Berlinale: Culinary Cinema


Culinary Cinema

The Culinary Cinema programme draws attention to the fact that taste is not only a culinary but also a cultural value about which one can have splendid arguments, even though the proverb says that there is no accounting for taste. For some of the events, top chefs create a menu inspired by the evening’s film which is then served to the cinema audience in the Gropius Mirror pop-up restaurant following the screening.

Food and film are both means of communication which speak primarily to the emotions. The combination of the two is widespread. In cinemas there are snack menus; at home, the TV dinner. In the Culinary Cinema however, films and food are separated by space and time. This gives each element its due attention and, in the course of the evening, they merge into food for thought.

In this programme, the Culinary Cinema reflects its respect for filmmakers who use their craft to pay tribute to the individual work of farmers, fishers and chefs. It scrutinises the power of the industry and fights against the increasing trivialisation, both in filmmaking and food, brought about by a lack of attention. At the end of the evening, the protagonists again get to have their say on the stage of the Gropius Mirror pop-up restaurant: journalists discuss the topics of the film with the filmmakers and experts like Ferran Adrià, Carlo Petrini, Vandana Shiva and Alice Waters, and the evening’s chefs.

Films about the dark sides of the food world, such as hunger and poor nutrition, monocultures, factory farming and the climate change it brings about, are also an important part of the programme because they raise awareness about the consequences of our eating habits. Following films on these topics – which usually screen in the late-night programme – no food is served, allowing a more ample space for discussion.

Films in the Culinary Cinema can be nominated for the Glashütte Original Documentary Award (endowed with 50,000 Euro).

In 2007, the Berlinale was the first festival to establish the Culinary Cinema format. It is a popular programme. The 200 places for each evening’s screening and dinner sell out in a heartbeat and the repeat and late-night screenings without food are also well attended. Discussion series like the afternoon "TeaTimes" and Tastings, as well as events for young audiences with invitations to school classes, complement the programme.

In the Culinary Cinema kitchen, outstanding international Michelin-starred chefs like Andoni Luis Aduriz, Massimo Bottura and the Roca brothers have cooked in previous years. German top chefs such as Sonja Frühsammer, Lea Linster, Cornelia Poletto and Thomas Bühner, Sven Elverfeld and Berliners Michael Kempf and Tim Raue have demonstrated the impressive renaissance of German culinary art.

The 2009 European premiere in the Friedrichstadt-Palast of Food, Inc., the still relevant documentary about the horrendous dangers arising from the food industry, remains fresh in the memory. But more palatable series like Chef’s Table also explore the connection between cooking and the environment. Chefs and, meanwhile, many guests now realise that a clean environment is more than just a question of good taste.

The films and chefs are selected by curator Thomas Struck, production manager Paula Casado and press coordinator Margit Dörner, in consultation with the festival directorship. Feature films, documentaries and shorts making their premiere in Germany are screened.

Official cooperations are in place with the Transatlantyk Festival in Poland and the San Sebastián International Film Festival.

The international Slow Food Movement, with its call for good, clean and fair food, is the Culinary Cinema’s ideal partner.

Contact

Culinary Cinema
Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin

Berlinale: Kulinarisches Kino


Kulinarisches Kino

Das Programm des Kulinarischen Kinos erinnert daran, dass Geschmack nicht nur ein kulinarischer, sondern auch ein kultureller Wert ist, über den man trefflich streiten kann, auch wenn das sprichwörtliche Vorurteil etwas anderes behauptet. Für einen Teil der Veranstaltungen kreiert ein Spitzenkoch oder eine Spitzenköchin ein Menü, das vom Film des Abends inspiriert ist und dem Kinopublikum nach dem Film im Gropius Mirror Restaurant serviert wird.

Essen und Film sind Kommunikationsmittel, die vor allem das Gefühl ansprechen. Die Kombination von beidem ist weitverbreitet. Im Kino gibt es ein Snackmenü, zu Hause das TV-Dinner. Im Kulinarischen Kino jedoch werden Film und Essen zeitlich und räumlich getrennt. So bekommt jedes Element die gebührende Aufmerksamkeit, in Gedanken verschmelzen beide Ebenen im Laufe des Abends zu Food for Thought.

Das Kulinarische Kino spiegelt in diesem Programm seine Achtung für Filmemacher*innen, die mit ihrem Handwerk der individuellen Arbeit von Bauern, Fischern und Köchen Anerkennung zollen. Es hinterfragt die Macht der Industrie und wehrt sich gegen eine fortschreitende Trivialisierung sowohl des Filmschaffens, als auch des Essens, die durch Achtlosigkeit entsteht. Zum Ende eines Abends kommen auf der Bühne des Gropius Mirror Restaurant noch einmal die Protagonist*innen zu Wort: Fachjournalist*innen diskutieren mit Filmemacher*innen und Expert*innen wie Ferran Adrià, Carlo Petrini, Vandana Shiva und Alice Waters sowie den Köch*innen des Abends die Themen des Films.

Filme über die dunklen Seiten der Welt des Essens wie Hunger und Fehlernährung, Monokulturen und Massentierhaltung und der davon mit verursachte Klimawandel sind ebenfalls ein wichtiger Teil des Programms, denn sie schärfen das Bewusstsein für die Konsequenzen, die das Essverhalten hat. Nach Filmen mit diesen Themen, die häufig im Spätprogramm laufen, wird kein Essen serviert, dafür aber umso ausgiebiger diskutiert.

Die Filme des Kulinarischen Kinos können für den Glashütte Original Dokumentarfilmpreis (dotiert mit 50.000 Euro) nominiert werden.

Die Berlinale etablierte 2007 als erstes Festival das Format des Kulinarischen Kinos. Es ist ein populäres Programm. Die 200 Plätze mit Menü pro Abend sind im Nu ausverkauft, aber auch die Wiederholungen und Spätvorstellungen ohne Essen sind gut besucht. Wortprogramme wie nachmittägliche „TeaTimes“ und Tastings, sowie eine Jugendveranstaltung, zu der Schulklassen eingeladen werden, flankieren das Angebot.

In der Küche des Kulinarischen Kinos kochten herausragende internationale Sterne-Chefs wie zum Beispiel Andoni Luis Aduriz, Massimo Bottura und die Roca Brüder. Deutsche Spitzenköch*innen wie Sonja Frühsammer, Lea Linster, Cornelia Poletto und Thomas Bühner, Sven Elverfeld und die Berliner Michael Kempf und Tim Raue zeigten, wie eindrucksvoll sich die Kochkunst in Deutschland erneuert hat.

Unvergessen bleibt die europäische Premiere von Food, Inc., dem immer noch gültigen Dokumentarfilm über die horrenden Gefahren, die von der Nahrungsmittelindustrie ausgehen, 2009 im Friedrichstadtpalast. Aber auch genussaffine Serien wie Chef’s Table gehen auf die Verbindung zwischen Kochen und Umwelt ein. Köchinnen und Köche und inzwischen auch viele Gäste wissen, dass eine saubere Umwelt mehr als eine Frage des guten Geschmacks ist.

Für die Auswahl der Filme und Köchinnen und Köche sind in Abstimmung mit der Intendanz der Kurator Thomas Struck, die Produktionsleiterin Paula Casado und die Pressekoordinatorin Margit Dörner verantwortlich. Zur Wahl stehen Spiel-, Dokumentar- und Kurzfilme in deutscher Erstaufführung.

Es gibt offizielle Kooperationen mit dem Transatlantyk Festival in Polen und dem Internationalen Filmfestival San Sebastian.

Die internationale Slow-Food-Bewegung mit ihrer Forderung nach guten, sauber erzeugten und fair gehandelten Lebensmitteln ist ideeller Partner des Kulinarischen Kinos.

Kontakt

Kulinarisches Kino
Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin