Berlinale: Retrospective, Berlinale Classics & Homage


Retrospective, Berlinale Classics
& Homage

The Retrospective is the Berlinale’s film history programme. In Berlinale Classics, digitally restored film classics and rediscoveries celebrate their premieres. The Homage and the Honorary Golden Bear pay tribute to a great film personality for their lifetime’s achievement.

Curated by the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen (German Cinematheque – Museum for Film and Television), the Retrospective brings works from international film history back to the big screen. Selected on the basis of thorough research, the film programme captivates with cinematographic rediscoveries, high-quality film prints and digital screening formats. The Retrospective topics are devoted to central periods of film history, aspects of film aesthetics and film technology as well as individual genres.

By encountering works from film history, audiences experience the ongoing transformation of cinematic storytelling and aesthetics. Prominent representatives of today’s filmmaking community, restorers and curators present the films and give information on their film-historical backgrounds. Each annual programme is accompanied by a comprehensive publication which explores the subject in more depth, illuminates it from different angles and places it in a film-historical context.

Berlinale Classics 2017: Terminator 2: Judgment Day 3D

The Retrospective has been complemented since 2013 by the Berlinale Classics presentations. In view of the increasing number of high-quality restorations and reconstructions offered by the new possibilities of digital processing, Berlinale Classics provides a forum for premieres in this area. New restorations of film classics and rediscoveries are screened in brilliant picture and sound quality. The films are usually introduced by a high-profile festival guest or the restorers.

Since 1977, the Homage has honoured outstanding personalities from the international film scene, screening their most important works in a series of films. The presentation of the Honorary Golden Bear for a lifetime’s achievement at a gala screening in the presence of the honoured guest is one of the highlights of the Berlinale. The Berlin International Film Festival and the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen prepare the Homage together.

Since its foundation in 1951, the Berlinale has been the only A-festival in the world to screen a comprehensive filmhistorical retrospective. In 1977, this special commitment to the heritage of international film led to a partnership with the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen which, since then, has been responsible for shaping the content and has curated and organised the Retrospective and Homage in close cooperation with the festival. Directors previously honoured in the Retrospective include Fritz Lang, Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau, Luis Buñuel, Ernst Lubitsch and Ingmar Bergman. Other topics have been periods significant to film history such as Weimar Cinema and New Hollywood, as well as innovations which played a decisive role in the aesthetic and technical development of cinema (Aesthetics of Shadow, Glorious Technicolor).

Since 2013, the Retrospective has been expanded by Berlinale Classics. In view of the increasing number of high-quality restorations and reconstructions offered by the new possibilities of digital processing, this section provides a forum for premieres of restored film classics and rediscoveries screened in brilliant picture and sound quality.

The 2018 awardee: Willem Dafoe

The presentation of the Honorary Golden Bear for a lifetime’s achievement in filmmaking is accompanied in the Homage by a film series screening the award-winner’s most important works. Between 1977 and 2008, the Honorary Bear went to directing greats such as Hal Roach, Fred Zinneman, Arthur Penn and Francesco Rosi and to acting stars like James Stewart, Gregory Peck, Sophia Loren, Catherine Deneuve and Jeanne Moreau. Since 2009, other film disciplines have also come into the spotlight with presentations to the French film composer Maurice Jarre (2009), cinematographer Michael Ballhaus (2016) and costume designer Milena Canonero (2017).

The Retrospective has been managed by the Deutsche Kinemathek since 1977 that has organised the following Retrospectives:

  • Eleanor Powell (1976)
    Conrad Veidt, Part 2
    Great German Films 1929-1932
    German Short Films of the 1930s, Part 2
  • Greta Garbo (1975)
    Conrad Veidt, Part 1
    German Short Films of the 1930s, Part 1
  • Lilian Harvey (1974)
    Jacques Feyder
    Norman McLaren
  • Wilhelm / William Dieterle (1973)
    American Musicals
    Animations by Dave Fleischer
  • Douglas Fairbanks (1972)
    Ludwig Berger
    American Animations 1940-1955
  • Busby Berkeley (1971)
    Eddie Cantor
  • Winners of the “Golden Bears” and other Berlinale films (1970)
    Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire
  • Abel Gance (1969)
    Musicals 1929-1950
    Oskar Fischinger
  • Ernst Lubitsch, Part 2 (1968)
    W. C. Fields
  • Ernst Lubitsch, Part 1 (1967)
    Harry Langdon
  • Cinema Novo (1966)
    Max Ophüls
    Mack Sennett
  • Masterpieces of German Film 1895-1932 (1965)
  • Louis Lumière (1964)
    Pola Negri
    Paul Leni
  • Elisabeth Bergner (1963)
    E. A. Dupont
    Karl Grune
    Yasujiro Ozu
  • Asta Nielsen (1962)
    G. W. Pabst
    Ingmar Bergman
  • Richard Oswald (1961)
    Billy Wilder
    Akira Kurosawa
  • 10 Years Golden Berlin Bear (1960)
    Musicals from 1930-1945
    Musicals from 1930-1945 (Experimental film special programme)
  • International Masterpieces from the Early Years of Talkies (1959)
  • Masterpieces of International Film from 1915 to 1945 (1958)
  • German Artists in Foreign Film (1957)
  • The Humour of Nations (1956)
  • 60 Years Film (1955)
  • Showcase of Famous Films (1954)
  • Silent Movies (1951-1953)

  • Willem Dafoe (2018)
  • Milena Canonero (2017)
  • Michael Ballhaus (2016)
  • Wim Wenders (2015)
  • Ken Loach (2014)
  • Claude Lanzmann (2013)
  • Meryl Streep (2012)
  • Armin Mueller-Stahl (2011)
  • Hanna Schygulla / Wolfgang Kohlhaase (2010)
  • Maurice Jarre (2009)
  • Francesco Rosi (2008)
  • Arthur Penn (2007)
  • Anouk Aimée (2003)
  • Claudia Cardinale (2002)
  • Kirk Douglas (2001)
  • Jeanne Moreau / Robert De Niro (2000)
  • Shirley MacLaine (1999)
  • Catherine Deneuve (1998)
  • Kim Novak (1997)
  • Jack Lemmon / Elia Kazan (1996)
  • Alain Delon (1995)
  • Sophia Loren (1994)
  • Gregory Peck (1993)
  • Hal Roach (1992)
  • Jane Russell / Robert Mitchum (1991)
  • Renaud-Barrault au cinéma (1987)
  • Fred Zinnemann (1986)
  • Melina Mercouri / Jules Dassin (1984)
  • James Stewart (1982)
  • Peter Pewas (1981)
  • Wilfried Basse (1977)

Berlinale: Retrospektive, Berlinale Classics & Hommage


Retrospektive, Berlinale Classics
& Hommage

Die Retrospektive ist das filmhistorische Programm der Berlinale. In den Berlinale Classics feiern digital restaurierte Filmklassiker und Wiederentdeckungen ihre Erstaufführung. Mit der Hommage und dem Goldenen Ehrenbären wird zudem eine große Persönlichkeit des Films für ihr Lebenswerk geehrt.

Die von der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen kuratierte Retrospektive bringt Werke der internationalen Filmgeschichte zurück auf die große Leinwand. Auf der Grundlage umfassender Recherchen ausgewählt, besticht das Filmprogramm mit kinematografischen Wiederentdeckungen sowie mit hochwertigen Filmkopien und digitalen Vorführformaten. Die Themen der Retrospektive widmen sich zentralen Perioden der Filmgeschichte ebenso wie filmästhetischen oder filmtechnischen Aspekten und einzelnen Genres.

In der Begegnung mit Werken der Filmgeschichte erlebt das Publikum den sich stetig vollziehenden Wandel filmischer Erzählweisen und Ästhetiken. Prominente Vertreter*innen des aktuellen Filmschaffens, Restaurator*innen und Kurator*innen präsentieren die Filme und informieren über filmhistorische Hintergründe. Begleitend erscheint alljährlich eine umfangreiche Publikation, die das Sujet vertieft, von verschiedenen Seiten beleuchtet und filmhistorisch einordnet.

Berlinale Classics 2017: Terminator 2: Judgment Day 3D

Die Präsentationen der Berlinale Classics erweitern seit 2013 die Retrospektive. Angesichts einer wachsenden Anzahl hochwertiger Restaurierungen und Rekonstruktionen, für die neue Möglichkeiten der digitalen Bearbeitung genutzt werden, bieten die Berlinale Classics ein Forum für Erstaufführungen in diesem Bereich. Gezeigt werden aktuelle Restaurierungen von Filmklassikern sowie wiederentdeckte Filme in brillanter Bild- und Tonqualität. Die Filme werden in der Regel von einem prominenten Gast des Festivals oder von den Restaurator*innen vorgestellt.

Mit der Hommage werden seit 1977 herausragende Persönlichkeiten des internationalen Films gewürdigt. In einer Filmreihe sind jeweils deren wichtigste Werke zu sehen. Die Verleihung des Goldenen Ehrenbären für das Lebenswerk im Rahmen einer Galaveranstaltung für den anwesenden Ehrengast bildet einen der Höhepunkte der Berlinale. Die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin und die Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen bereiten die Hommage gemeinsam vor

Die Berlinale zeigt als weltweit einziges A-Festival seit ihrer Gründung 1951 eine umfangreiche filmhistorische Retrospektive. Diese besondere Verpflichtung gegenüber dem internationalen Filmerbe führte 1977 zu einer Partnerschaft mit der Deutschen Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen, die seither für die inhaltliche Gestaltung verantwortlich zeichnet und Retrospektive und Hommage in enger Kooperation mit den Filmfestspielen kuratiert und organisiert. Zu den bisher im Rahmen der Retrospektive gewürdigten Regisseuren zählen u. a. Fritz Lang, Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau, Luis Buñuel, Ernst Lubitsch und Ingmar Bergman. Weitere Themen waren filmgeschichtlich bedeutende Perioden wie die des Weimarer Kinos oder des New Hollywood, aber auch für die ästhetische und technische Entwicklung des Kinos wesentliche Neuerungen (Ästhetik der Schatten, Glorious Technicolor).

Seit 2013 erweitern die Berlinale Classics die Retrospektive. Sie bieten angesichts einer wachsenden Anzahl hochwertiger Restaurierungen und Rekonstruktionen, für die neue Möglichkeiten der digitalen Bearbeitung genutzt werden, ein Forum für Erstaufführungen restaurierter Filmklassiker sowie wiederentdeckter Filme in brillanter Bild- und Tonqualität.

Der Preisträger 2018: Willem Dafoe

Die Verleihung des Goldenen Ehrenbären für das Lebenswerk eines Filmschaffenden wird im Rahmen der Hommage von einer Filmreihe mit den wichtigsten Werken des Preisträgers begleitet. Zwischen 1977 und 2008 ging der Ehrenbär an Regiegrößen wie Hal Roach, Fred Zinneman, Arthur Penn und Francesco Rosi oder an Schauspielstars wie James Stewart, Gregory Peck, Sophia Loren, Catherine Deneuve und Jeanne Moreau. Ab 2009 gelangten mit der Auszeichnung des französischen Filmkomponisten Maurice Jarre (2009), des Kameramanns Michael Ballhaus (2016) und der Kostümbildnerin Milena Canonero (2017) auch weitere filmische Gewerke in den Fokus.

Seit 1977 wird die Retrospektive von der Deutschen Kinemathek betreut, die seitdem folgende Retrospektiven veranstaltete:

  • Eleanor Powell (1976)
    Conrad Veidt, 2. Teil
    Deutsche Spitzenfilme 1929-1932
    Deutsche Kurzspielfilme der dreißiger Jahre, 2. Teil
  • Greta Garbo (1975)
    Conrad Veidt, 1. Teil
    Deutsche Kurzspielfilme der dreißiger Jahre, 1. Teil
  • Lilian Harvey (1974)
    Jacques Feyder
    Norman McLaren
  • Wilhelm / William Dieterle (1973)
    Amerikanische Musicals
    Trickfilme von Dave Fleischer
  • Douglas Fairbanks (1972)
    Ludwig Berger
    Amerikanische Zeichentrickfilme 1940-1955
  • Busby Berkeley (1971)
    Eddie Cantor
  • Gewinner des „Goldenen Bären“ und andere Berlinale-Filme (1970)
    Ginger Rogers und Fred Astaire
  • Abel Gance (1969)
    Musicals 1929-1950
    Oskar Fischinger
  • Ernst Lubitsch, 2. Teil (1968)
    W. C. Fields
  • Ernst Lubitsch, 1. Teil (1967)
    Harry Langdon
  • Cinema Novo (1966)
    Max Ophüls
    Mack Sennett
  • Meisterwerke deutscher Filmkunst 1895-1932 (1965)
  • Louis Lumière (1964)
    Pola Negri
    Paul Leni
  • Elisabeth Bergner (1963)
    E. A. Dupont
    Karl Grune
    Yasujiro Ozu
  • Asta Nielsen (1962)
    G. W. Pabst
    Ingmar Bergman
  • Richard Oswald (1961)
    Billy Wilder
    Akira Kurosawa
  • 10 Jahre Goldener Berliner Bär (1960)
    Musikfilme der Jahre 1930-1945
    Musikfilme der Jahre 1930-1945 (Experimentalfilm-Sonderprogramme)
  • Internationale Meisterwerke der ersten Tonfilmjahre (1959)
  • Meisterwerke des internationalen Films von 1915 bis 1945 (1958)
  • Deutsche Künstler im ausländischen Film (1957)
  • Humor der Nationen (1956)
  • 60 Jahre Film (1955)
  • Schau berühmter Filme (1954)
  • Stummfilme (1951-1953)

  • Willem Dafoe (2018)
  • Milena Canonero (2017)
  • Michael Ballhaus (2016)
  • Wim Wenders (2015)
  • Ken Loach (2014)
  • Claude Lanzmann (2013)
  • Meryl Streep (2012)
  • Armin Mueller-Stahl (2011)
  • Hanna Schygulla / Wolfgang Kohlhaase (2010)
  • Maurice Jarre (2009)
  • Francesco Rosi (2008)
  • Arthur Penn (2007)
  • Anouk Aimée (2003)
  • Claudia Cardinale (2002)
  • Kirk Douglas (2001)
  • Jeanne Moreau / Robert De Niro (2000)
  • Shirley MacLaine (1999)
  • Catherine Deneuve (1998)
  • Kim Novak (1997)
  • Jack Lemmon / Elia Kazan (1996)
  • Alain Delon (1995)
  • Sophia Loren (1994)
  • Gregory Peck (1993)
  • Hal Roach (1992)
  • Jane Russell / Robert Mitchum (1991)
  • Renaud-Barrault au cinéma (1987)
  • Fred Zinnemann (1986)
  • Melina Mercouri / Jules Dassin (1984)
  • James Stewart (1982)
  • Peter Pewas (1981)
  • Wilfried Basse (1977)