Berlinale: Interview Panorama


Panorama 2018:
The Spirit of Resistance

Since this past summer, Paz Lázaro has been in charge of Panorama as section head, curating this year’s programme together with Michael Stütz and Andreas Struck. The trio succeeds Wieland Speck, who steered the section’s destiny for 25 years. In this interview, Paz Lázaro and Michael Stütz speak about their new roles and the 2018 programme for Panorama.

Kinshasa Makambo by Dieudo Hamadi

First off, the most obvious question: How have you chosen to proceed after the Speck era?

PL: The “Speck era” is a nice way to put it. In fact, everything is new this year. We are 20 years younger than Wieland and work in an entirely different configuration. The Speck era was very focussed on the curator as an individual, one who shaped the identity of the section. Now the three of us discuss the film selection and we have put together a literal panorama for 2018, meaning an extremely rich spectrum of works. We’ve freed up space for ourselves and been able to distance ourselves somewhat from the expectations. That’s why there are fewer films this year in the programme than last year and the programme has gotten more compact.

MS: The discussion process gave us the luxury to be able take our time, to not have to decide right away and to be able to revisit the discussion frequently over a longer period of time. In this way, we were able to see the individual films against the backdrop of the bigger picture that was taking shape. That was an important, organic process for us. It allows the freedom to change one’s own position too. We prodded one another along and were able to exchange ideas in a really fruitful way.

Ex Pajé (Ex Shaman) by Luiz Bolognesi

Crossing Borders

I think this year’s programme really clearly bears your signatures and in my eyes it has been curated very rigorously. The programme testifies to a fragmented, global world and takes a very precise look at particular milieus. This is connected to the theme of “borders” or “crossing borders”. For instance, Ex Pajé (Ex Shaman) by Luiz Bolognesi tells of a place that was once isolated where worlds now collide...

PL: Just like Land by Babak Jalali. Both films show attempts by indigenous peoples to survive in the world of the white man. Their cultural heritage is in the process of disappearing. The main character, the shaman in Ex Pajé, sums it up well: “Back in the day, people paid a visit to the shaman, today they take aspirin.”

MS: The borders and the border crossings can be found here between the original world and a Western-colonized, Catholic one, in which the indigenous people are meant to be proselytized to and converted. Their forlornness is demonstrated for instance by their complete apathy in church. The West forced this religion on them, but it doesn’t mean anything to them. A further scene makes this disjointedness very plain: A woman suffers a snakebite and the shaman attempts to heal her with his natural means. At this point, the film crosses the border into the supernatural.

Valene Kane in Profile by Timur Bekmambetov

Digital World

Ex Pajé also shows how Western means of communication – for instance the smart phone – are gaining ground. Timur Bekmambetov’s Profile, which makes exclusive use of screens to tell the story of a journalist who lets herself be recruited to fight for ISIS, shows how pathological the perception of the world through media and especially the Internet can become. Are there more films in the programme that deal with the digitisation of the world?

PL: The subject is very present. Garbage by Q relates the story of a woman on the run because a secretly filmed sex video of her has gone viral online. In Tinta Bruta (Hard Paint) by Marcio Reolon and Filipe Matzembacher the protagonist is extremely dependent on the Internet.

MS: Although he’s able to earn a living in chat rooms, he hides behind his virtual identity, which helps him to overcome his social anxieties. Every communication only happens on a physical level. When he meets a young man online, it becomes the impetus for him to step out of the shadows and open up to genuine intimacy and interaction. That’s the point where complications arise, and he is forced to confront his anxieties. The film’s directors are young and take an extraordinarily contemporary look at their generation.

Susi Sánchez and Bárbara Lennie in La enfermedad del domingo (Sunday’s Illness) by Ramón Salazar

PL: La enfermedad del domingo (Sunday’s Illness) by Ramón Salazar begins with an encounter between a mother and daughter who haven’t seen one another for 30 years. In response to the mother’s question “How did you find me?” the daughter answers: “I just googled you.” So here again the Internet plays a decisive role, if only on a very mundane level.

The Resurgence of the Right and the Decline of the Left

The Internet also seems to play a role for the right-wing extremist paramilitary group in Jan Gebert’s Až přijde válka (When the War Comes)...

MS: Yes. The group very consciously seeks public exposure for propaganda purposes and – in a manner analogous to that of the Islamists in Profile – for recruiting purposes. They are training for a state of emergency, the war between cultures that they invoke rhetorically.

The group appears to be extremely isolated from the outside world, training in the woods. How do their surroundings react to their activities?

PL: With indifference. Society observes and doesn’t do anything about it. A mother drives her little boy to his paramilitary exercise as if they were heading to a football match. This indifference is crucial for the rise of right-wing extremism.

Až přijde válka (When the War Comes) by Jan Gebert

MS: Až přijde válka is an example for nationalism, for the conservative backlash that one can observe on a global scale. Many of the films in our programme show the effects of this way of thinking and what the shift means for women, queer folk and individuals who refuse to conform to the norm in general.

The rise of the right is linked to the decline of the left. Is Hotel Jugoslavija a film that deals with this decline?

MS: The film’s director, Nicolas Wagnières, was born and raised in Switzerland. His mother is originally from Serbia, which means he spent a lot of time there in his childhood. The hotel that gives the film its name, Hotel Jugoslavija, stands for the time before the fall of the Iron Curtain, but it was also used during the civil war and thus becomes a symbol for the changing political eras. Wagnières uses archival footage and voice-overs for a focussed and highly personal reflection on the demise of Yugoslavia.

PL: In interviews, members of the hotel staff talk about the past, but also about the present. They are witnesses to societal and political change. Every now and then, one can sense a certain nostalgia, a longing for that old collective feeling before the hotel was privatised. With the coming of capitalism and civil war, humanity got lost in the shuffle. Under the impression of the decline of the left, the “good old days” quickly become romanticised ¬– this theme can also be found in Je vois rouge (I See Red People), in which the filmmaker Bojina Panayotova questions her parents about their Bulgarian roots. All the way up to the age of 30, Panayotova thought that communism delivered the Utopia it promised and that her childhood in Bulgaria was a beautiful one. When she begins to challenge this belief, she experiences extreme conflict with her parents and the truth about their past comes to light. In both films, the look back occasionally concentrates the energy and prevents any action in the present. Even though looking at the past is of course the prerequisite for looking into the future, as well as being a question of identity, it can also have an inhibiting effect.

The Silk and the Flame by Jordan Schiele

Family conflicts and returning home also play a role in The Silk and the Flame...

MS: US-American director Jordan Schiele, who’s lived in Beijing for quite some time, accompanies a good friend to the countryside, where his family lives in humble conditions. Both parents are physically impaired and are no longer able to speak. This makes communication with the parents very unconventional. The family has developed its own system of symbols to communicate with one another. The Silk and the Flame shows how much the family projects its expectations onto the son. He broke out, left the countryside behind, experienced success and now supports the family. They expect him to get married, although he is gay. That throws him into deep inner turmoil, caught between loyalty to his family and the longing for his own, self-determined life.

Does the film only treat his story on a personal level or does it also touch on sociological categories such as class for instance?

The film dives really deeply into the family microcosm, but it also says a lot about China, about the urban vs. rural dynamic. People move to the city but the connection to their roots remains in place. This lies at the heart of the conflicted nature of a whole society. We have a lot of films on intersectionality in our programme, in which class is discussed and reflected in a conscious way. From Game Girls to Shakedown, from rural Germany in Familienleben (Family Life) to the Argentinian periphery in Marilyn. In the individual films, these things stand for themselves at first glance, but in the scope of the programme there are of course many overlaps and cross-references. This all adds up to a very timely political look at the world.

Game Girls by Alina Skrzeszewska

Resistance

Engaging in resistance is another important theme in your programme in 2018...

MS: Absolutely. Kinshasa Makambo by Dieudo Hamadi for instance is an unflinching treatment of political resistance against President Kabila and examines how individuals feel about resistance, how resistance is organised. Alina Skrzeszewska’s Game Girls portrays an African-American lesbian couple on Skid Row, the USA’s “homeless capital”. The film takes up the subjects of class, race and gender and shows underprivileged individuals who are creating their own space in a self-determined manner and attempting to leave homelessness behind them.

PL: They stay persistent and don’t want to be forced into the victim role. Instead they search for solutions and alternatives. This sort of resistance also plays a role in many other films. There is a lot of energy inside them, they don’t only contemplate situations, they also make a clear statement: “This can’t go on this way, not with us. We’re not going to put up with this.” There is an extraordinarily combative spirit in this year’s films.

MS: In a very introspective way, Martín Rodríguez Redondo’s Marilyn comes to terms with this theme in a coming-of-age story set in the Argentinian countryside. The patriarchal structures there are still very strongly rooted, no one is allowed to step out of line to the left or right. The protagonist is into boys and likes wearing dresses. His desire for self-determination is stifled by his family, which has been living in a precarious situation since the death of his father. The pressure is enormous. A radicalisation takes place on the inside here, one which can neither be articulated nor acted out, since the external world doesn’t approve of it.

Generation Wealth by Lauren Greenfield

A world of internalised coercion also seems to unfold in a nightmarish fashion in Generation Wealth...

MS: The coercions of consumption. But not only that. Lauren Greenfield is also interested in the obsessive relationship with work, beauty ideals or simply money. And in broken dreams too. Each character is broken in their own way and this serves to illuminate the greater human context.

PL: On top of that, she wants to explore the roots of her own obsession with the grotesque excesses of the American Dream, which runs like a common thread through her creative work. As part of looking back to her own origins, she also interviews her own mother. The film is very close to Je vois rouge and Hotel Jugoslavija at this point. Generation Wealth is also very educational: I wasn’t aware that there is such a thing as cosmetic surgery for dogs before.

Berlinale: Interview Panorama


Panorama 2018:
Der Geist des Widerstandes

Seit diesem Sommer verantwortet Paz Lázaro als Sektionsleiterin das Panorama und kuratiert zusammen mit Michael Stütz und Andreas Struck das Programm. Sie haben Wieland Speck, der 25 Jahre die Geschicke der Sektion leitete, abgelöst. Im Interview sprechen Paz Lázaro und Michael Stütz über ihre neue Funktion und das Panorama-Programm 2018.

Kinshasa Makambo von Dieudo Hamadi

Zuerst die offensichtlichste Frage: Wie geht es weiter nach der Ära Speck?

PL: „Ära Speck“ ist schön gesagt. Tatsächlich ist in diesem Jahr alles neu. Wir sind 20 Jahre jünger als Wieland und arbeiten in einer ganz anderen Konstellation. Die Ära Speck war sehr fokussiert auf die Person des Kurators, der die Identität der Sektion geprägt hat. Jetzt diskutieren wir zu dritt die Auswahl der Filme und haben 2018 ein buchstäbliches Panorama, also ein extrem reichhaltiges Spektrum an Arbeiten, zusammengestellt. Wir haben uns Freiräume geschaffen jenseits der Erwartungen. Deshalb gibt es in diesem Jahr weniger Filme als im letzten und das Programm ist kompakter geworden.

MS: Der Prozess der Diskussion war mit dem Luxus verbunden, sich Zeit zu lassen, nicht sofort entscheiden zu müssen und über einen längeren Zeitraum hinweg immer wieder in die Diskussion zurückzukehren. So konnten wir die einzelnen Filme vor dem größeren, wachsenden Bild sehen. Das war ein wichtiger organischer Prozess für uns. Die Freiheit zu haben, die eigene Einstellung auch zu ändern. Wir haben uns gegenseitig angespornt und befruchtet.

Ex Pajé (Ex Shaman) von Luiz Bolognesi

Über Grenzen

Ich finde das diesjährige Programm trägt deutlich Eure Handschrift und ist in meinen Augen sehr stringent kuratiert. Es zeugt von einer zersplitterten globalen Welt und schaut sehr genau in bestimmte Milieus. Verbunden ist das mit dem Thema der „Grenze“ oder der „Grenzüberschreitungen“. Etwa Ex Pajé (Ex Shaman) von Luiz Bolognesi erzählt von einem einstmals isolierten Ort, an dem jetzt die Welten aufeinanderprallen...

PL: Genau wie Land von Babak Jalali. Beide Filme zeigen die Versuche indigener Völker, in der Welt der Weißen zu überleben. Ihr kulturelles Erbe ist im Verschwinden begriffen. Die Hauptfigur, der Schamane in Ex Pajé fasst das gut zusammen: „Früher sind die Leute zum Schamanen gegangen, heute nehmen sie Aspirin“.

MS: Die Grenzen und die Grenzüberschreitungen finden sich hier zwischen der ursprünglichen und einer westlich-kolonialisierten, katholischen Welt, in die das indigene Volk missioniert werden soll. Ihre Verlorenheit zeigt sich etwa an ihrer absoluten Teilnahmslosigkeit in der Kirche. Der Westen hat ihnen diese Religion aufgezwungen, aber sie bedeutet ihnen nichts. Eine weitere Szene macht diese Zerrissenheit sehr deutlich: Eine Frau erleidet einen Schlangenbiss und der Schamane versucht sie mit seinen natürlichen Mitteln zu heilen. An dieser Stelle überschreitet der Film die Grenze zum Übersinnlichen.

Valene Kane in Profile von Timur Bekmambetov

Digitale Welt

Ex Pajé zeigt auch, wie die westlichen Kommunikationsmittel – etwa das Smartphone – Einzug halten. Wie pathologisch die Wahrnehmung der Welt über Medien und vor allem über das Internet werden kann, zeigt Timur Bekmambetovs Profile, der nur über Screens die Geschichte einer Journalistin erzählt, die sich als IS-Kämpferin rekrutieren lässt. Gibt es mehr Filme im Programm, die sich mit der Digitalisierung der Welt beschäftigen?

PL: Das Thema ist sehr präsent. Garbage von Q erzählt von einer Frau, die auf der Flucht ist, weil sich ein heimlich gefilmtes Sexvideo mit ihr viral im Netz verbreitet. In Tinta Bruta (Hard Paint) von Marcio Reolon und Filipe Matzembacher ist der Protagonist extrem abhängig vom Internet.

MS: In Chatrooms kann er zwar seinen Lebensunterhalt verdienen, aber er versteckt sich hinter seiner virtuellen Identität, die ihm hilft, seine sozialen Phobien zu überwinden. Jegliche Kommunikation verläuft nur auf körperlicher Ebene.. Als er im Netz einen jungen Mann kennenlernt, ist das für ihn der Auslöser, die Schatten zu verlassen und tatsächliche Nähe und Interaktion zuzulassen. An diesem Punkt fangen die Probleme an und er muss sich mit seinen Phobien auseinandersetzen. Die Regisseure des Films sind jung und werfen einen äußerst zeitgemäßen Blick auf ihre Generation.

Susi Sánchez und Bárbara Lennie in La enfermedad del domingo (Sunday’s Illness) von Ramón Salazar

PL: La enfermedad del domingo (Sunday’s Illness) von Ramón Salazar beginnt mit einem Aufeinandertreffen von Mutter und Tochter, die sich seit 30 Jahren nicht gesehen haben. Auf die Frage der Mutter: „Wie hast du mich gefunden?“ antwortet die Tochter: „Ich hab dich einfach gegoogelt.“ Also auch hier spielt das Internet, wenn auch auf einer ganz banalen Ebene, eine entscheidende Rolle.

Der Aufschwung der Rechten und der Verfall der Linken

Auch für die rechtsradikale paramilitärische Gruppe in Až přijde válka (When the War Comes) von Jan Gebert spielt das Internet eine Rolle...

MS: Ja. Die Gruppe sucht die Öffentlichkeit ganz bewusst für propagandistische Zwecke und – analog zu den Islamisten in Profile - um zu rekrutieren. Sie trainieren für den Ernstfall, den Krieg der Kulturen, den sie heraufbeschwören.

Die Gruppe scheint extrem isoliert von der Außenwelt, trainiert in Wäldern. Wie reagiert das Umfeld auf ihr Treiben?

PL: Mit Gleichgültigkeit. Die Gesellschaft schaut zu und unternimmt nichts. Eine Mutter fährt ihren kleinen Jungen zu seiner paramilitärischen Übung, als wäre es ein Fußballspiel. Diese Gleichgültigkeit ist sehr entscheidend für den Aufschwung des Rechtsradikalismus

Až přijde válka (When the War Comes) von Jan Gebert

MS: Až přijde válka ist ein Beispiel für den neuen Nationalismus, den konservativen Backlash, der auf globaler Ebene zu beobachten ist. Viele Filme im Programm zeigen die Auswirkungen dieser Denkart und was der Wandel für Frauen, queere Menschen und generell Menschen, die sich nicht der Norm anpassen wollen, bedeutet.

Der Aufschwung der Rechten ist verknüpft mit dem Verfall der Linken. Ist Hotel Jugoslavija ein Film, der sich mit diesem Niedergang beschäftigt?

MS: Der Regisseur Nicolas Wagnières ist in der Schweiz geboren und aufgewachsen. Seine Mutter kommt aus Serbien, deshalb war er als Kind oft dort. Das titelgebende Hotel Jugoslavija steht repräsentativ für die Zeit vor dem Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs, wurde aber auch während des Bürgerkriegs genutzt und wird so zum Symbol für die wechselnden politischen Zeiten. Wagnières nutzt Archivmaterial und Voice-Over für eine konzentrierte und sehr persönliche Reflektion über den Zerfall Jugoslawiens.

PL: In Interviews sprechen die Hotelangestellten über die Vergangenheit, aber auch die Gegenwart. Sie sind Zeugen des gesellschaftlichen und politischen Wandels. Mitunter scheint eine gewisse Nostalgie durch, eine Sehnsucht nach dem früheren Gemeinschaftsgefühl vor der Privatisierung des Hotels. Mit dem Kapitalismus und dem Bürgerkrieg ging die Menschlichkeit verloren. Unter dem Eindruck des Verfalls der Linken werden „die alten Zeiten“ schnell romantisiert, das findet sich auch in Je vois rouge (I See Red People), in dem die Filmemacherin Bojina Panayotova ihre Eltern nach ihren bulgarischen Wurzeln fragt. Bis zu ihrem 30. Lebensjahr dachte sie, dass der Kommunismus die versprochene Utopie und ihre Kindheit in Bulgarien wunderschön war. Dann beginnt sie nachzufragen, es kommt zu extremen Konflikten mit ihren Eltern und die Wahrheit über ihre Vergangenheit kommt ans Licht. In beiden Filmen bündelt der Blick zurück mitunter die Energie und verhindert, dass im Heute gehandelt wird. Auch wenn der Blick in die Geschichte natürlich die Voraussetzung für den Blick in die Zukunft und eine Frage der Identität ist, kann er hemmend wirken.

The Silk and the Flame von Jordan Schiele

Familienkonflikte und die Rückkehr in die Heimat spielen auch in The Silk and the Flame eine Rolle...

MS: Der US-amerikanische Regisseur Jordan Schiele, der schon lange in Peking lebt, begleitet einen guten Freund in die Provinz, wo dessen Familie in einfachen Verhältnissen lebt. Die Eltern sind beide körperlich beeinträchtigt, beide können nicht mehr sprechen. Die Kommunikation mit den Eltern ist dadurch sehr eigenwillig. Die Familie hat ein eigenes Zeichensystem entwickelt, um miteinander zu kommunizieren. The Silk and the Flame zeigt, wie sehr die Familie ihre Erwartungen auf den Sohn projiziert. Er ist ausgebrochen, hat die Provinz verlassen, hat Erfolg und unterstützt jetzt die Familie. Die Familie erwartet von ihm, dass er endlich heiratet, obwohl er schwul ist. Das stößt ihn in eine tiefe Zerrissenheit zwischen der Loyalität zu seiner Familie und der Sehnsucht nach einem eigenen, selbstbestimmten Leben.

Verhandelt der Film seine Geschichte nur auf persönlicher Ebene oder geht es auch um soziologische Kategorien wie etwa die der Klasse?

MS: Der Film taucht sehr stark in den familiären Mikrokosmos ein, erzählt aber auch viel über China, über das Stadt-Land-Gefüge. Menschen gehen in die Stadt, aber die Verbindung zu ihren Wurzeln bleibt bestehen. So entsteht die Zerrissenheit einer ganzen Gesellschaft. Wir haben viele Filme über Intersektionalität im Programm, in denen Klasse bewusst diskutiert und reflektiert wird. Von Game Girls bis Shakedown. Von der deutschen Provinz in Familienleben bis hin zur argentinischen Peripherie in Marilyn. In den einzelnen Filmen stehen diese Dinge zunächst für sich, aber im Rahmen des Programms gibt es natürlich viele Überschneidungen und Referenzen. So entsteht ein sehr aktueller politischer Blick auf die Welt.

Game Girls von Alina Skrzeszewska

Widerstand

Widerstand zu leisten ist ein weiteres wichtiges Thema Eures Programms 2018...

MS: Durchaus. Kinshasa Makambo von Dieudo Hamadi etwa handelt dezidiert vom politischen Widerstand gegen Präsident Kabila und reflektiert, wie Einzelne zum Widerstand stehen, wie sich Widerstand organisieren lässt. Game Girls von Alina Skrzeszewska porträtiert ein afro-amerikanisches, lesbisches Paar in der Skid Row, der US-amerikanischen „Hauptstadt der Obdachlosen“. Er greift die Themen Klasse, Rasse und Geschlecht auf und zeigt Unterprivilegierte, die sich selbstbestimmt einen eigenen Raum schaffen und versuchen, die Obdachlosigkeit hinter sich zu lassen.

PL: Sie bleiben beharrlich und wollen sich nicht in die Opferrolle pressen lassen. Stattdessen suchen sie nach Lösungen und Alternativen. Diese Art des Widerstands spielt in vielen anderen Filmen ebenfalls eine Rolle. In ihnen steckt viel Energie, sie reflektieren nicht nur, sondern sagen klar: „Mit uns nicht, so geht es nicht weiter. Wir lassen uns das nicht gefallen.“ Es gibt einen extremen Kampfgeist in den Filmen dieses Jahr.

MS: Auf eine sehr introspektive Art und Weise verhandelt Marilyn von Martín Rodríguez Redondo das Thema in einer Coming-of-Age-Geschichte, die in der argentinischen Provinz angesiedelt ist. Dort sind die patriarchalen Strukturen noch stark verankert, niemand darf nach links oder rechts ausscheren. Der Protagonist steht auf Jungs und trägt gerne Kleider. Sein Wunsch nach Selbstbestimmung wird von der Familie unterdrückt, die in einer prekären Situation lebt, seit der Vater gestorben ist. Der Druck ist immens. Hier findet eine Radikalisierung im Inneren statt, die sich weder artikulieren noch ausagiert werden kann, weil es die Außenwelt nicht zulässt.

Generation Wealth von Lauren Greenfield

Eine Welt der internalisierten Zwänge scheint sich auch in Generation Wealth albtraumhaft zu entfalten...

MS: Die Zwänge des Konsums. Aber nicht nur. Lauren Greenfield interessiert sich auch für den obsessiven Umgang mit Arbeit, Schönheitsidealen oder schlicht Geld. Und die zerbrochenen Träume am Ende. Jede Figur ist auf ihre Art gebrochen und so werden auch die menschlichen Hintergründe beleuchtet.

PL: Zudem will sie die Wurzeln ihrer eigenen Besessenheit mit den grotesken Auswüchsen des amerikanischen Traums erforschen, die sich wie ein roter Faden durch ihre künstlerische Arbeit zieht. Im Zuge dieses Blicks zurück auf die eigene Herkunft interviewt sie auch ihre Mutter. An dieser Stelle ist der Film Je vois rouge und Hotel Jugoslavija sehr nahe. Generation Wealth ist auch sehr lehrreich: Dass es Schönheitsoperationen für Hunde gibt, wusste ich bisher nicht.