Berlinale: Programme


Back
Forum

somniloquies

Songwriter Dion McGregor became famous in the 1960s for narrating his dreams in his sleep. His flatmate recorded him doing so.
In their new film somniloquies, Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Paravel overcome the boundaries between inner dreamscapes and human bodies. At the start, flowing forms can be seen and a gentle, undefinable sound made out in the background. McGregor's voice appears and makes an invitation: “I have expected you, come-on in, I said I would grant an interview”. The more we listen to him and enter into his dreamworld, the clearer the contours of the sleeping bodies become, before they seem to dissipate once again. The dreaming man speaks with people who are sawing open his body, removing his organs and stitching him back up. As we find out how painful he finds the stitches, we ask ourselves for how long we’ll want to follow the camera, which sometimes seems to caress the bodies tenderly, but at other times seeks to pierce them almost brutally, like an x-ray. Just in time, we hear his voice: "Let’s go to future land (…) it’s shining near the corner". In this case, sleeping in the cinema means pushing forward to its very limits.

by
Verena Paravel
Lucien Castaing-Taylor

France / Great Britain / USA 2017

English

73 min · Colour

Crew

Director
Verena Paravel, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
Director of Photography
Verena Paravel, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
Editor
Verena Paravel, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
Sound
Verena Paravel, Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Mike Barr
Sound Design
Gilles Bénardeau
Producers
Valentina Novati, Norte Productions, Verena Paravel, S.E.L
Producer
Lucien Castaing-Taylor, S.E.L

Biography

Verena Paravel

Born in 1971 in Neuchâtel, Switzerland. She studied Anthropology at the École Nationale Supérieure des Mines in Paris and at the University of Toulouse. Since 2008, she has worked with Lucien Castaing-Taylor at the Sensory Ethnography Lab at Harvard.

Filmography (selection)

2008 7 Queens; 21 min. 2010 With Such a Wistful Eye, Interface Series #1; 15 min., Video Installation · Presented with Severe Pain, Interface Series #5; 23 min., Video Installation · Foreign Parts; 82 min., co-directed by J.P. Sniadecki 2012 Leviathan; 87 min., co-directed by L. Castaing-Taylor, Berlinale Forum Expanded 2013 2016 Canst Thou Draw Out Leviathan with a Hook; Four-part project, co-directed by L. Castaing-Taylor 2017 somniloquies

Lucien Castaing-Taylor

Born in Liverpool in 1966. He studied Philosophy, Theology, and Anthropology. Castaing-Taylor is a filmmaker, anthropologist, and ethnographer who works as a professor of Visual Arts and Anthropology at Harvard University, where he is also the director of the Sensory Ethnography Lab.

Filmography

1990 Made in USA; co-directed by Ilisa Barbash 1993 In and out of Africa; 59 min., co-directed by Ilisa Barbash 2009 Sweetgrass; 101 min., co-directed by Ilisa Barbash, Berlinale Forum 2009 2012 Leviathan; 87 min., co-directed by Verena Paravel, Berlinale Forum Expanded 2016 Canst Thou Draw Out Leviathan with a Hook; Four-part project, co-directed by Verena Paravel 2017 somniloquies

Produced by

Norte Productions
Paris, France
+33 983840158

S.E.L
Paris, France

Dates

  • 121304
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sun Feb 12 19:00
    Akademie der Künste
  • 140353
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Tue Feb 14 12:30
    Kino Arsenal 1
  • 150322
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Wed Feb 15 16:30
    Delphi Filmpalast
  • 191553
    Code for ticket purchase at counter
    Sun Feb 19 12:00
    Zoo Palast 2

Berlinale: Programm


Zurück
Forum

somniloquies

Der Songwriter Dion McGregor wurde in den 1960er Jahren vor allem dadurch bekannt, dass er seine Träume im Schlaf erzählte. Sein Mitbewohner nahm sie auf.
Lucien Castaing-Taylor und Verena Paravel überwinden mit ihrem neuen Film somniloquies die Grenzen zwischen innerer Traumlandschaft und menschlichem Körper. Zu Beginn sind fließende Formen zu sehen, ein undefinierbares sanftes Geräusch im Hintergrund. McGregors Stimme tritt daraus hervor und lädt uns ein: “I have expected you, come-on in, I said I would grant an interview". Je mehr wir ihm zuhören und in seine Traumwelt eindringen, desto deutlicher werden die Konturen schlafender Körper, die sich immer wieder aufzulösen scheinen. Der Träumende spricht mit Personen, die seinen Körper aufsägen, Organe entnehmen, ihn wieder zunähen. Während wir erfahren, wie sehr ihn die Stiche schmerzen, kämpfen wir mit der Frage, wie weit wir der Kamera folgen wollen, die die Körper mal zärtlich abtastet und dann fast brutal mit Röntgenblick in sie einzudringen versucht. Noch rechtzeitig hören wir seine Stimme: "Let’s go to future land (…) it’s shining near the corner". Im Kino schlafen heißt in diesem Fall, es bis ins Äußerste zu durchdringen.

von
Verena Paravel
Lucien Castaing-Taylor

Frankreich / Großbritannien / USA 2017

Englisch

73 Min · Farbe

Stab

Regie
Verena Paravel, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
Kamera
Verena Paravel, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
Schnitt
Verena Paravel, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
Ton
Verena Paravel, Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Mike Barr
Sound Design
Gilles Bénardeau
Produzentinnen
Valentina Novati, Norte Productions, Verena Paravel, S.E.L
Produzent
Lucien Castaing-Taylor, S.E.L

Biografie

Verena Paravel

Geboren 1971 in Neuchâtel, Schweiz. Sie studierte an der École Nationale Supérieure des Mines in Paris und an der Universität Toulouse. Seit 2008 arbeitet sie gemeinsam mit Lucien Castaing-Taylor im Sensory Ethnography Lab in Harvard.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

2008 7 Queens; 21 Min. 2010 With Such a Wistful Eye, Interface Series #1; 15 Min., Videoinstallation · Presented with Severe Pain, Interface Series #5; 23 Min., Videoinstallation · Foreign Parts; 82 Min., Koregie: J.P. Sniadecki 2012 Leviathan; 87 Min., Koregie: L. Castaing-Taylor, Berlinale Forum Expanded 2013 2016 Canst Thou Draw Out Leviathan with a Hook; 4 Teile, Koregie: L. Castaing-Taylor 2017 somniloquies

Lucien Castaing-Taylor

Geboren 1966 in Liverpool, Großbritannien. Er studierte Philosophie, Theologie und Anthropologie. Castaing-Taylor arbeitet als Filmemacher, Anthropologe und Ethnograf und ist Professor für Visual Arts and Anthropology sowie Leiter des Sensory Ethnography Lab an der Harvard University.

Filmografie

1990 Made in USA; Koregie: Ilisa Barbash 1993 In and out of Africa; 59 Min., Koregie: Ilisa Barbash 2009 Sweetgrass; 101 Min., Koregie: Ilisa Barbash, Berlinale Forum 2009 2012 Leviathan; 87 Min., Koregie: Verena Paravel, Berlinale Forum Expanded 2016 Canst Thou Draw Out Leviathan with a Hook; 4 Teile, Koregie: Verena Paravel 2017 somniloquies

Produktion

Norte Productions
Paris, Frankreich
+33 983840158

S.E.L
Paris, Frankreich

Termine

  • 121304
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    So 12.02. 19:00
    Akademie der Künste
  • 140353
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Di 14.02. 12:30
    Kino Arsenal 1
  • 150322
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    Mi 15.02. 16:30
    Delphi Filmpalast
  • 191553
    Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
    So 19.02. 12:00
    Zoo Palast 2