Berlinale: Programme


Back
Berlinale Shorts

Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off)

Located in the southwestern United States and featuring extensive growing areas for fruit and vegetables, Imperial Valley stretches out for 80 kilometres, right up to the Mexican border. In the north, it borders on Salton Sea, a man-made lake created in the early 19th century. The agricultural exploitation and settlement of the valley can only be sustained through artificial irrigation. The run-off water and fertilizer involved in that process are channelled unfiltered into the lake, which lacks a natural drainage system. In the 1940s the US military used the region to conduct bomb tests and in the 50s it was opened to tourism and touted as the Californian Riviera. With the continuing aridification of the area and the stirring up of toxic dust particles Salton Sea is becoming a threat to humans and the environment at large – an ecological and economic disaster.
The camera-laden drone rises into the air, where it follows the artificial waterway. Underscored by electronic film music, the images of monocultures look like abstract paintings. Still, again and again the viewer is reminded of the function of the geometric forms and figures. An urge to grasp what will remain takes root.

by
Lukas Marxt

Germany / Austria 2018

Without dialogue

14 min · Colour

World premiere

Crew

Written and directed by
Lukas Marxt
Director of Photography
Lukas Marxt
Editing
Lukas Marxt
Editing Advisor
Vanja Smiljanić
Sound Design
Jung An Tagen

Biography

Lukas Marxt

Born in the Steiermark region of Austria in 1983, he studied geography and environmental system sciences in Graz until 2004. He then switched to audiovisual design at the University of Art and Design Linz. From 2007 to 2008 he studied art and multimedia at the Faculdade de Belas-Artes in Lisbon, Portugal. In 2009 he took up a postgraduate degree at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne and a masters at the Academy of Fine Arts (HGB) in Leipzig. Following the short film Fishing is not done on Tuesdays, co-directed with Marcel Odenbach, this marks the second outing for their collaborative work in competition in the Berlinale Shorts. He lives and works in Cologne and Vienna.

Filmography

2012 Nella Fantasia 2013 Reign of Silence; short film · It seems to be loneliness but it is not; short film · Two Skies; short film 2014 Low Tide; short film · High Tide; short film · Double Dawn; short film · Black Rain White Scars; short film 2015 Captive Horizon; short film · Wunderschön und ruhig gelegen; short film 2016 Cape Ground; short film · Circular Inscription; short film 2017 Fishing is Not Done On Tuesdays; Berlinale Shorts, Co-Director: Marcel Odenbach · Shadowland; short film, Co-Director: Vanja Smiljanić 2018 Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off)

Produced by

Lukas Marxt
Köln, Germany
lukasmarxt.com

World sales

sixpackfilm
Wien, Austria
+43 1 5260990

www.sixpackfilm.com

Dates

Berlinale Shorts Go Kiez

Antigone; The Shadow of Utopia; Russa; Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off); Solar Walk

  • 221121
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Thu Feb 22 21:30
    Neues Off (E)
Berlinale Shorts II: Inside the circle or lightning from outer space

Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off); Babylon; Terremoto Santo; Circle; Solar Walk

  • 170061
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sat Feb 17 16:00
    CinemaxX 5 (E)
  • 190041
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Mon Feb 19 21:30
    CinemaxX 3 (E)
  • 200371
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Tue Feb 20 17:30
    Colosseum 1 (E)
  • 220062
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Thu Feb 22 16:00
    CinemaxX 5 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS

Berlinale: Programm


Zurück
Berlinale Shorts

Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off)

Das Imperial Valley mit großflächigen Anbaugebieten für Obst und Gemüse liegt im Südwesten der USA. Über 80 Kilometer erstreckt es sich bis an die Grenze zu Mexiko. Im Norden grenzt es an den zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts künstlich angelegten Saltonsee. Die Landwirtschaft und auch die Besiedlung des Tals können nur durch künstliche Bewässerung aufrechterhalten werden. Die beim Anbau anfallenden Abwässer und Düngemittel werden ungefiltert in den See geleitet, der über kein natürliches Abflusssystem verfügt. In den Vierzigerjahren wurde das Gebiet für Bombentests des US-Militärs genutzt, ab den Fünfzigern touristisch erschlossen und zur kalifornischen Riviera erklärt. Bei fortgesetzter Austrocknung der Region und der Freisetzung von toxischem Feinstaub wird der Saltonsee zur Gefahr für Mensch und Umwelt – eine ökologische und ökonomische Katastrophe.
Die Drohne mit der Kamera steigt in die Luft und folgt dem künstlichen Wasserlauf. Untermalt von elektronischer Filmmusik erscheinen die Bilder der Monokulturen wie abstrakte Malerei. Doch immer wieder wird der Zuschauer an die Funktion der geometrischen Formen und Figuren erinnert. Ein Ausloten beginnt: Was bleibt?
Maike Mia Höhne

von
Lukas Marxt

Deutschland / Österreich 2018

Ohne Dialog

14 Min · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie, Buch
Lukas Marxt
Kamera
Lukas Marxt
Montage
Lukas Marxt
Montageberatung
Vanja Smiljanić
Sound Design
Jung An Tagen

Biografie

Lukas Marxt

Geboren 1983 in der Steiermark. Bis 2004 studierte er Geografie und Umweltsystemwissenschaften in Graz und wechselte dann zum Studienzweig Audiovisuelle Gestaltung an die Kunstuniversität Linz. Von 2007 bis 2008 war er am Institut Arte Multimédia an der Kunsthochschule in Lissabon. 2009 folgten ein Aufbaustudium an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln und ein Meisterschülerstudium an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig. Marxt ist nach Fishing is not done on Tuesdays zusammen mit Marcel Odenbach zum zweiten Mal im Wettbewerb der Berlinale Shorts vertreten. Er lebt und arbeitet in Köln und Wien.

Filmografie

2012 Nella Fantasia 2013 Reign of Silence; Kurzfilm · It seems to be loneliness but it is not; Kurzfilm · Two Skies; Kurzfilm 2014 Low Tide; Kurzfilm · High Tide; Kurzfilm · Double Dawn; Kurzfilm · Black Rain White Scars; Kurzfilm 2015 Captive Horizon; Kurzfilm · Wunderschön und ruhig gelegen; Kurzfilm 2016 Cape Ground; Kurzfilm · Circular Inscription; Kurzfilm 2017 Fishing is Not Done On Tuesdays; Berlinale Shorts, Co-Regie: Marcel Odenbach · Shadowland; Kurzfilm, Co-Regie: Vanja Smiljanić 2018 Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off)

Produktion

Lukas Marxt
Köln, Deutschland
lukasmarxt.com

Weltvertrieb

sixpackfilm
Wien, Österreich
+43 1 5260990

www.sixpackfilm.com

Termine

Berlinale Shorts Go Kiez

Antigone; The Shadow of Utopia; Russa; Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off); Solar Walk

  • 221121
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Do 22.02. 21:30
    Neues Off (E)
Berlinale Shorts II: Im Kreis oder Blitze aus dem All

Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off); Babylon; Terremoto Santo; Circle; Solar Walk

  • 170061
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Sa 17.02. 16:00
    CinemaxX 5 (E)
  • 190041
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Mo 19.02. 21:30
    CinemaxX 3 (E)
  • 200371
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Di 20.02. 17:30
    Colosseum 1 (E)
  • 220062
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Do 22.02. 16:00
    CinemaxX 5 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS