Berlinale: Programme


Back
Berlinale Shorts Special Programme

I Ruhrområdet

In the Ruhr Region

Im Ruhrgebiet

I Ruhrområdet is one of the most revolting slices of German reality that I have seen on screen. The reality of the Ruhrgebiet, the reality of German communism, the reality of the filmmaker Nestler, who we all drove out of the country – German television, which took the possibility to work away from him, the board of trustees that refused to give him money, the critics, who devoted a few anxiously benevolent sentences to his work at best. I Ruhrområdet is the document of a terrible frustration, comparable only with Straub’s Not Reconciled. Nestler confronts the viewer with images from the Ruhr area. Images and voices that seem as if frozen. It is the panorama view of a defeat. They sit at tables with clean tablecloths and in front of consoles in white shirts and neckties and speak in ossified phrases about the struggle against the Kapp Putsch and fascism, sometimes there are two, sometimes three old men. Nestler doesn’t allow the viewer scorn or pity, only rage.’ Enno Patalas, 1968

by
Peter Nestler

Sweden 1967

German, Swedish

Documentary form
34 min · Black/White · 16 mm

DCP: Deutsche Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen, Berlin

Crew

Director
Peter Nestler

Biography

Peter Nestler

Born in Freiburg, Germany in 1937, he began working as a film and television actor in 1959 while still studying painting at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich. He made his directorial debut in 1962 with the documentary Am Siel, followed by the award-winning film Aufsätze in 1963. However, after his film Von Griechenland was condemned as ‘leftist’ in 1965, his work no longer received support from German broadcasters. In 1966 he emigrated to Sweden where, via his work on programmes for children and young people for Sveriges Radio, he regained a foothold in television. Since the 1980s he has also been receiving commissions from Germany once more.

Filmography (selection)

1961 Am Siel; short film 1963 Aufsätze 1965 Von Griechenland 1967 I Ruhrområdet (Im Ruhrgebiet); short film 1973 Spanien! 1990 Die Nordkalotte; documentary 1992 Zeit; documentary 1995 Pachama – Unsere Erde; documentary 2009 Tod und Teufel; documentary

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2018

Produced by

Sveriges Radio AB
Stockholm, Sweden

Dates

1968 - Red Flags for Everyone

Antigone; Na und...?; I Ruhrområdet; Tapp und Tastkino; Fundevogel; Alaska; My Name is Oona; Rohfilm; Kunst & Revolution; Ja/Nein; Programmhinweise; Farbtest Rote Fahne

  • 170352
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sat Feb 17 21:30
    Kino Arsenal 1 (E)
  • 251551
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sun Feb 25 19:30
    Zoo Palast 2 (E)
Restless

Russa; After/Life; I Ruhrområdet; Babylon; Coyote

  • 211561
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Wed Feb 21 14:30
    Zoo Palast 3 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS

Berlinale: Programm


Zurück
Berlinale Shorts Sonderprogramm

I Ruhrområdet

In the Ruhr Region

Im Ruhrgebiet

Im Ruhrgebiet ist eines der revoltierendsten Stücke deutscher Realität, die ich auf der Leinwand gesehen habe. Realität des Ruhrgebiets, Realität des deutschen Kommunismus, Realität des Filmemachers Nestler, den wir alle aus dem Land getrieben haben – das Deutsche Fernsehen, das ihm die Arbeitsmöglichkeit entzog, das Kuratorium, das ihm das Geld verweigerte, die Kritiker, die ihm bestenfalls ein paar bemüht wohlwollende Sätze widmeten. Im Ruhrgebiet ist das Dokument einer schrecklichen Frustration, vergleichbar nur mit Straubs Nicht versöhnt. Nestler konfrontiert den Zuschauer mit Bildern aus dem Ruhrgebiet. Bildern und Stimmen, die wie eingefroren wirken. Es ist das Panorama einer Niederlage. Sie sitzen an Tischen mit sauberen Decken und vor Konsolen in weißen Hemden mit Schlips und sprechen in erstarrten Wendungen vom Kampf gegen den Kapp-Putsch und den Faschismus, mal zwei, mal drei alte Männer. Nestler gestattet dem Zuschauer keinen Hohn und kein Mitleid, nur Zorn.“ Enno Patalas, 1968

von
Peter Nestler

Schweden 1967

Deutsch, Schwedisch

Dokumentarische Form
34 Min · Schwarz-Weiß · 16 mm

DCP: Deutsche Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen, Berlin

Stab

Regie
Peter Nestler

Biografie

Peter Nestler

Geboren 1937 in Freiburg. Neben dem Studium der Malerei an der Kunstakademie München wirkte er ab 1959 als Schauspieler in Kino- und Fernsehproduktionen mit. Sein Regiedebüt gab er mit der Dokumentation Am Siel (1962), gefolgt von dem preisgekrönten Film Aufsätze (1963). Nach der als linkslastig verurteilten Arbeit Von Griechenland (1965) wurden seine Projekte von deutschen Sendern nicht mehr unterstützt. 1966 emigrierte er nach Schweden, wo er über eine Tätigkeit für das Kinder- und Jugendprogramm von Sveriges Radio auch wieder im Fernsehen Fuß fasste. Ab den Achtzigerjahre bekam Nestler auch wieder Aufträge aus Deutschland.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1961 Am Siel; Kurzfilm 1963 Aufsätze 1965 Von Griechenland 1967 I Ruhrområdet (Im Ruhrgebiet); Kurzfilm 1973 Spanien! 1990 Die Nordkalotte; Dokumentarfilm 1992 Zeit; Dokumentarfilm 1995 Pachama – Unsere Erde; Dokumentarfilm 2009 Tod und Teufel; Dokumentarfilm

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2018

Produktion

Sveriges Radio AB
Stockholm, Schweden

Termine

1968 - Rote Fahnen für alle

Antigone; Na und...?; I Ruhrområdet; Tapp und Tastkino; Fundevogel; Alaska; My Name is Oona; Rohfilm; Kunst & Revolution; Ja/Nein; Programmhinweise; Farbtest Rote Fahne

  • 170352
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Sa 17.02. 21:30
    Kino Arsenal 1 (E)
  • 251551
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    So 25.02. 19:30
    Zoo Palast 2 (E)
Restless

Russa; After/Life; I Ruhrområdet; Babylon; Coyote

  • 211561
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Mi 21.02. 14:30
    Zoo Palast 3 (E)

Berlinale Apps

Android    iOS