Berlinale: Press Releases

Press Releases 2006


Dec 14, 2005:
TEDDY TWENTY TRIBUTE - Berlinale to celebrate the TEDDY with a programme of 36 films

Manfred Salzgeber, Wieland Speck (1987)

A very special award on the list of significant international film prizes is celebrating its 20th birthday: the TEDDY – the Queer Film Award at the Berlin International Film Festival

When the first TEDDY was awarded in 1987, there was not even a ceremony. Mini-sized teddy bears from a department store were placed in envelopes and sent to the then unknown directors Pedro Almodóvar in Spain and Gus Van Sant in the USA. Neither of them has forgotten this and they both remain loyal friends of the TEDDY. And this was the beginning of the success story of a film prize that, despite all initial homophobic accusations, has developed into one of the Berlinale’s largest events over the years.

The TEDDY evolved out of the meetings of festival-organisers from gay-lesbian film festivals worldwide who had been getting together in Berlin ever since the Berlinale’s Panorama section (first called the "Info-Schau") was founded in 1980. The goal of Manfred Salzgeber, then director of the Panorama, was to end the isolation of gay-lesbian cinema and give it a platform where it could not be overlooked by the film industry and the public. It was these ideas that Wieland Speck, who was Salzgeber’s right hand man from 1982 onwards and is today’s Panorama director, had in mind when establishing the TEDDY – Queer Film Award.

Since then films with gay, lesbian or transgender content have been integrated in all sections of the Berlinale. Every year, these 40 or so films compete for the three TEDDY statues. The international nine-member TEDDY Jury chooses the best short film, feature film and documentary. The cash prizes accompanying the awards are raised by the TEDDY e. V. staff, who work on a voluntary basis, and its supporters.

Past prize-winners include Derek Jarman, Rosa von Praunheim, Nan Goldin, Constantine Giannaris, Francois Ozon, Greta Schiller and Andrea Weiss, as well as Todd Haynes, Stanley Kwan, Heiner Carow, Lukas Moodysson, Tilda Swinton, Peggy Rajski, later Oscar-winners Rob Ebstein and Jeffrey Friedman.

Since 1997 the TEDDY is a bronze bear on top of a cobblestone, two symbols of Berlin, designed by world-famous cartoonist Ralf König.

To preside over the TEDDY Jury 2006, Noah Cowan, co-director of the Toronto International Film Festival, has been enlisted.

The Berlinale will celebrate this anniversary with a TRIBUTE programme of previous winners consisting of eight features and eight documentaries as well as all 20 TEDDY best short films. (A list of these films has been attached.)

The 20th TEDDY AWARD ceremony will be held on 17 February 2006. There will be a separate press release with further details on the TEDDY programme and the other jury members.

More information can be found at the TEDDY websites: and

Contact: Björn Pätz, Tel.: +49 (0)179 75 86 637


Feature Film TEDDY Award Winners:

Gouttes d'eau sur pierres brûlantes (Raining Drops On Burning Rocks) Dir: François Ozon, 2000

Fucking Åmål (Show Me Love) Dir: Lukas Moodysson, 1999

All Over Me Dir: Alex Sichel, 1997

Go Fish Dir: Rose Troche, 1994

Wittgenstein Dir: Derek Jarman, 1993

Poison Dir: Todd Haynes, 1991

Coming Out Dir: Heiner Carow, 1990

La ley del deseo (The Law Of Desire) Dir: Pedro Almodóvar, 1987

Documentary TEDDY Award Winners:

Trembling Before G-d Dir: Sandi Simcha DuBowski, 2001

Paragraph 175 Dir: Rob Epstein, Jeffrey Friedman, 2000

The Brandon Teena Story Dir: Susan Muska and Gréta Olafsdóttir, 1998

MURDER and murder Dir: Yvonne Rainer, 1997

The Celluloid Closet Dir: Rob Epstein, Jeffrey Friedman, 1996

Tongues Untied Dir: Marlon T. Riggs, 1990

Tiny & Ruby: Hell Divin' Women Dir: Greta Schiller and Andrea Weiss, 1989

Rights And Reactions: Lesbian & Gay Rights On Trial Dir: Phil Zwickler and Jane Lippman, 1988

Short Film TEDDY Award Winners:

The Intervention Dir: Jay Duplass, 2005

Con qué la lavaré? (With What Shall I Wash It?) Dir: Maria Trénor, 2004

Fremragende Timer (Precious Moments) Dir: Lars Krutzkoff and Jan Dalchow, 2003

Celebration Dir: Daniel Stedman, 2002

Erè mèla mèla Dir: Daniel Wiroth, 2001

Hartes Brot (Sticky Dough) Dir: Nathalie Percillier, 2000

Liu Awaiting Spring Dir: Andrew Soo, 1999

Peppermills Dir: Isabel Hegner, 1998

Heldinnen der Liebe (Heroines Of Love) Dir: Nathalie Percillier and Lily Besilly, 1997

Unbound Dir: Claudia Morgado Escanilla, 1996

Alkali, Iowa Dir: Mark Christopher, 1996

Trevor Dir: Peggy Rajski, 1995

Carmelita Tropicana: Your Kunst Is Your Waffen Dir: Ela Troyano, 1994

P(l)ain Truth Dir: Ilppo Pohjola, 1993

Caught Looking Dir: Constantine Giannaris, 1992

Relax Dir: Chris Newby, 1991

Trojans Dir: Constantine Giannaris, 1990

Looking For Langston Dir: Isaac Julien, 1989

Alfalfa Dir: Richard Kwietniowski, 1988

Five Ways To Kill Yourself Dir: Gus van Sant, 1987

My New Friend Dir: Gus van Sant, 1987

Press Office

14 December 2005