Berlinale: Encounters


Encounters

Encounters is a platform aiming to foster aesthetically and structurally daring works from independent, innovative filmmakers. Its goal is to support new perspectives in cinema and to give more room to diverse narrative and documentary forms in the official selection.

Conceived as a counterpoint and a complement to Competition, Encounters is a competitive section devoted to new cinematic visions. The films selected will challenge traditional forms and ask viewers to reconsider their positions in relation to them. Being a mirror of the different ways of production that have developed in the 21st century and reflecting this vibrant energy, Encounters will become a meeting point for filmmakers and producers, programmers and film critics, cinephiles and festival lovers.

Not distinguishing between genres, Encounters comprises around 15 works - world or international premieres of fiction or documentary films of at least 60 minutes in length. A three-member jury will choose winners for best film, best director and a special jury award

For all applications the General Guidelines for Film Submission and Participation apply.

1 - Eligibility

Accepted formats: DCP or QuickTime ProRes. 35mm or other formats only upon request.

Eligible are feature films and documentaries of at least 60 minutes running time which

  • are intended for theatrical release.
  • have not participated at any international film festival. A presentation in the country of origin will be tolerated.
  • have not been released commercially other than in their country of origin.
  • have neither been presented on television nor on the internet / VOD.

In case of international co-productions the main country of production will be considered as country of origin.

  • World premieres are preferred.
  • German films have to be world premieres to be eligible for Encounters

The Artistic Director reserves the right to rule on any case not provided for in these guidelines.

2 - Selection process and programming

The Artistic Director invites films to participate in Encounters. He is advised by German and international professionals. Any film submitted for Encounters may be considered for the Competition and the Panorama unless specifically instructed otherwise by the applicant.

3 - Languages and subtitles

All films invited to participate in Encounters are screened in their original language with English subtitles.

The film’s producer is responsible for meeting the costs of subtitling and providing the subtitled version on time.

The version released in the country of origin is regarded as the original version. In the case of films in several languages, the language of the subtitles may only deviate from this directive with the Festival’s approval.

contact

Programme Organisation

Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
phone +49 30 25920-444
fax +49 30 25920-499

Berlinale: Encounters


Encounters

Die Sektion Encounters soll ästhetisch und strukturell wagemutigen Arbeiten von unabhängigen, innovativen Filmschaffenden eine Plattform bieten. Ziel ist es, neue Perspektiven des Kinos zu fördern und der Vielfalt narrativer und dokumentarischer Formen mehr Raum in der offiziellen Auswahl zu verschaffen.

Encounters ist eine kompetitive Sektion, die sich als Kontrapunkt und Ergänzung des Wettbewerbs neuen filmischen Visionen verschreibt. Die ausgewählten Werke stellen die traditionellen Formen des Kinos infrage und fordern im gleichen Zug das Publikum zur Reflektion seiner Sichtweisen auf. Als Spiegel der lebendigen Energie der verschiedenen Produktionsweisen, die im 21. Jahrhundert entwickelt wurden, ist Encounters ein Treffpunkt sowohl für Filmemacher*innen und Produzent*innen, Programmer*innen und Filmkritiker*innen als auch für Cinephile und Festivalliebhaber*innen.

Ohne Rücksicht auf Genre-Konventionen umfasst die Programmauswahl von Encounters ca. 15 Welt- und internationale Premieren von mindestens 60-minütigen Spiel- oder Dokumentarfilmen. Eine dreiköpfige Jury entscheidet über die Preise für den besten Film, die beste Regie und den Spezialpreis der Jury.

Für alle Filmanmeldungen gelten die Allgemeinen Anmelde- und Teilnahmerichtlinien.

1 - Zugelassene Filme

Für Encounters zugelassen sind Spielfilm- und Dokumentarfilme ab 60 Minuten Laufzeit, die für eine Kinoauswertung vorgesehen sind.

Vorführformate: DCP oder QuickTime ProRes. 35mm oder andere Formate nur nach Rücksprache.

Zugelassen werden nur Filme, die

  • an keinem internationalen Filmfestival teilgenommen haben. Die Teilnahme an Festivals im Ursprungsland ist jedoch erlaubt.
  • außerhalb ihres Ursprungslandes noch keinen Kinostart hatten.
  • weder im Fernsehen noch im Internet / VOD präsentiert wurden.

Im Falle internationaler Koproduktionen gilt das Hauptproduktionsland als Ursprungsland.

  • Weltpremieren werden bevorzugt.
  • Deutsche Filme müssen für eine Einreichung zur Sektion Encounters eine Weltpremiere sein.

Der Künstlerische Leiter des Festivals hat das Recht, alle in den Richtlinien nicht vorgesehenen Fälle zu regeln.

2 - Auswahl und Programmierung

Der Künstlerische Leiter des Festivals lädt die Filme für Encounters ein. Sowohl ausländische als auch deutsche Fachleute beraten ihn bei seiner Auswahl. Produktionen, die für Encounters eingereicht werden, können – wenn nicht vom Einsender ausdrücklich ausgeschlossen – auch von den Sektionen Wettbewerb und Panorama berücksichtigt werden.

3 - Fassung und Untertitel

Alle eingeladenen Filme werden in ihrer Originalfassung mit englischen Untertiteln vorgeführt. Die Kosten der Untertitelung sowie die rechtzeitige Anlieferung der untertitelten Fassung liegen in der Verantwortung der Produktion.

Als Originalfassung gilt die Fassung, in der der Film in seinem Ursprungsland gezeigt wird oder werden soll. Bei mehrsprachigen Filmen kann die Untertitelung nur in Absprache mit dem Festival anders definiert werden.

Kontakt

Programmorganisation

Internationale Filmfestspiele Berlin
Tel. +49 30 25920-444
Fax +49 30 25920-499