Berlinale: Co-Production Market


Berlinale Co-Production Market

The Berlinale Co-Production Market is the curated project and networking platform for around 600 experienced producers and financiers active in the international co-production business.

Each year, the Berlinale Co-Production Market introduces a selection of 35 high-quality feature film projects, eight series projects, 12 novels available for adaptation and five outstanding production companies with a particularly interesting profile. Following specific structural and aesthetic criteria, and making use of an extensive knowledge of the market, the experienced team sifts through hundreds of highly promising applications to find the projects that are at the optimum stage to benefit from being connected with potential partners from other countries. The projects’ producers are supported in their co-production and financing strategies, receive in-depth advice and are then brought together with interested and suitable partners in pre-scheduled meetings on site.

Alongside the one-on-one meetings, there are also targeted networking events (for example, for producers and casting directors), hands-on case studies and discussions as well as information sessions on current and relevant subject matters for producers. The programme is complemented by informal networking opportunities which make the Berlinale Co-Production Market a sought-after meeting place and exclusive forum for all international producers and financiers with co-production experience at the Berlinale.

At the Berlinale Co-Production Market, 600 selected participants from the international film industry value the opportunity to discover both artistically interesting and commercially promising new projects from various genres with the view to participating in their production.

A total of 1,300 one-on-one meetings are carefully planned for the selected projects and companies. With individual priorities taken into account, each feature film project meets its 30 top matches. Via this targeted matchmaking by the Berlinale Co-Production Market team, connections are forged which have given rise to numerous successful festival and commercial films. In the first half of 2018 alone, 11 such productions appeared at festivals including the Berlinale and Cannes.

In addition, selected book and series projects are each presented at their own pitching events. The rights’ holders and producers meet with interested (co-)producers and financiers at the "Books at Berlinale" and "Co-Pro Series" respectively.

The Berlinale Co-Production Market is a part of the EFM. Its main partners are MDM – Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung and the Creative Europe MEDIA programme of the European Union.

A home-from-home for producers and over 270 successfully financed feature films

The Berlinale Co-Production Market originated in an idea by Dieter Kosslick to create “a home during the festival” for international producers and financiers who, up to that point, had no established meeting place. In 2004, the Berlinale Co-Production Market took place for the first time; in 2005, the first project coming out of it was already screening in the Berlinale Competition: Solnze (The Sun) by Alexander Sokurov.

Since then, over 270 films that have been matched with partners at the Berlinale Co-Production Market have gone on to be made, including films winning awards at international festivals by directors like Laura Bispuri, Emily Atef, Samuel Maoz, Ruben Östlund, Alice Rohrwacher and Sebastián Lelio, whose Academy Award and Silver Bear winning Una Mujer Fantástica was developed as part of the former Berlinale Residency programme and was then introduced at the Berlinale Co-Production Market.

The number of projects from "Co-Pro Series" that have gone on to be realised is also high: Babylon Berlin was one of the first projects to be introduced there. From the 18 series ideas that have been presented during the first three years, eight have already been made and more are currently being worked on.

The Berlinale Co-Production Market maintains close collaborations with the other industry-relevant branches of the Berlinale: the European Film Market, Berlinale Talents and the World Cinema Fund.

The ten projects in the “Talent Project Market”, a cooperation between the Berlinale Co-Production Market and Berlinale Talents, come from producers at the start of their international careers who have applied to Berlinale Talents.

In cooperation with the EFM and ACE Producers, the Berlinale Co-Production Market contributes to the programme of the "EFM Producers Hub" which offers producers outside the Co-Production Market a space for meetings, advice from experts on financing and distribution strategies and a series of talks.

Since 2015, "Co-Pro Series" has been the Berlinale Co-Production Market’s contribution to "Drama Series Days". With around 300 pre-registered industry guests, the "Co-Pro Series" Pitch and Networking Event is its biggest single event and is now held for a full day.

At "Books at Berlinale", the first market for literary material at an A-film festival, the Berlinale Co-Production Market has been successfully collaborating with the Frankfurt Book Fair since 2006.

Three awards can be won by the selected feature film projects at the Berlinale Co-Production Market: the 20,000 Euro Eurimages Co-Production Development Award, whose first winner from 2015, 3 Days in Quiberon by Emily Atef, has already screened in the 2018 Berlinale Competition and won seven German Film Awards in the same year; the 6,000 Euro Arte International Prize; and the 10,000 Euro VFF Talent Highlight Award for one of the selected "Talent Project Market" projects.

You will find in-depth, up-to-date information on the website of the Berlinale Co-Poduction Market

Contact

Official Projects, CoPro Series, Press
Martina Bleis

Programme, Talent Project Market, Books at Berlinale
Kathi Bildhauer

Office Management, Logistics
Miriam Boixader

Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin
phone +49 30 25920-517
fax +49 30 25920-529

Berlinale: Co-Production Market


Berlinale Co-Production Market

Der Berlinale Co-Production Market ist die kuratierte Projekt- und Networking-Plattform für ca. 600 erfahrene Produzent*innen und Finanziers, die aktiv im internationalen Koproduktionsgeschäft tätig sind.

Der Berlinale Co-Production Market stellt jedes Jahr eine Auswahl von 35 hochkarätigen Spielfilmprojekten, acht Serienprojekten, zwölf Romanen zur Verfilmung sowie fünf herausragenden Produktionsfirmen mit besonders spannendem Profil vor. Unter Berücksichtigung zielgerichteter struktureller und ästhetischer Kriterien und mithilfe genauer Marktkenntnis sichtet das erfahrene Team hunderte vielversprechende Bewerbungen, um die Projekte zu finden, die im besten Stadium sind, um optimal mit potenziellen Partnern aus anderen Ländern verknüpft zu werden. Die Produzent*innen der Projekte werden im Hinblick auf ihre Koproduktions- und Finanzierungstrategien unterstützt und eingehend beraten und dann vor Ort gezielt mit interessierten, passenden Partnern zusammengebracht.

Über die Vermittlung von Projekten hinaus gibt es passgenaue Networking-Formate (beispielsweise für Produzent*innen und Casting Directors), praxisorientierte Case Studies, inhaltliche Diskussionen, und Informationen zu aktuellen und relevanten Themen für Produzent*innen. Informelle Kennenlern-Angebote runden das Programm ab und machen die Veranstaltung zum gefragten Treffpunkt und zur exklusiven Anlaufstelle für alle koproduktionserfahrenen internationalen Produzent*innen und Finanziers bei der Berlinale.

Die rund 600 ausgewählten Teilnehmer*innen aus der internationalen Filmbranche schätzen die Möglichkeit, hier sowohl künstlerisch interessante als auch kommerziell aussichtsreiche neue Projekte verschiedener Genres zu entdecken, an deren erfolgreicher Realisierung sie sich beteiligen können.

Insgesamt 1300 Eins-zu-Eins-Meetings für die ausgewählten Projekte und Firmen werden sorgsam geplant. Unter Berücksichtigung individueller Prioritäten trifft jedes Spielfilmprojekt seine 30 Top-Matches. Durch diese konkrete persönliche Vermittlungsarbeit, das sogenannte Matchmaking durch das Team des Berlinale Co-Production Market, werden Verbindungen geknüpft, aus denen zahlreiche erfolgreiche Festival- und Publikumsfilme hervorgehen – allein elf solcher Produktionen waren im ersten Halbjahr 2018 unter anderem bei der Berlinale und in Cannes zu erleben.

Die ausgewählten Buch- und Serienprojekte werden in jeweils eigenen Pitch-Veranstaltungen präsentiert. Bei „Books at Berlinale“ und „Co-Pro Series“ treffen die Rechteinhaber*innen bzw. Produzent*innen ebenfalls auf interessierte potenzielle (Ko-)Produzent*innen und Finanziers.

Der Berlinale Co-Production Market ist Teil des EFM. Hauptpartner des Berlinale Co-Production Market sind MDM – Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung und das Creative Europe MEDIA Programm der Europäischen Union.

Zweites Zuhause für Produzent*innen und über 270 erfolgreich finanzierte Spielfilme

Der Berlinale Co-Production Market entstand aus der Idee von Dieter Kosslick, eine Art „Zuhause während des Festivals“ für internationale Produzent*innen und Finanziers zu schaffen, die bis dahin keinen festen Ort für ihre Treffen hatten. 2004 fand der Berlinale Co-Production Market zum ersten Mal statt, 2005 lief bereits das erste, hieraus hervorgegangene Projekt im Wettbewerb der Berlinale, Solnze (The Sun) von Alexander Sokurow.

Seither folgten über 270 Filme, die beim Berlinale Co-Production Market mit Partner*innen verkuppelt und anschließend realisiert wurden, darunter bei internationalen Festivals preisgekrönte Filme von Regisseur*innen wie Laura Bispuri, Emily Atef, Samuel Maoz, Ruben Östlund, Alice Rohrwacher und Sebastián Lelio, dessen Academy Award- und Silberner Bär-Gewinner Una Mujer Fantástica im Rahmen des ehemaligen Förderprogramms Berlinale Residency entwickelt und dann im Berlinale Co-Production Market vorgestellt wurde.

Auch bei „Co-Pro Series“ ist die Realisierungsquote hoch: Babylon Berlin war eines der ersten Projekte, die hier vorgestellt wurden. Von insgesamt 18 in den ersten drei Jahren vorgestellten Serienideen wurden bereits acht gedreht, weitere sind in Arbeit.

Der Berlinale Co-Production Market pflegt eine engmaschige Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen branchenrelevanten Sparten der Berlinale: European Film Market, Berlinale Talents und World Cinema Fund.

Die zehn Projekte im „Talent Project Market“, einer Kooperation von Berlinale Co-Production Market und Berlinale Talents, kommen von Produzent*innen am Anfang ihrer internationalen Karriere, die sich bei Berlinale Talents bewerben.

In Kooperation mit dem EFM und ACE Producers beteiligt sich der Berlinale Co-Production Market am „EFM Producers Hub“, der Produzent*innen außerhalb des Co-Production Market Raum für Meetings, Beratung durch Expert*innen zu Finanzierungs- und Vertriebsstrategien und eine Talk-Reihe bietet.

„Co-Pro Series“ ist seit 2015 der Beitrag des Berlinale Co-Production Market zu den „Drama Series Days“. Mit ca. 300 vorab angemeldeten Fachbesucher*innen ist das „Co-Pro Series“ Pitch und Networking Event die größte, mittlerweile ganztägige Einzelveranstaltung.

Bei „Books at Berlinale“, dem ersten Markt für literarische Stoffe bei einem A-Filmfestival, arbeitet der Berlinale Co-Production Market seit 2006 erfolgreich mit der Frankfurter Buchmesse zusammen.

Drei Preise gibt es für die ausgewählten Spielfilmprojekte beim Berlinale Co-Production Market zu gewinnen: den Eurimages Co-Production Development Award in Höhe von 20.000 Euro, dessen erster Preisträger von 2015 bereits 2018 bei der Berlinale im Wettbewerb lief und im gleichen Jahr mit sieben deutschen Filmpreisen ausgezeichnet wurde: 3 Tage in Quiberon von Emily Atef, den Arte International Prize in Höhe von 6.000 Euro und den VFF Talent Highlight Award für eines der ausgewählten Talent-Projekte, der mit 10.000 Euro dotiert ist.

Aktuelle und ausführliche Informationen finden Sie auf der Website des Berlinale Co-Production Market

Kontakt

Official Projects, CoPro Series, Presse
Martina Bleis

Programm, Talent Project Market, Books at Berlinale
Kathi Bildhauer

Office Management und Logistik
Miriam Boixader

Potsdamer Platz 11
10785 Berlin
Tel. +49 30 25920-517
Fax +49 30 25920-529