Berlinale: Programme


Back
Berlinale Shorts Special Programme

Alaska

Memories of the bodies of others, a look at one’s own body: ‘A dream of myself, the consequences of the act with society’, as Dore O. described her film, which features a soundtrack composed of droning violin, blow dryer and assorted sounds taken from the ‘Concord Sonata’ by Charles Ives.
‘Dore O.’s Alaska is a beautiful film, which makes us suspicious of it. Alas, beauty has a catch. It is only the surface, behind which dread and fear are concealed. For Dore O. beauty is a part of reality. For her there exists a beauty of fear, as for Genet there exists a beauty of murder. Alaska is a filmed dream, one without crude metaphors borrowed from psychoanalysis that rationalise the dream and open it up to interpretation. Alaska is a film that resists all interpretation, insisting on being experienced instead.’ Klaus Bädekerl, Filmkritik 5/1969

Alaska was digitalised by ARRI based on and using the 16mm print from the archive of Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen. We would like to thank ARRI for their support.

by
Dore O.

Federal Republic of Germany 1968

Without dialogue

18 min · Colour & Black/White · 16 mm

Kopie: Deutsche Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen, Berlin

Crew

Director
Dore O.
Music
Dore O.
Producers
Werner Nekes, Hamburg, Dore O., Hamburg

Biography

Dore O.

Born in Mülheim an der Ruhr, Germany in 1946, she is a filmmaker, painter and photographer who studied design in Krefeld as well as painting in Hamburg and Perugia. She has been working in film since 1967 and is co-founder of the Hamburger Filmmacher Cooperative. Her films have screened at national and international festivals and her work has featured in retrospectives at numerous museums and cinematheques.

Filmography (selection short films)

1967 Jüm-Jüm; Co-Director: Werner Nekes 1968 Alaska 1969 Lawale 1972 Blonde Barberei 1974 Kaskara 1976 Frozen Flashes 1981 Beuys 1982 Stern des Mélies 1988 Blindman’s Ball

Dates

1968 - Red Flags for Everyone

Antigone; Na und...?; I Ruhrområdet; Tapp und Tastkino; Fundevogel; Alaska; My Name is Oona; Rohfilm; Kunst & Revolution; Ja/Nein; Programmhinweise; Farbtest Rote Fahne

  • 170352
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sat Feb 17 21:30
    Kino Arsenal 1 (E)
  • 251551
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sun Feb 25 19:30
    Zoo Palast 2 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS

Berlinale: Programm


Zurück
Berlinale Shorts Sonderprogramm

Alaska

Erinnerungen an die Körper der anderen, Blick auf den eigenen Körper: „Traum meiner selbst, Konsequenz aus dem Akt mit der Gesellschaft“, sagt Dore O. über ihren Film. Der Ton ist komponiert aus Geige, Haarfön und einigen Klängen aus der „Concord Sonata“ von Charles Ives.
Alaska von Dore O. ist ein schöner Film, dies macht ihn uns verdächtig. Doch die Schönheit hat einen Haken. Sie ist nur Oberfläche; dahinter verbergen sich Grauen und Angst. Für Dore O. ist Schönheit ein Teil der Realität. Es gibt für sie eine Schönheit der Angst, wie es für Genet eine Schönheit des Mordes gibt. Alaska ist ein gefilmter Traum, ohne die plumpen, der Psychoanalyse entnommenen Metaphern, die den Traum rationalisieren und interpretierbar machen. Alaska ist ein Film, der sich nicht interpretieren, sondern nur erleben läßt.“ Klaus Bädekerl, Filmkritik 5/1969

Alaska wurde von ARRI auf Grundlage der 16 mm-Kopie aus dem Archiv der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen digitalisiert. Wir danken ARRI für die Unterstützung.

von
Dore O.

Bundesrepublik Deutschland 1968

Ohne Dialog

18 Min · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß · 16 mm

Kopie: Deutsche Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen, Berlin

Stab

Regie
Dore O.
Musik
Dore O.
Produzenten
Werner Nekes, Hamburg, Dore O., Hamburg

Biografie

Dore O.

Geboren 1946 in Mülheim an der Ruhr. Die Filmemacherin, Malerin und Fotografin studierte Design an der Fachhochschule Krefeld sowie Malerei in Hamburg und Perugia. Seit 1967 arbeitet sie im Bereich Film. Sie ist Mitbegründerin der Hamburger Filmmacher Cooperative. Ihre Filme wurden auf nationalen und internationalen Festivals gezeigt. Retrospektiven ihrer Werke waren in zahlreichen Museen und Kinematheken zu sehen.

Filmografie (Auswahl Kurzfilme)

1967 Jüm-Jüm; Co-Regie: Werner Nekes 1968 Alaska 1969 Lawale 1972 Blonde Barberei 1974 Kaskara 1976 Frozen Flashes 1981 Beuys 1982 Stern des Mélies 1988 Blindman’s Ball

Termine

1968 - Rote Fahnen für alle

Antigone; Na und...?; I Ruhrområdet; Tapp und Tastkino; Fundevogel; Alaska; My Name is Oona; Rohfilm; Kunst & Revolution; Ja/Nein; Programmhinweise; Farbtest Rote Fahne

  • 170352
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Sa 17.02. 21:30
    Kino Arsenal 1 (E)
  • 251551
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    So 25.02. 19:30
    Zoo Palast 2 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS