Berlinale: Programme


Back
Berlinale Shorts Special Programme

Ja/Nein

Yes/No

Ja/Nein is part of the anthology ‘20 Action and Destruction Films 1965–1979’, which the filmmaker Ernst Schmidt Jr. describes thusly: ‘This anthology represents a self-contained work of 20 films with durations from one second to ten minutes and is based on experience gathered over 15 years of working with the medium of film. Films 15 to 19 are documentations of happenings staged by the Viennese actionists, including the sensational action at Vienna University in 1968, which led after weeks of demonization at the hands of the Austrian mass media to the arrest of “ringleaders” Brus, Muehl and Wiener, a subsequent trial and long prison sentences for Brus and Muehl as well as to the emigration of the Viennese actionists.’
The first part of the collection takes up practices from the realm of expanded cinema – featuring both real and projected curtains.

by
Ernst Schmidt jr.

Austria 1968

silent

3 min · Black/White · 16 mm

DCP: sixpackfilm, Wien

Crew

Director
Ernst Schmidt jr.

Biography

Ernst Schmidt jr.

Born in Hadersdorf am Kamp, Austria in 1938, he died in 1988 in Vienna. He trained as a clerk at a commercial college before, between 1961 and 1963, studying at the film school of the Academy of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna. He became an independent filmmaker in 1963 and by 1986 had made over 50 short films. As a result of his efforts to establish film groups he met Kurt Kren and Ferry Radax. From 1966 he wrote about film for periodicals in Germany, Austria and Switzerland and published numerous theoretical works on avantgarde film. He was a founding member of the Austrian Filmmakers Cooperative and a co-founder of both the Grazer Autorenversammlung (1973) and the Austrian Directors’ Association (1979). His extensive estate is managed and researched by the Synema Society for Film and Media in Vienna.

Filmography (selection)

1965 Bodybuilding; short film 1966 15. Mai 1966; short film · Miliz in der Früh; short film 1967 Rotweißrot; short film 1968 Kunst & Revolution; short film · Ja/Nein; short film · Prost; short film · Schnippschnapp; short film · Hell's Angels; short film · Denkakt; short film 1971 Filmisches Alphabet; short film 1977 The Merry Widow; short film · Mein Begräbnis ein Erlebnis; short film 1978 N; short film 1979 Gesammelt von Wendy; short film

Dates

1968 - Red Flags for Everyone

Antigone; Na und...?; I Ruhrområdet; Tapp und Tastkino; Fundevogel; Alaska; My Name is Oona; Rohfilm; Kunst & Revolution; Ja/Nein; Programmhinweise; Farbtest Rote Fahne

  • 170352
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sat Feb 17 21:30
    Kino Arsenal 1 (E)
  • 251551
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sun Feb 25 19:30
    Zoo Palast 2 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS

Berlinale: Programm


Zurück
Berlinale Shorts Sonderprogramm

Ja/Nein

Yes/No

Ja/Nein ist Teil der Anthologie „20 Aktions- und Destruktionsfilme 1965–1979“, die der Filmemacher Ernst Schmidt jr. wie folgt beschreibt: „Diese Anthologie bildet ein in sich geschlossenes Werk von 20 Filmen mit einer Spieldauer von 1 Sekunde bis 10 Minuten und basiert auf Erfahrungen aus 15 Jahren Arbeit mit dem Medium Film. Die Filme 15 bis 19 sind Dokumentationen von Happenings der Wiener Aktionisten, darunter die aufsehenerregende Aktion in der Wiener Universität 1968, die nach tage- und wochenlanger Hetze durch die österreichischen Massenmedien zur Verhaftung der ‚Rädelsführer‘ Brus, Muehl und Wiener, einem Prozess und langen Freiheitsstrafen für Brus und Muehl sowie zur Emigration der Wiener Aktionisten führte.“
Der erste Teil der Sammlung nimmt Praktiken des Expanded Cinema auf – mit realem und projiziertem Vorhang.

von
Ernst Schmidt jr.

Österreich 1968

stumm

3 Min · Schwarz-Weiß · 16 mm

DCP: sixpackfilm, Wien

Stab

Regie
Ernst Schmidt jr.

Biografie

Ernst Schmidt jr.

Geboren 1938 in Hadersdorf am Kamp, Österreich, gestorben 1988 in Wien. Ausbildung an der Handelsschule zum kaufmännischen Angestellten, bevor er von 1961 bis 1963 die Filmschule an der Akademie für Musik und darstellende Kunst besuchte. Seit 1963 als unabhängiger Filmemacher tätig, der bis 1986 mehr als 50 Kurzfilme drehte. Versuch der Bildung von Filmgruppen, dadurch Bekanntschaft mit Kurt Kren und Ferry Radax. Ab 1966 arbeitete er als Filmpublizist für Zeitschriften in Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz und veröffentlichte zahlreiche theoretische Werke zum Avantgardefilm. Er war Gründungsmitglied der Austria Filmmakers Cooperative, Mitbegründer der Grazer Autorenversammlung (1973) und Mitbegründer des Österreichischen Regieverbandes (1979). Schmidts umfangreicher Nachlass wird von der Gesellschaft für Film und Medien in Wien, Synema, verwaltet und wissenschaftlich aufgearbeitet.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1965 Bodybuilding; Kurzfilm 1966 15. Mai 1966; Kurzfilm · Miliz in der Früh; Kurzfilm 1967 Rotweißrot; Kurzfilm 1968 Kunst & Revolution; Kurzfilm · Ja/Nein; Kurzfilm · Prost; Kurzfilm · Schnippschnapp; Kurzfilm · Hell's Angels; Kurzfilm · Denkakt; Kurzfilm 1971 Filmisches Alphabet; Kurzfilm 1977 The Merry Widow; Kurzfilm · Mein Begräbnis ein Erlebnis; Kurzfilm 1978 N; Kurzfilm 1979 Gesammelt von Wendy; Kurzfilm

Termine

1968 - Rote Fahnen für alle

Antigone; Na und...?; I Ruhrområdet; Tapp und Tastkino; Fundevogel; Alaska; My Name is Oona; Rohfilm; Kunst & Revolution; Ja/Nein; Programmhinweise; Farbtest Rote Fahne

  • 170352
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Sa 17.02. 21:30
    Kino Arsenal 1 (E)
  • 251551
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    So 25.02. 19:30
    Zoo Palast 2 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS