The Shadow Play

Guangzhou in southern China is a city of modern buildings, luxury facades and endless chains of skyscrapers. And yet here of all places, people have to fight for their living space. While an excavator demolishes a kindergarten in the background, the city’s inhabitants engage in a brutal battle with a private security company to prevent the demolition of their old quarter. In the midst of this turmoil, Tang Yijie, director of the municipal building commission, falls from a roof and dies. A young police officer named Yang Jiadong takes up the case. Before long, other crimes come to light that have never been solved. Or maybe they were not meant to be solved? When Yang is suspended from duty without any proper explanation, he continues his investigation on his own initiative.
In the guise of a film noir, replete with a lonely hero who believes in justice, and dynamically shot using a hand-held camera, Lou Ye’s film is a tale of ruthless avarice, corruption, building scandals and brutal social and economic upheavals. A thriller set in present-day China that uses a criminal case to reflect the country’s most recent history.
by Lou Ye
with Jing Boran, Song Jia, Qin Hao, Ma Sichun, Zhang Songwen
People's Republic of China 2018 Mandarin,  Cantonese,  Subtitles: English 125’ Colour

With

  • Jing Boran (Yang Jiadong)
  • Song Jia (Lin Hui)
  • Qin Hao (Jiang Zicheng)
  • Ma Sichun (Nuo)
  • Zhang Songwen (Tang Yijie)
  • Michelle Chen (Lian Ah Yun)

Crew

DirectorLou Ye
ScreenplayMei Feng, Qiu Yujie, Ma Yingli
CinematographyJake Pollock
EditingJolin Zhu
MusicJóhann Jóhannsson, Jonas Colstrup
Sound DesignFu Kang
SoundFu Kang
Production DesignZhong Cheng
CostumesLinlin May
Make-upZhe Yan
CastingZhang Rong
Assistant DirectorLü Ying
Production ManagerChen Wei
ProducersNai An, Lou Ye
Executive ProducerChang Chia-Lu

Produced by

Dream Factory

Peking, People's Republic of China

+86 1082356188

Lou Ye

Born in Shanghai, China in 1965. After studying cartoon production at the Shanghai Art School and graduating in directing 1989 from the Beijing Film Academy, he made experimental short films. In 1993, he directed his debut feature, Weekend Lover, which premiered at the International Film Festival Mannheim-Heidelberg in 1996 where it won the Fassbinder Prize. Alongside television productions and short films, his work includes Suzhou River, Spring Fever, Love & Bruises and Blind Massage, films which have premiered and won awards at various festivals including Cannes, Venice and the Berlinale.

Filmography

1993 Zhou Mo Qing Ren (Weekend Lover) 2000 Su Zhou He (Suzhou River) 2001 Zai Shanghai (In Shanghai); short film 2003 Zi Hu Die (Purple Butterfly) 2006 Yi He Yuan (Summer Palace) 2009 Chun Feng Chen Zui De Ye Wan (Spring Fever) 2011 Hua (Love and Bruises) 2012 Fu Cheng Mi Shi (Mystery) 2014 Tui Na (Blind Massage); Competition

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Dates

Feb 11 18:30

Zoo Palast 1

Ticket code 110304

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 12 09:30

CinemaxX 7

Ticket code 120082

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 13 17:00

Cubix 9

Ticket code 130893

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 15 21:00

CineStar 3

Ticket code 150231

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 17 17:00

Cubix 9

Ticket code 170892

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter

The Shadow Play

Guangzhou in Südchina ist eine Stadt mit modernen Gebäuden, Luxusfassaden und unendlichen Hochhausketten. Ausgerechnet hier müssen Menschen um ihren Wohnraum kämpfen. Während im Hintergrund ein Bagger einen Kindergarten demoliert, liefern sie sich eine brutale Schlacht mit einem privaten Wachschutz, um den Abriss ihres alten Viertels zu verhindern. Mitten in diesem Aufruhr stürzt Tang Yijie, Direktor der städtischen Baukommission, von einem Dach und stirbt. Der junge Polizeibeamte Yang Jiadong übernimmt den Fall. Schon bald treten weitere Verbrechen zutage, die nie aufgeklärt wurden. Oder vielleicht nie aufgeklärt werden sollten? Als Yang ohne größere Erklärungen vom Dienst suspendiert wird, recherchiert er auf eigene Faust weiter.
Im Gewand eines Film noir, mit einem einsamen, an Gerechtigkeit glaubenden Helden und einer dynamischen Handkamera, erzählt Lou Ye von Menschen, die sich rücksichtslos bereichern wollen, von Korruption und Bauskandalen, von brutalen gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Umbrüchen. Ein Thriller aus der Gegenwart Chinas, der die jüngste Geschichte des Landes anhand eines Kriminalfalls reflektiert.
von Lou Ye
mit Jing Boran, Song Jia, Qin Hao, Ma Sichun, Zhang Songwen
Volksrepublik China 2018 Mandarin,  Kantonesisch,  Untertitel: Englisch 125’ Farbe

Mit

  • Jing Boran (Yang Jiadong)
  • Song Jia (Lin Hui)
  • Qin Hao (Jiang Zicheng)
  • Ma Sichun (Nuo)
  • Zhang Songwen (Tang Yijie)
  • Michelle Chen (Lian Ah Yun)

Stab

RegieLou Ye
BuchMei Feng, Qiu Yujie, Ma Yingli
KameraJake Pollock
MontageJolin Zhu
MusikJóhann Jóhannsson, Jonas Colstrup
Sound DesignFu Kang
TonFu Kang
Production DesignZhong Cheng
KostümLinlin May
MaskeZhe Yan
CastingZhang Rong
RegieassistenzLü Ying
Production ManagerChen Wei
Produzent*innenNai An, Lou Ye
Ausführende/r Produzent*inChang Chia-Lu

Produktion

Dream Factory

Peking, Volksrepublik China

+86 1082356188

Lou Ye

Geboren 1965 in Schanghai, China. Nach seinen Abschlüssen an der Shanghai Art School in Cartoon-Produktion und 1989 an der Beijing Film Academy in Regie produzierte er experimentelle Kurzfilme. 1993 drehte er seinen ersten Spielfilm Weekend Lover, der erst 1996 auf dem Filmfestival in Mannheim-Heidelberg gezeigt und mit dem Fassbinder-Preis ausgezeichnet wurde. Neben Fernsehproduktionen und Kurzfilmen entstanden Suzhou River, Spring Fever, Love & Bruises oder Blind Massage, die auf diversen Filmfestivals Premiere feierten und ausgezeichnet wurden, so in Cannes, Venedig und bei der Berlinale.

Filmografie

1993 Zhou Mo Qing Ren (Weekend Lover) 2000 Su Zhou He (Suzhou River) 2001 Zai Shanghai (In Shanghai); Kurzfilm 2003 Zi Hu Die (Purple Butterfly) 2006 Yi He Yuan (Summer Palace) 2009 Chun Feng Chen Zui De Ye Wan (Spring Fever) 2011 Hua (Love and Bruises) 2012 Fu Cheng Mi Shi (Mystery) 2014 Tui Na (Blind Massage); Wettbewerb

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Termine

Mo 11.02. 18:30

Zoo Palast 1

Ticketcode 110304

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Di 12.02. 09:30

CinemaxX 7

Ticketcode 120082

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Mi 13.02. 17:00

Cubix 9

Ticketcode 130893

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Fr 15.02. 21:00

CineStar 3

Ticketcode 150231

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
So 17.02. 17:00

Cubix 9

Ticketcode 170892

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse