Berlinale: WCF ACP


WCF ACP

Application Deadlines

  • Production funding: after Berlinale 2021
  • Distribution funding: submission open only for films that will have their theatrical release in German cinemas in 2021

With support from the ACP (African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States), the World Cinema Fund (WCF) will launch a new programme in 2020, the WCF ACP.

We look forward to submissions from the Pacific, which until now has not been included in the WCF funding regions.

The WCF ACP provides an additional financing opportunity for projects from WCF and ACP regions. It will supplement financing for projects that have been recommended for funding by the WCF or WCF Africa jury. Thus, production funding granted to these projects can be doubled or even tripled.

For example: A project receives 40,000 Euros from WCF Africa. With the additional support from WCF ACP, the total amount can be increased to 120,000 Euros. The WCF/ WCF Africa jury is responsible for approving these additional funds .

Eligible for additional WCF ACP support are projects with a co-production structure that includes at least two co-producers from WCF ACP regions by the time of contracting.

Developing co-productions between German/ European producers and directors from WCF regions as well as within WCF regions has always been the goal of the WCF’s funding strategy. Support from WCF ACP puts this theory into practice as co-operations between countries of one or multiple WCF regions will be a deciding factor for the realisation of the film projects.

The WCF is happy to help motivate this type of collaboration and excited to play a part in strengthening and supporting the film industries of the regions in question towards independence .

In Africa, for example, many films are already made by passionate African producers and filmmakers collaborating across borders. The WCF ACP programme enables us to offer a solid foundation for the existing, but often precarious, structures.

It is the WCF’s aim for more films to be realised through collaborations that don’t necessarily include a European producer but are co-produced instead between and across the African, Caribbean and Pacific regions.

THE FACTS

Feature films and creative feature-length documentaries from eligible WCF regions and countries are entitled for submission.

Companies from the ACP regions can apply if, at the time of application, they can prove they are collaborating with a director from the same region, and by the time of contracting will be co-producing with a production company from the ACP regions.

Please note that films with ACP funds can be supported with up to 200,000 Euros. However, this will only take effect if other ACP funding institutions outside of the Berlinale WCF (for example CNC and OIF ) are supporting the same project.

The WCF will contract with German co-producers and production companies from the ACP or other regions who can prove a co-production with the applicant.

To receive production support from the WCF it is necessary that the respective film’s script must be production ready, there should be financing in place and principal photography must begin, at the latest, within nine months of the funding submission deadline.

The complementary programme WCF ACP EU Culture is funded with the financial contribution of the European Union and the support of the Secretariat of the ACP Group of States

Contact

Head of the WCF
Vincenzo Bugno

Assistance Project Management
Isona Admetlla

Coordination Funded Projects
Antje Glawe

Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin
phone +49 30 25920-516
fax +49 30 25920-529

Berlinale: WCF ACP


WCF ACP

Einreichtermine:

  • Produktionsförderung: nach der Berlinale 2021
  • Verleihförderung: offene Einreichung nur für Filme, die 2021 ihren Kinostart in Deutschland haben werden

Mit Unterstützung der ACP (African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States) lanciert der WCF 2020 das neue Förderprogramm WCF ACP.

Der WCF begrüßt die baldige Einreichung von Projekten aus der Pazifischen Region, die bislang nicht Teil der WCF-Förderinitiative war.

WCF ACP ist eine besondere Gelegenheit, die Finanzierung und Umsetzung von Projekten aus WCF- und ACP-Regionen zusätzlich zu optimieren. Bei dem Programm handelt sich um eine ergänzende Finanzierung von Projekten, die im Rahmen einer Jury-Sitzung für WCF- bzw. WCF Africa Fördermaßnahmen empfohlen werden. Mit WCF ACP können die Beträge, die für die Finanzierung geförderter Projekte bereitgestellt werden, verdoppelt oder sogar verdreifacht werden.

Ein Beispiel: Ein Projekt wird durch WCF Africa mit 40.000 Euro gefördert. Mit der zusätzlichen Unterstützung von WCF ACP kann dieser Betrag auf bis zu 120.000 Euro erhöht werden. Auch über die Höhe der Förderergänzung entscheidet die WCF-/WCF Africa-Jury.

Förderberechtigt für das WCF ACP-Programm sind alle Projekte, deren Koproduktionsstruktur bei Vertragsabschluss zumindest zwei Produzent*innen aus WCF ACP-Regionen einschließt.

Die Entwicklung von Kooperationen zwischen deutschen/ europäischen Produzent*innen und Regisseur*innen aus WCF-Regionen, ebenso wie der Ausbau von Strukturen innerhalb der WCF-Regionen, war schon immer Ziel der WCF-Strategie. Mit der WCF ACP-Unterstützung wird aus der Theorie konkrete Praxis, indem die Kooperationen zwischen Ländern einer oder mehrerer WCF-Regionen eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Realisierung der Filmprojekte spielen werden.

Der WCF freut sich, mit dem WCF ACP-Programm einen weiteren Anreiz für Kooperationen bieten zu können. So soll die Eigenständigkeit der Filmindustrien innerhalb der WCF-Regionen gestärkt werden. In Afrika etwa sollen bereits existierende Koproduktionsstrukturen zwischen engagierten Regisseur*innen und Produzent*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern weiter ausgebaut werden. Das WCF ACP-Programm ermöglicht es dem WCF, diesen vorhandenen aber oft prekären Strukturen eine solide Basis zu geben.

Der WCF wünscht sich mehr Filme, die nicht nur in Kooperation mit europäischen Produzent*innen realisiert werden, sondern die auch durch Kollaborationen zwischen afrikanischen, karibischen und Ländern in der pazifischen Region entstehen.

FAKTEN

Zur Einreichung berechtigt sind Spielfilme und kreative Dokumentarfilme in Spielfilmlänge aus den WCF- förderfähigen Regionen und Ländern.

Projekte einreichen können Produktionsfirmen aus den ACP-Regionen , die zum Zeitpunkt der Einreichung die Zusammenarbeit mit einer/m Regisseur*in aus ihrer Region und zum Zeitpunkt des Vertragsabschlusses eine Koproduktion mit einer Produktionsfirma aus den ACP-Regionen nachweisen können.

Einzelne Filme können durch ACP-Mittel sogar mit bis zu 200.000 Euro unterstützt werden. Jedoch nur, wenn andere Institutionen neben dem WCF, die über ACP-Mittel verfügen (z.B. CNC und OIF), das gleiche Projekt unterstützen.

WCF-Vertragspartner*innen sind deutsche Koproduzent*innen oder Produktionsfirmen aus den ACP-Regionen oder aus anderen Gebieten, die eine Koproduktion mit dem/ der Antragsteller*in nachweisen können.

Damit der WCF die Produktion eines eingereichten Films unterstützt, muss das Drehbuch fertig gestellt sein und es sollte bereits eine Finanzierung vorhanden sein. Die Dreharbeiten sollten spätestens neun Monate nach Ablauf der Einreichfrist beginnen.

The complementary programme WCF ACP EU Culture is funded with the financial contribution of the European Union and the support of the Secretariat of the ACP Group of States

Kontakt

Leiter des WCF
Vincenzo Bugno

Fund-Koordination
Isona Admetlla

Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin
Tel. +49 30 25920-516
Fax +49 30 25920-529