Berlinale: Biographies


Vincenzo Bugno

Vincenzo Bugno is project manager of the World Cinema Fund.

He was born in Venice and has lived in Berlin since 1988. After graduating in literature, art history and film at Ca’ Foscari University of Venice, he initially worked as a journalist and film critic for Italian and Swiss media. He has written regularly for newspapers and magazines, notably "Corriere della Sera" as well as "Manifesto" and "Ciak".

In addition, he has worked for TV broadcasters including Arte, ZDF, Tele+ and Sky Italia as writer and director of numerous reports and documentaries on cinema and other cultural topics, and has been an advisor and curator for several international film festivals. From 2006 to 2009, he was a member of the programming committee at Locarno Film Festival and head of its Open Door section. He has also regularly contributed to various film festivals as a jury member or panellist, as well as being a consultant for international cinema and cultural institutions.

Since 2001, Vincenzo Bugno has worked at the Berlin International Film Festival in various capacities. He is one of the initiators, project managers and assessors of the World Cinema Fund, founded in 2004 with the objective of supporting film production in regions and countries lacking a structurally strong film industry.

As WCF project manager, he is chiefly responsible for the development of the initiative regarding its content and for its artistic profile. Alongside that, Vincenzo Bugno is Berlinale delegate for both the Maghreb / Mashriq region and Italy, and is a member of the selection committee for the International Competition.

Contact:

World Cinema Fund
Curator
Vincenzo Bugno
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin

Berlinale: Biografien


Vincenzo Bugno

Vincenzo Bugno ist Projektleiter des World Cinema Fund.

Er wurde in Venedig geboren und lebt seit 1988 in Berlin.

Nach seinem Abschluss in Literatur, Kunstgeschichte und Filmwissenschaft an der Universität Ca’Foscari in Venedig arbeitete er zunächst als Journalist und Filmkritiker für italienische und Schweizer Medien. Er hat u.a. regelmäßig für Tageszeitungen und Zeitschriften geschrieben, insbesondere für „Corriere della Sera“ sowie u.a. für „Manifesto“ und „Ciak“.

Als Autor und Regisseur vieler Beiträge und Dokumentationen zum Kino und weiteren Kulturthemen hat er zudem für TV-Sender wie Arte, ZDF, Tele+ und Sky Italia gearbeitet und war als Berater und Kurator für diverse internationale Filmfestivals aktiv. Zwischen 2006 und 2009 war er Mitglied des Programm-Komitees des Locarno Film Festivals und Leiter der Sektion Open Doors. Darüber hinaus wirkt er regelmäßig bei verschieden Filmfestivals in Jurys oder als Panelist, sowie als Berater internationaler Film- und Kulturinstitutionen mit.

Seit 2001 ist Vincenzo Bugno in verschiedenen Funktionen bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin tätig. Er ist einer der Initiatoren, Projekt Manager und Juroren des World Cinema Fund, der 2004 gegründet wurde, mit dem Ziel Filmproduktion in Regionen und Ländern zu unterstützen, die nicht über eine strukturell starke Filmindustrie verfügen.

Als WCF Projekt Manager verantwortet er vor allem die inhaltliche Weiterentwicklung und das künstlerische Profil der Initiative. Darüber hinaus ist Vincenzo Bugno Berlinale-Delegierter für die Maghreb / Mashrek Regionen und Italien sowie Mitglied des Auswahlkomitees für den Internationalen Wettbewerb.

Kontakt:

World Cinema Fund
Kurator
Vincenzo Bugno
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin