Berlinale: WCF Europe Programme


WCF EUROPE PROGRAMME

Application Deadlines

  • Production funding: March 5, 2018
  • Distribution funding: from January 2018
  • Applications for WCF Europe distribution funding support can be submitted continually.

STRENGTHENING TRANS-EUROPEAN
AND INTERNATIONAL CO-OPERATION STRATEGIES

With the funding programme WCF Europe we will retain the current successful funding structures of the World Cinema Fund. WCF Europe will operate in the production and distribution funding fields as well, but opening up the WCF support to companies from European countries participating to the MEDIA sub-programme.

That means within this programme, film projects can be submitted by companies from the WCF Europe eligible regions and countries in cooperation with a company from European countries participating to the MEDIA sub-programme, and vice versa. The European partner would become the administrative recipient of the WCF Europe funding.

The main criteria are the same: WCF Europe will support the realization of films (feature-length fiction films and creative documentaries) from WCF Europe eligible regions and countries. The premises of the selection are the artistic quality and the content of the projects as well as their feasibility.

The WCF Europe eligible regions and countries are the same as for the World Cinema Fund (Latin America, Central America, the Caribbean, Africa, the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and Southeast Asia, as well as Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka) plus – only for WCF Europe - Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine.

List WCF Europe eligible regions and countries, PDF (165 KB)
List Countries participating in the MEDIA sub-programme, PDF (151 KB)

FOR A FURTHER DEMOCRATISATION OF THE INTERNATIONAL CO-PRODUCTION LANDSCAPE

From a geographical standpoint, the profile of the international co-production landscape still requires extensive development. Some European countries have been playing the leading role for decades in international co-productions with non-European regions, including countries that lack a constructive and consistent film industry. WCF Europe wants to encourage a further democratisation of the international co-production landscape.

WCF Europe does not intend to ignore innovative projects from the most active countries in recent decades (which are usually also the countries with the most developed film industries), with the best training and production facilities. The new WCF Europe programme will, however, champion a further democratisation of the international co-production landscape.

This is why special consideration will be given to funding projects by production companies from countries with the lowest production capacity inside the eligible WCF Europe regions and / or to European countries who are not yet fully involved in international co-productions.

BUILDING NETWORKING STRUCTURES BETWEEN INTERNATIONAL DISTRIBUTORS

Aiming at a more effective circulation of films from the WCF Europe eligible regions, the WCF wants to strengthen the communication and networking structures between international distributors. This is especially important given that in order to receive distribution funding from WCF Europe, the films from the WCF regions and countries will need to be submitted by a joint group of at least three distributors – including a European one, and at least one from a WCF Europe eligible region / country.

The WCF aims to support projects that are structured as international co-productions between the countries of origin and European countries (respectively countries participating to the MEDIA sub-programme) and that are at a very advanced stage at the time of applying, which will preferably be ready to go into production within three months of the jury’s funding decision.

Funding amount:

  • Maximum funding: 60,000 Euro per project and / or 50% of the total production costs. 40,000 Euro per project for post-production funding.
  • The total production costs of the supported projects should lie between 200,000 Euro and 1,400,000 Euro.
  • The funding must be spent on the production of the film in the aforementioned regions.
  • The total production share from countries participating in the MEDIA sub-programme must amount to a minimum of 20 % for documentaries and 25 % for fiction feature and animation films. Under no circumstance can their share exceed 70 %.

To be eligible to receive WCF Europe Distribution support, films must be from the WCF Europe eligible regions and countries, submitted by a joint group of at least three international distributors (with at least one participant in the MEDIA sub-programme and at least one from a WCF Europe eligible region / country).

Funding amount

  • Maximum funding: 30,000 Euro (total amount for the release of the film in all the (it must be at least three) countries involved, with a maximum of 15,000 Euro per distribution territory).
  • The funding cannot amount altogether to more than 50% of the film’s release costs in all (at least three) applicants' countries.
  • The funding will be solely granted to cover the costs of releasing the film in all (at least three) co-applicants' countries.
  • The film must have been co-produced following a structure involving at least one co-producer from a country participating in the MEDIA sub-programme and at least one co-producer from a country belonging to the WCF Europe regions and countries which is neither participating in the MEDIA sub-programme nor member of Eurimages. The total production share from countries participating in the MEDIA sub-programme must amount to a minimum of 20 % for documentaries and 25 % for fiction feature and animation films. Under no circumstance can their share exceed 70 %.

(Please contact Linda Kirmse to check eligibility for WCF Europe before submitting a project.)

(Please contact Linda Kirmse to check eligibility for WCF Europe before submitting a project.)


The World Cinema Fund is an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation and the Berlin International Film Festival, in cooperation with the German Federal Foreign Office and with further support by the Goethe-Institut.

The special programme WCF Europe was created with the support of Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union.
The special programme WCF Africa is made possible by additional support from the German Federal Foreign Office.

Contact

Project Manager
Vincenzo Bugno

Finance and Administration Manager
Miriam Agritelli

Assistance Project Management
Isona Admetlla

Assistance – Funded Projects
Antje Glawe

WCF Europe Programme
Linda Kirmse

Potsdamer Str. 5
10785 Berlin
phone +49 30 25920-516
fax +49 30 25920-529

Berlinale: WCF Europe Programme


WCF EUROPE PROGRAMME

Einreichtermine:

  • Produktionsförderung: 05. März 2018
  • Verleihförderung: ab Januar 2018
  • Anträge auf WCF Europe-Verleihförderung können fortlaufend eingereicht werden.

FÜR DIE STÄRKUNG TRANSEUROPÄISCHER UND INTERNATIONALER KOOPERATIONSSTRATEGIEN

Mit dem Förderprogramm WCF Europe behält der World Cinema Fund seine erfolgreichen Förderstrukturen bei. Das Sonderprogramm richtet sich ebenso an die Bereiche Produktion und Verleih, weitet aber die Unterstützung durch den WCF auf europäische Firmen aus den Mitgliedsländern des MEDIA sub-programmes aus.

Das bedeutet, im Rahmen von WCF Europe können Firmen aus den WCF-Europe-förderberechtigten Regionen und Ländern in Kooperation mit einer Firma aus den MEDIA-Mitgliedsländern Filme für Produktions- oder Verleihförderung einreichen, und umgekehrt. Administrativer Förderempfänger ist immer der europäische Partner.
Die Hauptkriterien sind dieselben: WCF Europe unterstützt die Realisierung von Filmen (Spielfilme und abendfüllende kreative Dokumentarfilme) aus den WCF-Europe-förderberechtigten Regionen und Ländern. Das zentrale Auswahlkriterium ist die künstlerische Qualität und die inhaltliche Relevanz des Projekts sowie dessen Realisierbarkeit.

Die WCF-Europe-förderberechtigten Regionen und Länder sind dieselben wie für den World Cinema Fund (Latein- und Zentralamerika, die Karibik, Afrika, der Nahe und Mittlere Osten, der Kaukasus, Zentral- und Südostasien sowie Bangladesh, Nepal und Sri Lanka) plus – nur für WCF Europe – Moldawien, die Ukraine und Weißrussland.

List WCF Europe eligible regions and countries, English, PDF (165 KB)
List Countries participating in the MEDIA sub-programme, English, PDF (151 KB)

FÜR EINE STÄRKERE DEMOKRATISIERUNG DER INTERNATIONALEN KOPRODUKTIONSLANDSCHAFT

Unter geografischen Gesichtspunkten bedarf das Profil der internationalen Koproduktionslandschaft noch immer weitreichender Entwicklungen. Seit Jahrzehnten besetzen einige europäische Länder die Führungsrolle in den Koproduktionen mit Nicht-EU-Regionen bzw. filminfrastrukturell schwachen Ländern. WCF Europe möchte zu einer Demokratisierung der internationalen Koproduktionslandschaft ermutigen.

Natürlich wird WCF Europe innovative Projekte aus den in den letzten Jahrzehnten aktivsten europäischen Koproduktionsländern nicht ausschließen. Das neue Programm möchte allerdings auch weitere Länder ermutigen, sich in Koproduktionen mit den WCF-Regionen zu engagieren.

Deshalb wird Projekten von Produktionsfirmen aus denjenigen WCF-Europe-Regionen und Ländern mit der geringsten Produktionskapazität und / oder von Produktionsfirmen aus europäischen Ländern, die bislang weniger aktiv im internationalen Koproduktionsgeschäft mitwirken, besondere Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt.

NETZWERKSTRUKTUREN ZWISCHEN INTERNATIONALEN VERLEIHERN STÄRKEN

Mit dem Ziel einer weitereichenden Verbreitung von Filmen aus den WCF-Europe-förderberechtigten Regionen und Ländern möchte der WCF die Kommunikations- und Netzwerkstrukturen zwischen internationalen Verleihern stärken. Dies ist besonders wichtig vor dem Hintergrund, dass Anträge auf Verleihförderung von WCF Europe von einer Gruppe aus mindestens drei Verleihern gestellt werden müssen – einschließlich eines europäischen Verleihers und einem aus einer/s WCF Europe förderberechtigten Region / Landes.

Der WCF beabsichtigt Projekte zu unterstützen, die als internationale Koproduktion zwischen den Herkunftsländern und europäischen Ländern (entsprechend der MEDIA-Mitgliedsländer) strukturiert sind, und die sich zum Zeitpunkt der Einreichung bereits in einem sehr fortgeschrittenen Stadium befinden, vorzugsweise bereits drei Monate nach der Juryentscheidung in Produktion zu gehen.

Fördersumme

  • Höchstfördersumme: 60.000 Euro pro Projekt und / oder 50% der gesamten Produktionskosten. 40.000 Euro für Postproduktionsförderung.
  • Die Gesamtherstellungskosten der zu fördernden Projekte sollten zwischen 200.000 Euro und 1.400.000 Euro liegen.
  • Der Förderbetrag muss für die Produktion des Films in den o.g. Regionen und Ländern ausgegeben werden.
  • Die Produktionsanteile der Teilnehmerländer des MEDIA sub-programme müssen insgesamt mindestens 20% bei einem Dokumentarfilm und 25% bei einem Spielfilm betragen. Unter keinen Umständen dürfen sie aber 70% überschreiten.

Um für WCF-Europe-Verleihförderung antragsberechtigt zu sein, muss der Film aus einer der WCF-Europe-förderberechtigten Regionen und Länder sein und von einer Gruppe bestehend aus mindestens drei internationalen Verleihern eingereicht werden(mit mindestens einem aus den MEDIA-Mitgliedsländern und mindestens einem aus den WCF-Europe-förderberechtigten Regionen und Ländern).

Fördersumme

  • Höchstfördersumme: 30.000 Euro (Gesamtsumme für die Herausbringung des Films in allen - mindestens drei - involvierten Ländern, mit einem Maximum von 15.000 Euro pro Land)
  • Der Förderbetrag darf nicht mehr als 50% der Gesamtverleihkosten in allen (mindestens drei) Ländern betragen.
  • Die Förderung darf allein dazu verwendet werden, die Kosten der Herausbringung des Films in allen (mindestens drei) Ländern der Ko-Antragsteller zu decken.
  • Der Film muss eine Produktionsstruktur vorweisen, bei der mindestens ein Co-Produzent aus einem Teilnehmerland des MEDIA sub-programmes und mindestens ein Co-Produzent aus einer förderfähigen WCF Europe-Region involviert sind. Die Produktionsanteile der Teilnehmerländer des MEDIA sub-programme müssen insgesamt mindestens 20% bei einem Dokumentarfilm und 25% bei einem Spielfilm betragen. Unter keinen Umständen dürfen sie aber 70% überschreiten.

(Bitte kontaktieren Sie vor der Einreichung Linda Kirmse um die Förderfähigkeit Ihres Projektes für WCF Europe zu prüfen.)


Der World Cinema Fund ist eine Initiative der Kulturstiftung des Bundes und der Internationalen Filmfestspiele Berlin, in Kooperation mit dem Auswärtige Amt sowie weiterer Unterstützung durch das Goethe-Institut.

Das Sonderprogramm WCF Europe ist mit der Unterstützung des Creative Europe MEDIA-Programms der Europäischen Kommission entstanden.
Dank einer zusätzlichen Förderung des Auswärtigen Amtes startete 2016 das Sonderprogramm WCF Africa.

Kontakt

Projektleiter
Vincenzo Bugno

Leitung Finanzen und Administration
Miriam Agritelli

Assistenz Projektleitung
Isona Admetlla

Assistenz - Geförderte Projekte
Antje Glawe

WCF Europe Programm
Linda Kirmse

Potsdamer Str. 5
10785 Berlin
Tel. +49 30 25920-516
Fax +49 30 25920-529