Berlinale: Biographies


Julia Fidel

Julia Fidel is head of Berlinale Series.

She is a film and festival professional and has been working with the Berlinale since 2006.

Born in Darmstadt, Hessen, she studied Film and Journalism at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and Cultural Theory and History at Humboldt-Universität Berlin. At HFF Potsdam-Babelsberg, she graduated in Audiovisual Media Studies and was part of the student film festival sehsuechte, which she directed in 2005.

She has worked for Berlinale Generation as moderator, author, project manager and member of the selection committee. At Berlinale Panorama she was responsible for press and editorial work.

Her passion for film and television have led to various stations in the exploitation chain in Berlin, London and New York, with experience ranging from primary research, casting to assistant directing, distribution and publicity, where she has worked for various projects and talents, lastly exclusively for all Netflix projects in German-speaking countries.

As a film choreographer, Julia Fidel has created dance scenes with a wide range of styles for different directors, among them Gore Verbinski (for A Cure for Wellness), Lana Wachowski (for Sense8) and Tom Tykwer, Achim von Borries and Henk Handloegten for the various dance performances in their 1920s series Babylon Berlin. She advises film and television productions on dance scenes and is an advocate for a better recognition of dancers as performers on films.

Berlinale Series
Head of Berlinale Series
Julia Fidel
Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin
phone +49 30 25920-913

Berlinale: Biografien


Julia Fidel

Julia Fidel ist Leiterin der Berlinale Series.

Sie wurde in Darmstadt geboren und studierte Filmwissenschaft und Publizistik an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität Mainz und Kulturwissenschaft an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Ihr Diplom in Audiovisueller Medienwissenschaft schloss sie an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen Potsdam-Babelsberg ab, wo sie 2005 auch das Internationale Studierendenfilmfestival sehsüchte leitete.

Mit der Berlinale ist Julia Fidel seit 2006 eng verbunden. In der Sektion Generation der Berlinale war sie als Moderatorin, Autorin, Projektmanagerin und als Mitglied des Auswahlgremiums tätig, für Berlinale Panorama verantwortete sie die Presse- und redaktionelle Arbeit.

Ihre Leidenschaft für Film und Fernsehen führte zu vielseitigen Branchenerfahrungen in der Regieassistenz, Casting, Zuschauerforschung, Verleih und Pressearbeit mit Stationen in Berlin, London und New York. Als Presseagentin war sie für diverse Projekte und Künstler*innen tätig, zuletzt exklusiv für alle Netflix-Produktionen im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Als Choreographin entwickelte Julia Fidel Tanzszenen unterschiedlichster Stile für nationale und internationale Regisseur*innen, darunter Gore Verbinski (für A Cure for Wellness), Lana Wachowski (für Sense8) und Tom Tykwer, Achim von Borries und Henk Handloegten für sämtliche Tanzelemente in der Serie Babylon Berlin. Sie berät Film- und Fernsehproduktionen bei der Planung von Tanzszenen und setzt sich für die Anerkennung von Tänzer*innen als Film-Künstler ein.

Berlinale Series
Leiterin
Julia Fidel
Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin
Tel. +49 30 25920-913