Öndög

A naked woman is found murdered in the Mongolian steppe. Overnight, a young and inexperienced policeman has to secure the crime scene. Since he is not familiar with the dangers on site, a local herder is sent to guard him and the body. This resolute woman in her mid-thirties knows how to handle a rifle – and how to scare away wolves. She lights a fire against the cold. Alcohol also helps them to stay warm. At her instigation, the two get closer to each other. The next morning, they will go their separate ways.
At the centre of this film is a tenacious woman in the uninhabited expanse of the steppe. This otherwise self-sufficient herder, known to everyone as ‘dinosaur’, only tolerates her caring neighbour when there is a problem with her herd. Anything that goes beyond that, she brusquely rejects. As for herself and her future, she has her very own plan, one which is related to the lonely landscape and its myths. The setting of this film is far more than just a backdrop; rather, its own singular reality seeps into the narrative. The story itself is full of comic moments and surprising twists and turns; it also handles existential themes in a beautifully casual fashion.
by Wang Quan’an
with Dulamjav Enkhtaivan, Aorigeletu, Norovsambuu Batmunkh, Gangtemuer Arild
Mongolia 2019 Mongolian,  Subtitles: English,  German 100’ Colour World premiere

With

  • Dulamjav Enkhtaivan (Herdswoman)
  • Aorigeletu (Herdsman)
  • Norovsambuu Batmunkh (Young Policeman)
  • Gangtemuer Arild (Chief of Police)

Crew

Written and directed byWang Quan'an
CinematographyAymerick Pilarski
EditingYang Wenjian
Sound DesignWang Changrui
SoundWang Xuliang
Production DesignBater
CostumesWurichaihu
Make-upQiqige Zhalan
CastingBaode
Assistant DirectorByambatsogt Dashnyam
Production ManagerYuan Hui
ProducerWang Quan'an
Executive ProducerByambatsogt Dashnyam

Produced by

New Theatre Union

Ulan-Bator, Mongolia

+976 858 88818

World sales

Arclight Films

Beverly Hills, USA

+1 310 7778855

www.arclightfilms.com www.arclightfilms.com

Wang Quan’an

The Chinese screenwriter and director graduated from the Beijing Film Academy in 1991. His debut film, Yue Shi (Lunar Eclipse), screened in the Berlinale Forum in 2002; two years later, Jingzhe (The Story Of Er Mei) screened in Panorama. His third feature film, Tu ya de hun shi (Tuyas Marriage) won the Golden Bear for Best Film in 2007. His drama Tuan Yuan (Apart Together) was the Berlinale’s opening film in 2010 when it won the Silver Bear for Best Script; Bai lu yuan (White Deer Plain) screened in the 2012 Competition. He was a member of the International Jury in 2017.

Filmography

1999 Yue shi (Lunar Eclipse) 2004 Jingzhe (The Story of Ermei) 2007 Tu ya de hun shi (Tuya's Marriage) 2009 Fang zhi gu niang (Weaving Girl) 2010 Tuan yuan (Apart Together) 2012 Bai lu yuan (White Deer Plain) 2019 Öndög

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Dates

Feb 08 22:15

Berlinale Palast

Ticket code 080013

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 09 09:30

Haus der Berliner Festspiele

Ticket code 091074

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 09 12:15

Friedrichstadt-Palast

Ticket code 090745

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 09 18:00

Friedrichstadt-Palast

Ticket code 090744

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 17 12:45

Berlinale Palast

Ticket code 170015

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter

Öndög

In der mongolischen Steppe wird eine nackte Frau ermordet aufgefunden. Über Nacht soll ein junger und unerfahrener Polizist den Tatort sichern. Da er mit den Gefahren vor Ort nicht vertraut ist, wird eine einheimische Hirtin abgestellt, ihn und die Leiche zu bewachen. Die resolut auftretende Mittdreißigerin weiß mit dem Gewehr umzugehen und Wölfe zu verscheuchen. Gegen die Kälte zündet sie ein Feuer an. Auch der Alkohol wärmt, und auf ihre Initiative hin kommen die beiden einander näher. Am nächsten Morgen werden sich ihre Wege wieder trennen.
Im Zentrum des Films steht eine starrsinnige Frau in menschenleerer Weite. Ihren fürsorglichen Nachbarn duldet die ansonsten autark lebende Hirtin, die von allen „Dinosaurier“ genannt wird, nur, wenn es Probleme mit ihrer Herde gibt. Alles was darüber hinausgeht, weist sie schroff ab. Für sich und ihre Zukunft hat sie einen ganz eigenen Plan, der mit der einsamen Landschaft und deren Mythen in Beziehung steht. Der Schauplatz ist mehr als nur Kulisse, er lässt seine eigene Wirklichkeit in die Fiktion einfließen. Die Geschichte voller komischer Momente und überraschender Wendungen greift in schöner Beiläufigkeit auch existenzielle Themen auf.
von Wang Quan’an
mit Dulamjav Enkhtaivan, Aorigeletu, Norovsambuu Batmunkh, Gangtemuer Arild
Mongolei 2019 Mongolisch,  Untertitel: Englisch,  Deutsch 100’ Farbe Weltpremiere

Mit

  • Dulamjav Enkhtaivan (Hirtin)
  • Aorigeletu (Hirte)
  • Norovsambuu Batmunkh (Junger Polizist)
  • Gangtemuer Arild (Polizeichef)

Stab

Regie, BuchWang Quan'an
KameraAymerick Pilarski
MontageYang Wenjian
Sound DesignWang Changrui
TonWang Xuliang
Production DesignBater
KostümWurichaihu
MaskeQiqige Zhalan
CastingBaode
RegieassistenzByambatsogt Dashnyam
Production ManagerYuan Hui
Produzent*inWang Quan'an
Ausführende/r Produzent*inByambatsogt Dashnyam

Produktion

New Theatre Union

Ulan-Bator, Mongolei

+976 858 88818

Weltvertrieb

Arclight Films

Beverly Hills, USA

+1 310 7778855

www.arclightfilms.com www.arclightfilms.com

Wang Quan’an

Der chinesische Drehbuchautor und Regisseur schloss 1991 sein Studium an der Beijing Film Academy ab. Mit seinem Debütfilm, Yue Shi, war er 2002 Gast im Forum der Berlinale, zwei Jahre später lief Jingzhe im Panorama. 2007 erhielt er für seinen dritten Spielfilm, Tu ya de hun shi, den Goldenen Bären für den Besten Film. Sein Drama Tuan Yuan war 2010 Eröffnungsfilm der Berlinale und gewann den Silbernen Bären für das Beste Drehbuch. Mit Bai lu yuan wurde er 2012 erneut in den Wettbewerb eingeladen. 2017 war er Mitglied der Wettbewerbs-Jury.

Filmografie

1999 Yue shi (Lunar Eclipse) 2004 Jingzhe (The Story of Ermei) 2007 Tu ya de hun shi (Tuya's Marriage) 2009 Fang zhi gu niang (Weaving Girl) 2010 Tuan yuan (Apart Together) 2012 Bai lu yuan (White Deer Plain) 2019 Öndög

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Termine

Fr 08.02. 22:15

Berlinale Palast

Ticketcode 080013

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Sa 09.02. 09:30

Haus der Berliner Festspiele

Ticketcode 091074

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Sa 09.02. 12:15

Friedrichstadt-Palast

Ticketcode 090745

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Sa 09.02. 18:00

Friedrichstadt-Palast

Ticketcode 090744

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
So 17.02. 12:45

Berlinale Palast

Ticketcode 170015

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse