Berlinale: Biographies


Birgit Kohler

Birgit Kohler is currently interim head of the Forum section, alongside Milena Gregor and Stefanie Schulte Strathaus.

She read theater studies, politics and German philology in Erlangen and Berlin. After working on a number of projects with different film and cinema organisations, she started developing film programmes for the in-house Arsenal cinema of the association “Freunde der Deutschen Kinemathek” (Friends of the Deutsche Kinemathek) in 1998. In 2004, she became a board member of the association, which has existed under its current name “Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art” since 2008. She remains responsible for a variety of Arsenal’s film programmes and discourse formats.

As a curator and author, Kohler concentrates particularly on contemporary documentary film-making, as well as on a large range of artistic positions in international cinema today. Her curatorial work also focuses on the aesthetic exploration of socio-political phenomena in contemporary cinema from Algeria, Greece, Lebanon, Morocco or Portugal for instance. In 2017, she received the “Ordre des Arts et des Lettres” for her service to French cinema.

Birgit Kohler has long been a member of the DAAD and Goethe-Institut selection committees that award international film stipends. She is often invited to serve on festival juries, most recently in Locarno. She also teaches at universities and in film schools.

Kohler has been a member of the selection committee of the Berlinale Forum since 2002. In summer 2018, she took over as interim head of the section with her colleagues on the Arsenal board.

Contact:

Forum
Interim Head
Birgit Kohler
Potsdamer Straße 2
10785 Berlin

Berlinale: Biografien


Birgit Kohler

Birgit Kohler ist zusammen mit Milena Gregor und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus Interimsleiterin der Sektion Forum.

Sie hat Theaterwissenschaft, Politologie und Germanistik in Erlangen und Berlin studiert. Nach zahlreichen Projekten mit verschiedenen Film- und Kinoinitiativen begann sie 1998 für die „Freunde der Deutschen Kinemathek e.V.“ in deren Kino Arsenal Filmreihen zu konzipieren und zu realisieren. 2004 wurde sie gemeinsam mit Milena Gregor und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus als Vorstand des Vereins bestellt, der seit 2008 unter dem neuen Namen „Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst“ firmiert. Bis heute ist sie für eine Vielzahl von Filmprogrammen und Diskursformaten des Hauses verantwortlich.

Als Kuratorin und auch als Autorin widmet sie sich vor allem dem zeitgenössischen Dokumentarfilmschaffen sowie einer großen Bandbreite künstlerischer Positionen im internationalen Kino der Gegenwart. Die ästhetische Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftspolitischen Phänomenen wie z.B. in aktuellen Filmen aus Algerien, Griechenland, dem Libanon, Marokko und Portugal ist ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ihrer kuratorischen Arbeit. Für ihre Verdienste um das französische Kino wurde sie 2017 mit dem „Ordre des Arts et des Lettres“ ausgezeichnet.

Birgit Kohler ist langjähriges Mitglied in Auswahlgremien des DAAD und des Goethe-Instituts für internationale Stipendienprogramme im Bereich Film. Auch in Festivaljurys wirkt sie regelmäßig mit, zuletzt in Locarno. Darüber hinaus ist sie als Dozentin an Universitäten und Filmhochschulen tätig.

Seit 2002 gehört sie dem Auswahlkomitee des Berlinale Forums an. Im Sommer 2018 übernahm sie mit ihren Arsenal-Vorstandskolleginnen kommissarisch die Leitung der Sektion.

Kontakt:

Forum
Interimsleitung
Birgit Kohler
Potsdamer Straße 2
10785 Berlin