Berlinale: Perspektive Deutsches Kino


Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Perspektive Deutsches Kino (Perspectives on German Cinema): the name says it all. The section opens up various perspectives on the German film landscape. The journey into the future of filmmaking begins here, for directors and producers as well as for all the other film disciplines.

Perspektive Deutsches Kino films are sophisticated, idiosyncratic and fearless. Here, there is room to experiment, to play and also to provoke. The section presents directors screening their debut films on topics from throughout the world but for the greatest part produced in Germany. We bestow early praise because we believe in the selected talents and expect a great deal from them. Perspektive Deutsches Kino supports personalities who are self-confidently searching for their own artistic expression and, in doing so, may take byways off the main highways. Unexpected, original ideas and a delight in trying things out - these are the criteria defining our film selection.

A stronger integration of German cinema into the Berlinale was one of Dieter Kosslick’s chief objectives when he debuted as Festival Director in 2002. In Perspektive Deutsches Kino he created a section that was singularly devoted to this desire and offered up-and-coming talent in German film the opportunity to have their work presented at one of the world’s most important film festivals. Alfred Holighaus co-founded the Perspektive and led the section for nine years. At the 2011 edition of the Berlinale, Linda Söffker took over the section and has shaped its profile ever since.

Directors including Jan Speckenbach, Nicole Vögele, Dietrich Brüggemann, Anne Zohra Berrached, Nico Sommer, Sonja Heiss, Johannes Naber, Bettina Blümner, Nikias Chryssos and Annekatrin Hendel have all presented their debut films here.

Established producers such as Peter Rommel, Herbert Schwering, Christine Kiauk and Florian Koerner von Gustorf have produced films by outstanding new German talents screened in the Perspektive. Young producers who have presented their first works while still under the aegis of their film schools include Jochen Laube, Fabian Maubach, Sol Bondy, Jamila Wenske, Anna and Linus de Paoli and Martin Heisler.

The section invites filmmakers to talk about questions arising from the current edition of the Perspektive Deutsches Kino programme which create room for associations and discussions. In recent years, these discussions have included questions on how brave new talent is and whether there is a pre-emptive self-censorship; film collectives and the utopian ideal of collective filmmaking; and whether funding for graduation films is a blessing or a curse. The talks take place in the Audi Berlinale Lounge and are held in German.

For all applications the General Guidelines for Film Submission and Participation apply.

1 – Eligibility

For the Perspektive Deutsches Kino section, films must be a German fiction, documentary or experimental film with a minimum running time of 20 minutes.

Screening formats: DCP, QuickTime ProRes and 35mm (depending upon cinema). Other formats only upon request.

World premieres are given priority. A theatrical release as well as a participation in a German film festival prior to the Berlinale is not allowed. However, previous film festival participations outside of Germany do not automatically exclude a film.

The Festival Director reserves the right to rule on any cases not provided for in these guidelines.

The processing fee for submissions is € 175 for feature films and € 75 for films with a running time of up to 45 minutes.

Special conditions apply to film school submissions (contact or Brigitte Abel at for details).

2 – Selection and programming

Selection is made according to the criteria stated in Article 1; alongside fiction films, an appropriate number of documentary and experimental films are specifically admitted for selection.

The selection and programming of films invited to participate in the Perspektive Deutsches Kino is at the discretion of the section head on behalf of the Festival Director.

Selected films are screened up to four times during the Berlin International Film Festival.

3 – Screening language

All selected films are screened in their original language with English subtitles. For films not in German, double (German/English) subtitles are requested. Subtitling costs are to be paid for by the producers.

Note:

German films are of course shown not only in the Perspektive, but also in all the other sections of the festival. There is also LOLA at Berlinale, a programme of films long-listed for the German Film Awards (aka LOLA) by the German Film Academy. It is linked to the European Film Market, its main aim being to improve the international marketing of German productions.

Berlinale: Perspektive Deutsches Kino


Perspektive Deutsches Kino

Perspektive Deutsches Kino: Der Name ist Programm. Die Sektion eröffnet unterschiedliche Perspektiven auf die deutsche Filmlandschaft. Hier beginnt der Weg in die Zukunft des Kinos, das gilt sowohl für Regisseur*innen und Produzent*innen als auch für alle anderen Gewerke.

Die Filme der Perspektive Deutsches Kino sind feinsinnig, eigenwillig, angstfrei. Hier darf man sich ausprobieren, spielen und auch provozieren. Die Sektion präsentiert Regisseur*innen mit ihren ersten Filmen, die ihre Themen auf der ganzen Welt finden, aber majoritär in Deutschland produziert wurden. Dafür vergeben wir Vorschusslorbeeren, weil wir an die ausgewählten Talente glauben und weil wir viel von ihnen erwarten. Die Perspektive Deutsches Kino unterstützt Persönlichkeiten, die selbstbewusst nach dem eigenen künstlerischen Ausdruck suchen und dazu auch Nebenwege fernab der Hauptstraße gehen. Unerwartetes, originelle Ideen und die Freude am Ausprobieren sind die Kriterien, die unsere Filmauswahl bestimmen.

Die stärkere Einbindung des deutschen Films in die Berlinale war eines der Kernanliegen von Dieter Kosslick bei seinem Debüt als Festivaldirektor im Jahr 2002. Mit der Perspektive Deutsches Kino schuf er eine Sektion, die sich eigens diesem Wunsch widmet und dem Nachwuchs des deutschen Films eine Möglichkeit zur Präsentation auf einem der wichtigsten Filmfestivals der Welt bietet. Alfred Holighaus war Mitbegründer der Perspektive und leitete die Reihe neun Jahre lang. Zur Berlinale 2011 übernahm Linda Söffker und prägt seitdem das Profil der Sektion.

Regisseur*innen wie Jan Speckenbach, Nicole Vögele, Dietrich Brüggemann, Anne Zohra Berrached, Nico Sommer, Sonja Heiss, Johannes Naber, Bettina Blümner, Nikias Chryssos oder Annekatrin Hendel präsentierten hier ihre ersten Werke.

Etablierte Produzent*innen wie Peter Rommel, Herbert Schwering und Christine Kiauk oder Florian Koerner von Gustorf produzierten Filme von herausragenden deutschen Nachwuchstalenten, die die Perspektive zeigte. Zu den jungen Produzent*innen, die hier ihre ersten Arbeiten noch unter der Ägide ihrer Filmhochschule präsentierten, zählen Jochen Laube, Fabian Maubach, Sol Bondy, Jamila Wenske, Anna und Linus de Paoli und Martin Heisler.

Die Sektion lädt Filmschaffende zum Gespräch über Fragen ein, die im Programm der Perspektive Deutsches Kino des aktuellen Jahrgangs aufgeworfen werden und Assoziations- und Diskussionsräume eröffnen. In den letzten Jahren haben wir uns unter anderem gefragt, wie mutig der Nachwuchs ist und ob es einen vorauseilenden Gehorsam gibt, haben über Filmkollektive und die Utopie eines gemeinschaftlichen Filmemachens geredet und über Fluch und Segen der Förderung von Abschlussfilmen diskutiert. Die Gespräche finden in der Audi Berlinale Lounge in deutscher Sprache statt.

Für alle Filmanmeldungen gelten die Allgemeinen Anmelde- und Teilnahmerichtlinien.

1 – Zugelassene Filme

Für die Perspektive Deutsches Kino zugelassen sind deutsche Spiel, Dokumentar- und Experimentalfilme mit einer Mindestlänge von 20 Minuten.

Vorführformate: DCP, QuickTime ProRes und 35mm (kinoabhängig). Andere Formate nur nach Rücksprache.

Weltpremieren werden bevorzugt. Eine Kinoauswertung sowie die Teilnahme an einem deutschen Filmfestival sind nicht erlaubt. Eine vorherige Teilnahme an einem Filmfestival außerhalb Deutschlands muss allerdings kein Ausschlusskriterium sein.

Der Direktor des Festivals hat das Recht, alle in den Richtlinien nicht vorgesehenen Fälle zu regeln.

Die Bearbeitungsgebühr für Einreichungen beträgt € 175 für Langfilme und € 75 für Filme bis 45 Minuten.

Für Hochschuleinreichungen gelten besondere Konditionen (zu erfragen bei oder Brigitte Abel )

2 – Auswahl und Programmierung

Die Auswahl erfolgt unter den im Artikel 1 formulierten Kriterien und lässt neben Spielfilmen ausdrücklich auch einen angemessenen Anteil von Dokumentar- und Experimentalfilmen zu.

Die Auswahl und Programmierung der eingeladenen Filme der Sektion Perspektive Deutsches Kino wird von deren Leiterin im Auftrag des Festivaldirektors vorgenommen.

Die ausgewählten Filme werden im Rahmen der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin bis zu vier Mal vorgeführt.

3 – Fassung

Alle eingeladenen Filme werden in der Originalfassung mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt. Für nicht deutschsprachige Filme ist eine doppelte (deutsch/englische) Untertitelung gewünscht. Die Kosten der Untertitelung gehen zu Lasten der Produktion.

Hinweis:
Selbstverständlich werden deutsche Produktionen nicht nur in der Perspektive, sondern auch in allen anderen Sektionen des Festivals gezeigt. Darüber hinaus gibt es die dem European Film Market angegliederte Reihe LOLA at Berlinale, welche vorausgewählte Filme für die Nominierung zum Deutschen Filmpreis präsentiert und auf eine erfolgreiche internationale Vermarktung deutscher Produktionen zielt.