The Souvenir

England; the early 1980s. Young film student Julie wants to use her camera to better understand the world. This shy woman is well aware of her privileged social position and, as she explains, sees her Super 8 camera as a way to break out of her own little bubble. She thinks she is mediocre, but the photos and moving images that flow into the film bear witness to her special gaze. In an unassuming, almost documentary approach, we are introduced to Julie’s student milieu, into which Anthony unexpectedly enters. He is older and more distinguished. He harbours a secret that Julie only uncovers later, but that then dramatically changes everything.
Joanna Hogg’s semi-autobiographical film is both a personal take on the creative output of upper-middle-class Britain and an incisive exploration of spaces, landscapes, dependent relationships and, not least, the medium of film. Hogg’s contemporary, Tilda Swinton, plays Julie’s generous mother; her daughter, Honor Swinton Byrne, embodies the role of the protagonist, who seems to be losing her grip on life. Until, that is, film comes to the rescue, as a means of expression, reality, therapy and a record of the times.
by Joanna Hogg
with Honor Swinton Byrne, Tom Burke, Tilda Swinton
United Kingdom 2019 English 115’ Colour

With

  • Honor Swinton Byrne (Julie)
  • Tom Burke (Anthony)
  • Tilda Swinton (Julie's Mother)

Crew

Written and directed byJoanna Hogg
CinematographyDavid Raedeker
EditingHelle le Fevre
Sound DesignJovan Ajder
Production DesignStéphane Collonge
CostumesGrace Snell
Make-upSiobhan Harper-Ryan
ProducersLuke Schiller, Joanna Hogg
Executive ProducersRose Garnett, Michael Wood, Lizzie Francke, Martin Scorsese, Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Dave Bishop, Andrew Starke
Associate ProducerCrispin Buxton
CastingOlivia Scott-Webb

Produced by

BBC Films

London, United Kingdom

www.bbc.co.uk/bbcfilms www.bbc.co.uk/bbcfilms

British Film Institute

London, United Kingdom

JWH Films

London, United Kingdom

Sikelia Productions

New York, USA

+1 212 9068800

World sales

Protagonist Pictures

London, United Kingdom

Joanna Hogg

The screenwriter and director made her feature film debut in 2008 with Unrelated. Starring Tom Hiddleston, the film won the FIPRESCI Prize and the Guardian First Film award. She followed it with Archipelago and Exhibition. The British Film Institute has identified her as ‘one of the foremost directors working in Britain today’.

Filmography

2007 Unrelated 2010 Archipelago 2013 Exhibition

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Dates

Feb 12 21:30

Zoo Palast 1

Ticket code 120304

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 13 09:30

CinemaxX 7

Ticket code 130082

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 14 17:00

Cubix 9

Ticket code 140893

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 15 20:00

International

Ticket code 150332

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter

The Souvenir

England, Anfang der 1980er-Jahre: Die junge Filmstudentin Julie will die Welt durch die Linse ihrer Kamera hindurch besser verstehen. Ihre Privilegiertheit ist der scheuen Frau bewusst, und ihre Super-8-Kamera sieht sie als Weg, um aus ihrer Blase herauszukommen, wie sie selbst sagt. Sie hält sich für mittelmäßig, doch ihre Fotos und Bewegtbilder, die in den Film einfließen, zeugen von ihrem besonderen Blick. Unaufgeregt und beinahe dokumentarisch werden wir in Julies studentisches Milieu eingeführt, in das dann unerwartet Anthony tritt. Anthony ist älter als sie und distinguierter. Er hütet ein Geheimnis, hinter das Julie erst später kommt und das auf dramatische Weise alles verändert.
Joanna Hoggs semiautobiografischer Film ist ein persönlicher Blick auf die kreative Produktivität der gehobenen Mittelklasse und gleichzeitig eine hochkonzentrierte Betrachtung von Räumen, Landschaften, Abhängigkeitsverhältnissen und nicht zuletzt des Mediums Film. Hoggs’ Weggefährtin Tilda Swinton spielt die großzügige Mutter, ihre Tochter Honor Swinton Byrne spielt die Protagonistin Julie, der das Leben zu entgleiten droht. Film ist hier Rettung, Ausdrucksmittel, Realität, Therapie und Zeitdokument.
von Joanna Hogg
mit Honor Swinton Byrne, Tom Burke, Tilda Swinton
Großbritannien 2019 Englisch 115’ Farbe

Mit

  • Honor Swinton Byrne (Julie)
  • Tom Burke (Anthony)
  • Tilda Swinton (Julies Mutter)

Stab

Regie, BuchJoanna Hogg
KameraDavid Raedeker
MontageHelle le Fevre
Sound DesignJovan Ajder
Production DesignStéphane Collonge
KostümGrace Snell
MaskeSiobhan Harper-Ryan
Produzent*innenLuke Schiller, Joanna Hogg
Ausführende Produzent*innenRose Garnett, Michael Wood, Lizzie Francke, Martin Scorsese, Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Dave Bishop, Andrew Starke
Associate ProducerCrispin Buxton
CastingOlivia Scott-Webb

Produktion

BBC Films

London, Großbritannien

www.bbc.co.uk/bbcfilms www.bbc.co.uk/bbcfilms

British Film Institute

London, Großbritannien

JWH Films

London, Großbritannien

Sikelia Productions

New York, USA

+1 212 9068800

Weltvertrieb

Protagonist Pictures

London, Großbritannien

Joanna Hogg

Die Drehbuchautorin und Regisseurin legte 2008 mit Unrelated ihr Langfilmdebüt vor. Der Film mit Tom Hiddleston in der Hauptrolle wurde mit dem Fipresci-Preis und dem Preis des Guardian für den besten Erstlingsfilm ausgzeichnet. Anschließend drehte sie Archipelago und Exhibition. Das British Film Institute bezeichnet sie als eine der wichtigsten Autorenfilmer*innen Großbritanniens.

Filmografie

2007 Unrelated 2010 Archipelago 2013 Exhibition

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Termine

Di 12.02. 21:30

Zoo Palast 1

Ticketcode 120304

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Mi 13.02. 09:30

CinemaxX 7

Ticketcode 130082

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Do 14.02. 17:00

Cubix 9

Ticketcode 140893

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Fr 15.02. 20:00

International

Ticketcode 150332

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse