Berlinale: Berlinale Camera


The Berlinale Camera

Since 1986 the Berlin International Film Festival has presented the Berlinale Camera to film personalities or institutions to which it feels particularly indebted and wishes to express its thanks.

The 69th Berlin International Film Festival saw four individuals honoured with the Berlinale Camera: US producer and IFP founder Sandra Schulberg, Wieland Speck, who headed the Berlinale's Panorama section for many years, French filmmaker Agnès Varda, and German director and screenwriter Herrmann Zschoche.

Sandra Schulberg, Founder of the IFP (Independent Filmmaker Project) (USA)

Sandra Schulberg, a long-time activist on behalf of filmmakers working outside the Hollywood studios, is being recognised by the Berlinale for her 40 years of service to the field. Schulberg founded the Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) in 1979, and one year later co-founded the independent distribution company First Run Features. In 2008 she launched IndieCollect, a national campaign to save indie films from extinction. She also serves on the advisory committee of the Women's Film Preservation Fund, established by New York Women in Film & Television.
Alongside her advocacy and film restoration, Schulberg has been a working producer, with three of her movies premiering at the Berlinale: Beth B's Exposed (Panorama 2013), Philip Kaufman's Oscar-nominated Quills (Competition 2000) and John Hanson’s Wildrose (Panorama 1984). In 2004, the Berlinale also premiered her special series Selling Democracy: Films of the Marshall Plan, curated with Dr. Rainer Rother. In 2010, the Berlinale unveiled her restoration of Nuremberg: Its Lesson For Today (1948/2009), which documents the first Nuremberg Trial and was directed by her father, Stuart Schulberg. It was screened in the Berlinale Special programme.
Marking the 40th anniversary of the IFP, Sandra Schulberg is awarded the Berlinale Camera at the EFM. The ceremony took place on February 8 at the Gropius Bau Cinema.

Wieland Speck with Festival Director Dieter Kosslick

Wieland Speck, Head of the Panorama Section of Many Years (Germany)

Wieland Speck's curatorial work in no small measure helped establish the Panorama section as a platform for independent and challenging cinema. Since the mid-1970s, Speck has been involved in film and video in a variety of capacities, and has worked as both author and publisher.
As a director, screenwriter and producer, he has numerous film and television productions to his name, and his credits as an actor include films by David Hemmings, Robert van Ackeren, Ulrike Ottinger and Ian Pringle. He has also worked at a large number of film institutions and festivals.
In 1982 he joined the Panorama section of the Berlinale – back then still known as Info-Schau - as assistant to section head Manfred Salzgeber. It was in this capacity that he established the world's first queer film prize, the TEDDY AWARD, in 1987. In 1992 Wieland Speck took over as section head, remaining in this position until 2017. During his years at the Panorama, he not only programmed but defined the section - formally, thematically and geographically. In 1999, Speck gave audiences a voice with the introduction of the Panorama Audience Award, awarded annually to one documentary and one feature film.
The Panorama 40 special programme, jointly curated with his long-standing colleague Andreas Struck to mark the section's 40th anniversary, is Wieland Speck's Berlinale swan song.
The Berlinale Camera was presented to Wieland Speck on February 10 at the Panorama reception, held at the Meistersaal. The laudatory speech was given by Rajendra Roy, Chief Curator of Film at MoMA and member of this year's International Jury.

The awardee with laudator Christoph Terhechte and Festival Director Dieter Kosslick

Agnès Varda, Filmmaker (Belgium / France)

Agnès Varda is one of the most important contemporary francophone filmmakers. She started out as a theatre photographer in Paris before shooting her first feature film, La Pointe Courte, in 1954, with no prior filmmaking experience. Through Alain Resnais, who edited the film, Varda first came into contact with the circle surrounding the Cahiers du Cinéma, who would later go on to form the core of the French Nouvelle Vague. Her fellow artists would soon include Chris Marker and Jacques Demy. In 1961 her film Cléo de 5 à 7 (Cléo from 5 to 7) premiered at Cannes and put her firmly on the radar of fans of new French cinema. 1967 saw Varda working alongside Claude Lelouch, Jean-Luc Godard and Chris Marker on the documentary Loin du Vietnam (Far from Vietnam). To date, Varda has made numerous feature and documentary films, for which she has received multiple awards and honours, including at the major festivals in Venice, Cannes and Berlin. Her latest film, the documentary Visages, villages (Faces Places), made in collaboration with French artist JR, was nominated for the 2018 Oscar for Best Documentary Feature.
Agnès Varda has been a guest of the Berlinale several times, including four times at Competition. In 1965 she was awarded the Grand Jury Prize for Le Bonheur. Her most recent visit was in 2004, when she showed her short film Le lion volatil at Berlinale Special.
The Berlinale Camera was be presented to Agnès Varda on February 13 at the Berlinale Palast. This was followed by the world premiere of Varda's documentary Varda par Agnès (Varda by Agnès), screened out of competition in the section Competition.
The laudatory speech was given by Christoph Terhechte, who headed the Berlinale’s Forum section for many years.

Herrmann Zschoche, director and screenwriter (Germany)

Herrmann Zschoche had a fundamental impact on cinema in the GDR as a DEFA film director – both with his children's and youth films, and through his critical filmic portrayals of contemporary society.
He started his professional career as an assistant and camera operator with the GDR's state broadcaster. From 1954 to 1959 he studied film directing at the Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen “Konrad Wolf” (today known as Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF), before starting work as an assistant director at the DEFA film studios. He directed his first solo feature, Das Märchenschloß (The Fairy-Tale Castle), in 1961. The social critique in his 1965 drama Karla, for which Ulrich Plenzdorf wrote the screenplay, led to the film's being banned and not shown to the public until 1990.
In the 1970s, Herrmann Zschoche started focussing predominantly on youth films, such as the widely acclaimed Sieben Sommersprossen (Seven Freckles, 1978) and Insel der Schwäne (Swan Island, 1983). In 2002 he published his autobiography, „Sieben Sommersprossen und andere Erinnerungen“. After German reunification, Zschoche worked on a number of television productions, including Tatort, Kommissar Rex (Inspector Rex) and Drei Damen vom Grill.
The Berlinale Camera was awarded to Herrmann Zschoche on February 10 at Kino International, and was followed by a Berlinale Special screening of his 1991 film adaptation of the novel “The Girl In The Lift” (Das Mädchen aus dem Fahrstuhl). The laudatory speech was given by Dieter Kosslick.

Berlinale Camera

The Berlinale Camera has been awarded since 1986. Until 2003, it was donated by Berlin-based jeweller David Goldberg. From 2004 through 2013, Georg Hornemann Objects, a Dusseldorf-based atelier, sponsored the trophy, which goldsmith Hornemann redesigned for the Berlinale in 2008: Modelled on a real camera, the Berlinale Camera now has 128 finely crafted components. Many of these silver and titanium parts, such as the swivel head and tripod, are movable.

Berlinale: Berlinale Kamera


Berlinale Kamera

Mit der Berlinale Kamera zeichnen die Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin seit 1986 Filmpersönlichkeiten oder Institutionen aus, denen sie sich besonders verbunden fühlen und denen sie mit dieser Ehrung ihren Dank ausdrücken möchten.

Bei den 69. Internationalen Filmfestspielen wurden vier Persönlichkeiten mit der Berlinale Kamera geehrt: die US-amerikanische Produzentin und IFP-Gründerin Sandra Schulberg, Wieland Speck, der langjährige Leiter der Berlinale-Sektion Panorama, die französische Filmemacherin Agnès Varda sowie der deutsche Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Herrmann Zschoche.

Sandra Schulberg, Gründerin des IFP (Independent Filmmaker Project) USA)

Sandra Schulberg setzt sich seit langem aktiv für unabhängige Filmemacher*innen außerhalb der Hollywood-Studios ein und wird von der Berlinale für ihr 40-jähriges Engagement in diesem Bereich geehrt. 1979 rief sie das Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) ins Leben, ein Jahr später war sie an der Gründung des unabhängigen Filmverleihs First Run Features beteiligt. 2008 startete sie die Kampagne IndieCollect zum Erhalt von Independent-Filmen. Außerdem ist sie Mitglied im Beirat des Women's Film Preservation Fund, der von New York Women in Film & Television ins Leben gerufen wurde.
Neben ihrem Einsatz für den unabhängigen Film zeichnete sie als Produzentin für zahlreiche Filme verantwortlich, darunter drei Werke, die bei der Berlinale ihre Premiere feierten: Exposed von Beth B (Panorama 2013), der Oscar-nominierte Quills (Quills - Macht der Besessenheit, 2000) von Philip Kaufman und Wildrose von John Hanson (Panorama 1984). 2004 kuratierte sie die Berlinale-Sonderreihe Selling Democracy – Welcome Mr. Marshall gemeinsam mit Dr. Rainer Rother. 2010 zeigte die Berlinale die von Sandra Schulberg restaurierte Fassung des Dokumentarfilms Nuremberg: Its Lesson For Today (Nürnberg und seine Lehre, 1948/2009) ihres Vaters Stuart Schulberg, der den ersten der Nürnberger Prozesse dokumentiert, im Berlinale Special.
Anlässlich des 40. Jubiläums des IFP erhält Sandra Schulberg in diesem Jahr die Berlinale Kamera beim EFM. Die Verleihung fand am 8. Februar im Gropius Bau Cinema statt.

Wieland Speck mit Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick

Wieland Speck, langjähriger Leiter der Sektion Panorama (Deutschland)

Wieland Specks kuratorische Arbeit trug maßgeblich zum Aufbau der Sektion Panorama als Plattform für den anspruchsvollen Independent-Film bei. Seit Mitte der 1970er Jahre war Speck in verschiedenen Bereichen von Film und Video sowie als Autor und Verleger tätig. Als Regisseur, Drehbuchautor und Produzent realisierte er mehrere Kino- und TV-Produktionen. Außerdem war er als Darsteller u. a. in Filmen von David Hemmings, Robert van Ackeren, Ulrike Ottinger und Ian Pringle zu sehen. Er arbeitete bei zahlreichen Filmeinrichtungen und –festivals.
1982 kam er als Assistent des Programmleiters Manfred Salzgeber zur Berlinale-Sektion Panorama – damals noch Info-Schau genannt. In dieser Funktion initiierte er 1987 den TEDDY AWARD, den weltweit ersten Filmpreis für queeres Kino. 1992 übernahm Wieland Speck die Sektionsleitung, die er bis 2017 innehatte. In seiner Zeit beim Panorama programmierte und prägte er die Sektion entscheidend – thematisch, formell, geographisch. 1999 führte Speck mit dem Panorama Publikums-Preis eine Auszeichnung ein, die den Zuschauer*innen des Festivals das Wort erteilt und jährlich an einen Spiel- und einen Dokumentarfilm der Sektion vergeben wird.
Mit dem Sonderprogramm Panorama 40, das er anlässlich des 40-jährigen Jubiläums des Panoramas zusammen mit seinem langjährigen Mitarbeiter Andreas Struck kuratiert, verabschiedet sich Wieland Speck von der Berlinale.
Die Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera an Wieland Speck fand am 10. Februar im Meistersaal beim Panorama-Empfang statt. Die Laudatio hielt Rajendra Roy, der Chefkurator für Film beim MoMa und diesjähriges Mitglied der Internationalen Jury.

Die Preisträgerin mit Laudator Christoph Terhechte und Festivaldirektor Dieter Kosslick

Agnès Varda, Filmemacherin (Belgien / Frankreich)

Agnès Varda zählt zu den bedeutendsten französischsprachigen Filmemacher*innen der Gegenwart. Sie arbeitete zunächst als Fotografin am Theater in Paris, bevor sie 1954 ohne filmische Vorerfahrung ihren ersten Langfilm, La Pointe Courte, realisierte. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Alain Resnais, der den Film montierte, begegnete Varda der Gruppe um die Cahiers du Cinéma, dem Kern der Nouvelle Vague. Zu ihren weiteren Wegbegleitern gehörten Chris Marker und Jacques Demy. Ihr Film Cléo de 5 à 7 (Cléo - Mittwoch zwischen 5 und 7) feierte 1961 in Cannes Premiere und rückte sie endgültig ins Blickfeld der Anhänger*innen des neuen französischen Films. 1967 war Varda neben Claude Lelouch, Jean-Luc Godard und Chris Marker an dem Dokumentarfilm Loin du Vietnam (Fern von Vietnam) beteiligt. Bis heute drehte sie zahlreiche Spiel- und Dokumentarfilme, für die sie u.a. auf den Festivals in Venedig, Cannes und Berlin ausgezeichnet wurde. Ihr jüngster Film, die mit dem französischen Künstler JR entstandene Dokumentation Visages, villages (Augenblicke: Gesichter einer Reise), war 2018 für den Dokumentarfilm-Oscar nominiert.
Bei der Berlinale war Agnès Varda häufig zu Gast, davon vier Mal im Wettbewerb. 1965 erhielt sie den Großen Preis der Jury für Le Bonheur (Glück aus dem Blickwinkel des Mannes). Zuletzt präsentierte sie 2004 den Kurzfilm Le lion volatil im Berlinale Special.
Die Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera an Agnès Varda fand am 13. Februar im Berlinale Palast statt. Danach wurde die Weltpremiere von Vardas Dokumentarfilm Varda par Agnès außer Konkurrenz im Wettbewerb präsentiert.
Die Laudatio hielt Christoph Terhechte, langjähriger Leiter der Berlinale-Sektion Forum.

Herrmann Zschoche, Regisseur und Drehbuchautor (Deutschland)

Herrmann Zschoche nahm als DEFA-Regisseur mit seinen Kinder- und Jugendfilmen sowie seinen kritischen Gegenwartsfilmen maßgeblich Einfluss auf die Filmlandschaft der DDR.
Seine berufliche Laufbahn begann er als Assistent und Kameramann beim Fernsehfunk der DDR. Von 1954 bis 1959 studierte er Regie an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen Potsdam (heute Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF), bevor er eine Stelle als Regieassistent beim DEFA-Spielfilmstudio antrat. Seine erste eigenständige Regiearbeit war 1961 Das Märchenschloß. 1965 wurde sein gesellschaftskritischer Film Karla, zu dem Ulrich Plenzdorf das Drehbuch schrieb, verboten und konnte erst 1990 öffentlich gezeigt werden.
Ab den 1970er Jahren wendete sich Herrmann Zschoche verstärkt dem Jugendspielfilm zu und drehte unter anderem die viel beachteten Filme Sieben Sommersprossen (1978) und Insel der Schwäne (1983). 2002 veröffentlichte er seine Autobiografie „Sieben Sommersprossen und andere Erinnerungen“. Nach der Wiedervereinigung wirkte Zschoche unter anderem an den Fernsehserien Tatort, Kommissar Rex und Drei Damen vom Grill mit.
Die Verleihung der Berlinale Kamera fand am 10. Februar 2019 im Kino International statt, im Anschluss wurde Zschoches Romanverfilmung Das Mädchen aus dem Fahrstuhl (1991) als Berlinale Special gezeigt. Die Laudatio hielt Dieter Kosslick.

Berlinale Kamera

Die Berlinale Kamera wird seit 1986 verliehen. Bis 2003 war der Berliner Juwelier David Goldberg Stifter dieser Auszeichnung. In den Jahren 2004 bis 2013 übernahm das Düsseldorfer Atelier Georg Hornemann Objects die Stiftung des Preises und im Rahmen der Berlinale 2008 wurde die Trophäe vom Goldschmiedekünstler Hornemann neu gestaltet: Die Berlinale Kamera besteht aus 128 Einzelteilen und ist einer realen Filmkamera nachempfunden. Viele der Silber- und Titanteile von Schwenkkopf bis Stativ sind beweglich.