jury. Verhoeven, who has his own production company, has made numerous highly regarded films about the German past including The White Rose (1982) and The Nasty Girl (1990).

Ben Foster (USA)

Ben Foster is one of the most versatile young actors of his generation. He has played a troubled teenager (Bang Bang Your Dead, Six Feet Under), a comic hero (X-Men: The Last Stand), a volatile cowboy (3:10 to Yuma) and received the 2006 Young Hollywood Award for his role in Nick Cassavetes' Alpha Dog. He was a guest at the 2009 Berlinale Competition with his lead role in the acclaimed drama The Messenger.

Lorna Tee (Malaysia)

The producer Lorna Tee is a well-known personality in the Asian film scene. In 2005 she managed the marketing and distribution at Focus Films Hong Kong. Today she is both general manager of the Hong Kong based Asian investment fund Irresistible Films and proprietor of her own film production company Paperheart (Malaysia). With Paperheart she produced Rain Dogs, At The End of Daybreak and My Daughter.

The following films have qualified for the Best First Feature Award:

Competition (3)

Rompecabezas (Puzzle) by Natalia Smirnoff, Argentina/France

Eu când vreau sa fluier, fluier (If I Want To Whistle, I Whistle) by Florin Serban, Romania/Sweden

Shahada by Burhan Qurbani, Germany

Panorama (9)

Besouro by João Daniel Tikhomiroff, Brazil

Bróder! (Broder!) by Jeferson De, Brazil

Die Fremde (When We Leave) by Feo Aladag, Germany

Due vite per caso (One life maybe two) by Alessandro Aronadio, Italy

El mal ajeno (For The Good Of The Others) by Oskar Santos, Spain

Propavshyi bez vesty (Missing Man) by Anna Fenchenko, Russian Federation

Open by Jake Yuzna, USA

Red Hill by Patrick Hughes, Australia

Veselchaki (Jolly Fellows) by Felix Mikhailov, Russian Federation

Forum (8)

Au revoir Taipei (Yi yè Tái bei) by Arvin Chen, Taiwan/USA/Germany

Eine flexible Frau (The Drifter) by Tatjana Turanskyj, Germany

El vuelco del cangrejo (Crab Trap) by Oscar Ruíz Navia, Colombia/France

Imani by Caroline Kamya, Uganda/Sweden

The Man Beyond the Bridge (Paltadacho Munis) by Laxmikant Shetgaonkar, India

One Day (You yī tian) by Hou Chi-Jan, Taiwan

Our Fantastic 21st Century (Neo-wa na-eui i-shib-il-seki) by Ryu Hyung-ki, Republic of Korea

Portrait of the Fighter as a Young Man (Portretul luptatorului la tinerete) by Constantin Popescu, Romania

Generation Kplus (2)

Knerten by Åsleik Engmark, Norway

Bestevenner (Rafiki) by Christian Lo, Norway

Generation 14plus (1 or 2)

Retratos en un mar de mentiras (Portraits In A Sea Of Lies) by Carlos Gaviria, Colombia

Sebbe** by Babak Najafi, Sweden

**The film denoted with ** is no longer qualified for candidacy if it wins an award at the Göteborg IFF (January 29 – February 8, 2010).

Press Office

January 26, 2010