Es hätte schlimmer kommen können – Mario Adorf

It Could Have Been Worse – Mario Adorf
He almost failed the audition for drama school in Munich, but one teacher recognised his talent: ‘He possesses two things: strength and naivety. Let’s give it a try!’ And so began the career of Mario Adorf, born in 1930, who became one of the most popular actors of his generation. This film charts the important stages in his life: his childhood in the small town of Mayen in the Eifel mountains where he grew up with his single mother; his first theatre experiences in Munich; and his first successful film role, in Robert Siodmak’s Nachts, wenn der Teufel kam (The Devil Strikes At Night). The cities of Rome and Paris were constants in this European film star’s biography. He collaborated with Rainer Werner Fassbinder and Helmut Dietl, but kept his distance from both the international jet set and Munich’s glitterati. Adorf was often cast as the villain. At an advanced age in 2018, he played Karl Marx in the TV docudrama Der deutsche Prophet. He is currently preparing for a farewell tour entitled ‘Zugabe’ (‘Encore’) which will include songs and poems.
A film about a passionate man and actor who shares his view of the world, his profession, love and growing old in a congenial and self-ironic way.
by Dominik Wessely
with Mario Adorf, Senta Berger, Margarethe von Trotta, et al.
Germany 2019 German,  Subtitles: English 98’ Colour World premiere Documentary form

With

  • Mario Adorf
  • Senta Berger
  • Margarethe von Trotta
  • et al.

Crew

Written and directed byDominik Wessely
CinematographyHajo Schomerus
EditingAnnette Muff
MusicMaciej Sledziecki
Sound DesignSteffen Pfauth
SoundRalf Weber
ProducersHerbert Schwering, Christine Kiauk

Produced by

COIN FILM

Köln, Germany

+49 221 322053

www.coin-film.de www.coin-film.de

World sales

MAGNETFILM

Berlin, Germany

+49 30 24628156

magnetfilm.de/ magnetfilm.de/

Dominik Wessely

Born in Munich, Germany in 1966, he first studied modern history, history of art and philosophy in Munich and then documentary film directing at the Film Academy Baden-Württemberg. Since then he has written and directed documentaries, series and feature films. Between 2008 and 2013 he was professor of documentary film directing at the International Film School Cologne. His work first screened at the Berlinale in 2008 with Gegenschuss – Aufbruch der Filmemacher. His debut feature film Nellys Abenteuer (Nelly’s Adventure) screened at fifty festivals worldwide and won numerous awards.

Filmography (selection)

1998 Die Blume der Hausfrau 2001 Broadway Bruchsal – Schauspielerträume in der Provinz; TV series, co-director: Marcus Vetter 2004 Gottes Plan und Menschen Hand; TV film 2005 Windstärke 8 – Das Auswandererschiff 1855; TV series, co-directors: Arne Sinnwell, Gabriele Wengler 2006 Die Unzerbrechlichen 2008 Gegenschuss – Aufbruch der Filmemacher; co-director: Laurens Straub · Geheiligtes Gebein; TV film 2012 Georg Kreisler gibt es gar nicht; TV doc animation 2015 Lachen, um zu überleben: Ephraim Kishon; TV doc animation 2016 Nellys Abenteuer; children's film 2017 Charlotte Knobloch – Ein Leben in Deutschland; TV doc animation 2019 Es hätte schlimmer kommen können – Mario Adorf

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Dates

Feb 12 15:30

Haus der Berliner Festspiele

with Q&A

Ticket code 121072

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 13 18:00

Cubix 8

Ticket code 130884

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter
Feb 17 18:00

Cubix 8

Ticket code 170882

Code for ticket purchase at the ticket counter

Es hätte schlimmer kommen können – Mario Adorf

It Could Have Been Worse – Mario Adorf
Die Aufnahmeprüfung an der Münchner Schauspielschule hätte er beinahe nicht bestanden. Doch ein Lehrer erkannte sein Talent: „Er hat zwei Dinge: Kraft und Naivität. Versuchen wir’s!“ So begann die Karriere von Mario Adorf, geboren 1930, der zu einem der populärsten Schauspieler seiner Generation wurde. Der Film zeigt wichtige Stationen in Adorfs Leben: Die Kindheit im Städtchen Mayen in der Eifel, wo er bei seiner alleinerziehenden Mutter aufwuchs. Die ersten Theatererfahrungen in München und den ersten Kinoerfolg mit Robert Siodmaks Nachts, wenn der Teufel kam. Rom und Paris als Konstanten in seiner Biografie als europäischer Filmstar. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Rainer Werner Fassbinder und Helmut Dietl. Seine distanzierte Haltung sowohl dem internationalen Jetset wie auch der Münchner Schickeria gegenüber. Adorf wurde häufig als Bösewicht besetzt. 2018 spielte er im Fernseh-Dokudrama Der deutsche Prophet im hohen Alter Karl Marx. Derzeit bereitet er sich auf eine Abschiedstournee mit Liedern und Gedichten unter dem Titel „Zugabe“ vor.
Ein Film über einen leidenschaftlichen Menschen und Schauspieler, der seine Sicht auf die Welt, seinen Beruf, die Liebe und das Älterwerden sympathisch und selbstironisch zu skizzieren weiß.
von Dominik Wessely
mit Mario Adorf, Senta Berger, Margarethe von Trotta, et al.
Deutschland 2019 Deutsch,  Untertitel: Englisch 98’ Farbe Weltpremiere Dokumentarische Form

Mit

  • Mario Adorf
  • Senta Berger
  • Margarethe von Trotta
  • et al.

Stab

Regie, BuchDominik Wessely
KameraHajo Schomerus
MontageAnnette Muff
MusikMaciej Sledziecki
Sound DesignSteffen Pfauth
TonRalf Weber
Produzent*innenHerbert Schwering, Christine Kiauk

Produktion

COIN FILM

Köln, Deutschland

+49 221 322053

www.coin-film.de www.coin-film.de

Weltvertrieb

MAGNETFILM

Berlin, Deutschland

+49 30 24628156

magnetfilm.de/ magnetfilm.de/

Dominik Wessely

Geboren 1966 in München. Er studierte zunächst Neuere Geschichte, Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie in München und anschließend Dokumentarfilmregie an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg. Seither ist er als Autor und Regisseur für Dokumentarfilm, Serie und Spielfilm tätig. Von 2008 bis 2013 war er Professor für Dokumentarfilmregie an der Internationalen Filmschule Köln. Mit Gegenschuss – Aufbruch der Filmemacher war Wessely 2008 erstmals zu Gast auf der Berlinale. Sein Spielfilmdebüt, Nellys Abenteuer, wurde weltweit auf 50 Festivals gezeigt und mehrfach ausgezeichnet.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1998 Die Blume der Hausfrau 2001 Broadway Bruchsal – Schauspielerträume in der Provinz; TV-Serie, Co-Regie: Marcus Vetter 2004 Gottes Plan und Menschen Hand; TV-Film 2005 Windstärke 8 – Das Auswandererschiff 1855; TV-Serie, Co-Regie: Arne Sinnwell, Gabriele Wengler 2006 Die Unzerbrechlichen 2008 Gegenschuss – Aufbruch der Filmemacher; Co-Regie: Laurens Straub · Geheiligtes Gebein; TV-Film 2012 Georg Kreisler gibt es gar nicht; TV-Dok-Animation 2015 Lachen, um zu überleben: Ephraim Kishon; TV-Dok-Animation 2016 Nellys Abenteuer; Kinderfilm 2017 Charlotte Knobloch – Ein Leben in Deutschland; TV-Dok-Animation 2019 Es hätte schlimmer kommen können – Mario Adorf

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Termine

Di 12.02. 15:30

Haus der Berliner Festspiele

mit Q&A

Ticketcode 121072

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
Mi 13.02. 18:00

Cubix 8

Ticketcode 130884

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse
So 17.02. 18:00

Cubix 8

Ticketcode 170882

Ticketcode für die Vorverkaufskasse