Berlinale: Interview Berlinale Talents


2018 Berlinale Talents:
Sharing Secrets

This year, Berlinale Talents is inviting Berlin audiences to 25 public talks and five film screenings. In this interview, programme manager Florian Weghorn and project manager Christine Tröstrum discuss this year’s thematic focus, the special feeling that distinguishes the section and the #MeToo debate.

Your theme this year is “Secrets”. What made you come up with this?

FW: Themes come to us as a gut feeling. And not our own, but those of the Berlinale initiatives and their worldwide communities. They therefore represent things we’re currently working on and which many of our Talents have been chewing over content-wise or on a practical level. This year we’re focusing on hunting down the mysterious in cinema, things and moments that are not at first obvious. We want to publicly share our knowledge and fascination with mysterious aspects of film. If you look at the film industry, some secrets are long past their due-date and need to be aired. Having said that, aspects concerning stories and imagery should preserve the magic of cinema. Because, in an age when technology seems to make everything constantly and universally available, secrets are almost something that needs protecting.

CT: Besides, the topics of the year always arise from a reflection on the social conditions. How do we want to work and live? What could the future look like? Especially with regard to social cohesion and sustainability. The changes and structure of organisations are central factors in this context. For example, how is knowledge being shared and how does it move between different hierarchical levels? We are promoting transparent processes and developing entirely new concepts about how we want to work together in the future. For this reason, “sharing secrets” and “sharing knowledge” are important impulses for this year’s theme as well as for our collaboration at the Berlinale as a whole.

Participants of the 2017 "Short Film Station“

A Network of Mutual Sympathies

With 3,191 applications from 133 countries, you’ve set a new record this year. In the meantime, your alumni community has grown to 5,400 members. Considering these numbers, do you still have goals for the coming years?

CT: Of course! We never rest on our laurels. Berlinale Talents is demanding, our aspiration is to permanently adjust the programme to the needs of both the filmmakers and the industry. Change is an implicit part of this. Many of our alumni come back as experts and offer their own focal points in the programme which then lead to new initiatives and result in further changes.

FW: And, as everywhere at the Berlinale, we seldom measure success in numbers. Depth and sustainability are the decisive criteria. The original concept of Berlinale Talents wasn’t a school or “talent factory” but a network of mutual sympathies. Whoever comes to Berlin is already a talent and encounters other talents. Trust is very important to us: we want to encourage people to continue on their own path. This structure allows us to invite many participants from previous years to return as experts. This year, that’s people like director David Zellner and producer Bianca Balbuena who both have films screening in the Competition. It usually only takes half an e-mail to restore that old family feeling – and with it, to establish a new working relationship which generally fits very well with the Berlinale.

CT: To just take an example: South African producer Dylan Voogt wrote to me about being invited to Berlinale Series with a Danish production. His last sentence was “Happy to be back. Talents was a life changer and it works.” I congratulated him and asked whether he would like to do something at Talents. His reply: “Yes, if you need me, let me know.”

"Talent Circles“ 2017 with the producer Dora Bouchoucha Fourati

And what are your plans for the future?

FW: For the future we intend to intensify the work on these relationships and this is always related to content. It’s not about “secret handshakes” but about being prepared to come to an understanding on specific subject matters and to strengthen each other. Along these lines, the programme is currently changing again, opening up more and more new spaces for this kind of exchange. In many places, we have eschewed traditional panels in favour of smaller, more interactive formats in which big stars can enter into a genuine dialogue with the Talents and the audience. As ever, many events are open to all Berlinale visitors. But we believe that sheltered environments and safe spaces are also required in which topics can be addressed in an open and sometimes even more controversial manner.

CT: Moreover, we understand our initiative to be a place for life-long learning. Every day means discovering something new – and reflecting on the value of these new findings. Thus, Berlinale Talents isn’t only aimed at filmmakers at the beginning of their careers; it is also an invitation for everyone to participate and to share and augment their knowledge.

In Contact With the Audience

Many of your events are also open to the general public. What is the particular attraction of this?

During the event "Body Experience: Sounds From Inside“ 2017

FW: We can intensify the cinema experience of festival visitors. For this reason, we often invite filmmakers whose work festival audiences may have seen and who they have briefly witnessed in public discussions on stage. At Talents, the possibility then exists to delve deeper into the production process or one particular interpretation of cinema. We have arranged with Wes Anderson for his storyboard artist Jay Clarke to come to us. On Grand Budapest Hotel and this year’s wonderful Berlinale opening film, Isle of Dogs, Clarke and Anderson started working together in the very early stages of the production – where ideas are born. Jay Clarke is going to come and draw in a fantastic event. It’s important to us that our guests don’t just talk but also act and interact on a practical level.

CT: From the beginning it was a USP of Berlinale Talents that we don’t just focus on directing, producing, acting and screenwriting but on all the disciplines – right up to film criticism. The public programme reflects this tradition very well, for example, in a presentation on the lighting design in Blade Runner 2049 and in an acting workshop with Josephine Decker which is open to everyone.

“I’ve been called a woman cameraman.”

Equal rights in the film industry have been brought starkly into the public consciousness with the #MeToo debate. This year you have 128 women and 122 men on board. Is this gender equality a concern for you?

CT: From the start, Berlinale Talents has been a 50-50 event. That’s indeed an objective for us and has become a matter of course. There is still a lot to do, but we are mindful of also tackling the embedded structures of film production – especially on the technical side. Because if it’s all about equality in the exchange between different human beings, then it affects the entire cast and crew. We’re placing the topic at the heart of this year’s programme with the legendary camerawomen Nancy Schreiber and Agnès Godard. Our jumping off point with Nancy was an interview in which she said: “I’ve been called a woman cameraman.” Although, fortunately, there are more and more successful camerawomen, the simple word “camerawoman” or the neutral “cinematographer” are less established even in the Google search function. We mainly want to speak to Nancy and Agnès about their great camerawork, but the public panel in HAU1 is also welcome to further the debate on women in the so-called “technical crafts”. We’re hoping for the audience to actively take part in an animated discussion.

The 2017 Dine & Shine Dinner

FW: And perhaps another thought on the #MeToo debate. As a festival, we have great respect for the many people who are now daring to reveal often unutterable secrets. And we’re of the opinion that the system needs to be changed. A lot of what the festival as a whole can contribute to this debate is therefore taking place in the industry initiatives – not least in the European Film Market and with us because we can trigger changes at the deepest levels. We’re asking how forms of collaboration in film can be shaped so that the hierarchies and power structures become more apparent and the chance then arises for the next step being to change them. Talents is ideally suited to such a process: the 250 Talents and the experts are ready and waiting to pose such questions – and they have very good ideas.

Diversity and variety are of course general founding principles of Talents...

CT: Yes. And to see these principles at work overwhelms us time and again. When a Palestinian and an Israeli participate in a workshop together and it is only at the end of the week that they realise where they actually come from. There are no borders or cultural sensibilities, Berlinale Talents is, in this sense, its very own individual and peaceful planet.

Accompanying the Filmmakers

With the Kompagnon Fellowship you and Perspektive Deutsches Kino presented a very special award for the first time last year. Has your approach been proven successful?

CT: The special thing about the award is that it goes beyond what many other prizes do, which is to thrust money into people’s hands and say: “You’ll manage.” That also has its place and is very important but the Kompagnon seeks to do more. It literally wants to be a companion who remains at the winners’ side for a year and helps and supports them. Nora Fingscheidt, who won the award for her project Systemsprenger last year, sat down with us quite early on and considered what she actually needed. And she decided to call upon various people who acted like an emergency helpline for her whenever she needed someone’s experience. This way, she received legal help and also advice during the scripting stage and in preproduction. She has woven a network around her own network. And that was unbelievably exciting for us to see because that’s exactly what the Kompagnon was intended to achieve.

Berlinale: Interview Berlinale Talents


Berlinale Talents 2018:
Geheimnisse teilen

Zu 25 öffentlichen Talks und fünf Filmvorführungen laden die Berlinale Talents das Berliner Publikum in diesem Jahr ein. Im Interview sprechen Programmleiter Florian Weghorn und Projektleiterin Christine Tröstrum über den diesjährigen Themenschwerpunkt, das besondere Gefühl, das die Sektion auszeichnet, und die #MeToo-Debatte.

Euer diesjähriges Thema lautet „Secrets“. Wie seid Ihr darauf gekommen?

FW: Themen entstehen bei uns aus dem Bauch. Und zwar nicht aus dem eigenen, sondern dem der Initiative und ihrer weltweiten Community. Sie stehen also für das, woran wir gerade arbeiten und an dem viele unserer Talente inhaltlich und praktisch zu knabbern haben. In diesem Jahr suchen wir speziell nach dem Geheimnisvollen des Films, den Dingen und Momenten, die erstmal nicht gleich offensichtlich sind. Wir wollen unser Wissen und die Faszination für das Geheimnisvolle im Film teilen und nach draußen tragen. Schaut man in die Filmbranche, sind manche Geheimnisse längst überfällig und müssen gelüftet werden. Aber was die Geschichten und Bilderwelten angeht, soll die Magie des Films bewahrt werden. Denn in einer Zeit, in der technisch alles überall und jederzeit verfügbar scheint, sind Geheimnisse ja fast schon etwas Schützenwertes.

CT: Die Jahresthemen entstehen zudem immer aus der Reflexion über die gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse. Wie würden wir gerne arbeiten und leben? Wie könnte die Zukunft aussehen? Vor allem auch mit Blick auf den sozialen Zusammenhalt und die Nachhaltigkeit. Der Wandel und der Aufbau von Organisationen sind in diesem Kontext zentrale Faktoren. Wie wird zum Beispiel Wissen geteilt, wie wandert Wissen zwischen den Hierarchieebenen? Wir befördern transparente Prozesse und entwickeln ganz neue Vorstellungen, wie wir zukünftig gemeinsam arbeiten wollen. Deshalb sind „Sharing secrets“ und „Sharing knowledge“ wichtige Impulse sowohl für das diesjährige Thema als auch für unser gemeinsames Arbeiten bei der Berlinale im Ganzen.

Teilnehmer der „Short Film Station“ 2017

Ein Netzwerk der gegenseitigen Sympathie

Mit 3191 Bewerbungen aus 133 Ländern habt Ihr einen neuen Rekord in diesem Jahr aufgestellt. Eure Alumni Community ist inzwischen auf 5400 Mitglieder angewachsen. Habt Ihr angesichts dieser Zahlen noch Ziele für die nächsten Jahre?

CT: Natürlich, wir ruhen uns niemals aus. Berlinale Talents ist „demanding“, unser Anspruch ist es, das Programm permanent an die Bedürfnisse sowohl der Filmemacher*innen als auch an die der Industrie anzupassen. Der Wandel ist schon im Programm inbegriffen. Viele unserer Alumni kehren als Expert*innen zurück, bieten eigene Programmschwerpunkte an, aus denen neue Initiative entstehen, und sorgen damit für weitere Veränderungen.

FW: Und wie überall bei der Berlinale bemessen wir Erfolg selten in Zahlen. Tiefgang und Nachhaltigkeit sind die entscheidenden Kriterien. Die Ur-Idee von Berlinale Talents ist keine Schule oder „Talentschmiede“, sondern ein Netzwerk der gegenseitigen Sympathie. Wer nach Berlin kommt, ist bereits ein Talent und trifft auf Talente. Vertrauen ist uns wichtig, wir wollen ermutigen, den eigenen Weg weiterzugehen. Diese Struktur ermöglicht es uns, viele unserer Teilnehmer*innen aus früheren Jahrgängen wieder als Expert*innen einzuladen. In diesem Jahr etwa den Regisseur David Zellner oder die Produzentin Bianca Balbuena, die beide mit ihren Filmen im Wettbewerb laufen. Es dauert meist nur eine halbe E-Mail, um das alte Family-Feeling wieder herzustellen – und damit auch eine neue Arbeitsbeziehung zu etablieren, die generell sehr gut zur Berlinale passt.

CT: Nur ein Beispiel: Mir hat ein südafrikanische Produzent Dylan Voogt geschrieben, er sei mit einer dänischen Produktion zu Berlinale Series eingeladen. Als letzter Satz stand da: „Happy to be back. Talents was a life changer and it works.“ Ich habe ihm gratuliert und gefragt, ob er nicht etwas bei Talents machen will. Seine Antwort: „Ja, wenn du mich brauchst, sag Bescheid.“

„Talent Circles“ 2017 mit der Produzentin Dora Bouchoucha Fourati

Und wie soll die Zukunft aussehen?

FW: Für die Zukunft wünschen wir uns eine Vertiefung dieser Beziehungsarbeit, die auch immer eine inhaltliche ist. Es geht nicht um „secret handshakes“, sondern um die Bereitschaft, sich zusammen über Themen zu verständigen und sich gegenseitig stärker zu machen. In diesem Sinne verändert sich das Programm gerade wieder und öffnet immer neue Räume für diese Art des Austauschs. An vielen Stellen haben wir uns von klassischen Panels verabschiedet zugunsten von kleinen, interaktiven Formaten, bei denen auch die großen Stars mit den Talenten und dem Publikum in einen echten Dialog treten können. Vieles ist wie immer öffentlich für alle Berlinalebesucher*innen. Aber wir glauben auch, dass es Schon- oder Schutzräume braucht, in denen Themen offen und nochmal kontroverser angesprochen werden können.

CT: Zudem begreifen wir unsere Initiative als einen Ort des lebenslangen Lernens. Jeder Tag bedeutet, Neues zu entdecken - und den Wert dieser neuen Erkenntnisse zu reflektieren. Deshalb richtet sich Berlinale Talents nicht nur an Filmschaffende, die am Anfang ihrer Karriere stehen, sondern ist eine Einladung an alle, sich zu beteiligen und ihr Wissen zu teilen bzw. zu vermehren.

Im Kontakt mit dem Publikum

Viele Eurer Veranstaltungen sind auch für ein öffentliches Publikum zugänglich. Was macht den besonderen Reiz aus?

Während der Veranstaltung „Body Experience: Sounds From Inside“ 2017

FW: Wir können das Filmerlebnis der Festivalbesucher*innen vertiefen. Deshalb knüpfen wir oft bei Filmemacher*innen an, deren Werke die Zuschauer*innen im Festival vielleicht gesehen und die sie in Publikumsgesprächen kurz auf der Bühne erlebt haben. Bei Talents besteht dann die Möglichkeit, in die Produktionsprozesse oder in das jeweilige Verständnis von Film einzutauchen. Mit Wes Anderson haben wir vereinbart, dass sein Storyboard-Artist Jay Clarke zu uns kommt. Für Grand Budapest Hotel und den wunderbaren diesjährigen Berlinale-Eröffnungsfilm Isle of Dogs haben Clarke und Anderson schon in den ganz frühen Phasen der Produktion zusammenarbeitet – da, wo die Ideen geboren werden. Bei uns wird Jay Clarke in einer tierisch guten Veranstaltung ins Zeichnen kommen. Das ist uns wichtig: Dass unsere Gäste nicht nur reden, sondern praktisch agieren und interagieren.

CT: Von Beginn an war einzigartig bei Berlinale Talents, dass wir nicht nur Regie, Produktion, Schauspiel und Drehbuch in den Fokus stellen, sondern alle Gewerke - bis hin zur Filmkritik. Im öffentlichen Programm spiegelt sich das sehr gut wider, zum Beispiel in einer Veranstaltung zum Lichtdesign von Blade Runner 2049 oder einem für alle zugänglichen Schauspielworkshop mit Josephine Decker.

„I‘ve been called a woman cameraman.“

Die Gleichberechtigung in der Filmbranche ist mit der #MeToo-Debatte stark ins öffentliche Bewusstsein gerückt. In diesem Jahr habt Ihr 128 Frauen und 122 Männer an Bord. Ist Euch diese Gleichstellung ein Anliegen?

CT: Berlinale Talents war von Anbeginn eine fifty-fifty Veranstaltung. Das ist uns tatsächlich ein Anliegen und zur Selbstverständlichkeit geworden. Es gibt immer noch viel zu tun, aber wir achten darauf, dass wir auch die tieferen Strukturen der Filmproduktion angehen – vor allem in den Gewerken. Denn wenn es um Gleichberechtigung im Austausch zwischen unterschiedlichen Menschen geht, dann betrifft das immer das Filmteam als Ganzes. Mit den legendären Kamerafrauen Nancy Schreiber und Agnès Godard verorten wir das Thema im Herzen des diesjährigen Programms. Unser erster Berührungspunkt mit Nancy war ein Interview, in dem sie sagte: „I‘ve been called a woman cameraman.“ Obwohl es zum Glück immer mehr erfolgreiche Kamerafrauen gibt, hat sich selbst in der Google-Suche das einfache Wort „camerawoman“ oder neutral „cinematographer“ nicht durchgesetzt. Wir werden mit Nancy und Agnès vor allem über ihre tolle Kameraarbeit sprechen, aber das öffentliche Panel im HAU1 darf auch gern die Debatte um Frauen in den sogenannten „technischen Gewerken“ ein Stück voranbringen. Wir hoffen auf rege Beteiligung der Zuschauer*innen.

Das Dine & Shine Dinner 2017

FW: Vielleicht noch ein Gedanke zur #MeToo-Debatte. Wir als Festival haben großen Respekt für die vielen Menschen, die sich jetzt trauen, oft unsägliche Geheimnisse zu lüften. Und wir sind der Meinung, dass man das System verändern muss. Vieles von dem, was das Festival als Ganzes zu dieser Debatte beitragen möchte, findet daher in den Industry-Initativen statt – nicht zuletzt im European Film Market oder bei uns, die wir Veränderungen in den Tiefenschichten anstoßen können. Wir fragen, wie sich Formen der Zusammenarbeit im Film so gestalten lassen, dass Hierarchien und Machtverhältnisse bewusster werden, so dass die Chance besteht, sie im nächsten Schritt zu verändern. Talents ist für solche Prozesse wie gemacht: Die 250 Talente plus die Expert*innen warten nur darauf, sich solche Fragen zu stellen – und sie haben sehr gute Ideen.

Diversity und Vielfältigkeit ist ja auch ein generelles Grundprinzip der Talents...

CT: Ja. Und das zu erleben, überwältigt uns immer wieder. Wenn ein Palästinenser und ein Israeli einen Workshop zusammen machen und erst am Ende der Woche feststellen, woher sie eigentlich kommen. Grenzen und kulturelle Befindlichkeiten gibt es nicht, Berlinale Talents ist in diesem Sinne ein ganz eigener, friedlicher Planet.

Die Filmemacher*innen begleiten

Mit dem Kompagnon-Förderpreis habt Ihr gemeinsam mit der Perspektive Deutsches Kino im letzten Jahr zum ersten Mal einen sehr besonderen Preis verliehen. Hat sich Euer Ansatz bewährt?

CT: Das Besondere des Preises ist, dass er über das hinausgeht, was viele andere Preise tun, nämlich den Leuten Geld in die Hand drücken und sagen: „Du machst das schon.“ Das ist auch schön und sehr wichtig, aber der Kompagnon will mehr. Er will wortwörtlich ein Begleiter sein, der für ein Jahr an der Seite der Gewinner*innen steht, hilft und unterstützt. Nora Fingscheidt, die letztes Jahr den Preis für ihr Projekt Systemsprenger gewonnen hat, hat sich relativ früh mit uns zusammengesetzt und überlegt, was sie eigentlich braucht. Und sich dafür entschieden, sich verschiedene Leute zu holen, die wie ein Notfalltelefon für sie funktioniert haben, wenn sie jemanden mit Erfahrung brauchte. So hat sie juristische Hilfe, Beratung bei der Drehbucharbeit und in der Vorbereitung der Produktion bekommen. Sie hat ein Netzwerk um ihr Netzwerk gesponnen. Und das ist unheimlich beglückend für uns zu sehen, denn genau dafür ist der Kompagnon gedacht.