Berlinale: Berlinale Shorts online


Berlinale Shorts online

This site features a selection of works from past Berlinale Shorts programmes. The films will be online for four weeks starting from the date they are made available.
A project by the Berlinale and Zeit Online

Curator‘s Pick | Maike Mia Höhne | Berlinale Shorts

Strong animations and one fiction film – between politics and personal experience, the films provide an impressive overview of the Berlinale Shorts selection. They have gained numerous awards around the world; Call of Cuteness is nominated for the German Short Film Award 2017. Berlinale Shorts presents contemporary trends of international and innovative cinema. Films of renowned directors such as Ruben Östlund, Pimpaka Towira, Tom Tykwer, Caroline Poggi & Jonathan Vinel, Leonor Teles, João Salaviza, Jan Soldat, Akram Zaatari, Christoph Schlingensief were presented at Berlinale Shorts.

Dissonance

by Till Nowak | Germany 2015 | 17 min | Berlinale Shorts 2015

Available from November 23 to December 21, 2017

A father misses his daughter and wants to see her. The mother doesn’t allow it, she’s frightened of this man she no longer understands and can no longer reach. She senses that he lives in another world. The daughter has no fear. The longing remains. In Dissonance, reality and fantasy merge and affect each other. 3D animation and live action become one. An odyssey through time and space. A modern fairytale.

More information on Dissonance

Kaputt (Broken – The Women’s Prison at Hoheneck)

by Volker Schlecht and Alexander Lahl | Germany 2016 | 7 min | Berlinale Shorts 2016

Available from November 30 to December 28, 2017

Kaputt is an animated documentary about Burg Hoheneck, the central women’s prison in former GDR. Apart from detention conditions, themes addressed primarily include enforced labour and the utilisation of products manufactured for export to the West. Gabriele Stötzer from Erfurt and Birgit Willschütz from Berlin recall their prison terms at Hoheneck in original interview recordings. The extract of these audio testimonials are interpreted in simple, minimally animated monochrome images.

More information on Kaputt

Call of Cuteness

by Brenda Lien | Germany 2017 | 4 min | Berlinale Shorts 2017

Available from December 7, 2017 to January 4, 2018

“While we watch the ‘cat fail’ of the day in cheerful safety, all that remains invisible in this neoliberal nightmare catches up with us. The cat’s body is consumed, exploited and controlled. The fear of pain is greater than the will for freedom. Objects are fetishised and subjects are made into things – quantifiable and ready for use. They are the natural commodity for a luxury they are not even aware of. We are here, because you were there – and waste is disposed of in the sea. In the end, the bodies reveal the causes and effects of power, lust and hate.” (Brenda Lien)

More information on Call of Cuteness

Fuera de Temporada | Out of Season

by Sabrina Campos | Argentina 2017 | 23 min | Berlinale Shorts 2017

Available from December 14, 2017 to January 11, 2018

Vera and Bruno used to be a couple, but haven’t seen one another since they separated. He coincidentally appears before her during a long-awaited country house weekend with friends on the outskirts of Buenos Aires. Bruno is now with Sofía. Vera is single and not unhappy about it. Shared days lie before them, surrounded by friends. The summer is hot, and the pool heavily frequented. Fuera de Temporada travels in reverse within a 3-act structure and tells, devoid of drama, of a love that no longer is, and of longing once more rekindled.

More information on Fuera de Temporada

Berlinale: Berlinale Shorts online


Berlinale Shorts online

Auf dieser Seite können Sie eine Auswahl von Werken aus den Berlinale Shorts-Programmen der letzten Jahre ansehen. Die Filme sind ab dem Zeitpunkt ihrer Veröffentlichung jeweils vier Wochen lang online verfügbar.
Ein Projekt der Berlinale und Zeit Online.

Curator‘s Pick | Maike Mia Höhne | Berlinale Shorts

Starke Animationen und ein Spielfilm – Filme, die zwischen Politik und subjektivem Erleben einen eindrucksvollen Einblick in die Auswahl der Berlinale Shorts geben. Die Filme sind weltweit vielfach ausgezeichnet, Call of Cuteness unter anderem nominiert für den Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis 2017. Die Berlinale Shorts präsentieren die zeitgenössischen Trends des internationalen, innovativen Kinos. Filme renommierter Regisseur*innen wurden hier präsentiert, u.a. Ruben Östlund, Pimpaka Towira, Tom Tykwer, Caroline Poggi & Jonathan Vinel, Leonor Teles, João Salaviza, Jan Soldat, Akram Zaatari, Christoph Schlingensief.

Dissonance

von Till Nowak | Deutschland 2015 | 17 Min | Berlinale Shorts 2015

Verfügbar vom 23.11. bis 21.12. 2017

Der Vater vermisst seine Tochter und will sie sehen. Die Mutter erlaubt das nicht, sie hat Angst vor diesem Mann, den sie nicht mehr versteht und nicht mehr erreicht. Sie spürt, er lebt in einer anderen Welt. Die Sehnsucht bleibt. In Dissonance fließen Realität und Phantasie ineinander über und ineinander ein. 3D-Animation und Live Action werden eins. Eine Odyssee durch Zeit und Raum. Ein modernes Märchen.

Mehr Informationen zu Dissonance

Kaputt

von Volker Schlecht und Alexander Lahl | Deutschland 2016 | 7 Min | Berlinale Shorts 2016

Verfügbar vom 30.11. bis 28.12. 2017

Kaputt ist ein Animadok-Film über die Burg Hoheneck, das zentrale Frauengefängnis der ehemaligen DDR. Neben den Haftbedingungen werden vor allem die Zwangsarbeit und die Verwertung der hergestellten Produkte für den „Westexport“ thematisiert. Die Erfurterin Gabriele Stötzer und die Berlinerin Birgit Willschütz stellen sich in O-Ton-Interviews ihrer Haftzeit auf Hoheneck. Der Extrakt dieser Tonzeugnisse wird zeichnerisch abstrahierend in einfachen, sparsam animierten, monochromen Bildern interpretiert.

Mehr Informationen zu Kaputt

Call of Cuteness

von Brenda Lien | Deutschland 2017 | 4 Min | Berlinale Shorts 2017

Verfügbar vom 7.12.2017 bis 4.1.2018

„Während wir heil und munter den Katzen-Fail des Tages gucken, holt uns alles, was unsichtbar bleibt in diesem neoliberalen Albtraum, wieder ein. Der Katzenkörper wird konsumiert, ausgenutzt und kontrolliert. Die Angst vor Schmerz ist größer als der Wille zur Freiheit. Objekte werden fetischisiert und Subjekte zu Dingen gemacht – quantifizierbar und einsatzbereit. Sie sind der natürliche Rohstoff für einen Luxus, den sie selber nicht kennen. Wir sind hier, weil ihr dort wart – und Abfall wird im Meer entsorgt. Am Ende offenbaren die Körper die Ursachen und Wirkungen von Macht, Lust und Hass.“ (Brenda Lien)

Mehr Informationen zu Call of Cuteness

Fuera de Temporada | Außerhalb der Saison

von Sabrina Campos | Argentinien 2017 | 23 Min | Berlinale Shorts 2017

Verfügbar vom 14.12.2017 bis 11.1.2018

Früher waren Vera und Bruno ein Paar, doch seit der Trennung haben sie sich nicht mehr gesehen. Jetzt steht er durch Zufall vor ihr, bei dem langersehnten Landhaus-Wochenende mit Freunden an der Peripherie von Buenos Aires. Bruno ist jetzt mit Sofía zusammen und Vera ist Single, und nicht unglücklich darüber. Vor ihnen liegen ein paar gemeinsame Tage, umgeben von Freunden. Es ist ein heißer Sommer, und der Pool ist stark frequentiert. Fuera de Temporada bewegt sich innerhalb der 3-Akt-Struktur gegen die Laufrichtung. Ohne jedes Drama erzählt der Film von einer Liebe, die keine mehr ist, und von einer Sehnsucht, die noch einmal aufflammt.

Mehr Informationen zu Fuera de Temporada