Berlinale: Interview Forum Expanded


2018 Forum Expanded:
To Revolutionise the Senses

34 films and video works of different lengths and genres and 15 installations, all from a total of 27 countries, can be seen in the 2018 Forum Expanded. In this interview, section head Stefanie Schulte Strathaus and curator Uli Ziemons discuss the politics of cinema according to Maya Deren, unusual experiences of space and time and the significance of the archive for an alternative writing of history.

Extended Sea by Nesrine Khodr

One of the most revolutionary works in the 2018 Berlinale, in my opinion, is Extended Sea by Nesrine Khodr which can be seen in your exhibition. With a running time of 705 minutes, it fundamentally contradicts every imperative of accumulation and stress in the context of a film festival and creates a completely different form of perception and sense of time. Can I actually have my senses revolutionised in the 2018 Forum Expanded?

Stefanie Schulte Strathaus: It’s great that you’re beginning with this work. We were already aware of it during last year’s selection period but it was too late for 2017. When this year’s programme slowly started to take shape, we had the feeling that something was missing. Then we remembered Extended Sea because the work creates a changed space-time relationship, one that allows you to focus on your own senses, put aside expectations and enter the exhibition – and perhaps even the entire festival – with freshly opened eyes. That’s why we’ve placed the work at the start of the exhibition in the Akademie der Künste.

In 2018 you are making very specific references to the director and film theorist Maya Deren. Is this work to be viewed in this context?

SSS: It touches on the core of her theory of cinema. For Deren, cinema is only meaningful when it evokes new ways of perception which are never the last word. The next seeing experience will change everything again. The concept of “experience” is very important to her: she sees it as the basis of what is political in cinema. In our programmes we’re trying to create a space of possibility in which cinema and the forms of our perception can be constantly expanded and changed.

How does this relate to your focus on documentary works?

Pink Slime Caesar Shift von Jen Liu

SSS: Changing perception is the prerequisite of every work of documentary. For a start, they are not about content and facts but about expanding views, changing perspectives and sharpening the senses. Cinema can achieve this beautifully, especially in experimental works. Installations can play very freely with the position of the viewer which is rather fixed in the cinema dispositif. Through this, the documentary genre creates a larger spectrum of possibilities for the aesthetic form.

Furthermore, there is currently a wide range of topics universally characterised by a particular sense of urgency. Almost all over the world at the moment, people are experiencing or witnessing crisis situations which artists and filmmakers are then grappling with. For this reason, many of our works are documentary in a twofold sense: the artists are presenting the current spectrum of cinematic possibilities which they have developed to introduce concrete political subject matters.

The Future in the Rear-View Mirror

How central is this year’s programme title, “A Mechanism Capable of Changing Itself”?

SSS: The title could actually apply to every year’s Forum Expanded and also to our entire annual work in the Kino Arsenal. Often, we cannot at first put transitions in cinema into words because we don’t yet have the terms for them. And the times in which we are currently living are equally hard to describe. Our work is an attempt to recognise a structure within them and to make it visible.

Today is 11th June 1993 by Clarissa Thieme

Maya Deren referred to Marx and Communism, which is an eschatological movement of thought. Many works in the 2018 programme, however, appear to negate the concept of time as a linear, unrelenting sequence and prefer to see the future in the rear-view mirror...

SSS: Absolutely. Incidentally, this observation is also strongly apposite in reference to this year’s Forum programme. However, it is not entirely new. For example, when the revolution in Egypt began to crumble, a certain helplessness spread when it came to assessing the present and defining expectations for the future. As a result, some people turned their gaze backwards, to history. Friction between the present and the past is always a prerequisite for thinking about the future. In this respect, I would agree with you: we are indeed attempting to unhinge time as a linear sequence, to establish new structures of time.

Uli Ziemons: Clarissa Thieme’s Today is 11th June 1993 provides a great example of playing with different timeframes. She works with an archive of amateur video footage made during the Siege of Sarajevo in the 1990s. Thieme has picked out a little science fiction film in which teenagers imagine a possible escape. It is 11 June 1993, the war has already lasted a long time, there is no way out anymore. They make a video designed to be passed down from generation to generation until a time machine has been invented and the makers of the video can be rescued. The plan works, but now the person who built the time machine is stuck in the Sarajevo of the 1990s.

Ard al mahshar (Land of Doom) by Milad Amin

SSS: Overcoming space and time is a topic which permeates the programme. In Aala kad al shawk - Le Voyage immobile (As Far As Yearning), Mohamed Soueid and Ghassan Salhab live in different cities and express their longing for their friendship and the city of Beirut via the exchange of lyrics from popular songs. In Ard al mahshar (Land of Doom), Milad Amin can now only make contact with his friend Ghith via Skype and phone calls from Beirut. Ghith is an activist and photographer and we see the final days of the siege of Aleppo through his camera. Amin relies upon his friend’s pictures and descriptions. This relaying by media creates a different level of perception.

Contra-Internet: Jubilee 2033 by Zach Blas transports Ayn Rand and her collective from 1955 to a dystopian future version of Silicon Valley. From the perspective of the here and now, the film simultaneously offers a trip into the past and the future – which leads to deliberate confusion. Both are fiction – the past just as much as the future.

I also associate Deren’s reference to Marx with the image of the dying state. Will there be a time when cinema is no longer needed?

SSS: That very much depends on the definition of cinema. Cinema has the task of critically engaging with the visual media. If cinema no longer existed, we would probably be faced with an uncontrolled flood of images. And even though there are numerous possibilities outside of cinema – for example, in art and theory – to conduct research into and criticism of images, cinema has found a form for this that is much more firmly established in society. For this reason, I cannot imagine a future without cinema. At the same time cinema is, for me, a very open format. How precisely it can take on a new form is another question. But cinema is needed.

6144 x 1024 von Margaret Honda

24 Days of Cinema

With reference to time, Margaret Honda’s 6144 x 1024 is another extraordinary work. With a running time of over 36 hours, it surpasses Extended Sea by more than a full day...

SSS: Margaret Honda refuses to abide by institutional or technical guidelines. She therefore runs the risk of her works only rarely being shown. It is a radical decision with which she is already challenging us for a second time. Spectrum Reverse Spectrum (2014 Forum Expanded) unfolded the colour spectrum of 70 mm film. Hardly any cinemas can screen 70 mm film now but, luckily, we have the possibility in our Kino Arsenal. Now her new work, 6144 x 1024, is dedicated to the colour spectrum of a digital cinema projector, which is even more extensive. Such a projector couldn’t be set up in the exhibition and the required viewing time of more than 36 hours would exceed every available slot in the cinema. This is why we’ve put it on in our small Kino Arsenal, which we wouldn’t normally use during the Berlinale.

UZ: The work makes visible every individual combination of the three colours red, green and blue, on every brightness level. With 24 images per second and the 10-bit colour depth of our projector, this results in a running time of 36 hours, 22 minutes and two seconds. But with other projectors, today’s technological standards mean it’s already possible to reach a running time of up to 24 days.

Contra-Internet: Jubilee 2033 by Zach Blas

SSS: When the viewer just sees big colour fields, gaps develop on the screen that open up not just one but an infinite number of spaces of possibility. Thus, in a very contemporary way, Honda is meeting Deren’s demand for a cinema that changes perception by leading the viewer to its fundamentals. In my opinion, it is a very political gesture.

Have you watched this work in its entirety?

SSS: No – we couldn’t have blocked the cinema for 36 hours. And it isn’t essential to see the film in its entirety either – although we initially toyed with the idea of screening it at full length overnight and organising catering for the spectators. 30 ago there would have been a huge audience for this. But today, viewers prefer at some stage to go and watch another film or go to bed or to a party. Therefore, we decided to screen it in sections for a few hours each evening during the festival in the small auditorium at Kino Arsenal.

Works like 6144 x 1024 are difficult to distribute. Is there nevertheless a “market” for such works?

SSS: In Forum we offer to take the work of every invited artist and filmmaker into our collection and/or our distribution company. However, this is not about the market: it’s about creating the largest possible visibility above and beyond the duration of the festival. We see it as our duty, at least to a certain extent, to take on responsibility for the works that we invite and to offer them a home. Our viewers include a large specialist, professional audience. Not just film distributors but also gallery owners, curators and other disseminators. Their experiences during the festival often have long-lasting effects. Some of the works in our programme are still finding their way into other projects and exhibitions years later. I wouldn’t call this “market” but rather interface.

Watching the Detectives von Chris Kennedy

Archive Detectives

Evidence of the Evidence by Alexander Johnston and Watching the Detectives by Chris Kennedy have very similar content. Is it also possible to compare these films in their methods?

UZ: Both analyse found footage, so they are comparable in that respect. The decisive difference is the respective origin of the material. Evidence of the Evidence is based on video footage recorded by the apparatus of the state during the brutally suppressed Attica prison riots of 1971 to identify the leaders of the uprising. In Watching the Detectives, anonymous internet users on reddit analyse images filmed by CCTV cameras during the Boston Marathon bombing to identify the perpetrators in a kind of crowdsourcing exercise. Both films follow a similar procedure and question the evidential nature of images – whether photographs or videos can be used as evidence.

I found the combination of both films interesting above all in view of one of your core topics: the archive. Between 1971 (Attica) and 2013 (Boston) the body of source material must have changed completely: both the quantity and accessibility have grown exponentially. Does this new flood of material help the possibilities of writing alternative histories?

SSS: The body of source material creates spaces of possibility. However, the writing of alternative history that we are talking about has nothing to do with that misnomer which was officially crowned non-word of the year in 2017, “alternative facts”. What we are referring to is the empowerment of people who have been suffering oppression and can now tell their stories. This also relates to film history written from a Western perspective.

This year in “Think Film No. 6: Archival Constellations” the Egyptian Mosireen collective is once again featured. They have archived film footage shot during the Cairo uprisings and, taking many criteria into consideration, have developed a database to make it accessible. At the same time, more and more archives are only beginning to be tapped into such as, for example, the National Film, Video and Sound Archive in Nigeria. Forum is screening the restored version of the Nigerian 1976 feature film Shaihu Umar by Adamu Halilu. Even before Nollywood there was a large film industry in Nigeria. To restore Shaihu Umar from 1976 and to screen it today has a transformative effect on the film history that has already been written.

Berlinale: Interview Forum Expanded


Forum Expanded 2018:
Die Sinne revolutionieren

34 Filme und Videoarbeiten aller Längen und Genres sowie 15 Installationen aus insgesamt 27 Ländern gibt es im Forum Expanded 2018 zu sehen. Im Interview sprechen Sektionsleiterin Stefanie Schulte Strathaus und Kurator Uli Ziemons über die Politik des Kinos bei Maya Deren, ungewöhnliche Zeit- und Raumerfahrungen und die Bedeutung des Archivs für eine alternative Geschichtsschreibung.

Extended Sea von Nesrine Khodr

Als eine der revolutionärsten Arbeiten der Berlinale 2018 empfinde ich Extended Sea von Nesrine Khodr, die bei Euch in der Ausstellung zu sehen ist. Mit einer Länge von 705 Minuten widerspricht sie im Kontext eines Filmfestivals grundlegend jeglichen Geboten von Akkumulation und Stress, schafft eine komplett andere Form der Wahrnehmung und des Zeitempfindens. Kann ich mir im Forum Expanded 2018 tatsächlich die Sinne revolutionieren lassen?

Stefanie Schulte Strathaus: Das ist schön, dass Du mit dieser Arbeit einsteigst. Wir kannten sie schon seit der Auswahlsaison des Vorjahres, aber für 2017 war es bereits zu spät. Als sich in diesem Jahr das Programm langsam formierte, hatten wir den Eindruck, dass etwas fehlte. Da fiel uns Extended Sea wieder ein, weil die Arbeit ein verändertes Zeit-Raum-Verhältnis herstellt, das einem erlaubt, den Fokus auf die eigenen Sinne zu richten, Erwartungshaltungen abzulegen und mit geöffnetem Blick in die Ausstellung – vielleicht sogar ins ganze Festival - einzusteigen. Deshalb haben wir sie an den Anfang der Ausstellung in der Akademie der Künste platziert.

Ihr bezieht Euch 2018 sehr konkret auf die Regisseurin und Filmtheoretikerin Maya Deren. Steht die Arbeit in diesem Kontext?

SSS: Sie berührt den Kern ihrer Kinotheorie. Für Deren ist Kino nur dann sinnvoll, wenn es neue Wahrnehmungsweisen hervorruft, die niemals endgültig sind. Die nächste Seherfahrung wird wieder alles verändern. Der Begriff der „Erfahrung“ ist bei ihr sehr wichtig, in ihm sieht sie das Politische des Kinos begründet. Wir versuchen, mit unseren Programmen dafür einen Möglichkeitsraum herzustellen, in dem sich das Kino und die Form unserer Wahrnehmung stets erweitern und verändern können.

Wie hängt das mit Eurem Schwerpunkt auf dokumentarische Arbeiten zusammen?

Pink Slime Caesar Shift von Jen Liu

SSS: Die Wahrnehmung zu verändern ist Voraussetzung jeder dokumentarischen Arbeit. Erst einmal geht es nicht um Inhalte und Fakten, sondern darum, den Blick zu erweitern, Blickrichtungen zu verändern und die Sinne zu schärfen. Und das kann das Kino hervorragend, ganz besonders das experimentelle. Installative Arbeiten können sehr frei mit der Position des/der Betrachter*in spielen, während das Kinodispositiv eher festgelegt ist. Dadurch entsteht im Bereich des Dokumentarischen ein größeres Spektrum formalästhetischer Möglichkeiten.

Hinzu kommt, dass es im Moment eine große Themenvielfalt gibt, die sich überall durch besondere Dringlichkeit auszeichnet. An nahezu jedem Ort dieser Welt durchleben oder beobachten die Menschen derzeit krisenhafte Situationen, mit denen sich Künstler*innen und Filmemacher*innen auseinandersetzen. Deshalb sind viele unserer Arbeiten auf eine doppelte Art dokumentarisch: Die Künstler*innen präsentieren die aktuelle Bandbreite filmischer Möglichkeiten, die sie entwickelt haben, um konkrete politische Inhalte einzubringen.

Die Zukunft im Rückspiegel

Wie zentral ist der diesjährige Programmtitel „A Mechanism Capable of Changing Itself“?

SSS: Der Titel könnte eigentlich über allen Forum Expanded-Jahrgängen, auch über unserer ganzjährigen Arbeit im Arsenal stehen. Wandlungen des Kino lassen sich oft zunächst nicht verbalisieren, weil wir noch keine Begriffe haben. Ähnlich schwer beschreibbar ist die Zeit, in der wir gerade leben. Unsere Arbeit ist der Versuch, darin eine Struktur zu erkennen und sie sichtbar zu machen.

Today is 11th June 1993 von Clarissa Thieme

Maya Deren bezieht sich auf Marx und den Kommunismus, der eine eschatologische Denkbewegung ist. Viele Arbeiten im 2018er Programm scheinen jedoch die Vorstellung von Zeit als linearer, stringenter Abfolge zu negieren und eher im Rückspiegel in die Zukunft zu sehen...

SSS: In der Tat, und diese Beobachtung trifft übrigens auch stark auf das diesjährige Programm des Forums zu. Allerdings ist das nicht ganz neu. Als beispielsweise in Ägypten die Revolution zu bröckeln begann, breitete sich eine gewisse Hilflosigkeit angesichts der Beurteilung der Gegenwart und der Erwartungen an die Zukunft aus. In der Folge wandten einige ihren Blick rückwärts in die Geschichte. Die Reibung zwischen Gegenwart und Vergangenheit ist immer Voraussetzung für ein Nachdenken über die Zukunft. Insofern würde ich Dir zustimmen, wir versuchen tatsächlich die Zeit als lineare Abfolge aus den Angeln zu heben, neue Zeitstrukturen zu etablieren.

Uli Ziemons: Clarissa Thiemes Today is 11th June 1993 fächert dieses Spiel mit verschiedenen Zeiten beispielhaft auf. Sie arbeitet mit dem Archiv aus Amateurvideoaufnahmen, das während der Belagerung Sarajevos in den 1990er Jahren entstanden ist. Thieme pickt einen kleinen Science-Fiction-Film heraus, in dem Jugendliche eine mögliche Flucht imaginieren. Es ist der 11. Juni 1993, der Krieg dauert schon lange an, es gibt keinen Ausweg mehr. Sie drehen ein Video, das so lange von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben werden soll, bis die Zeitmaschine erfunden ist und die Macher des Videos herausgeholt werden können. Der Plan geht auf, nur bleibt die Person, die die Zeitmaschine konstruiert hat, im Sarajevo der 1990er sitzen.

Ard al mahshar (Land of Doom) von Milad Amin

SSS: Die Überwindung von Zeit und Raum ist ein Thema, das das Programm durchzieht. In Aala kad al shawk - Le Voyage immobile (As Far As Yearning) verleihen Mohamed Soueid und Ghassan Salhab, in verschiedenen Städten lebend, ihrer Sehnsucht nach ihrer Freundschaft und der Stadt Beirut Ausdruck, indem sie Textzeilen aus populären Songs austauschen. Milad Amin kann in Ard al mahshar (Land of Doom) von Beirut aus nur noch über Skype und Telefon Kontakt zu seinem Freund Ghith aufnehmen. Ghith ist Aktivist und Fotograf, durch seine Kamera sehen wir die letzten Tage der Belagerung von Aleppo. Amin ist auf die Bilder und Beschreibungen seines Freundes angewiesen. Die mediale Vermittlung schafft eine andere Ebene der Wahrnehmung.

Contra-Internet: Jubilee 2033 von Zach Blas schickt Ayn Rand und ihr Kollektiv aus dem Jahr 1955 heraus in eine dystopische Zukunftsversion des Silicon Valley. Aus der Sicht des Jetzt bietet der Film zugleich eine Reise in die Vergangenheit und die Zukunft - das führt zu einem Verwirrspiel. Beides ist Fiktion - die Vergangenheit genau wie die Zukunft.

Über Derens Bezug auf Marx assoziiere ich auch die Figur des absterbenden Staates. Wird es irgendwann eine Zeit geben, in der das Kino nicht mehr gebraucht wird?

SSS: Das kommt auf die Definition von Kino an. Das Kino hat die Aufgabe, sich mit den Bildmedien kritisch auseinanderzusetzen. Wenn es das Kino nicht mehr gäbe, wären wir möglicherweise einer unkontrollierten Bilderflut ausgesetzt. Auch wenn es außerhalb des Kinos - z.B. in der Kunst und in der Theorie – noch zahlreiche andere Möglichkeiten gibt, Bildforschung und Bildkritik zu betreiben, hat das Kino eine Form dafür gefunden, die deutlich stärker in der Gesellschaft verankert ist. Deshalb kann ich mir eine Zukunft ohne das Kino nicht vorstellen. Gleichzeitig ist das Kino für mich ein sehr offenes Format. Wie es konkret eine neue Form gewinnt, ist eine andere Frage. Aber das Kino wird gebraucht.

6144 x 1024 von Margaret Honda

24 Tage Kino

In Sachen Zeit ist Margaret Hondas 6144 x 1024 eine weitere ungewöhnliche Arbeit. Mit einer Laufzeit von über 36 Stunden übertrifft sie Extended Sea noch einmal um mehr als einen Tag…

SSS: Margaret Honda hält sich nicht an institutionelle oder technische Vorgaben. Sie nimmt dabei das Risiko in Kauf, dass ihre Arbeiten selten gezeigt werden können. Das ist eine radikale Entscheidung, mit der sie uns bereits zum zweiten Mal herausfordert. Spectrum Reverse Spectrum (Forum Expanded 2014) fächerte das Farbspektrum von analogem 70mm-Material auf. Kaum ein Kino kann heute noch 70mm-Filme zeigen, glücklicherweise haben wir in unserem Kino Arsenal die Möglichkeit. Ihre neue Arbeit 6144 x 1024 widmet sich nun dem Farbspektrum eines digitalen Kinoprojektors, der es deutlich erweitert. In der Ausstellung ließ sich ein solcher Projektor nicht aufbauen, und im Kino sprengt die dafür notwendige Vorführdauer von mehr als 36 Stunden jeden verfügbaren Slot. So mussten wir unser kleines Kino Arsenal dazu nehmen, das wir sonst während der Berlinale nicht bespielen.

UZ: Die Arbeit macht jede einzelne Kombination der drei Farben Rot, Grün und Blau in jeder Helligkeitsstufe sichtbar. Bei 24 Bildern pro Sekunde und in der 10-bit Farbtiefe unseres Projektors ergibt das eine Laufzeit von 36 Stunden, 22 Minuten und zwei Sekunden. Mit anderen Projektoren wäre es beim heutigen technischen Stand allerdings schon möglich, auf eine Laufzeit von bis zu 24 Tagen zu kommen.

Contra-Internet: Jubilee 2033 von Zach Blas

SSS: Wenn der/die Zuschauer*in nur große Farbflächen sieht, entstehen auf der Leinwand Leerstellen, die nicht nur einen, sondern unendlich viele Möglichkeitsräume eröffnen. Damit setzt Honda Maya Derens Forderung nach einem Kino, das die Wahrnehmung verändert, auf eine sehr zeitgemäße Art um, indem sie den / die Betrachter*in zu ihren Grundlagen führt. Das ist meines Erachtens eine sehr politische Geste.

Habt Ihr die Arbeit in ihrer vollen Länge gesehen?

SSS: Nein - wir hätten das Kino nicht 36 Stunden blockieren können. Entscheidend ist auch nicht, den Film komplett zu sehen - obwohl wir zunächst mit der Idee gespielt haben, ihn über Nacht in seiner vollen Gänze zu zeigen und dafür Verpflegung für die Besucher*innen zu organisieren. Vor 30 Jahren hätte es dafür ein großes Publikum gegeben. Heute gehen die Zuschauer*innen lieber irgendwann in einen anderen Film, oder ins Bett, oder zu einer Party. Deshalb haben wir entschieden, ihn über die Festivaltage hinweg allabendlich in Teilen von jeweils einigen Stunden im kleinen Saal des Arsenals zu zeigen.

Arbeiten wie 6144 x 1024 sind nur schwer zu vertreiben. Gibt es dennoch einen „Markt“ für solche Werke?

SSS: Wir bieten allen ins Forum eingeladenen Künstler*innen und Filmemacher*innen an, ihre Arbeiten in unsere Sammlung und/oder in unseren Verleih zu übernehmen, allerdings nicht aus Marktinteresse. Uns geht es darum, über die Festivaldauer hinaus eine möglichst große Sichtbarkeit zu schaffen. Wir sehen es als unsere Aufgabe an, zumindest ein Stück weit Verantwortung zu übernehmen für die Arbeiten, die wir einladen, indem wir ihnen ein Zuhause bieten. Wir haben unter unseren Gästen ein großes Fachpublikum. Nicht nur Filmverleiher, sondern auch Galeristen, Kuratoren und andere Multiplikatoren. Die Erfahrungen, die sie während des Festivals machen, wirken oft lange nach, manche Arbeiten unseres Programms finden noch jahrelang Eingang in andere Projekte und Ausstellungen. Ich würde das nicht als „Markt“ bezeichnen, eher als Schnittstelle.

Watching the Detectives von Chris Kennedy

Detektive des Archivs

Evidence of the Evidence von Alexander Johnston und Watching the Detectives von Chris Kennedy sind inhaltlich sehr ähnlich. Lassen sich die beiden Filme auch in ihrer Methode vergleichen?

UZ: Beide analysieren gefundenes Material, in der Hinsicht sind sie vergleichbar. Der entscheidende Unterschied ist die jeweilige Herkunft des Materials. Evidence of the Evidence basiert auf dem Videomaterial, mit dem die Staatsmacht den brutal niedergeschlagenen Aufstand der Gefängnisinsassen in Attica 1971 aufgezeichnet hat, um die Anführer des Aufstandes zu identifizieren. In Watching the Detectives nutzen anonyme Internetuser auf reddit die Bilder, die Überwachungskameras während des Anschlags auf den Boston Marathon aufgezeichnet haben, um in einer Art Crowdsourcing die Täter zu identifizieren. Beide Filme wenden ein ähnliches Verfahren an und fragen nach der Evidenz des Bildes - ob Foto oder Video als Beweismittel dienen können.

Interessant fand ich die Kombination der beiden Filme vor allem in Hinblick auf eines Eurer Herzensthemen: das Archiv. Zwischen 1971 (Attica) und 2013 (Boston) muss sich die Quellenlage total verändert haben, Quantität und Verfügbarkeit sind exponentiell gestiegen. Erleichtert diese neue Materialflut die Möglichkeiten alternativer Geschichtsschreibung?

SSS: Die Quellenlage schafft Möglichkeitsräume. Allerdings hat die alternative Geschichtsschreibung, von der wir sprechen, nichts mit dem Unwort des Jahres 2017, den „alternativen Fakten“, zu tun. Wir meinen die Ermächtigung derjenigen, die Unterdrückung erlitten haben und die nun ihre Geschichten zu erzählen. Das betrifft auch die Filmgeschichte, die aus der Sicht des Westens geschrieben wurde.

Zu “Think Film No. 6: Archival Constellations” kommt in diesem Jahr erneut das ägyptische Kollektiv Mosireen. Sie haben Filmmaterial, das während der Aufstände in Kairo entstanden war, archiviert und unter Berücksichtigung vieler Kriterien eine Datenbank entwickelt, um es zugänglich zu machen. Gleichzeitig werden immer mehr Archive überhaupt erst erschlossen, wie z.B. das National Film, Video and Sound Archive in Nigeria. Im Forum ist die restaurierte Fassung des nigerianischen Spielfilms Shaihu Umar von Adamu Halilu aus dem Jahr 1976 zu sehen. Auch vor Nollywood gab es in Nigeria eine große Filmproduktion. Shaihu Umar von 1976 zu restaurieren und heute zur Aufführung zu bringen hat verändernden Einfluss auf die bereits geschriebene Filmgeschichte.