Berlinale: Berlinale Special


Berlinale Special

Under the auspices of the Berlinale Special the festival shows new and extraordinary productions and honors great cinema personalities by showing their films. Films which deserve special attention due to current events can also be shown as part of the Berlinale Special.

Furthermore the festival section presents films on the occasion of the Berlinale Camera award ceremony: films by or about outstanding persons of film whom the festival feels especially attached to. The Berlinale Special films are selected by the Festival Director Dieter Kosslick.

Since 2012 a series of talks has been arranged following the screenings of a number of Berlinale Special films. The venue for this format is the movie theatre in the Haus der Berliner Festspiele. Further venues are the Zoo Palast and the Friedrichstadt-Palast, where the Berlinale Special Gala screenings are being held. Concert or theatre halls can also be used as venues for this programme, depending on what sort of film is being screened and how it is best presented.

Films in the Berlinale Special can be nominated for the Glashütte Original – Documentary Award (endowed with 50,000 Euro).

Berlinale Series

Since 2015 Berlinale Series (previously Berlinale Special Series) has been part of the Berlinale Special. By invitation of the Festival Director, Berlinale Series screens a curated selection of exceptional serial formats as world and international premieres every year. Celebrated series such as Better Call Saul, False Flag, The Night Manager and 4 Blocks have been presented in previous years. Berlinale Series offers festival audiences, members of the press and representatives of the industry alike an exclusive glimpse at the latest developments in serial storytelling from across the world – including post-screening Q&As with the actors and creators.

From 2018 the Zoo Palast is home to the Berlinale Series.

In close cooperation with Berlinale Series, the "Drama Series Days" industry event is also taking place in the Zoo Palast. The "Drama Series Days" form the European Film Market, Berlinale Co-Production Market and Berlinale Talents’ common platform for serial storytelling. The three-day event combines market screenings, panel discussions and pitching sessions with multiple networking opportunities.

Berlinale Special

Programme Coordination
Wilhelm Faber
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin
phone +49 30 25920-222
fax +49 30 25920-229
 

Berlinale Series

Programme Manager
Solmaz Azizi
phone +49 30 25920-913

Programme Coordination
Judith Klein
phone +49 30 25920-203

Berlinale: Berlinale Special


Berlinale Special

Das Berlinale Special ist eine Festivalsektion, in der die Berlinale außergewöhnliche Neuproduktionen zeigt sowie Filmpersönlichkeiten und ihre Filme ehrt. Auch Filme, die aus zeitgeschichtlichen Gründen eine besondere Aufmerksamkeit verdienen, finden im Berlinale Special einen angemessenen Rahmen.

Darüber hinaus werden Berlinale-Special-Filme aus Anlass der Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera gezeigt: Filme von oder über Persönlichkeiten, denen sich das Festival in besonderer Weise verbunden fühlt. Die Auswahl für das Berlinale Special trifft Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick.

Seit 2012 finden zu einigen Filmen des Berlinale Special nach den Vorstellungen moderierte Gespräche statt. Veranstaltungsort für dieses Format ist das Kino im Haus der Berliner Festspiele. Weitere Aufführungsorte sind der Zoo Palast und der Friedrichstadt-Palast, in dem die Berlinale-Special-Gala-Vorführungen präsentiert werden. Abhängig von der besonderen Form des eingeladenen Films können auch ein Konzert- oder ein Theatersaal als Präsentationsort genutzt werden.

Filme im Berlinale Special können für den Glashütte Original – Dokumentarfilmpreis (dotiert mit 50.000 Euro) nominiert werden.

Berlinale Series

Seit 2015 ist Berlinale Series (ehemals Berlinale Special Series) Teil des Berlinale Special. Auf Einladung des Festivaldirektors zeigt Berlinale Series jährlich eine kuratierte Auswahl an Welt- und internationalen Premieren außergewöhnlicher serieller Formate. Hochgelobte Serien wie Better Caul Saul, False Flag, The Night Manager oder 4 Blocks wurden in den vergangenen Jahren präsentiert. Berlinale Series bietet sowohl dem Festivalpublikum als auch Pressevertretern und Fachbesuchern einen exklusiven Blick auf die neuesten Entwicklungen im seriellen Erzählen in aller Welt – inklusive Q&As mit Darstellern und Machern nach den Vorführungen.

Ab 2018 wird der Zoo Palast die Heimstätte der Berlinale Series sein.

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Berlinale Series findet das Branchen-Event „Drama Series Days“ ebenfalls im Zoo Palast statt. Die „Drama Series Days“ bilden die gemeinsame Plattform für serielles Erzählen von European Film Market, Berlinale Co-Production Market und Berlinale Talents. Die dreitägige Veranstaltung verbindet Marktvorführungen, Panels und Pitchings mit vielfältigen Networking-Möglichkeiten.

Berlinale Special

Programmkoordination
Wilhelm Faber
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin
Tel. +49 30 25920-222
Fax +49 30 25920-229
 

Berlinale Series

Programm-Managerin
Solmaz Azizi
Tel. +49 30 25920-913

Programmkoordination
Judith Klein
Tel. +49 30 25920-203