Berlinale: Programme


Back
Panorama Dokumente

Ex Pajé

Ex Shaman

Ever since their first contact with the Western world in 1969 the Paiter Suruí, an indigenous people living in the Amazon basin, have been exposed to sweeping social changes. Smartphones, gas, electricity, medicines, weapons and social media have now replaced their traditional way of life. Illness is a risk for a community increasingly unable to isolate itself from the modernisations brought by white people or the power of the church. Ethnocide threatens to destroy their soul. With dogged persistence, Perpera, a Christianised former shaman, is searching for a way to restore the old vitality to his village.
Luiz Bolognesi’s film sensitively documents how western technology and church-based prayer are subsuming the lives of a people whose world was previously shaped by hunting, harvest and community meals. Unfolding in densely atmospheric images, this film reveals their deep connection to the unpredictable rain forest, from which Perpera draws the strength he needs to resist the encroaching eradication of their cultural identity. His unwavering trust in the supernatural allows him to wander between quiet submission and targeted protection of the existential values that characterise the Paiter Suruí.

by
Luiz Bolognesi

Brazil 2018

Tupi, Portuguese

Documentary form
81 min · Colour

World premiere

With

Perpera Suruí
Kabena Cinta Larga
Agamenon Suruí
Kennedy Suruí
Ubiratan Suruí
Mopidmore Suruí
Arildo Gapamé Suruí

Crew

Written and directed by
Luiz Bolognesi
Director of Photography
Pedro J. Márquez
Editing
Ricardo Farias
Sound
Rodrigo Macedo
Sound Design
Armando Torres Jr. ABC, Caio Guerrin, Manon Ribat
Assistant Director
Carolina Fernandes
Production Manager
Flávia Tonalezi
Producers
Fabiano Gullane, Caio Gullane, Luiz Bolognesi, Laís Bodanzky

Biography

Luiz Bolognesi

Born in São Paulo, Brazil in 1966, he made his directing debut with the animated film Uma História de Amor e Fúria which won the Cristal du long métrage at the 2013 Annecy International Animated Film Festival. Ex Pajé is his second feature film. He is also an award-winning screenwriter whose work includes the script for Como Nossos Pais which screened in the 2017 Berlinale Panorama.

Filmography

2013 Uma História de Amor e Fúria (A Story of Love and Fury) 2018 Ex Pajé (Ex Shaman)

Produced by

Gullane
São Paulo, Brazil
+55 11 50840996

www.gullane.com

Buriti Filmes
São Paulo, Brazil
+55 11 36240794

World sales

Upside Distribution
Puteaux, France
+33 1 58478861

Dates

  • 170275
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sat Feb 17 20:00
    CineStar 7 (E)
  • 180274
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sun Feb 18 14:30
    CineStar 7 (E)
  • 190873
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Mon Feb 19 17:30
    Cubix 7 (E)
  • 240274
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sat Feb 24 14:30
    CineStar 7 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS

Berlinale: Programm


Zurück
Panorama Dokumente

Ex Pajé

Ex Shaman

Seit ihrem ersten Kontakt mit der westlichen Welt im Jahr 1969 sind die im Amazonasbecken lebenden indigenen Paiter Suruí weitreichenden gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen ausgesetzt. Smartphones, Gas, Elektrizität, Medikamente, Waffen und soziale Medien ersetzen ihre traditionellen Lebensgewohnheiten. Krankheiten gefährden die Gemeinschaft, die sich immer weniger von der Modernisierung durch die Weißen und der Macht der Kirche abgrenzen kann. Ein Ethnozid droht ihre Seelen zu zerstören. Perpera, ein christianisierter ehemaliger Schamane, sucht mit selbstbestimmter Beharrlichkeit nach einem Weg, die ursprüngliche Vitalität seines Dorfes zu retten.
Einfühlsam dokumentiert Luiz Bolognesi, wie westliche Technologien und kirchliches Gebet den bisher von Jagd, Ernte und gemeinsamen Mahlzeiten geprägten Alltag der Bewohner vereinnahmen. In atmosphärisch dichten Bildern wird dabei ihre tiefe Verbindung zur unberechenbaren Natur des Regenwaldes spürbar, aus der Perpera Kraft zum Widerstand gegen die drohende Verdrängung der kulturellen Identität gewinnt. Mit unbeirrtem Vertrauen ins Übernatürliche wird er zum Grenzgänger zwischen stiller Unterwerfung und gezielter Bewahrung existentieller Lebenswerte der Paiter Suruí.

von
Luiz Bolognesi

Brasilien 2018

Tupi, Portugiesisch

Dokumentarische Form
81 Min · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Perpera Suruí
Kabena Cinta Larga
Agamenon Suruí
Kennedy Suruí
Ubiratan Suruí
Mopidmore Suruí
Arildo Gapamé Suruí

Stab

Regie, Buch
Luiz Bolognesi
Kamera
Pedro J. Márquez
Montage
Ricardo Farias
Ton
Rodrigo Macedo
Sound Design
Armando Torres Jr. ABC, Caio Guerrin, Manon Ribat
Regieassistenz
Carolina Fernandes
Production Manager
Flávia Tonalezi
Produzenten
Fabiano Gullane, Caio Gullane, Luiz Bolognesi, Laís Bodanzky

Biografie

Luiz Bolognesi

Geboren 1966 in São Paulo. Seine erste Regiearbeit, der Animationsfilm Uma História de Amor e Fúria gewann 2013 den Cristal du long métrage des Filmfestivals Annecy. Ex Pajé ist sein zweiter Spielfilm. Bolognesi ist auch ein anerkannter Drehbuchautor und wurde auf diesem Gebiet ebenfalls bereits mit Preisen ausgezeichnet. Er schrieb das Drehbuch zu Como Nossos Pais, 2017 zu Gast im Panorama.

Filmografie

2013 Uma História de Amor e Fúria (A Story of Love and Fury) 2018 Ex Pajé (Ex Shaman)

Produktion

Gullane
São Paulo, Brasilien
+55 11 50840996

www.gullane.com

Buriti Filmes
São Paulo, Brasilien
+55 11 36240794

Weltvertrieb

Upside Distribution
Puteaux, Frankreich
+33 1 58478861

Termine

  • 170275
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Sa 17.02. 20:00
    CineStar 7 (E)
  • 180274
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    So 18.02. 14:30
    CineStar 7 (E)
  • 190873
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Mo 19.02. 17:30
    Cubix 7 (E)
  • 240274
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Sa 24.02. 14:30
    CineStar 7 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS