Berlinale: Biographies


Thomas Struck

Thomas Struck is the curator of Culinary Cinema.

Born in 1943 in Hamburg, Struck grew up in Stuttgart before returning to Hamburg in 1962. There, he taught himself filmmaking in the film and television study group at Hamburg University. He worked for the public broadcasters in northern Germany (NDR) and in Hesse (HR) as a documentary filmmaker and, at the same time, was a proponent of the “Anderes Kino” (“Different Cinema”) movement which came out of Hamburg’s Brüderstraße. In 1968, he won the prize at the 1st Hamburger Filmschau.

In 1983 and 1985, Struck’s animated short films Hearts and Stars screened in the Berlinale Competition. He coproduced theatre plays with Ulrich Tukur in the 1990s and made the documentaries Walk Don’t Walk (Promotional Award at the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen ) and Flüssig – A River Movie. His professional interest in gastronomy began with the documentary Ein Weinjahr.

Struck was part of Berlinale Talents team from 2002 to 2006 and has been running the Culinary Cinema section since 2006.

Struck co-founded the Hamburger Filmmacher Cooperative (Hamburg Filmmakers’ Cooperative), the Hamburger Filmschau (Hamburg Film Show), Release Germany, the University of Hollywood and, with the “Kino auf der Alster” cinema, the European Low Budget Film Forum. His films are archived in the Deutsche Kinemathek.

Contact:

Culinary Cinema
Curator
Thomas Struck
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin

Berlinale: Biografien


Thomas Struck

Thomas Struck ist Kurator des Kulinarischen Kinos.

Struck wurde 1943 in Hamburg geboren, wuchs in Stuttgart auf und kehrte 1962 nach Hamburg zurück. Dort begann er im Arbeitskreis Film und Fernsehen der Uni Hamburg autodidaktisch Film zu studieren, arbeitete als Dokumentarfilmer für den NDR und den Hessischen Rundfunk und war gleichzeitig ein Vertreter des „Anderen Kinos“ der Hamburger Brüderstraße. Für den Kurzfilm Der Warme Punkt erhielt er den Preis der 1. Hamburger Filmschau 1968.

1983 und 1985 liefen Strucks Animationskurzfilme Herzen und Sterne im Wettbewerb der Berlinale. In den 1990er Jahren war er Co-Produzent von Theaterstücken mit Ulrich Tukur und realisierte die Dokumentarfilme Walk Don’t Walk (Förderpreis Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen) und flüssig. Mit der Dokumentation Ein Weinjahr begann sein professionelles Interesse an Gastronomie.

Von 2002 bis 2006 gehörte Struck zum Team von Berlinale Talents und leitet seit 2006 das Kulinarische Kino.

Struck ist Mitbegründer der Hamburger Filmmacher Cooperative, der Hamburger Filmschau, von Release Germany, der University of Hollywood und dem Europäischen Low Budget Film Forum mit dem Kino auf der Alster. Seine Filme sind in der Deutschen Kinemathek archiviert.

Kontakt:

Kulinarisches Kino
Kurator
Thomas Struck
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin