Berlinale: Berlinale Topics


NATIVe 2019: Decolonising the Screen

In 2019, NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema navigates us through one of the most picturesque areas on Earth: the Pacific region. The cinematic tour-de-force features myriad languages, a host of islands and a whole lot of female power. In the interview, co-curators Anna Kalbhenn and Maryanne Redpath talk about Indigenous filmmaking in the Pacific region, environmental threats to the area, their approach to their work at NATIVe and the crucial role cultural consultation plays in curating an Indigenous film programme right in the heart of Berlin.

Fiona Collins in Vai

In this year’s programme, you link two main focal points: one is regional and the other has to do with female perspectives. Is this connection especially evident in the Pacific region?

Anna Kalbhenn: I’m not really sure if we would really relate that so much to the region. We would definitely say though that this link is generally strong in Indigenous cinema. Our experiences of the past years have shown that women have been very present and active for a very long time now in Indigenous cinema, on both sides of the camera.

Awatea Mita, Merata Mita and Eruera 'Bob' Mita in Merata: How Mum Decolonised the Screen

Maryanne Redpath: A good example for this is the great Merata Mita, the first significant female Maori filmmaker and staunch activist from New Zealand, who unfortunately passed away unexpectedly in 2010. We’re screening a film about her this year at NATIVe: Merata: How Mum Decolonised the Screen. The film was made by Merata’s son Hepi Mita, and it also chronicles her life, especially her role as a mother. But above all it is about the impact she made on the Maori film industry and how her work has influenced not only Indigenous cinema all around the world for many years. Merata Mita continues to serve as a great source of inspiration to this day, for her own community on one hand, but she is also an extremely important figure for Indigenous filmmakers the world over. The same can be said of Freda Glynn, also a very influential woman herself. In the documentary film She Who Must Be Loved, her daughter Erica Glynn shows the pioneering path that this Aboriginal matriarch took in her efforts to indigenise the media in Australia.

The episodic anthology film Vai

AK: This year’s opening film is another strong piece of work by female filmmakers. Vai is an episodic anthology film, realised by eight female directors, composed of eight stories, set on seven different Pacific islands, each telling the tale of a character named Vai. We see Vai as a child, as an adolescent, as an adult and then later on at some point as a grandmother. It’s a coming-of-age film that is at the same time a film about life as well as about growing older. We also thought the project was so great because it’s really got it all: a female protagonist, female directors, female production. It’s the first film where screenplay, direction and production are all completely in the hands of Kiwi-Pacific women.

What is also striking is that many of the films were produced in New Zealand or Australia. Although the Pacific region certainly encompasses so much more than just these two countries...

AK: That is in fact the case. When you look at our programme, frequently one of these countries is listed as the production country. But if you take a closer look at details like the setting, language or culture, then you suddenly find yourself on a lot of different islands. The main reason for this is the fact that a lot of island residents migrate to New Zealand or Australia to work, study and train there. When they begin realising their film projects they usually try to draw on support such as film funding or other resources from the countries where they went to school, since comparable structures are simply non-existent on the islands.

MR: It’s not easy to identify an established film industry for the greater Pacific region. If you consider all the islands in Polynesia, Micronesia and Melanesia, usually the production is not based locally. The situation is similar for Hawaii too, although there production typically takes place on the mainland, meaning in the continental USA. That is really quite remarkable when you consider that the Pacific Ocean with all its countless islands takes up about a third of the Earth’s surface. And what’s even more unimaginable: many of these islands will cease to exist in the near future. Hurricanes, rising sea levels, coastal erosion...the islands are disappearing.

Speaking of the environment – to what extent does this topic play a role this year at NATIVe?

Michael Tatira and Mereana Bishop in Snow in Paradise by Justine Simei-Barton and Nikki Si'ulepa

AK: Our last regional focus was on the Arctic. Climate change, global warming and the attendant consequences were of course also already explicitly or implicitly present in this region. What the two regions have in common is that the melting of the ice in the polar regions inevitably leads to a rise in the sea level. And it is in particular the island cultures that are most heavily impacted by this of course. The issue of environmental destruction and the effects on the Pacific region can be seen in many of our films, albeit in more of an implicit manner once again. We’ve only got one film this year that treats the subject explicitly: the short film Snow in Paradise by Justine Simei-Barton and Nikki Si'ulepa. It was previously featured in the Generation programme, in 2012. The film thematises nuclear tests in the South Pacific, like the ones carried out from 1966 to 1996 by the French government. The neighbouring island populations weren’t informed about the tests back then, let alone evacuated. A lot of people have had to struggle, indeed are still struggling today, with the disastrous consequences of these actions.

MR: We are assuming that there are also fewer films being made which deal very explicitly with the current environmental situation because the people don’t have any extra capacity for that at the moment. They are simply way too busy trying to evacuate the islands, as is the case all over the Pacific region at the moment. It’s a tragedy that we are not at all aware of over here in Europe. Some of those affected are still attempting to stick it out somehow in their situation, but it is hopeless. The waves flood their homes, there’s nothing that could possibly hold them back. That doesn’t leave much time for making films of course. We are going to host a talk with the Alfred Wegener Institute again in 2019, as every year, on the topic of the environment and climate change. Both are subjects that unfortunately often receive little coverage in our media, and we would like to place them front and centre here.

With absent infrastructure and threatening environmental conditions, it is of course no wonder that migration and diaspora feature heavily in many of the films...

AK: For sure. These themes can be found in many of the cinematic narratives here. Usually they are coupled with central existential questions: Where do I come from? What do I identify with? Where will I return to when I die? For Indigenous individuals in particular the connection to their origins, ancestors, and ancestral lands is of extreme importance.

For My Father’s Kingdom by Vea Mafile'o and Jeremiah Tauamiti

For instance, the documentary film For My Father’s Kingdom is very characteristic of the special situation of the Pacific islanders who came to New Zealand as migrant workers in the early 1970s. In this film by Vea Mafile’o and Jeremiah Tauamiti, the inner turmoil of these individuals becomes evident: on one hand, there’s the need to somehow settle into this new reality, while on the other hand there is this desire and sense of obligation to remain part of the community left behind.
What is particularly interesting is that the film doesn’t just depict the perspective of those immediately affected – it also shows the perspective of the next generation. Vea Mafile’o follows her father around in his everyday life, her father who immigrated to New Zealand back in that era. Years later, he is still investing a whole lot of time and energy to come up with cash to donate to the church on Tonga. Not only does he himself go into debt in the process, he drags his kids along with him too. At first his actions are totally unfathomable for his daughter. But when she travels back to Tonga with him, she gradually starts to understand her father’s existential connection to the community there and to his own origins... In the end, this experience, this examination of roots, plays an essential part in the evolution of the director’s own conception of herself.

Independent of the region in question, many of the films in the NATIVe programme investigate the theme of colonialism. This year among other films you have selected Mababangong bangungot (The Perfumed Nightmare) by Kidlat Tahimik. This work is considered a milestone of post-colonial filmmaking.

Mababangong bangungot by Kidlat Tahimik

AK: The film celebrated its world premiere in 1977 in the Forum section of the Berlinale. Kidlat Tahimik was the first Philippine director to show a film in Germany. Though it’s true that Tahimik himself is not an Indigenous director, he was recommended to us by our advisor Kanakan-Balintagos. Kanakan-Balintagos is an Indigenous filmmaker from the Philippines and Tahimik is also regarded in the region as a central figure when it comes to Indigenous filmmaking – above all for the fact that he was intensively preoccupied with the subjects of colonisation and decolonisation in the Philippines in his films.

So you consult with Indigenous advisors in making your selection?

MR: Yes, as our aim is to decolonise the screen. That means we don’t want NATIVe to feature films about Indigenous people, we want it to show films by and with Indigenous people. In order to ensure that this is the case, we have worked from the very beginning with a close network of advisors that is based on mutual trust and respect. Most of our advisors are either Indigenous themselves or they have very close ties to an Indigenous community. They advise us on cultural matters and help us to resolve questions which may be initially unclear to us as non-Indigenous people.

AK: We first reach out to consultants from the region in question that we are focusing on. This could be producers or directors, but it could also be festival organisers or other people who are involved in the film industry. On the other hand, we have also been working with Bird Runningwater from Sundance Institute and Jason Ryle from imagineNATIVE in Toronto. Those are two festival organisers and programmers with a deep knowledge of international Indigenous cinema, thanks to their many years of experience.

One film in which colonialism doesn’t seem to play any role at all by comparison is Tanna, which was nominated for the Best Foreign Language Film Academy Award in 2017. What moved you to include it in the programme?

AK: That’s right, colonialism doesn’t play any role in Tanna. Instead, the film treats a conflict between two tribes, combined with a love story. White people don’t make an appearance in the film – and in our opinion that’s just as it should be. In a certain sense, there’s also something decolonising about that.

Mungau Dain and Marie Wawa in Tanna by Bently Dean and Martin Butler

MR: What we also liked was the collaborative process involved in the creation of the film. This film was also not directly made by Indigenous directors, but it did take shape in very close co-operation with the inhabitants of Tanna. The two directors Martin Butler and Bentley Dean spent a long time on the Pacific island, living with the inhabitants there and developing the story together with them. The inhabitants then also participated in the film as actors. Here we come back to this practice of cultural consultation. Not only in our own decisions, but also when it comes to how the films were created and developed. We have always insisted that non-Indigenous filmmakers seek the correct advice from Indigenous peoples.

AK: In Australia, there are a whole lot of guidelines and regulations you have to adhere to in order to be permitted to incorporate Indigenous elements in a film at all, or if you wish to shoot on location in Indigenous territory. As a filmmaker, you are then obligated to engage intensively with the subject in question and to enter into contact with the community – otherwise there is no possibility of receiving public funding. That’s exactly the sort of thing that we pay close attention to as well. When we show films made by non-Indigenous filmmakers, then it is only when they have been realised with the assistance of appropriate mentors.

Out of State by Ciara Lacy

MR: In this context, I’d like to conclude by expanding some more on our work at NATIVe: first and foremost, we show Indigenous cinema by Indigenous filmmakers. Our aim is to provide a platform to show Indigenous works and for artists to enter into dialogue with one another. We want to create a space for vital discussions. The conversation revolves around the role of cinema and the responsibilities of artists and filmmakers, always in relation to current international and industry developments.
Independent of their origins, many film-makers would not necessarily claim to make Indigenous films – they simply make films. That’s why it is very important to repeatedly emphasise that we don’t want to open up a niche with our work. That would only serve to further marginalise Indigenous peoples and their art. NATIVe does not see Indigenous cinema as a genre, because it isn’t one. On the contrary, the cinematographic spectrum that we cover is incredibly diverse. It has always been a challenge to execute the vision we have at Berlinale NATIVe; we see it as a perpetual process. And that’s where our close connection and collaboration with the NATIVe advisors and Indigenous film-makers play an enormously important role.

Berlinale: Berlinale Themen


NATIVe 2019: Decolonising the Screen

2019 navigiert uns NATIVe – A Journey into Indigenous Cinema durch eine der wohl malerischsten Gegenden dieser Erde: die Pazifikregion. Zu erleben gibt es eine Vielfalt an Sprachen, Inseln und jede Menge Frauenpower. Im Interview erzählen die Co-Kuratorinnen Anna Kalbhenn und Maryanne Redpath über das indigene Filmschaffen im Pazifik, Umweltgefahren vor Ort, die Arbeitsweise von NATIVe und die Rolle kultureller Beratung für ein indigenes Filmprogramm mitten in Berlin.

Fiona Collins in Vai

Im diesjährigen Programm verknüpft Ihr zwei Schwerpunkte: Einen regionalen und einen auf weibliche Perspektiven. Lässt sich diese Verbindung in der Pazifikregion besonders gut beobachten?

Anna Kalbhenn: Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob wir das wirklich so auf die Region beziehen würden. Wir würden aber auf jeden Fall sagen, dass diese Verbindung im indigenen Kino generell stark ist. Unsere Erfahrungen aus den letzten Jahren zeigen, dass Frauen im indigenen Film schon sehr lange sehr präsent und aktiv sind, sei es vor oder hinter der Kamera.

Awatea Mita, Merata Mita und Eruera 'Bob' Mita in Merata: How Mum Decolonised the Screen

Maryanne Redpath: Ein gutes Beispiel dafür ist die große Merata Mita, eine der bedeutendsten Maori-Filmemacherinnen und Aktivistinnen aus Neuseeland, die 2010 leider unerwartet verstorben ist. Sie ist die erste Maori-Regisseurin überhaupt. Bei NATIVe zeigen wir dieses Jahr einen Film über sie: Merata: How Mum Decolonised the Screen. Er wurde von Meratas Sohn Hepi Mita gedreht und handelt auch von ihrem Leben, ihrer Rolle als Mutter. Vor allem aber geht es natürlich um ihren Einfluss nicht nur auf die Maori-Filmindustrie sondern insbesondere auch darum, wie ihr Schaffen über Jahre hinweg das indigene Kino auf der ganzen Welt beeinflusste. Merata Mita stellt bis heute nicht nur für die eigene Community eine große Inspiration dar, sondern ist für indigene Filmschaffende weltweit eine äußerst wichtige Persönlichkeit.
Ähnliches gilt für Freda Glynn, auch eine sehr einflussreiche Frau. Im Dokumentarfilm She Who Must Be Loved zeigt ihre Tochter Erica Glynn, welche wegweisenden Schritte diese Aboriginal-Matriarchin gegangen ist, um die Medien in Australien zu indigenisieren.

Der Episodenfilm Vai

AK: Ein weiteres starkes Werk ist der diesjährige Eröffnungsfilm. Vai ist ein Episodenfilm, realisiert von acht Regisseurinnen, die in acht Geschichten, inszeniert auf sieben Pazifikinseln, jeweils von einer weiblichen Figur namens Vai erzählen. Vai als Kind, als Jugendliche, Erwachsene und später irgendwann als Großmutter. Ein Coming-of-Age-Film, der zugleich ein Film über das Leben und auch das Älterwerden ist. Wir fanden das Projekt auch so toll, weil wir hier das volle Programm haben: weibliche Hauptfigur, weibliche Regie, weibliche Produktion. Es ist der erste Film, bei dem Drehbuch, Regie und Produktion komplett in der Hand von Kiwi-Pacific-Frauen lagen.

Was auch auffällt, ist, dass viele Filme in Neuseeland oder Australien produziert wurden. Dabei umfasst der pazifische Raum doch so viel mehr als nur diese beiden Länder…

AK: Tatsächlich. Wenn man in unser Programm schaut, wird häufig eines dieser Länder als Produktionsland angeführt. Wenn man aber Details wie Handlungsort, Sprache oder Kultur näher betrachtet, ist man ganz schnell auf vielen Inseln. Das hat den Hintergrund, dass viele Inselbewohner*innen nach Neuseeland oder Australien migrieren, um dort ihre Ausbildung zu machen. Wenn sie später ein Filmprojekt realisieren, greifen sie meist auf Unterstützungen wie Filmförderungen oder andere Gelder aus dem Ausbildungsland zurück, da solche Strukturen auf den Inseln schlichtweg fehlen.

MR: Eine Filmindustrie im Pazifik zu identifizieren ist nicht einfach. Wenn es um die ganzen Inseln in Polynesien, Mikronesien und Melanesien geht, ist die Produktion meist nicht vor Ort ansässig. Ähnliches gilt auch für Hawaii, wobei die Produktion in dem Fall meist auf dem Festland, also den USA stattfindet. Das ist ganz schön bemerkenswert, wenn man bedenkt, dass der pazifische Ozean mit seinen unzähligen Inseln ungefähr ein Drittel der Erdoberfläche einnimmt. Und was noch unvorstellbarer ist: Viele dieser Inseln werden in Kürze nicht mehr existieren. Wirbelstürme, steigender Meeresspiegel, Küstenerosionen… Die Inseln verschwinden.

Stichwort Umwelt – Inwiefern spielt das Thema dieses Jahr eine Rolle bei NATIVe?

Michael Tatira und Mereana Bishop in Snow in Paradise von Justine Simei-Barton und Nikki Si'ulepa

AK: Unser letzter regionaler Schwerpunkt war die Arktis. Klimawandel, Erderwärmung und deren Konsequenz waren in dieser Region natürlich auch schon ex- oder implizit immer präsent. Was die beiden Regionen verbindet, ist, dass das Schmelzen des Eises in den Polarregionen zwangsläufig zum Anstieg des Meeresspiegels führt. Und gerade die Inselkulturen sind davon natürlich stark betroffen. Die Problematik der Umweltzerstörung und die Auswirkungen auf die Pazifikregion zeigen sich in vielen der Filme, wenn auch wieder eher implizit. Wir haben dieses Jahr nur einen Film, der sich direkt mit dem Thema befasst: der Kurzfilm Snow in Paradise von Justine Simei-Barton und Nikki Si'ulepa. Er lief 2012 schon mal im Generation-Programm. Der Film thematisiert Atomtests im Südpazifik, wie sie zum Beispiel von 1966 bis 1996 von der französischen Regierung durchgeführt wurden. Die umliegenden Inselbevölkerungen wurden damals nicht informiert, geschweige denn evakuiert. Viele Menschen hatten und haben bis heute noch mit katastrophalen Folgen zu kämpfen.

MR: Wir gehen davon aus, dass es auch deshalb weniger Filme gibt, die sich ganz explizit mit der aktuellen Umweltsituation beschäftigen, weil die Menschen dafür gerade keine Kapazitäten haben. Die Leute sind einfach viel zu sehr damit beschäftigt, die Inseln zu evakuieren, wie es momentan überall in der Pazifikregion passiert. Das ist eine Tragödie, die wir hier in Europa überhaupt nicht wahrnehmen. Manche der Betroffenen versuchen noch irgendwie in ihrer Situation auszuharren, aber es ist aussichtslos. Die Wellen durchfluten die Häuser, es gibt nichts, was sie zurückhalten könnte. Da bleibt natürlich keine Zeit, Filme zu machen…
Zum Thema Umwelt und Klimawandel werden wir wie jedes Jahr auch 2019 wieder einen Talk mit dem Alfred-Wegener-Institut veranstalten. Themen, die in unseren Medien leider oft wenig Beachtung erhalten, wollen wir hier in den Mittelpunkt stellen.

Bei fehlenden Infrastrukturen und bedrohlichen Umweltsituationen wundert es natürlich nicht, dass auch Migration und Diaspora in vielen Filmen eine Rolle spielen…

AK: Klar. Diese Themen finden sich in vielen der filmischen Erzählungen. Meist geht das mit der Beantwortung großer existentieller Fragen einher: Woher komme ich? Womit identifiziere ich mich? Wohin kehre ich zurück, wenn ich sterbe? Gerade für indigene Menschen ist die Verbindung zur Herkunft extrem wichtig.

For My Father’s Kingdom von Vea Mafile'o und Jeremiah Tauamiti

Beispielsweise der Dokumentarfilm For My Father’s Kingdom ist sehr bezeichnend für die spezielle Situation der Pacific Islanders, die in den frühen 1970er Jahren als Arbeitsmigrant*innen nach Neuseeland kamen. In dem Film von Vea Mafile’o und Jeremiah Tauamiti wird die Zerrissenheit dieser Menschen deutlich: Einerseits das Bedürfnis, sich irgendwie in der neuen Lebensrealität einzufinden, andererseits der Wunsch und das Pflichtempfinden, weiterhin Teil der zurückgelassenen Community zu sein.
Besonders interessant ist, dass der Film nicht nur die Perspektive der Betroffenen abbildet, sondern auch die der Nachfolgegeneration zeigt. Vea Mafile’o begleitet den Alltag ihres Vaters, der damals nach Neuseeland ging. Jahre später noch investiert er sehr viel Zeit und Energie, um Geld aufzutreiben, das er der Kirche von Tonga spendet. Er verschuldet damit nicht nur sich, sondern auch seine Kinder. Für die Tochter ist das zunächst völlig unbegreiflich. Als sie ihn jedoch nach Tonga begleitet, versteht sie zunehmend die existenzielle Verbundenheit des Vaters zur Community und zur eigenen Herkunft. Letztlich trägt dieses Erlebnis, diese Auseinandersetzung mit den Wurzeln, essentiell zum eigenen Selbstverständnis der Regisseurin bei.

Unabhängig von der Region setzen sich viele Filme im NATIVe-Programm mit dem Thema Kolonialismus auseinander. Dieses Jahr zeigt ihr unter anderem Mababangong bangungot (The Perfumed Nightmare) von Kidlat Tahimik. Der Film gilt als Meilenstein des postkolonialen Filmschaffens.

Mababangong bangungot von Kidlat Tahimik

AK: Der Film feierte 1977 seine Weltpremiere im Forum der Berlinale. Kidlat Tahimik war der erste philippinische Regisseur, dessen Film in Deutschland im Kino lief. Tahimik ist zwar kein indigener Regisseur, aber ist uns von unserem Berater Kanakan-Balintagos empfohlen worden. Kanakan-Balintagos ist ein indigener Filmemacher von den Philippinen und Tahimik wird in der Region als zentrale Figur auch für das indigene Filmeschaffen gesehen. Gerade weil er die Themen Kolonialisierung und Dekolonialisierung auf den Philippinen in seinen Filmen intensiv aufarbeitet.

Bei eurer Filmauswahl arbeitet ihr also mit indigenen Berater*innen zusammen?

MR: Ja, denn wir wollen die Leinwand entkolonialisieren. Das heißt, wir wollen bei NATIVe nicht Filme über indigene Menschen, sondern Filme von und mit indigenen Menschen zeigen. Um das zu garantieren, arbeiten wir von Anfang an mit einem engen Berater*innennetzwerk, das auf Vertrauen und Respekt basiert. Die meisten unserer Berater*innen sind entweder selbst indigen oder stehen eng mit einer indigenen Community in Verbindung. Sie beraten uns kulturell und helfen uns, Fragen zu klären, deren Antworten uns als nicht-indigenen Menschen erstmal unklar sein können.

AK: Unsere erste Anlaufstelle sind Berater*innen aus der jeweiligen Region, für die wir uns interessieren. Das können Produzent*innen oder Regisseur*innen sein, aber auch Festivalmacher*innen oder andere Menschen, die mit der Filmindustrie zu tun haben. Andererseits arbeiten wir auch sehr viel mit Bird Runningwater vom Sundance Institute und Jason Ryle von imagineNATIVE in Toronto zusammen. Das sind zwei Festivalmacher, die sich dank ihrer jahrelangen Erfahrung sehr gut mit dem internationalen indigenen Kino auskennen.

Ein Film, in dem Kolonialismus hingegen gar keine Rolle zu spielen scheint, ist Tanna, der 2017 als Bester Fremdsprachiger Film für einen Oscar nominiert war. Was hat Euch dazu bewegt, ihn mit ins Programm zu nehmen?

AK: Das stimmt, in Tanna spielt Kolonialismus keine Rolle. Hier geht es um einen Konflikt zwischen verschiedenen Stämmen, kombiniert mit einer Liebesgeschichte. Weiße Menschen kommen gar nicht vor – und das müssen sie unserer Meinung nach auch nicht immer. Wir finden es wichtig, da eine Balance zu finden. In gewisser Weise hat das auch etwas Dekolonisierendes.

Mungau Dain und Marie Wawa in Tanna von Bently Dean und Martin Butler

MR: Was uns außerdem gefallen hat, war der kollaborative Entstehungsprozess des Films. Auch dieser Film wurde nicht direkt von indigenen Regisseur*innen gemacht, ist aber in sehr enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Bewohner*innen von der Insel Tanna entstanden. Die beiden Regisseure Martin Butler und Dean Bentley haben extrem viel Zeit auf der Pazifikinsel verbracht, mit den Bewohner*innen dort gelebt und mit ihnen zusammen die Geschichte entwickelt. Und die Bewohner*innen haben dann auch als Schauspielende mitgewirkt. Hier kommt also wieder das Stichwort kulturelle Beratung auf. Nicht nur bei unseren eigenen Entscheidungen, auch bei der Entstehung von Filmen achten wir darauf, dass die nicht-indigenen Filmemacher*innen beraten wurden und das ernst genommen wurde.

AK: In Australien gibt es sehr viele Vorgaben und Auflagen, die eingehalten werden müssen, um überhaupt indigene Inhalte in einen Film einfließen lassen zu dürfen oder wenn man auf indigenem Territorium drehen möchte. Als Filmemacher*in ist man dann dazu verpflichtet, sich intensiv mit dem betreffenden Thema auseinanderzusetzen und mit der jeweiligen Community in Kontakt zu treten - sonst gibt es keine staatliche Förderung. Genau auf so etwas achten wir auch. Wenn wir Filme von nicht-indigenen Filmemacher*innen zeigen, dann nur, wenn sie mithilfe von Mentor*innen realisiert wurden.

Out of State von Ciara Lacy

MR: In diesem Zusammenhang würde ich abschließend gerne noch etwas zu unserer Arbeit und unserem Selbstverständnis ergänzen: Bei NATIVe zeigen wir indigenes Kino von indigenen Filmschaffenden. Unser Ziel ist es, ihnen eine Plattform zu bieten, um ihre Werke zu zeigen und sich gegenseitig auszutauschen. Wir wollen einen Raum für viele lebendige Diskussionen schaffen. In unseren Talks geht es viel um die Rolle des Kinos und die Aufgaben von Künstler*innen und Filmemacher*innen, immer in Bezug zum zeitaktuellen Geschehen.
Was wir dabei oft erleben, ist, dass es vielen Leuten gar nicht darum geht, einen indigenen Film zu zeigen, sondern einfach nur einen Film – unabhängig von der eigenen Herkunft. Und das zu Recht. Es ist uns deshalb sehr wichtig, immer wieder zu betonen, dass wir mit unserer Arbeit keine Nische aufmachen wollen. Dadurch würden indigene Gesellschaften nämlich nur noch weiter marginalisiert werden. NATIVe begreift indigenes Kino nicht als Genre, weil es keines ist. Im Gegenteil, das kinematografische Spektrum, das wir abdecken, ist sehr vielfältig. Es ist nicht immer einfach, dieses Anliegen problemlos umzusetzen, aber wir sehen es als Prozess. Da spielt die enge Verbindung und Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Berater*innen, den Filmschaffenden und Mitgliedern von indigenen Communities eine enorm wichtige Rolle.