Berlinale: Biographies


Kathi Bildhauer

Kathi Bildhauer is co-head of the Berlinale Co-Production Market and project coordinator of the Berlinale Residency.

She was born in 1977 in Aachen, Germany and studied German and English Literature and Psychology at the University of Cologne, followed by European Film Studies at the University College London. After completing her MA she did a PhD, publishing her dissertation about screenplay dramaturgy outside of the mainstream with the title “Screenplay Reloaded: Storytelling in the Cinema of the 21st Century”.

Whilst studying, she worked in casting for a variety of television formats, was a script-reader for New Line Cinema in London, and was an assistant director and in the script/continuity department on the set of a number of television and film productions in Cologne and Berlin. She has taught screenplay analysis and screenwriting at the universities of Cologne, Düsseldorf and Gießen.

Kathi Bildhauer has worked for the Berlin International Film Festival since 2003. She is one of the founding members of the Berlinale Co-Production Market and has been co-head of the department together with Martina Bleis and Miriam Agritelli since 2016. She is also a long-term member of the Berlinale Talents team where she is responsible for the “Talent Project Market”. Between 2008 and 2011 she assisted the projects supported by the World Cinema Fund. Since 2012, she has also been project coordinator of the Berlinale Residency.

CONTACT:

Berlinale Co-Production Market
Residency, Talent Project Market, Programme
Kathi Bildhauer
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin
Germany

Berlinale: Biografien


Kathi Bildhauer

Kathi Bildhauer ist Co-Leiterin des Berlinale Co-Production Market und Projektkoordinatorin der Berlinale Residency.

Kathi Bildhauer wurde 1977 in Aachen geboren. Sie studierte Germanistik, Anglistik und Psychologie an der Universität zu Köln und European Film Studies am University College London. Nach dem Magisterabschluss promovierte sie und veröffentlichte ihre Dissertation über Drehbuchdramaturgie jenseits des Mainstreams unter dem Titel „Drehbuch Reloaded. Erzählen im Kino des 21. Jahrhunderts“.

Während des Studiums arbeitete sie als Casting-Redakteurin für diverse Fernsehformate, als Lektorin für New Line Cinema in London, sowie als Regieassistenz und Script/Continuity am Set einiger Fernseh- und Filmproduktionen in Köln und Berlin. Sie unterrichtete Drehbuchanalyse und –schreiben an den Universitäten Köln, Düsseldorf und Gießen.

Seit 2003 ist sie bei den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin tätig. Sie gehört zum Gründungsteam des Berlinale Co-Production Market und leitet die Abteilung seit 2016 gemeinsam mit Martina Bleis und Miriam Agritelli. Sie ist ebenfalls langjähriges Team-Mitglied von Berlinale Talents und dort für den „Talent Project Market“ verantwortlich. Von 2008-2011 betreute sie die geförderten Projekte des World Cinema Fund. Seit 2012 ist sie Projektkoordinatorin der Berlinale Residency.

KONTAKT:

Berlinale Co-Production Market
Residency, Talent Project Market, Programm
Kathi Bildhauer
Potsdamer Straße 5
10785 Berlin
Deutschland