Berlinale: Press Releases


Press Releases 2019

Panorama

Jan 21, 2019:
Panorama 2019: Breaking Free

The programme of the 2019 edition of Panorama is complete. Section head Paz Lázaro and co-curator and programme manager Michael Stütz are looking forward to presenting 45 films from 38 countries, including 34 world premieres. Among them are 29 feature films, 16 documentary forms, and 19 directorial debuts. Panorama 2019 will be presenting a controversial, political, and provocative programme.

Information about films already selected can be found in the press release from December 18, 2018. You will find a complete list of films screening in the 2019 Panorama programme below.Information about films already selected can be found in the press release from December 18, 2018. You will find a complete list of films screening in the 2019 Panorama programme below.

These are times of breaking free - or so this year’s Panorama programme seems to be telling us. In a remarkable number of films, we can observe people trying to leave behind systems of heteronomy and oppression – with varying degrees of success. It might be the family, a homophobic religious group, or a capitalist system that people are trying to escape from, but the goal is always a life of self-determination - a life with more freedom and more autonomy. The hardest feat is often breaking out of your own community, the one you feel closest to. This year’s programme also features exceptional cinematic (self-)discoveries and portraits of remarkable artists.

Faith Baloyi in Flatland von Jenna Bass

Breaking Free

In this year’s opening film, Flatland by Jenna Bass, two young women break free from classic social conceptions of womanhood. In this fast-paced road movie, a bride and her pregnant friend make a liberating getaway across South Africa. In Temblores (Tremors), director Jayro Bustamante follows a family father who tries to break free from his past after breaking the silence about his true sexuality. What he doesn’t foresee, is his Evangelical community’s dramatic and relentless responses to his coming out. Chinese society expects all men and women to adapt to a system known as “family” in A Dog Barking at the Moon (D: Xiang Zi), a brilliantly edited drama about two generations. When a wife discovers her husband with another man, her only refuge seems to be in the doctrines of a cult. Syllas Tzoumerkas’ furious, genre-bending To thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón (The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea) revolves around two very different women. While one is secretly planning to break out of her dreary small-town life, the other inevitably finds herself drawn deeper and deeper into a morass of crime and perversion. Juri is haunted by nightly panic attacks and his ever-growing fear of dying in Xaver Böhm’s mischievous first feature O Beautiful Night. One day, Death himself darkens Juri’s door. What follows is an escape from reality, and into the Berlin night. Edward Berger’s episodic family drama All My Loving shows how difficult it can be to break free from the ghosts of your past. For three siblings their only escape seems to be the present. In Kislota (Acid), Russian actor Alexander Gorchilin’s directorial debut, we observe a group of fatherless adolescents radically severing all family and religious ties to finally break loose. 37 Seconds (D: HIKARI) tells the story of a talented Japanese manga artist with cerebral palsy who tries to break loose. The only way out of her social and sexual invisibility is to take matters into her own hands. Neo-Nazi Bryon Widner tries to escape his own, far-right community in Skin. Getting rid of your past quite literally means getting rid of your old skin in Guy Nattiv’s thriller which is based on a true story. In Šavovi (Stitches) by Miroslav Terzić, a mother breaks a conspiracy of silence in order to search for her dead son and uncovers a far-reaching scandal in recent Serbian history. Different ways of breaking free from the chains of a turbo-capitalist world order are shown in two very different films about modern-day slavery. In Buoyancy (D: Rodd Rathjen), Chakra, a 14-year-old boy from Cambodia is enslaved on a fishing boat. The only way out seems to be to revolt. The documentary Estou Me Guardando Para Quando O Carnaval Chegar (Waiting for the Carnival) (D: Marcelo Gomes) is a portrait of a Brazilian town and its tireless workers. Their only escape from months of commitment to their jobs in the denim manufacturing industry is the annual carnival.

Cinematic (Self-)Discoveries

In many films this year, film as a medium and the practice of filming itself plays a central role: as means of self-exploration, of filtering harsh realities, or of archiving memories. In Midnight Traveler, the footage Hassan Fazili records when he and his family are forced to flee Afghanistan serves as proof of their survival. The camera, which accompanies them on their strenuous journey on the Balkan route, also chronicles the world’s increasingly rigid isolationist policies. Filming one’s own family would appear to be a therapeutic, yet painful project in Western Arabs. After fleeing Palestine as a young man, a father’s wounds refuse to heal. Denmark-born director Omar Shargawi uses his camera both as a shield and a filter in his attempt to get close to a patriarch. In Selfie by Agostino Ferrente, two friends are given cameras so that they themselves can decide which images will capture their lives in Naples. The fascinating self-portraits that emerge range in tone from light-hearted to hopeless, providing both an intimate insight into the last days of childhood and a foretaste of a crime-ridden future. Eva is a sex worker, a feminist, and a rebel. Pia Hellenthal portrays this strong, yet vulnerable woman using an idiosyncratic mix of documentary observations, scripted scenes and her protagonist’s own self-staging. And in between takes, her social media followers are also given a voice in Searching Eva. From the VHS footage of a troubled childhood in Jonah Hill’s debut Mid90s, or the material a Senegalese tourist guide records on a camcorder in Staff Only, to Joanna Hogg’s The Souvenir, in which a young film student’s 16mm films allow her to explore a world outside her social and emotional bubble: film as a protagonist and the act of filming run like a thread through this year’s programme.

Artists Portraits

Unusual portraits of extraordinary artists also feature strongly in this year’s programme. In Lemebel, Joanna Reposi Garibaldi assembles a vast variety of archival footage and home videos to remember Pedro Lemebel. Her hypnotic stream of images merges to form a portrait of this Chilenian author, activist and performance artist who died in 2015. La fiera y la fiesta (Holy Beasts) by Laura Amelia Guzmán and Israel Cárdenas remembers an artist in the form of a somnambulistic fantasy: a filmmaker faces increasing challenges as she tries, decades later, to complete Dominican filmmaker Jean-Louis Jorge’s unfinished work. A Dog Called Money by photographer Seamus Murphy is an unconventional portrait of singer-songwriter PJ Harvey. The film documents their journeys together to Afghanistan, Kosovo and Washingston D.C.. On her travels, Harvey finds inspiration for an album we simultaneously watch her record in a pop-up studio in London. In Serendipity, sculptor and multi-media artist Prune Nourry presents an intimate self-portrait in which she combines images of her art with personal reflections on femininity and her battle with breast cancer. Système K (System K) by Renaud Barret affords breathtaking insights into Kinshasa’s street art scene, while in Talking About Trees we follow four Sudanese filmmakers on their journey through dusty archives and bureaucratic institutions. Their dream: To bring cinema back to Sudan. Kim Longinotto’s Shooting the Mafia portrays legendary photographer Letizia Battaglia, whose visual account of the mafia changed public perceptions.
In Schönheit & Vergänglichkeit (Beauty and Decay) by Annekatrin Hendel, East German photographers Sven Marquardt and Robert Paris talk about the good old days with muse and survival artist Dominique (Dome) Hollenstein. Finally, What She Said: The Art of Pauline Kael (D: Rob Garver) looks at film criticism as an art form and remembers, with the help of an impressive selection of film clips and interviews, the strident and controversial author Pauline Kael.

Other newly announced films:

La Arrancada (On the starting line) – France / Cuba / Brazil
by Aldemar Matias
Aldemar Matias delivers this delicate, sensitively filmed family portrait from Cuba. The life of competitive athlete Jenniffer is on the brink of change, just like the whole country. She is poised on the starting blocks – and not just in the 100-meter dash.

Der Atem (The Breath) - Germany
by Uli M Schueppel
Twenty-six people talk about love and hardship, hope and bitterness, fear and happiness accompanied by celluloid images of Berlin at night. A symphony of life, a magical cosmos. The third part of the filmmaker’s “Chants” trilogy on space, time and the body.

Breve historia del planeta verde (Brief Story from the Green Planet)
Argentina / Germany / Brazil / Spain
by Santiago Loza
When Tania finds out that her grandma has spent her final years in the caring company of a cute purple alien, she embarks on a journey through small-town Argentina with two close friends to deliver the creature back to its origins.

Divino Amor (Divine Love)
Brazil / Uruguay / Chile / Denmark / Norway / Sweden
by Gabriel Mascaro
Brazil, 2027. A deeply religious woman uses her position in a notary’s office to try to prevent couples from divorcing. Whilst waiting for a divine sign in recognition of her efforts, she’s confronted with a crisis that ultimately brings her closer to God.

Flesh Out – Italy
by Michela Occhipinti
Verida is due to marry in three months. According to a Mauritanian tradition, she has to put on a lot of weight to appeal to her husband. The weight gain process gets harder as it progresses, and Verida begins to ask herself if this is what she really wants.

Light of My Life - USA
by Casey Affleck
A post-apocalyptic family drama by and with Casey Affleck about a father determined to protect his daughter at all costs. In a society without women, gender roles have to be renegotiated.

Normal - Italy / Sweden
by Adele Tulli
Adele Tullis’s formally straightforward but aesthetically convincing documentary examines rigidly defined gender roles and many people’s uncritical submission to the dictates of (hetero-)normativity.

The Shadow Play – People’s Republic of China
by Lou Ye
After a demonstration against the demolition of old buildings, the director of the municipal building commission is found dead. In the guise of a film noir, a tale unfolds of corruption, building scandals and ruthless avarice.

Woo Sang (Idol) - South Korea
by Lee Su-jin
Politician Koo Myung-hui discovers his wife in the garage, cleaning their son’s bloodstained car. He has just run someone over. A rain-drenched political thriller with neo-noir elements.

The films of Panorama 2019:

37 Seconds by HIKARI with Mei Kayama, Misuzu Kanno, Makiko Watanabe, Shunsuke Daitō, Yuka Itaya. Japan – Debut film, World premiere
All My Loving by Edward Berger with Lars Eidinger, Nele Mueller-Stöfen, Hans Löw. Germany – World premiere
La Arrancada (On the Starting Line) by Aldemar Matias. France / Cuba / Brazil – Debut film, Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
Der Atem (The Breath) by Uli M Schueppel. Germany - World premiere
Breve historia del planeta verde (Brief Story from the Green Planet) by Santiago Loza with Romina Escobar, Paula Grinszpan, Luis Soda. Argentina / Germany / Brazil / Spain – World premiere
Buoyancy by Rodd Rathjen with Sarm Heng, Thanawut Kasro, Mony Ros. Australia – Debut film, World premiere
Dafne by Federico Bondi with Carolina Raspanti, Antonio Piovanelli, Stefania Casini. Italy - World premiere
The Day After I'm Gone by Nimrod Eldar with Menashe Noy, Zohar Meidan. Israel – Debut film, World premiere
Divino Amor (Divine Love) by Gabriel Mascaro with Dira Paes, Julio Machado. Brazil / Uruguay / Chile / Denmark / Norway / Sweden – European premiere
A Dog Barking at the Moon by Xiang Zi with Nan Ji, Naren Hua, Zhang Xinyue. People’s Republic of China / Spain – Debut film, World premiere
A Dog Called Money by Seamus Murphy with PJ Harvey. Ireland / United Kingdom – Debut film, Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
Estou Me Guardando Para Quando O Carnaval Chegar (Waiting for the Carnival) by Marcelo Gomes. Brazil – Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
Eynayim Sheli (Chained) by Yaron Shani with Eran Naim, Stav Almagor, Stav Patai. Israel / Germany - World premiere
La fiera y la fiesta (Holy Beasts) by Laura Amelia Guzmán, Israel Cárdenas with Geraldine Chaplin, Udo Kier, Luis Ospina, Jaime Piña, Jackie Ludueña. Dominican Republic / Argentina / Mexico - World premiere
Flatland by Jenna Bass with Faith Baloyi, Nicole Fortuin, Izel Bezuidenhout. South Africa / Luxemburg / Germany - World premiere
Flesh Out by Michela Occhipinti with Verida Beitta Ahmed Deiche, Amal Saab Bouh Oumar, Aichetou Abdallahi Najim, Sidi Mohamed Chighaly. Italy – Debut film, World premiere
Greta by Armando Praça with Marco Nanini, Denise Weinberg, Demick Lopes, Gretta Sttar. Brazil – Debut film, World premiere
Hellhole by Bas Devos with Willy Thomas, Alba Rohrwacher, Lubna Azabal, Hamza Belarbi. Belgium / Netherlands - World premiere
Jessica Forever by Caroline Poggi and Jonathan Vinel with Aomi Muyock, Sebastian Urzendowsky, Augustin Raguenet, Lukas Ionesco, Eddy Suiveng, Paul Hamy, Maya Coline. France – Debut film, European premiere
Kislota (Acid) by Alexander Gorchilin with Filipp Avdeev, Alexander Kuznetsov, Arina Shevtsova, Alexandra Rebenok, Savva Saveliev. Russian Federation – Debut film, International premiere
Lemebel by Joanna Reposi Garibaldi. Chile / Colombia – Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
Light of My Life by Casey Affleck with Anna Pniowsky, Casey Affleck, Elisabeth Moss. USA – Debut film, World premiere
Mid90s by Jonah Hill with Sunny Suljic, Lucas Hedges, Katherine Waterston, Na-Kel Smith, Olan Prenatt. USA – Debut film, European premiere
Midnight Traveler by Hassan Fazili. USA / United Kingdom / Qatar / Canada – Debut film, Panorama Dokumente, International premiere
Los miembros de la familia (Family Members) by Mateo Bendesky with Tomás Wicz, Laila Maltz, Alejandro Russek. Argentina - World premiere
Monos by Alejandro Landes with Julianne Nicholson, Moisés Arias, Sofia Buenaventura, Julián Giraldo, Karen Quintero. Colombia / Argentina / Netherlands / Denmark / Sweden / Germany / Uruguay / USA - European premiere
Normal by Adele Tulli. Italy / Sweden – Debut film, Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
O Beautiful Night by Xaver Böhm with Noah Saavedra, Marko Mandić, Vanessa Loibl. Germany – Debut film, World premiere
Šavovi (Stitches) by Miroslav Terzić with Snežana Bogdanović, Marko Baćović, Jovana Stojiljković. Serbia / Slovenia / Croatia / Bosnia and Herzegovina - World premiere
Schönheit & Vergänglichkeit (Beauty and Decay) by Annekatrin Hendel. Germany – Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
Searching Eva by Pia Hellenthal. Germany – Debut film, Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
Selfie by Agostino Ferrente. France / Italy – Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
Serendipity by Prune Nourry. USA – Debut film – Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
The Shadow Play by Lou Ye with Jing Boran, Song Jia, Qin Hao, Ma Sichun. People’s Republic of China – European premiere
Shooting the Mafia by Kim Longinotto. Ireland / USA - Panorama Dokumente, European premiere
Skin by Guy Nattiv with Jamie Bell, Danielle Macdonald, Vera Farmiga, Bill Camp, Mike Colter, USA - European premiere
The Souvenir by Joanna Hogg with Honor Swinton Byrne, Tom Burke, Tilda Swinton. UK - European premiere
Staff Only by Neus Ballús with Sergi López, Elena Andrada, Ian Samsó, Diomaye A. Ngom, Madeleine C. Ndong. Spain / France - World premiere
Système K (System K) by Renaud Barret. France – Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
Talking About Trees by Suhaib Gasmelbari. France / Sudan / Germany / Chad / Qatar – Debut film, Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
Temblores (Tremors) by Jayro Bustamante with Juan Pablo Olyslager, Mauricio Armas Zebadúa, Diane Bathen, María Telón. Guatemala / France / Luxemburg - World premiere
To thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón (The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea) by Syllas Tzoumerkas with Angeliki Papoulia, Youla Boudali, Christos Passalis, Argyris Xafis, Thanasis Dovris. Greece / Germany / Netherlands / Sweden - World premiere
Western Arabs by Omar Shargawi. Denmark / Netherlands – Panorama Dokumente, World premiere
What She Said: The Art of Pauline Kael by Rob Garver with Sarah Jessica Parker, Quentin Tarantino, Alec Baldwin, David O. Russell, Paul Schrader. USA – Debut film, Panorama Dokumente, International premiere
Woo Sang (Idol) by Lee Su-jin with Han Seok-kyu, Sul Kyung-gu, Chun Woo-hee. South Korea – World premiere


Press Office
January 21, 2019

Download Press Release, PDF (253 KB)

Berlinale: Pressemitteilungen


Pressemitteilungen 2019

Panorama

21.01.2019:
Panorama 2019: Zeiten des Ausbruchs

Das Panorama-Programm der 69. Berlinale ist komplett. Sektionsleiterin Paz Lázaro und Co-Kurator und Programmanager Michael Stütz freuen sich, insgesamt 45 Filme unter der Beteiligung von 38 Ländern präsentieren zu können. 34 Filme feiern ihre Weltpremiere. 19 der Filme sind Erstlingswerke. Unter den 45 Filmen sind 29 Spielfilme und 16 dokumentarische Formen. Das Panorama zeigt ein kontroverses, politisches und herausforderndes Programm.

Bereits gemeldete Titel finden Sie in der Pressemitteilung vom 18.12.2018.
Die Liste der Titel, die das Panorama-Programm vervollständigen, folgt unten im Anschluss an die Programmvorstellung.

Die Zeiten stehen auf Ausbruch im Programm des Panorama 2019. In auffällig vielen Filmen versuchen Menschen, Systeme von Fremdbestimmung und Unterdrückung hinter sich zu lassen – mit unterschiedlichem Erfolg. Mal ist es die Familie, mal eine homophobe Kirchengemeinde oder ein kapitalistisches Sklavensystem, von dem es sich zu emanzipieren gilt. Oft ist es die eigene Community, aus der der Ausbruch am schwersten fällt. Immer geht es für die Menschen dabei um ein besseres, freieres Leben. Weitere Schwerpunkte des diesjährigen Programms liegen auf schonungslosen filmischen (Selbst-)Erkundungen und starken Künstler*innenporträts.

Faith Baloyi in Flatland von Jenna Bass

Ausbrüche

Im Eröffnungsfilm Flatland von Jenna Bass wagen zwei junge Frauen den Ausbruch aus gesellschaftlich geforderten Frauenbildern. Eine Braut und eine werdende Mutter flüchten in diesem temporeichen Roadmovie quer durch Südafrika. In Temblores von Jayro Bustamante bricht ein Familienvater in Guatemala das Schweigen über seine wahre Sexualität – und erfährt mit dramatischen Konsequenzen die ganze Härte seiner streng evangelikalen Gemeinschaft. Im virtuos montierten Drama A Dog Barking at the Moon (R: Xiang Zi) verlangt die chinesische Gesellschaft die Anpassung an das System Familie. Als eine Frau ihren Mann mit einem anderen erwischt, sucht sie Zuflucht in den Lehren einer Sekte. In Syllas Tzoumerkas’ wildem Genrebastard To thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón (The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea) stehen zwei Frauen im Zentrum. Während die eine den heimlichen Ausbruch aus der Provinz plant, versinkt die andere immer tiefer im kriminellen Sumpf einer Kleinstadt. Als Antwort auf die eigene Todesangst steht in Xaver Böhms skurrilem Erstling O Beautiful Night plötzlich der Tod höchstpersönlich vor der Tür des jungen Mannes Juri. Es folgt ein Ausbruch in die Nacht. Wie schwierig es ist, sich von den Gespenstern der Vergangenheit zu befreien, zeigt Edward Bergers episodisches Familiendrama All My Loving. Drei Geschwister suchen auf ganz unterschiedliche Art den Ausbruch in die Gegenwart. Junge Menschen brechen in Kislota (Acid), dem Regiedebüt des russischen Schauspielers Alexander Gorchilin, auf drastische Weise mit familiären und religiösen Traditionen und Strukturen. In 37 Seconds (R: HIKARI) ist es eine begnadete Manga-Zeichnerin, die im Rollstuhl sitzt und die Flucht aus der Unsichtbarkeit hinein in eine sexuelle Selbstbestimmung erprobt. Der Neo-Nazi Bryon Widner flieht vor seiner eigenen, ultrarechten Gemeinschaft und will im Thriller Skin von Guy Nattiv im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes aus seiner eigenen Haut. In Šavovi (Stitches) (R: Miroslav Terzić) bricht eine Mutter auf der Suche nach ihrem toten Sohn ein Kartell des Schweigens und legt einen Skandal der jüngsten serbischen Geschichte offen. Den befreienden Ausbruch aus den Fesseln einer turbokapitalistischen Weltordnung zeigen auf sehr unterschiedliche Art zwei Filme über moderne Sklaverei. Der 14-jährige, kambodschanische Junge Chakra wird in Buoyancy (R: Rodd Rathjen) auf einem Fischkutter versklavt. Der einzige Ausweg scheint die Revolte. Im Dokumentarfilm Estou Me Guardando Para Quando O Carnaval Chegar (Waiting For The Carnival) (R: Marcelo Gomes) beobachten wir eine ganze brasilianische Stadt bei der pausenlosen Arbeit für die jeansverarbeitende Industrie. Der einzige Ausbruch: Der jährliche Karneval.

Filmische (Selbst-)Erkundungen

Das Medium Film spielt in vielen Filmen als Mittel der Selbsterkundung, als Realitätsfilter oder als Erinnerungsarchiv eine zentrale Rolle. Die auf der Flucht aus Afghanistan gemachten Familienaufnahmen von Hassan Fazili sind in Midnight Traveler Beweismittel eines Überlebens. Die Kamera als Begleiter über die Balkanroute ist hier Chronist einer weltweit immer rigideren Abschottungspolitik. In Western Arabs ist das Filmen der eigenen Familie ein therapeutischer Selbstversuch: Nach früher Flucht aus Palästina wollen die Wunden des Vaters nicht heilen. Der in Dänemark geborene Regisseur Omar Shargawi filtert seine eigenen Erfahrungen hier zur Annäherung an einen Patriarchen. In Selfie (R: Agostino Ferrente) werden Jugendlichen in Neapel Kameras gegeben, um die Regie über die Bilder ihres Leben selbst in die Hand nehmen zu können. Herausgekommen sind Selbstporträts zwischen Perspektivlosigkeit und unbeschwerter Jugend, zwischen kriminellem Alltag und den intimen Momentaufnahmen ihrer Kindheit. In einer Mischung aus bewusster Inszenierung und dokumentarischen Alltagsbeobachtungen verbindet Pia Hellenthal in Searching Eva unterschiedliche filmische Formen auf der Suche nach ihrer Protagonistin. Zwischen Italien und Berlin, Entzug und neuen Drogen und den Kommentaren von Familie und Social-Media-Followern entfaltet sich das filmisch eigenwillige Porträt einer starken und gleichzeitig verwundbaren Sexarbeiterin, Feministin und Rebellin. Ob es die VHS-Aufnahmen einer schwierigen Jugend in Jonah Hills Regiedebüt Mid90s sind, die auf Camcorder gedrehten Touristenreportagen eines senegalesischen Hotelangestellten in Staff Only (R: Neus Ballús) oder die 16mm-Aufnahmen einer jungen Filmstudentin, die der Erkundung der Außenwelt und der eignen Persönlichkeit dienen in Joanna Hoggs The Souvenir: Das filmische Moment und Momente des Filmens spielen als Themen im diesjährigen Programm eine besondere Rolle.

Künstler*innen-Porträts

Schließlich liegt ein weiterer Fokus in diesem Jahr auf herausragenden filmischen Porträts außergewöhnlicher Künstler*innen. Joanna Reposi Garibaldi montiert in Lemebel aus einer Vielzahl von Archivaufnahmen und Homevideos einen hypnotischen Bilderfluss zu ihrem Porträt des 2015 verstorbenen chilenischen Autors, Aktivisten und Performance Künstlers Pedro Lemebel. La fiera y la fiesta (Holy Beasts) (R: Laura Amelia Guzmán, Israel Cárdenas) erinnert in Form eines traumwandlerischen Spielfilms an den ermordeten dominikanischen Filmemacher Jean-Louis Jorge. Fernab des konventionellen Porträtfilms bewegt sich auch A Dog Called Money des Fotografen Seamus Murphy. Im Mittelpunkt stehen seine Reisen mit der Musikerin PJ Harvey nach Afghanistan, Washington D.C. und in den Kosovo. Parallel sehen wir live wie PJ Harvey im extra erbauten Tonstudio in London ihre Reiseeindrücke zu Musik werden lässt. Die Bildhauerin und Multimedia-Künstlerin Prune Nourry verdichtet in Serendipity Aufnahmen ihrer Kunst und persönliche Reflexionen über Weiblichkeit und ihre Krankheit zu einem intimen Selbstporträt. In Système K (System K) von Renaud Barret lernen wir die atemberaubende Straßenkunstszene Kinshasas kennen, während wir in Talking About Trees (R: Suhaib Gasmelbari) mit vier Regisseuren aus dem Sudan auf Spurensuche nach einem zum Stillstand gezwungenen sudanesischen Kino gehen, an dessen Wiederauferstehung die drei Männer hartnäckig arbeiten. Kim Longinotto porträtiert in Shooting the Mafia die legendäre Fotografin und Chronistin von Mafiamorden Letizia Battaglia, während Annekatrin Hendel in Schönheit & Vergänglichkeit die Ostberliner Fotografen Sven Marquardt und Robert Paris und die Überlebenskünstlerin Dominique (Dome) Hollenstein vor ihrer Kamera über gute alte Zeiten sprechen lässt. In What She Said: The Art of Pauline Kael (R: Rob Garver) wird schließlich die Filmkritik selbst zur Kunst erklärt und mithilfe einer beeindruckenden Auswahl an Filmausschnitten und Interviewsequenzen an die streitbare und umstrittene Kritikerin Pauline Kael erinnert.

Weitere Filme im Programm:

La Arrancada (On the Starting Line) – Frankreich / Kuba / Brasilien
von Aldemar Matias
Aldemar Matias liefert ein feines, sensibel gefilmtes Familienporträt aus Kuba. Wie ihr Land steht auch das Leben der Leistungssportlerin Jenniffer vor einem Wandel. Nicht nur beim 100-Meter Lauf scheint sie in den Startblöcken zu stehen.

Der Atem - Deutschland
von Uli M Schueppel
26 Menschen erzählen von Liebe und Not, Hoffnung und Bitternis, von Angst und Glück. Dazu analoge Bilder der Berliner Nacht. Eine Sinfonie des Lebens, ein magischer Kosmos. Dritter Teil von Schueppels „Gesänge“-Trilogie über die Themen Raum, Zeit und Körper.

Breve historia del planeta verde (Brief Story from the Green Planet) - Argentinien / Deutschland / Brasilien / Spanien
von Santiago Loza
Tania erfährt, dass ihre Großmutter die letzten Lebensjahre in der liebevollen Gesellschaft eines Aliens verbracht hat. Zusammen mit zwei Freund*innen reist die Trans*frau durch das ländliche Argentinien, um die Kreatur an ihren Ursprungsort zurückzubringen.

Divino Amor (Divine Love) - Brasilien / Uruguay / Chile / Dänemark / Norwegen / Schweden
von Gabriel Mascaro
Brasilien 2017. Eine tief religiöse Frau nutzt ihre Anstellung in einem Notarbüro und versucht Paare davon abzuhalten, sich scheiden zu lassen. In sehnsüchtiger Erwartung eines göttlichen Zeichens der Anerkennung sieht sie sich einer Krise ausgesetzt, die sie schließlich näher zu Gott bringt.

Flesh Out – Italien
von Michela Occhipinti
Drei Monate noch, dann soll Verida heiraten. Einer mauretanischen Tradition gemäß soll sie zunehmen, damit sie ihrem Ehemann gefällt. Je mehr Verida zunimmt, desto mehr leidet sie. Sie beginnt, sich auf sich selbst zu besinnen.

Light Of My Life - USA
von Casey Affleck
Postapokalyptisches Familiendrama von und mit Casey Affleck um einen Vater, der seine Tochter um jeden Preis beschützen will. In einer Gesellschaft ohne Frauen müssen Geschlechterrollen neu ausgehandelt werden.

Normal - Italien / Schweden
von Adele Tulli
Adele Tullis formal gradliniges und ästhetisch überzeugendes Filmdokument handelt von starren Genderrollen und der unkritischen Unterwerfung vieler Menschen unter das Diktat der (Hetero)Normativität.

The Shadow Play - Volksrepublik China
von Lou Ye
Nach einer Demonstration gegen den Abriss alter Gebäude wird der Direktor der städtischen Baukommission tot aufgefunden. Im Gewand eines Film Noir wird von Korruption und Bauskandalen erzählt und von Menschen, die sich rücksichtslos bereichern wollen.

Woo Sang (Idol) - Republik Korea
von Lee Su-jin
Der Politiker Koo Myung-hui findet seine Frau in der Garage vor. Sie säubert gerade den blutverschmierten Wagen ihres Sohnes, der kurz vorher einen Menschen überfahren hat. Ein verregneter, politischer Thriller mit Neo-Noir-Elementen.

Filmliste Panorama 2019

37 Seconds von HIKARI mit Mei Kayama, Misuzu Kanno, Makiko Watanabe, Shunsuke Daitō, Yuka Itaya. Japan – Debütfilm, Weltpremiere
All My Loving von Edward Berger mit Lars Eidinger, Nele Mueller-Stöfen, Hans Löw. Deutschland – Weltpremiere
La Arrancada (On the Starting Line) von Aldemar Matias. Frankreich / Kuba / Brasilien – Debütfilm, Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
Der Atem von Uli M Schueppel. Deutschland - Weltpremiere
Breve historia del planeta verde (Brief Story from the Green Planet) von Santiago Loza mit Romina Escobar, Paula Grinszpan, Luis Soda. Argentinien / Deutschland / Brasilien / Spanien - Weltpremiere
Buoyancy von Rodd Rathjen mit Sarm Heng, Thanawut Kasro, Mony Ros. Australien – Debütfilm, Weltpremiere
Dafne von Federico Bondi mit Carolina Raspanti, Antonio Piovanelli, Stefania Casini. Italien - Weltpremiere
The Day After I'm Gone von Nimrod Eldar mit Menashe Noy, Zohar Meidan. Israel – Debütfilm, Weltpremiere
Divino Amor (Divine Love) von Gabriel Mascaro mit Dira Paes, Julio Machado. Brasilien / Uruguay / Chile / Dänemark / Norwegen / Schweden - Europapremiere
A Dog Barking at the Moon von Xiang Zi mit Nan Ji, Naren Hua, Zhang Xinyue. Volksrepublik China / Spanien – Debütfilm, Weltpremiere
A Dog Called Money von Seamus Murphy mit PJ Harvey. Irland / Großbritannien – Debütfilm, Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
Estou Me Guardando Para Quando O Carnaval Chegar (Waiting for the Carnival) von Marcelo Gomes. Brasilien – Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
Eynayim Sheli (Chained) von Yaron Shani mit Eran Naim, Stav Almagor, Stav Patai. Israel / Deutschland - Weltpremiere
La fiera y la fiesta (Holy Beasts) von Laura Amelia Guzmán, Israel Cárdenas mit Geraldine Chaplin, Udo Kier, Luis Ospina, Jaime Piña, Jackie Ludueña. Dominikanische Republik / Argentinien / Mexiko - Weltpremiere
Flatland von Jenna Bass mit Faith Baloyi, Nicole Fortuin, Izel Bezuidenhout. Südafrika / Luxemburg / Deutschland - Weltpremiere
Flesh Out von Michela Occhipinti mit Beitta Ahmed Deiche, Amal Saab Bouh Oumar, Aichetou Abdallahi Najim, Sidi Mohamed Chighaly. Italien – Debütfilm, Weltpremiere
Greta von Armando Praça mit Marco Nanini, Denise Weinberg, Demick Lopes, Gretta Sttar. Brasilien – Debütfilm, Weltpremiere
Hellhole von Bas Devos mit Willy Thomas, Alba Rohrwacher, Lubna Azabal, Hamza Belarbi. Belgien / Niederlande - Weltpremiere
Jessica Forever von Caroline Poggi und Jonathan Vinel mit Aomi Muyock, Sebastian Urzendowsky, Augustin Raguenet, Lukas Ionesco, Eddy Suiveng, Paul Hamy, Maya Coline. Frankreich – Debütfilm, Europapremiere
Kislota (Acid) von Alexander Gorchilin mit Filipp Avdeev, Alexander Kuznetsov, Arina Shevtsova, Alexandra Rebenok, Savva Saveliev. Russische Föderation – Debütfilm, Internationale Premiere
Lemebel von Joanna Reposi Garibaldi. Chile / Kolumbien – Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
Light of My Life von Casey Affleck mit Anna Pniowsky, Casey Affleck, Elisabeth Moss. USA – Debütfilm, Weltpremiere
Mid90s von Jonah Hill mit Sunny Suljic, Lucas Hedges, Katherine Waterston, Na-Kel Smith, Olan Prenatt. USA – Debütfilm, Europapremiere
Midnight Traveler von Hassan Fazili. USA / Großbritannien / Katar / Kanada – Debütfilm, Panorama Dokumente, Internationale Premiere
Los miembros de la familia (Family Members) von Mateo Bendesky mit Tomás Wicz, Laila Maltz, Alejandro Russek. Argentinien - Weltpremiere
Monos von Alejandro Landes mit Julianne Nicholson, Moisés Arias, Sofía Buenaventura, Julián Giraldo, Karen Quintero. Kolumbien / Argentinien / Niederlande / Dänemark / Schweden / Deutschland / Uruguay / USA - Europapremiere
Normal von Adele Tulli. Italien / Schweden – Debütfilm, Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
O Beautiful Night von Xaver Böhm mit Noah Saavedra, Marko Mandić, Vanessa Loibl. Deutschland – Debütfilm, Weltpremiere
Šavovi (Stitches) von Miroslav Terzić mit Snežana Bogdanović, Marko Baćović, Jovana Stojiljković. Serbien / Slowenien / Kroatien / Bosnien und Herzegowina - Weltpremiere
Schönheit & Vergänglichkeit von Annekatrin Hendel. Deutschland – Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
Searching Eva von Pia Hellenthal. Deutschland – Debütfilm, Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
Selfie von Agostino Ferrente. Frankreich / Italien – Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
Serendipity von Prune Nourry. USA – Debütfilm – Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
The Shadow Play von Lou Ye mit Jing Boran, Song Jia, Qin Hao, Ma Sichun. Volksrepublik China – Europäische Premiere
Shooting the Mafia von Kim Longinotto. Irland / USA - Panorama Dokumente, Europapremiere
Skin von Guy Nattiv mit Jamie Bell, Danielle Macdonald, Vera Farmiga, Bill Camp, Mike Colter, USA - Europapremiere
The Souvenir von Joanna Hogg mit Honor Swinton Byrne, Tom Burke, Tilda Swinton. Großbritannien - Europapremiere
Staff Only von Neus Ballús mit Sergi López, Elena Andrada, Ian Samsó, Diomaye A. Ngom, Madeleine C. Ndong. Spanien / Frankreich - Weltpremiere
Système K (System K) von Renaud Barret. Frankreich – Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
Talking About Trees von Suhaib Gasmelbari. Frankreich / Sudan / Deutschland / Tschad / Katar – Debütfilm, Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
Temblores (Tremors) von Jayro Bustamante mit Juan Pablo Olyslager, Mauricio Armas Zebadúa, Diane Bathen, María Telón. Guatemala / Frankreich / Luxemburg - Weltpremiere
To thávma tis thálassas ton Sargassón (The Miracle of the Sargasso Sea) von Syllas Tzoumerkas mit Angeliki Papoulia, Youla Boudali, Christos Passalis, Argyris Xafis, Thanasis Dovris. Griechenland / Deutschland / Niederlande / Schweden - Weltpremiere
Western Arabs von Omar Shargawi. Dänemark / Niederlande – Panorama Dokumente, Weltpremiere
What She Said: The Art of Pauline Kael von Rob Garver mit Sarah Jessica Parker, Quentin Tarantino, Alec Baldwin, David O. Russell, Paul Schrader. USA – Debütfilm, Panorama Dokumente, Internationale Premiere
Woo Sang (Idol) von Lee Su-jin mit Han Seok-kyu, Sul Kyung-gu, Chun Woo-hee. Republik Korea – Weltpremiere



Presseabteilung
21. Januar 2019

Download Pressemitteilung, PDF (329 KB)