Berlinale: Interview Berlinale Shorts


Berlinale Shorts 2018:
The Dynamite of the Split Second

"Our bars and city streets, our offices and furnished rooms, our railroad stations and our factories seemed to close relentlessly around us. Then came film and exploded this prison-world with the dynamite of the split second, so that now we can set off calmly on journeys of adventure among its far-flung debris. With the close-up, space expands; with slow motion, movement is extended."
Walter Benjamin*

22 films from 18 countries are competing for the Golden Bear for Best Short Film in the 2018 Berlinale Shorts. In this interview, curator Maike Mia Höhne discusses the focal points of the programme, the specific possibilities of short film and a special series on the 50th anniversary of the 1968 Movement.

My Name is Oona by Gunvor Nelson

2018 – what’s coming up?

Short film is the barometer for what is coming. The Berlinale is the first A film festival in the year and it screens the films that will be talked about in 2018. In short films, the artistic signature of the director is written large. We are really delighted by these special and formative moments in the filmmakers’ careers! It is fantastic to see how they set off on their journeys and will eventually outgrow themselves.

What is being said in the 2018 competition?

2018 is going to be intense. The short film selection is bursting with energy. They are bold, wild films. Playful, serious and, above all, distinctive. Taken as a whole, the selection demonstrates the entire bandwidth of longing surrounding and guiding us, of the questions we are obliged to ask ourselves as a society. And a great strength of our programme is that we can also hear many voices from very diverse realities. For the first time, the Berlinale Shorts programme includes a film from Rwanda: in his hybrid work Imfura, the 27-year-old director Samuel Ishimwe shows us a young man who travels to his mother’s village for the first time. She disappeared during the genocide and he is searching for memories. Religious rituals, court proceedings, reunion with family members. It is thrilling and very rich. A complementary film to Imfura is Babylon by Keith Deligero. Two women set off to kill a dictator. Fearless, with many allies and lightning across their chests. Blood flows, there is gunfire and the good prevail in the end – a new voice from the Philippines which represents a cinematic tradition that doesn’t consider art house and soap opera to be incompatible.

Kushbu Devi in Circle by Jayisha Patel

In their works, the filmmakers present strategies for self-empowerment. Onde o Verão Vai (episódios da juventude) by David Pinheiro Vicente contains nothing less than the young Portuguese director’s own reinvention of the creation story. Queer and adventurous, with friends. Simply put, it’s totally different. In contrast, in her documentary Circle, Jayisha Patel records the family as a hotbed of female trafficking. In this film, a grandmother is selling her granddaughter to be raped. Patel established a huge amount of trust within this family structure which made it possible for her to be present as a fourth confidante in the small circle. The daughter suddenly talks directly about the abuse and accuses her mother. As a consequence of her being able to put her experience into words, the girl is able to change the course of events. In City of Tales by Arash Nassiri, Los Angeles becomes Tehran. The lights sparkle as though on ecstasy; and all we hear are Persian dialects. A total change of senses and perspectives!

Blau by David Jansen

Two films deal with the situation of animals and, interestingly, both Le Tigre de Tasmanie by Vergine Keaton and Blau by David Jansen are animations. In Blau, we voyage with a cow whale and her calf through the vast ocean reaches. It sounds like an idyll but it isn’t. The mother is slaughtered in front of her young and the calf must fend for itself. It tries to make sense of the world. Between abstract art and real-life circumstances, such as the pollution of the seas, the calf moves through the big blue. Things are the other way round in Le Tigre de Tasmanie: the tiger lives in the zoo and paces around his cage. Hospitalism. He is one of the last of his kind. In Russa, co-directors João Salaviza and Ricardo Alves Jr. tell of the consequences of the inhumanity of the property market, that gold rush of the 21st century. What does it mean when, time and again, people are forced out of their neighbourhood to make way for society’s powerful? In Alma Bandida by Marco Antônio Pereira, a young man searches for gems in a pit. These treasures are a synonym for another life – different from the one he is leading on the edge of the Brazilian rainforest. And yes, films are gems too, wishes and hopes shining out from the big screen!

Apart from all that, are there any other overriding themes in the 2018 Berlinale Shorts?

In 2018, we are commemorating the 50th anniversary of the 1968 Movement. Berlinale Shorts kicks this off with an exciting Special Programme, "1968 – Red Flags for Everyone", which connects various aesthetic positions - for example, Expanded Cinema, experimental film and essay films – and brings the films smoothly into the present day. Starting from their subjective perspective and the experience of that era, the films have lost none of their significance even today. VALIE EXPORT, Claudia von Alemann, Ula Stöckl, Peter Nestler, Wilhelm and Birgit Hein, along with various other artists, have created timeless works of art.

The winners of the Golden Bear for Best Short Film 2014: Caroline Poggi and Jonathan Vinel

Already three times in the past six years the Golden Bear has gone to Portugal. Is it a life changer?

The third generation of directors in contemporary Portuguese cinema have understood that fiction can provide a great narrative freedom in dealing with the present day. Films change lives and the Bears add a sheen. The Berlinale is an initiator and springboard of enormous import for the short film scene worldwide. The presentation of the Golden Bear for the Best Short Film is the highlight of the award ceremony! This prize is the greatest affirmation for the auteur cinema of the future. For example: in 2014 Caroline Poggi and Jonathan Vinel won the Golden Bear for Tant qu'il nous reste des fusils à pompe. Both said in an interview with ARTE that winning the Bear was an unequivocal signal for them that the radically taken path, remarkably consistent in its aesthetics, was the right one! In 2016 Berlinale Shorts screened their unparalleled film Notre Héritage; and last year Martin Pleure by Jonathan Vinel. Now their feature film debut Jessica Forever has been listed by chaosreigns in their top ten most anticipated films of 2018 – between Weerasethakul and Lars von Trier.

What can the short film do that the longer form cannot?

I really don’t want to make such a strong demarcation, because both forms can do a lot. I love short film for its concision and concentration and also for its ability to react quickly to a situation. The short form is a fantastic space for possibility.

How can the short film become even more visible?

I am currently considering creating an archive: a cinematheque of the short form. There are precedents in Denmark and France and the popularity of these archives, the demand for these films for a variety of situations – in teaching, research, programme design – favour the initiative. It is in keeping with the times to use the vast amount of films via an online archive outside of a festival presentation. Colleagues across Europe are working on similar ideas. We will meet at the Berlinale in order to coordinate our various aims. With VISION KINO the German Federal Government has created an initiative whose main focus is on cinema as a cultural space. Since 2017 there has been the opportunity for cinema operators to secure financial support for the presentation of short film programmes. Considering the diversity of the form, I would like to make it accessible – in cinemas, schools and universities, for museums and curators.

The Men Behind the Wall by Ines Moldavsky

In "The Work of Art in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction", Walter Benjamin wrote: "Then came film and blew apart this prison world with the dynamite of the split second [...]. Space is expanded by the close-up, movement by slow motion." That was in 1935/6. What can film do today?

Just as before, film explodes ossified notions and opens us up to a new vision. In The Men Behind the Wall by Ines Moldavsky, the director from Tel Aviv is interested in men from the West Bank and meets them via dating platforms. The transgression of borders is the subject of this artist’s film. On the technical side, digitalisation is facilitating the future of filmmaking. In both cameras and cinemas we are anticipating aperture ranges in excess of those of analogue photography. That means there are new areas of development in colour grading, in black and in white. In addition, there are places and situations we can reach by camera today that were unthinkable even in the 1990s: altitudes, depths, processes. These are new dimensions that can be told. In Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off) director Lukas Marxt secures stunning images from what is, today, a simple drone flight.

The festival family – that oft-cited bond between certain filmmakers and certain festivals... is there a solidarity between creatives and festivals?

Families are the basis of Greek tragedy and have thus been with us for quite a while. The potential for conflict in families is very high but, at the same time, families are wonderfully versatile systems. Beyond the competitive situation that comes with a festival that awards big prizes it is our declared aim to bring filmmakers together. Lots of close ties have been knit thanks to this very intimate work during the festival. It’s also about establishing cooperations beyond the competitive context. A family is a family, a festival is a festival – and the best of both worlds come together at the Berlinale to create a great eleven days!


* Benjamin, Walter. The Work of Art in the Age of Its Technological Reproducibility - SECOND VERSION; in: Benjamin, Walter: The Work of Art in the Age of Its Technological Reproducibility, and Other Writings on Media, Edited by
Jennings, Michael W. / Doherty, Brigid and Levin Thomas Y.; translated by Jephcott, Edmund / Rodney, Livingstone / Eiland, Howard, and Others, Cambridge, Massachusetts London, England 2008

Berlinale: Interview Berlinale Shorts


Berlinale Shorts 2018:
Dynamit der Zehntelsekunden

„Unsere Kneipen und Großstadtstraßen, unsere Büros und möblierten Zimmer, unsere Bahnhöfe und Fabriken schienen uns hoffnungslos einzuschließen. Da kam der Film und hat diese Kerkerwelt mit dem Dynamit der Zehntelsekunden gesprengt, so daß wir nun zwischen ihren weitverstreuten Trümmern gelassen abenteuerliche Reisen unternehmen. Unter der Großaufnahme dehnt sich der Raum, unter der Zeitlupe die Bewegung.“
Walter Benjamin*

22 Filme aus 18 Ländern konkurrieren bei Berlinale Shorts 2018 um den Goldenen Bären für den Besten Kurzfilm. Im Interview spricht die Kuratorin Maike Mia Höhne über die Schwerpunkte im Programm, das besondere Vermögen des Kurzfilms und eine Sonderreihe zum 50. Jubiläum der 68er-Bewegung.

My Name is Oona (Mein Name ist Oona) von Gunvor Nelson

2018 – Was ist das, was kommt?

Kurzfilm ist das Barometer für das, was kommt. Die Berlinale ist das erste A-Filmfestival im Jahr und zeigt die Filme, über die 2018 gesprochen werden wird. Im Kurzfilm manifestiert sich die Handschrift der Regie. Wir freuen uns sehr über diesen besonderen und prägenden Moment in den Karrieren der Filmemacher*innen! Es ist großartig zu sehen, wie sie Fahrt aufnehmen und über sich hinauswachsen.

Was erzählt der Wettbewerb 2018?

2018 wird intensiv. Die Kurzfilmauswahl sprüht vor Energie. Es sind mutige, wilde Filme. Verspielt, ernsthaft und vor allem eigen. Die Gesamtheit der Auswahl erzählt von der großen Bandbreite der Sehnsüchte, die uns umgeben und leiten, von den Fragen, denen wir uns gesellschaftlich stellen müssen. Als große Stärke unseres Programms empfinden wir auch die vielen Stimmen aus sehr diversen Wirklichkeiten. Im Berlinale Shorts-Programm läuft das erste Mal ein Film aus Ruanda: Der 27-jährige Regisseur Samuel Ishimwe inszeniert in seinem hybriden Werk Imfura einen jungen Mann, der das erste Mal in das Dorf seiner Mutter reist. Sie ist während des Genozids verschwunden und er sucht nach der Erinnerung. Religiöse Rituale, ein Gerichtsprozess, Wiedertreffen mit Familienmitgliedern. Spannend und sehr dicht. Komplementär steht Imfura dem Film Babylon von Keith Deligero gegenüber. Zwei Frauen machen sich auf, einen Diktator zu töten. Ohne Angst, mit vielen Verbündeten und Blitzen auf der Brust. Blut fließt, es wird geballert und am Ende siegen die Guten – eine neue Stimme von den Philippinen, die für eine Kinotradition steht, die Arthouse und Telenovela nicht als Gegensatz versteht.

Kushbu Devi in Circle von Jayisha Patel

Die Filmemacher*innen bieten in ihren Werken Strategien der Selbstermächtigung an. In Onde o Verão Vai (episódios da juventude) von David Pinheiro Vicente ist es nichts weniger als die Schöpfungsgeschichte selbst, die der junge Regisseur aus Portugal neu erfindet. Queer und experimentierfreudig, mit Freunden, einfach ganz anders. Jayisha Patel hingegen hält in ihrem Dokumentarfilm Circle die Familie als Keimzelle für den Frauenhandel fest. In diesen Aufnahmen ist es die Großmutter, die ihre Enkeltochter für die Vergewaltigung verkauft. Patel hat sich ein großes Vertrauen innerhalb dieser Familienstrukturen erarbeitet, was es ihr ermöglicht, wie eine vierte, vertraute Person ganz dicht im engen Kreis dabei zu sein. Unvermittelt und direkt erzählt die Tochter von dem Missbrauch und klagt ihre Mutter an. Dadurch, dass sie Worte findet, verändert sie den Lauf der Dinge. In City of Tales von Arash Nassiri wird Los Angeles zu Teheran. Die Lichter glänzen wie von Ecstasy betäubt; und alles, was zu hören ist, sind persische Mundarten. Ein Wechsel der Sinne und Perspektiven!

Blau von David Jansen

Gleich zwei Filme konzentrieren sich auf die Lebensumstände von Tieren und interessanterweise sind beide, sowohl Le Tigre de Tasmanie von Vergine Keaton als auch Blau von David Jansen, Animationsfilme. In Blau reisen wir mit einer Walkuh und ihrem Kalb durch die unendlichen Weiten der Ozeane. Klingt nach Idylle, ist es aber nicht. Die Mutter wird vor den Augen ihres Kindes getötet und das Kalb ist auf sich selbst gestellt. Es versucht, die Welten zu verstehen. Zwischen abstrakter Kunst und konkreten Verhältnissen, wie die Verschmutzung der Meere, bewegt sich das Kalb durch das große Blau. In Le Tigre de Tasmanie ist es umgekehrt: Der Tiger lebt im Zoo und dreht dort seine Runden. Hospitalismus. Er ist einer der letzten seiner Art. In Russa erzählt das Regieduo João Salaviza und Ricardo Alves Jr. von den Folgen der Unmenschlichkeit der Immobilienbranche, dem Goldrausch des 21. Jahrhunderts. Was bedeutet es, wenn Menschen erneut und erneut aus ihrem Umfeld vertrieben werden, um denen Platz zu machen, die gesellschaftlich die Macht haben? In Alma Bandida von Marco Antônio Pereira sucht ein junger Mann in einer Grube nach Edelsteinen. Diese Kostbarkeiten sind Synonyme für ein anderes Leben – anders als jenes, das er am Rande des Urwaldes in Brasilien führt. Ja, Filme sind Edelsteine, Wünsche und Hoffnungen, die von der Leinwand leuchten!

Gibt es darüber hinaus Schwerpunkte bei Berlinale Shorts 2018?

Wir gedenken im Jahr 2018 dem 50-jährigen Jubiläum der 68er-Bewegung. Die Berlinale Shorts machen den Aufschlag mit einem aufregenden Sonderprogramm: „1968 – Rote Fahnen für alle“ verbindet unterschiedliche ästhetische Positionen – z.B. Expanded Cinema, Experimentalfilm und Essayfilm – und trägt die Filme entspannt in die Gegenwart. Ausgehend von der subjektiven Sicht und dem Erleben der Zeit, haben die Filme bis heute nichts von ihrer Gültigkeit verloren. VALIE EXPORT, Claudia von Alemann, Ula Stöckl, Peter Nestler, Wilhelm und Birgit Hein sowie weitere Künstler*innen haben zeitlose Kunstwerke geschaffen.

Die Gewinner des Goldenen Bären für den Besten Kurzfilm 2014: Caroline Poggi und Jonathan Vinel

Gleich dreimal ist in den vergangenen sechs Jahren der Goldene Bär nach Portugal getragen worden. A life-changer?

Die dritte Generation an Regisseuren des zeitgenössischen portugiesischen Kinos hat die Fiktion als Möglichkeit verstanden, mit einer großen erzählerischen Freiheit die Gegenwart zu verhandeln. Filme verändern Leben und Bären geben den Glanz. Die Berlinale ist für die weltweite Kurzfilmszene ein Impulsgeber und ein Sprungbrett von enormer Tragweite. Die Vergabe des Goldenen Bären für den Besten Kurzfilm ist das Highlight der Preisverleihung! Dieser Preis ist die größte Zustimmung für das Autorinnenkino und Autorenkino der Zukunft. Ein Beispiel: 2014 gewannen Caroline Poggi und Jonathan Vinel mit Tant qu'il nous reste des fusils à pompe den Goldenen Bären. Die beiden haben in einem Interview mit Arte gesagt, dass der Gewinn des Bären für sie ein eindeutiges Zeichen war: Ihr radikal eingeschlagener, ästhetisch bemerkenswert konsequenter Weg ist richtig! 2016 zeigten wir bei Berlinale Shorts den unerreichten Film Notre Héritage der beiden, im letzten Jahr Martin Pleure von Jonathan Vinel. Nun wird ihr Spielfilmdebüt Jessica Forever bei chaosreigns unter den zehn meist erwarteten Filmen für 2018 gelistet – zwischen Weerasethakul und Lars von Trier.

Was kann der kurze Film, was der langen Form verwehrt bleibt?

Ich würde gar nicht zu stark abgrenzen wollen, denn beide Formen können vieles. Ich liebe den Kurzfilm für seine Prägnanz und Konzentration sowie für seine Möglichkeit, auf ein Umfeld schnell reagieren zu können. Die kurze Form ist ein großartiger Möglichkeitsraum!

Wie kann der Kurzfilm noch sichtbarer werden?

Ich denke derzeit über die Schaffung eines Archivs nach: eine Kinemathek der kurzen Form. Es gibt Vorbilder in Dänemark und Frankreich, und der Zuspruch dieser Archive, die Nachfrage nach den Filmen für verschiedenste Zusammenhänge – Unterricht, Recherche, Programmgestaltung – gibt der Initiative Recht. Es ist zeitgemäß, heute mit einem Online-Archiv die vielen Filme jenseits einer Festival-Präsentation zu nutzen. Europaweit arbeiten Kolleginnen und Kollegen mit ähnlichen Ideen. Zur Berlinale werden wir uns treffen, um die verschiedenen Anliegen zu koordinieren. Die Bundesregierung hat mit VISION KINO eine Initiative geschaffen, deren Hauptaugenmerk auf dem Kino als kultureller Ort liegt. Seit 2017 gibt es die Möglichkeit für Kinobetreiberinnen und Kinobetreiber, sich bei der Präsentation von Kurzfilmprogrammen finanziell unterstützen zu lassen. Ich denke an die Vielfalt der Form und möchte diese zugänglich machen – im Kino, in der Schule und Universität, für Museen und Kuratoren.

The Men Behind the Wall von Ines Moldavsky

Walter Benjamin denkt in „Das Kunstwerk im Zeitalter seiner technischen Reproduzierbarkeit“: „Da kam der Film und hat diese Kerkerwelt mit dem Dynamit der Zehntelsekunden gesprengt [...]. Unter der Großaufnahme dehnt sich der Raum, unter der Zeitlupe die Bewegung.“ Das war 1935/36. Was kann der Film heute?

Film sprengt nach wie vor festgefahrene Vorstellungen und macht uns frei für einen neuen Blick. In The Men Behind the Wall von Ines Moldavsky interessiert sich die Regisseurin aus Tel Aviv für die Männer aus dem Westjordanland. Via Dating-Plattformen treffen sie sich. Das Überschreiten von Grenzen ist Thema dieses Künstlerinnenfilms. Auf technischer Seite unterstützt die Digitalisierung die Zukunft des Filmemachens. Sowohl im Kamera- als auch im Kinobereich erwarten uns Blendenbereiche jenseits der analogen Fotografie. Das heißt, es gibt neue Forschungsbereiche in den Farbverläufen, im Weiß, im Schwarz. Dazu kommen Orte und Zustände, die wir heute mit den Kameras erreichen, die noch in den 1990er Jahren undenkbar gewesen wären: Höhen, Tiefen, Verläufe. Es sind neue Dimensionen, die erzählt werden können. In Imperial Valley (cultivated run-off) von Lukas Marxt entstehen durch einen heute simplen Drohnenflug überwältigende Bilder.

Die Festivalfamilie, die oft besprochene Bindung von bestimmten Filmemacher*innen an bestimmte Festivals... Gibt es eine Solidarität zwischen den Kreativen und den Festivals?

Familien sind die Grundlage der griechischen Tragödien und begleiten uns allein deswegen schon ziemlich lange. Das Konfliktpotential in Familien ist sehr hoch und gleichzeitig sind Familien wunderbar bewegliche Systeme. Jenseits der Konkurrenzsituation, die ein Festival mit sich bringt, in dem es um große Preise geht, ist es unser erklärtes Anliegen, die Filmemacher*innen miteinander in Verbindung zu bringen. Durch diese sehr intime Arbeit während des Festivals haben sich schon viele Bande geknüpft. Es geht auch um eine Verwurzelung im Miteinander jenseits der Wettbewerbssituation. Eine Familie ist eine Familie, ein Festival ein Festival – das Beste aus beidem wird bei der Berlinale zu elf großen Tagen!


* Benjamin, Walter: Das Kunstwerk im Zeitalter seiner technischen Reproduzierbarkeit – Die drei deutschen Fassungen in einem Band, Berlin 2015