Shooting the Mafia

For a long time, the mafia ruled Sicily unchecked, and their crimes were invisible to the world. This changed in the 1970s, when Letizia Battaglia became Italy’s first photojournalist to document the brutal murders and the profound influence of the mafia. Her black-and-white images appear timeless and have lost none of their impact. In order to actively fight the Cosa Nostra, Battaglia entered politics from 1985 to 1996; this was the time of the spectacular anti-mafia trials held by the examining magistrates Giovanni Falcone and Paolo Borsellino. In her private life, Battaglia broke with social conventions: after a marriage that ended in an early divorce, she lived a self-determined life with a series of younger lovers.
Up to now, director Kim Longinotto has always filmed her own observational documentaries. For this portrait however, she and her long-standing editor Ollie Huddleston found a new cinematic form: using carefully edited excerpts from Italian cult films, she illustrates the youth and memories of the fun-loving Letizia Battaglia, thus creating a counterweight to Battaglia’s grim photos of mafia crimes.
by Kim Longinotto
with Letizia Battaglia
Ireland / USA 2019 Italian,  English,  Subtitles: English 94’ Colour & Black/White Documentary form

With

  • Letizia Battaglia

Crew

DirectorKim Longinotto
EditingOllie Huddleston
MusicRay Harman
Sound DesignMichelle Fingleton
Archival ResearchClare Stronge, Cristina Rajola, Guglielmo Parisani, Alessia Petitto, Elizabeth Klinck
TranslationPaola Uberti
InterviewsMaria Chiara Di Trapani
ProducerNiamh Fagan
Executive ProducersDan Cogan, Jenny Raskin, Geralyn White Dreyfous, Regina K. Scully, Elena Foster, Lesley McKimm

Produced by

Lunar Pictures

Westport, Ireland

World sales

Charades

Paris, France

+33 6 61222312

www.charades.eu www.charades.eu

Kim Longinotto

Born in London, UK in 1952, she studied cinematography and directing at the National Film and Television School in Beaconsfield. Since 1978, she has made numerous documentaries which focus above all on rebels and outsiders. Her work first screened in the Panorama Dokumente section in 2001 with Gaea Girls, about two girls in a Japanese training camp for wrestlers; Salma, about the lives of Muslim women in southern India, screened in Panorama in 2013. Her film Dreamcatcher won the World Cinema Documentary Directing Award at Sundance in 2015.

Filmography (documentaries)

1992 The Good Wife of Tokyo; co-director: Claire Hunt 1993 Dream Girls; co-director: Jano Williams 1995 Shinjuku Boys 1998 Divorce Iranian Style 2000 Gaea Girls; co-director: Jano Williams, Panorama 2001 Runaway; co-director: Ziba Mir Hosseini 2002 The Day I Will Never Forget 2005 Sisters in Law 2007 Hold me Tight, Let me Go 2008 Rough Aunties 2010 Pink Saris 2013 Salma; Panorama 2014 Love Is All: 100 Years of Love & Courtship 2015 Dreamcatcher

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Dates

Feb 09 11:00

CineStar 8

Ticket code 090285

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 13 17:00

CineStar 7

Ticket code 130272

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 14 22:30

CineStar 7

Ticket code 140272

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 15 17:30

Cubix 7

Ticket code 150875

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 16 14:30

Colosseum 1

Ticket code 160375

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter

Shooting the Mafia

Lange regierte die Mafia auf Sizilien ungehindert, ihre Verbrechen waren für die Welt unsichtbar. Das änderte sich in den 1970er-Jahren, als Letizia Battaglia als erste Fotojournalistin Italiens die brutalen Morde und den tief greifenden Einfluss der Mafia zu dokumentieren begann. Die Schwarz-Weiß-Bilder wirken zeitlos und haben nichts von ihrer Wucht verloren. Um aktiv gegen die Cosa Nostra zu kämpfen, ging Battaglia von 1985 bis 1996, zur Zeit der spektakulären Anti-Mafia-Prozesse der Untersuchungsrichter Giovanni Falcone und Paolo Borsellino, in die Politik. Im Privatleben brach sie mit gesellschaftlichen Konventionen, lebte nach einer früh geschiedenen Ehe selbstbestimmt mit jeweils jüngeren Liebhabern.
Regisseurin Kim Longinotto, die bisher bei ihren beobachtenden Dokumentarfilmen selbst die Kamera führte, hat für dieses Porträt zusammen mit ihrem langjährigen Editor Ollie Huddleston eine für sie neue filmische Form gefunden: Mit sorgfältig komponierten Ausschnitten aus italienischen Kultfilmen illustriert sie die Jugend und die Erinnerungen der lebenslustigen Letizia Battaglia und schafft so einen Kontrapunkt zu deren beklemmenden Fotos von Mafiaverbrechen.
von Kim Longinotto
mit Letizia Battaglia
Irland / USA 2019 Italienisch,  Englisch,  Untertitel: Englisch 94’ Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß Dokumentarische Form

Mit

  • Letizia Battaglia

Stab

RegieKim Longinotto
MontageOllie Huddleston
MusikRay Harman
Sound DesignMichelle Fingleton
ArchivrechercheClare Stronge, Cristina Rajola, Guglielmo Parisani, Alessia Petitto, Elizabeth Klinck
ÜbersetzungPaola Uberti
InterviewsMaria Chiara Di Trapani
Produzent*inNiamh Fagan
Ausführende Produzent*innenDan Cogan, Jenny Raskin, Geralyn White Dreyfous, Regina K. Scully, Elena Foster, Lesley McKimm

Produktion

Lunar Pictures

Westport, Irland

Weltvertrieb

Charades

Paris, Frankreich

+33 6 61222312

www.charades.eu www.charades.eu

Kim Longinotto

Geboren 1952 in London. Sie studierte Kamera und Regie an der National Film and Television School in Beaconsfield und realisierte seit 1978 zahlreiche Dokumentarfilme, in denen Rebell*innen und Outsider*innen im Fokus stehen. Mit Gaea Girls über zwei Mädchen in einem japanischen Trainingslager für Ringerinnen war sie 2001 erstmals in der Sektion Panorama Dokumente zu Gast. Salma, der vom Leben muslimischer Frauen in Südindien erzählt, lief 2013 im Panorama. Dreamcatcher wurde 2015 auf dem Sundance Film Festival mit dem Regiepreis im Bereich Internationaler Dokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie (Dokumentarfilme)

1992 The Good Wife of Tokyo; Co-Regie: Claire Hunt 1993 Dream Girls; Co-Regie: Jano Williams 1995 Shinjuku Boys; Co-Regie: Jano Williams 1998 Divorce Iranian Style 2000 Gaea Girls; Co-Regie: Jano Williams, Panorama 2001 Runaway; Co-Regie: Ziba Mir Hosseini 2002 The Day I Will Never Forget 2005 Sisters in Law 2007 Hold me Tight, Let me Go 2008 Rough Aunties 2010 Pink Saris 2013 Salma; Panorama 2014 Love Is All: 100 Years of Love & Courtship 2015 Dreamcatcher

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Termine

Sa 09.02. 11:00

CineStar 8

Ticketcode 090285

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Mi 13.02. 17:00

CineStar 7

Ticketcode 130272

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Do 14.02. 22:30

CineStar 7

Ticketcode 140272

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Fr 15.02. 17:30

Cubix 7

Ticketcode 150875

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Sa 16.02. 14:30

Colosseum 1

Ticketcode 160375

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse