Berlinale: Programme


Back
Berlinale Shorts

Terremoto Santo

Holy Tremor

Heiliges Beben

Brazil. Historically Pernambuco state in the country’s northeast was characterised agriculturally by the sugarcane industry. Today there is a new sector in the economy: various evangelical Christian groups are on the rise. The mantra of the evangelicals, who have gained an ever-increasing influence in Brazilian society over the past years, is the attainment of improvements in one’s personal and economic situations through adherence to an extreme religious practice. In Brazil the evangelicals have established themselves as a growing political power over the past years. They control segments of the media and preach hate and intolerance towards homosexuality and other creeds.
Terremoto Santo focuses on a young generation of priests, producers and singers who hail from a rural area and make gospel music. In a similar fashion to their film on the pop music genre Tecnobrega (Estás Vendo Coisas, Berlinale Shorts) or German Schlager music, Wagner/de Burca take into account the environment of the protagonists in order to make ethics, morality and life visible in an aesthetic agglomeration.

by
Bárbara Wagner
Benjamin de Burca

Brazil 2017

Portuguese

Documentary form
20 min · Colour

With

Ana Cléa Gomes
Tacy Silva
Berg Simplicio
Joalysson Anderson
Caique Alves
Jeiziane Maria
Luiz Fernando Gomes
Alyne Azevedo
Ozeias Souza
Tanya Marques
Filipe Moura

Crew

Directors
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca
Director of Photography
Pedro Sotero
Editing
Eduardo Serrano
Music
Carlos Sá
Sound Design
Nicolau Domingues
Sound Mixer
Nicolau Domingues
Producer
Cecilia Da Fonte

Biography

Bárbara Wagner

Born in Brasilia, Brazil in 1980, she graduated from the Dutch Art Institute in Arnhem in 2012. Her photographic work focuses on the ‘popular body’ and on how ordinary people present their bodies to a supposedly interested public. Her work has been exhibited around the world, is held in international collections and has been published in monographs. Since 2011 she has been collaborating with Benjamin de Burca. Their work has featured at festivals and in exhibitions including at VideoBrasil, the Panorama de Arte Brasileira and the Biennale, all in São Paulo, and at the 2017 Skulptur Projekte Münster.

Filmography (short films, co-director B. de Burca)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things); Berlinale Shorts · Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Liebesmelodie (Bye Bye Germany! A Life Melody) 2018 Terremoto Santo (Holy Tremor)

Benjamin de Burca

Born in Munich, Germany in 1975, he studied fine art at the Glasgow School of Art and the University of Ulster. Between 2000 and 2006 he worked as an artist with young people involved in gangs in Glasgow and Belfast. From 2006 to 2008 he was co-director of the Catalyst Arts centre in Belfast. His artistic practice encompasses painting, collage, photography, film, video and installation. Since 2011 he has collaborated with Bárbara Wagner and their work has been frequently exhibited internationally. Now based in Recife, Brazil, their collaborative film Estás vendo coisas screened in the 2017 Berlinale Shorts.

Filmography (short films, co-director: B. Wagner)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things); Berlinale Shorts · Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Lebensmelodie (Bye Bye Germany! A Life Melody) · Terremoto Santo (Holy Tremor)

Produced by

Bárbara Wagner & Benjamin de Burca
Recife, Brazil

Dates

Berlinale Shorts II: Inside the circle or lightning from outer space

Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off); Babylon; Terremoto Santo; Circle; Solar Walk

  • 170061
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sat Feb 17 16:00
    CinemaxX 5 (E)
  • 190041
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Mon Feb 19 21:30
    CinemaxX 3 (E)
  • 200371
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Tue Feb 20 17:30
    Colosseum 1 (E)
  • 220062
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Thu Feb 22 16:00
    CinemaxX 5 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS

Berlinale: Programm


Zurück
Berlinale Shorts

Terremoto Santo

Holy Tremor

Heiliges Beben

Brasilien. Historisch wurde der Bundesstaat Pernambuco im Nordosten Brasiliens landwirtschaftlich von der Zuckerrohrindustrie geprägt. Heute gibt es einen neuen Wirtschaftszweig: Verschiedene evangelikale Strömungen machen sich breit. Das Mantra der Evangelikalen, die in den letzten Jahren in Brasilien immer stärkeren gesellschaftlichen Einfluss gewonnen haben, ist es, durch eine extreme religiöse Praxis persönliche und wirtschaftliche Verbesserungen zu erfahren. In Brasilien haben sich die Evangelikalen in den letzten Jahren als eine immer größer werdende politische Macht etabliert. Sie kontrollieren Teile der Medien und hetzen in ihren Predigten gegen Homosexualität und Andersgläubige.
Terremoto Santo konzentriert sich auf eine junge Generation von Priestern, Komponisten, Produzenten und Sängern, die aus der ländlichen Gegend kommen und Gospelmusik produzieren. Analog zu ihrem Film über den Tecnobrega (Estás Vendo Coisas, Berlinale Shorts) oder die deutschen Schlager, berücksichtigen Wagner/de Burca das Umfeld der Protagonisten, um so in einer ästhetischen Verdichtung Ethik, Moral und Leben sichtbar zu machen.
Maike Mia Höhne

von
Bárbara Wagner
Benjamin de Burca

Brasilien 2017

Portugiesisch

Dokumentarische Form
20 Min · Farbe

Mit

Ana Cléa Gomes
Tacy Silva
Berg Simplicio
Joalysson Anderson
Caique Alves
Jeiziane Maria
Luiz Fernando Gomes
Alyne Azevedo
Ozeias Souza
Tanya Marques
Filipe Moura

Stab

Regie
Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin de Burca
Kamera
Pedro Sotero
Montage
Eduardo Serrano
Musik
Carlos Sá
Sound Design
Nicolau Domingues
Mischung
Nicolau Domingues
Produzentin
Cecilia Da Fonte

Biografie

Bárbara Wagner

Geboren 1980 in Brasília. 2012 Abschluss des Kunststudiums am Dutch Art Institute im niederländischen Arnhem. In ihrem fotografischen Werk beschäftigt sich Wagner damit, wie gewöhnliche Menschen ihren Körper einer vermeintlich interessierten Öffentlichkeit präsentieren. Die Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt, in Sammlungen aufgenommen und in Monografien veröffentlicht. Seit 2011 Zusammenarbeit mit Benjamin de Burca. Mehrere gemeinsame Teilnahmen bei Festivals und Ausstellungen, unter anderem bei VideoBrasil und Panorama de Arte Brasileira, beide São Paulo, auf der Biennale von São Paulo und bei den Skulptur-Projekten Münster 2017.

Filmografie (Kurzfilme, Co-Regie: B. de Burca)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things); Berlinale Shorts · Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Liebesmelodie (Bye Bye Germany! A Life Melody) 2018 Terremoto Santo (Holy Tremor)

Benjamin de Burca

Geboren 1975 in München. Studium der Malerei an der Glasgow School of Art und der University of Ulster. Zwischen 2000 und 2006 künstlerische Beschäftigung mit Jugend- und Gang-Kultur in Glasgow und Belfast. 2006 bis 2008 Co-Direktor des Kulturzentrums Catalyst Arts in Belfast. Seine künstlerische Praxis reicht von Malerei, Collage und Fotografie über Film, Video und Installation. Seit 2011 Zusammenarbeit mit Bárbara Wagner, mit der er mehrfach international ausgestellt hat. 2017 waren die in Recife, Brasilien, lebenden Filmemacher mit Estás vendo coisas im Programm der Berlinale Shorts vertreten.

Filmografie (Kurzfilme, Co-Regie: B. Wagner)

2013 Cinema Casino 2014 Desenho Canteiro (Plan Plat) 2015 Faz que vai (Set to go) 2017 Estás vendo coisas (You are seeing things); Berlinale Shorts · Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Lebensmelodie (Bye Bye Germany! A Life Melody) · Terremoto Santo (Holy Tremor)

Produktion

Bárbara Wagner & Benjamin de Burca
Recife, Brasilien

Termine

Berlinale Shorts II: Im Kreis oder Blitze aus dem All

Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off); Babylon; Terremoto Santo; Circle; Solar Walk

  • 170061
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Sa 17.02. 16:00
    CinemaxX 5 (E)
  • 190041
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Mo 19.02. 21:30
    CinemaxX 3 (E)
  • 200371
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Di 20.02. 17:30
    Colosseum 1 (E)
  • 220062
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Do 22.02. 16:00
    CinemaxX 5 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS