Berlinale: Juries


Juries 2019

International Jury

Juliette Binoche (France)

Juliette Binoche has captivated audiences and critics alike in over 70 films, and has garnered numerous awards and nominations, including honours at the festivals in Berlin, Venice and Cannes. She was discovered as an upcoming talent in Jean-Luc Godard’s Je vous salue, Marie (Hail Mary, 1984) before playing her first leading role in André Téchiné’s Rendez-vous (1985). Her international breakthrough was in Philip Kaufman’s The Unbearable Lightness of Being (1988), the film adaptation of the eponymous novel. Since then she has worked internationally, both in the USA and in European productions. Her collaboration with Leos Carax, Les amants du Pont-Neuf (The Lovers on the Bridge, 1991), screened in Forum at the 1992 Berlinale. Juliette Binoche received the Coppa Volpi in Venice in 1993 for her role in Trois Couleurs: Bleu (Three Colors: Blue) by Krzysztof Kieślowski, as well as a César Award in 1994. That same year, she was awarded the Berlinale Camera. In 1997, she won a Berlinale Silver Bear, a BAFTA and an Academy Award for her role in The English Patient (1996, dir: Anthony Minghella). In Lasse Hallström’s romantic melodrama Chocolat (2000) she played the lead alongside Johnny Depp. In 2010, she was awarded the prize for Best Actress at the Cannes Film Festival for her leading role in Abbas Kiarostamis’ Copie conforme (Certified Copy, 2010). Juliette Binoche appeared in the Berlinale opening film of 2015, Nadie quiere la noche (Endless Night) by Isabel Coixet. Her latest films are High Life (2018) by Claire Denis and Doubles vies (Non-Fiction, 2018) by Olivier Assayas.

Justin Chang (USA)

Justin Chang has been a film critic for the Los Angeles Times since 2016 and also reviews movies for the U.S. public radio programmes “Fresh Air” and “FilmWeek.” He was previously chief film critic at the international trade magazine Variety. Chang is the author of “FilmCraft: Editing”, a 2011 book of interviews with 17 of the world’s top film editors. He was recently named film critic of the year at the Los Angeles Press Club’s National Arts and Entertainment Journalism Awards, and in 2014 he received the inaugural Roger Ebert Award from the African-American Film Critics Association. Chang, who holds a degree in journalism from the University of Southern California, is chair of the National Society of Film Critics and secretary of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association. He has served on numerous juries at film festivals including Busan, SXSW, San Francisco and Jerusalem.

Sandra Hüller (Germany)

After studying acting at Berlin’s Ernst Busch University of Performing Arts, Sandra Hüller first took to the stage in Jena, Leipzig, and Basel. Her breakthrough on the big screen came with Hans-Christian Schmid’s film Requiem in 2006. For this performance she not only won the Berlinale’s Silver Bear for Best Actress, but also German and Bavarian Film Awards. Alongside her often-prizewinning theatre work, she has starred in many films, including Maria Speth’s Madonnen (2007), Nanouk Leopold's Brownian Movement (Berlinale Forum 2011), the internationally acclaimed Über uns das All (Berlinale Panorama 2011), Finsterworld (2013, dir: Frauke Finsterwalder), and Jessica Hausner’s Amour Fou (2014). For Maren Ade’s film Toni Erdmann — thunderously received in 2016 at its world premiere in the competition at Cannes — Sandra Hüller won European, German, and Bavarian Film Awards. In 2018, with Thomas Stuber’s In den Gängen (In the Aisles), she again participated in the Berlinale Competition and garnered another nomination for a German Film Award.

Sebastián Lelio (Chile)

Chilean director Sebastián Lelio first attracted critical acclaim with his feature film debut, La Sagrada Familia (The Sacred Family), at the San Sebastián Film Festival in 2005. His two subsequent films Navidad (Christmas, 2009) and El Año del Tigre (The Year of the Tiger, 2011) confirmed his talent. He celebrated his international breakthrough with Gloria, which ran in the Berlinale Competition in 2013 and, among other awards, won a Silver Bear for lead actress Paulina García. In 2017 Sebastián Lelio presented Una mujer fantástica (A Fantastic Woman) in the Berlinale Competition and took home the Silver Bear for Best Screenplay as well as the TEDDY AWARD. The film went on to win a Goya, an Independent Spirit Award, and — as the first Chilean film ever — the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film. In 2017, with Disobedience, starring Rachel Weisz and Rachel McAdams, Lelio also made his English-language debut; it earned him five nominations at the British Independent Film Awards. In 2018, he recreated his hit film Gloria in the USA. Titled Gloria Bell, it stars Julianne Moore and John Turturro.

Rajendra Roy (USA)

Rajendra Roy has been the Chief Curator of Film at the Museum of Modern Art in New York since 2007. In this capacity he manages a collection of over 30,000 works and has helped create exhibitions on Pedro Almodóvar, Wim Wenders, Tim Burton and Mike Nichols, among others. He co-authored the book “The Berlin School: Films from the Berliner Schule” (2013). He is co-chair of the selection committee for New Directors/New Films, presented with the Film Society of Lincoln Center. Previously, he was director of programming and artistic director for the Hamptons International Film Festival, as well as the only American member of the selection committee for the Berlinale Competition section from 2004 - 2008. Rajendra Roy studied political science and French literature at the University of California in San Diego and has been a member of numerous juries, including at Sundance, SXSW, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, and the Independent Spirit Awards.

Trudie Styler (United Kingdom)

After training at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School, Styler became a leading actor with the Royal Shakespeare Company, as well as her many television and film roles. In 1990 she became a producer, and her documentary Moving the Mountain won the Prize of the Ecumenical Jury at the 1995 Berlinale. Styler has produced many award-winning films, among them Guy Ritchie's Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels (1998), Dito Montiel's Sundance hit, A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints (2006); Duncan Jones' Moon (2009); and Richard Glatzer’s and Wash Westmoreland's Oscar-winning Still Alice (2014). In 2017 Freak Show, her directorial feature debut, celebrated its world premiere in the Berlinale’s Generation 14plus section. This year, two of her production company Maven Pictures’ films will screen in Berlin: Guy Nattiv’s Skin in the Panorama section; and Andrew Ahn’s Driveways in Generation Kplus. Styler - a UNICEF UK ambassador and Co-Founder of the Rainforest Fund - also continues her acting career both on stage and on screen, most recently co-starring in Cary Fukunaga’s 2018 Netflix series Maniac.

GWFF Best First Feature Award Jury

Katja Eichinger (Germany)

After graduating from the British Film Institute, author and journalist Katja Eichinger worked for a number of papers and magazines, including Variety, Financial Times, Esquire, Dazed & Confused, The Independent on Sunday, and VOGUE Germany. After the death of her husband Bernd Eichinger, she wrote his biography, titled “BE” (2012). Her debut novel, “Amerikanisches Solo”, was published in 2014. Alongside being the initiator of the Giorgio Moroder retrospective "The Sound of Munich" and "Warholmania”— an homage to Andy Warhol — she supports young filmmakers through the "NO FEAR Award”, a scholarship for promising producers at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF), as well as through her work at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin (dffb). In 2014 she was on the jury of the "Made in Germany – Perspektive Fellowship" at the Berlinale. In 2018 she produced the concept album “Junkspace” with Rem Koohlhaas and the New York band Tempers.

Alain Gomis (France)

Born in France in 1972, the French-Senegalese director studied art history and film at the Sorbonne University in Paris. After beginning with videos and short films, he made his feature film debut in 2002 with L’afrance which focused on the spiritual hardships of migrants in France and was awarded a Silver Leopard in Locarno. His feature film Andalucia was shown at the Venice Days, Aujourd’hui (Tey) screened in Competition at the 2012 Berlinale and was chosen as Senegal’s entry for an Oscar® nomination for Best Foreign Language Film. In 2017, Alain Gomis presented his film Félicité in the Berlinale Competition and won the Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize.

Vivian Qu (People's Republic of China)

Director, screenwriter, and producer Vivian Qu is one of Chinese independent cinema’s most important representatives. Her directorial debut Shuiyin jie (Trap Street, 2013) premiered to critical acclaim in Venice, and was shown at over 50 film festivals worldwide. In 2017 she presented her film Jia nian hua (Angels Wear White) in Venice Competition, and it garnered her numerous awards worldwide, including Best Director at the 54th Golden Horse Awards and the Chinese Director’s Guild Award in her home country. Prior to this, she has produced several award-winning independent films including Diao Yinan’s Bai Ri Yan Huo (Black Coal, Thin Ice), which received the Golden Bear for Best Film and the Silver Bear for Best Actor at the 2014 Berlinale. Vivian Qu was president of the jury at the 2018 International Antalya Film Festival.

Glashütte Original – Documentary Award Jury

Maria Bonsanti (Italy)

Maria Bonsanti has established herself in the world of documentary film since 2000. For twelve years she worked for the Festival dei Popoli in Florence, where she was appointed co-director in 2011. She also frequently worked for the Locarno Festival, where she coordinated, for instance, the Play Forward section in 2006 and 2007. From 2012 to 2017, Bonsanti was artistic director of the documentary film festival Cinéma du réel at the Centre Pompidou in Paris. Since 2017, she has been the programme director of Eurodoc, a leading training programme and network for over 1,000 documentary producers from more than 60 countries worldwide. Maria Bonsanti has already served on a number of festival juries around the globe.

Gregory Nava (USA)

Gregory Nava is a film director and writer noted for his string of ground-breaking Latino films. His films have played at Cannes, Sundance and San Sebastián. His 1984 film El Norte about undocumented workers from Guatemala in the United States was nominated for an Academy Award as Best Original Screenplay and has been named an “American Classic” by the Library of Congress. He has also written and directed the Oscar nominated My Family (1995), the Golden Globe nominated Selena (1997), and Bordertown, which was screened in Competition at the 2007 Berlinale. He co-wrote the Oscar winning Frida (2002) and executive produced American Family (2002 – 2004), the Emmy and Golden Globe nominated TV series about a Latino family in Los Angeles.

Maria Ramos (Brazil)

Director Maria Ramos studied documentary film in Amsterdam and has been a guest at festivals worldwide since the start of her career. Her films have received multiple awards. Justiça (Justice, 2004) won the Grand Prix at Visions du Réel and the Amnesty Award at CPH:DOX, among other prizes. In 2007, Juízo (Behave) premiered at the Locarno Festival and was honoured with the FIPRESCI Award at DOK Leipzig. Her most recent film O processo (The Trial) celebrated its world premiere in Panorama at the 2018 Berlinale, and received the Grand Prix at Visions du Réel, Best Film at DocumentaMadrid and the Audience Award at IndieLisboa. In 2013, the Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights honoured Maria Ramos with the Marek Nowicki Prize for her examination of the subject human rights.

International Short Film Jury

Jeffrey Bowers (USA)

Jeffrey Bowers is a Senior Curator at Vimeo, where his responsibilities include selecting Staff Picks, managing Staff Pick Premieres, Staff Pick Awards and Vimeo's Best of the Year awards. His background includes programming features and shorts for the Tribeca Film Festival, Hamptons International Film Festival, and Rooftop Films. He also co-curated VICE media’s VICE Shorts, where he wrote the short film column, “I'm Short, Not Stupid”. Bowers has served on juries and participated in speaking engagements at places like the Toronto International Film Festival, SXSW Film Festival, Slamdance Film Festival, Palm Springs International ShortFest, Guanajuato Film Festival, and IFP (Independent Feature Project) in New York.

Vanja Kaludjercic (Croatia)

Vanja Kaludjercic works for the curated streaming platform MUBI as Director of Acquisitions. Previously, she was part of the International Film Festival Rotterdam where she headed the Masterclasses & Talks section. She has also worked as director of the Holland Film Meeting of the Netherlands Film Festival, as head of industry at Les Arcs European Film Festival, and established the Paris Co-Production Village in 2014. As a programmer, she has worked for the Sarajevo Film Festival, Paris-based Cinéma du Réel and CPH:DOX. Outside of festivals, Kaludjercic has also teamed up with Slovenia-based distribution outfit Demiurg and Paris-based sales and production company Coproduction Office.

Koyo Kouoh (Senegal)

In addition to her work as founder and artistic director of RAW Material Company in Senegal, Koyo Kouoh has been responsible for a huge variety of international exhibitions, including “Saving Bruce Lee: African and Arab Cinema in the Era of Soviet Cultural Diplomacy” at Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin, co-curated with Rasha Salti. She was a curator of the 1:54 FORUM Contemporary African Art Fair in London and New York, as well as a member of several curatorial teams for documenta 12 (2007) and documenta 13 (2012). Kouoh was the curator of the 37th EVA International, Ireland’s Biennial (2016). In 2018 she participated in the 57th edition of Carnegie International with the exhibition “Dig Where You Stand”. Her published works include “Word!Word?Word! Issa Samb and the Undecipherable Form” (2013), “Condition Report on Building Art Institutions in Africa” (2012) and “Chronicle of a Revolt: Photographs of a Season of Protest” (2012).

Honorary Awards of the Festival

The recipients of honorary awards are not chosen by a jury but by the Festival Director.

Children's Jury Generation Kplus

A Children's Jury with members aged 11 to 14 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation Kplus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the Festival Director.


The members of the 2019 Generation Kplus Children's Jury: Lorenz Deutsch, Luis Leonard Hanft, Jonas Khadiri, Sarah Marie Paulick, Pepe Reisinger, Anouk Sommerfeldt, Rosalie Stauffacher, Nikita Takasaki, Johanna Wallrafen, Liv Grete Weinhold and Helene Zschaubitz.

Youth Jury Generation 14plus

A Youth Jury with members aged 14 to 18 awards the Crystal Bears in the Generation 14plus competition. The jury members are selected from film questionaires submitted the previous year and officially invited to participate by the Festival Director.


The members of the 2019 Generation 14plus Youth Jury: Theodor Bittner Rosser, Christian Däbritz, Johanna Deventer, Pauline Rebmann, Avesta Schiefer, Alanza Clarice Leigh Lovejoy Schmidt and Janek Sommerfeldt.

Generation Kplus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation Kplus International Jury" for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk (German Child Support Organisation). The "Special Prize of the Generation Kplus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Deutsches Kinderhilfswerk.


Members of the Generation Kplus International Jury 2019 were: Kamila Andini, Tilda Cobham-Hervey uand Jerzy Moszkowicz.

Generation 14plus International Jury

This Jury awards the "Grand Prix of the Generation 14plus International Jury" for the best feature-length film, endowed with € 7,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education). The "Special Prize of the Generation 14plus International Jury" is awarded to the best short film, endowed with € 2,500 by the Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.

Members of the Generation 14plus International Jury 2019 were: Nanouk Leopold, Pascal Plante and Maria Solrun.

Berlinale: Jurys


Jurys 2019

Internationale Jury

Juliette Binoche (Frankreich)

Juliette Binoche begeisterte Publikum und Kritiker*innen in mehr als 70 Filmen und erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Nominierungen, unter anderem auf den Filmfestivals in Berlin, Venedig und Cannes. 1984 wurde sie in Jean-Luc Godards Je vous salue, Marie (Maria und Joseph) als neues Talent entdeckt, bevor sie in André Téchinés Film Rendez-vous (1985) ihre erste Hauptrolle hatte. Ihren internationalen Durchbruch feierte sie mit Philip Kaufmans englischsprachiger Romanverfilmung The Unbearable Lightness of Being (Die unerträgliche Leichtigkeit des Seins, 1988). Seither arbeitet sie auch international, sowohl in den USA als auch in vielen europäischen Produktionen. Binoches Zusammenarbeit mit Leos Carax, Les amants du Pont-Neuf (Die Liebenden von Pont-Neuf, 1991), wurde im Forum der Berlinale 1992 gezeigt. 1993 erhielt sie in Venedig die Coppa Volpi für ihre Rolle in Trois Couleurs: Bleu (Drei Farben: Blau) von Krzysztof Kieślowski, für die sie zudem mit einem César ausgezeichnet wurde. Im selben Jahr wurde ihr die Berlinale Kamera verliehen. Den Silbernen Bären, den BAFTA und den Oscar gewann Juliette Binoche 1997 für ihre Rolle in The English Patient (Der englische Patient, 1996, R: Anthony Minghella). In Lasse Hallströms romantischem Melodram Chocolat (2000), das 2001 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale lief, spielte sie an der Seite von Johnny Depp. Für die Hauptrolle in Abbas Kiarostamis Copie conforme (Die Liebesfälscher) wurde sie 2010 in Cannes als Beste Schauspielerin ausgezeichnet. 2015 war sie in Isabel Coixets Nadie quiere la noche (Endless Night) zu sehen, der die Berlinale eröffnete. Aktuelle Filme von Binoche sind High Life (2018) von Claire Denis und Doubles vies (Non-Fiction, 2018) von Olivier Assayas.

Justin Chang (USA)

Justin Chang ist seit 2016 Filmkritiker der Los Angeles Times und rezensiert darüber hinaus Filme für die US-amerikanischen Radioprogramme Fresh Air und FilmWeek. Zuvor war er als Chef-Filmkritiker für das internationale Branchenmagazin Variety tätig. Chang veröffentlichte 2011 „FilmCraft: Editing“, ein Interviewbuch mit 17 der weltweit renommiertesten Filmeditoren. Vor kurzem wurde Chang bei den Los Angeles Press Club’s National Arts and Entertainment Journalism Awards als Filmkritiker des Jahres ausgezeichnet, bereits 2014 wurde er mit dem ersten Roger Ebert Award der African-American Film Critics Association geehrt. Chang, der sein Journalismus-Studium an der University of Southern California abgeschlossen hat, ist Vorsitzender der National Society of Film Critics und Geschäftsführer der Los Angeles Film Critics Association. Er war bereits mehrfach Jurymitglied bei Filmfestivals, unter anderem in Busan, beim SXSW, in San Francisco und Jerusalem.

Sandra Hüller (Deutschland)

Nach ihrem Schauspielstudium an der Berliner Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch stand Sandra Hüller zunächst in Jena, Leipzig und Basel auf der Theaterbühne, bevor ihr 2006 mit Requiem von Hans-Christian Schmid auch im Kino der Durchbruch gelang. Für ihre Rolle gewann sie nicht nur den Silbernen Bären für die Beste Darstellerin bei der Berlinale, sondern auch den Deutschen sowie den Bayerischen Filmpreis. Zu den weiteren Filmen, die sie neben ihrer regelmäßig preisgekrönten Theaterarbeit drehte, gehören unter anderem Madonnen (2007) von Maria Speth, Nanouk Leopolds Brownian Movement (Berlinale Forum 2011), der international vielfach ausgezeichnete Über uns das All von Jan Schomburg (Berlinale Panorama 2011), Frauke Finsterwalders Finsterworld (2013) und Amour Fou (2014) von Jessica Hausner. Für Maren Ades Toni Erdmann, der 2016 seine umjubelte Weltpremiere im Wettbewerb von Cannes feierte, wurde Hüller mit dem Europäischen, dem Deutschen und dem Bayerischen Filmpreis geehrt. Mit In den Gängen von Thomas Stuber war sie 2018 erneut im Berlinale-Wettbewerb vertreten und wurde abermals für den Deutschen Filmpreis nominiert.

Sebastián Lelio (Chile)

Der chilenische Regisseur Sebastián Lelio hatte 2005 mit La Sagrada Familia (The Sacred Family) sein vielbeachtetes Spielfilmdebüt, das beim Filmfestival in San Sebastián Premiere feierte. Die beiden darauffolgenden Filme Navidad (Christmas, 2009) und El Año del Tigre (The Year of the Tiger, 2011) bestätigten sein Talent. Seinen internationalen Durchbruch feierte er mit Gloria, der 2013 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale lief und unter anderem den Silbernen Bären für Hauptdarstellerin Paulina García gewann. 2017 präsentierte Sebastián Lelio Una mujer fantástica (Eine fantastische Frau) im Berlinale-Wettbewerb und wurde mit einem Silbernen Bären für das Beste Drehbuch sowie dem TEDDY AWARD ausgezeichnet. Darüber hinaus gewann der Film unter anderem den Goya, den Independent Spirit Award und - als erster chilenischer Film - den Oscar für den Besten Fremdsprachigen Film. Disobedience (Ungehorsam) mit Rachel Weisz und Rachel McAdams war 2017 Lelios englischsprachiges Debüt, das ihm fünf Nominierungen bei den British Independent Film Awards einbrachte. Mit Gloria Bell schuf er 2018 das US-Remake seines Erfolgshits Gloria. Julianne Moore und John Turturro übernahmen die Hauptrollen.

Rajendra Roy (USA)

Seit 2007 ist Rajendra Roy leitender Filmkurator des Museum of Modern Art in New York und verwaltet in dieser Funktion nicht nur eine Sammlung von über 30.000 Werken, sondern war auch an Ausstellungen zu Pedro Almodóvar, Wim Wenders, Tim Burton oder Mike Nichols beteiligt. Als Mitherausgeber verantwortete er das Buch „The Berlin School: Films from the Berliner Schule“. Er ist Ko-Vorsitzender des Auswahlkomitees der Reihe New Directors/New Films der Film Society des Lincoln Centers. Zuvor war er Programmdirektor und Künstlerischer Leiter des Hamptons International Film Festivals sowie von 2004 bis 2008 einziges amerikanisches Mitglied im Auswahlkomitee für den Berlinale-Wettbewerb. Darüber hinaus war Roy, der an der University of California in San Diego Politikwissenschaften und Französische Literatur studierte, bereits Mitglied in verschiedenen Jurys, etwa in Sundance, beim SXSW, für die Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences oder die Independent Spirit Awards.

Trudie Styler (Großbritannien)

Nach ihrer Ausbildung an der Bristol Old Vic Theatre School wurde Trudie Styler zunächst Hauptdarstellerin der Royal Shakespeare Company, daneben übernahm sie zahlreiche Rollen in TV- und Kinofilmen. Seit 1990 ist sie als Filmproduzentin tätig, ihre Dokumentation Moving the Mountain (Berge versetzen) wurde 1995 bei der Berlinale mit dem Preis der Ökumenischen Jury ausgezeichnet. Styler hat zahlreiche preisgekrönte Filme produziert, unter anderem Guy Ritchies Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels (Bube Dame König grAS, 1998), Dito Montiels Sundance-Erfolg A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints (Kids - in den Straßen New Yorks, 2006), Duncan Jones’ Moon (2009) sowie Richard Glatzers und Wash Westmorelands Oscar-Gewinner Still Alice (Still Alice – Mein Leben ohne Gestern, 2014). Ihr hochkarätig besetztes Spielfilm-Regiedebüt Freak Show feierte seine Weltpremiere 2017 bei der Berlinale in der Sektion Generation 14plus. 2019 werden zwei Filme ihrer Produktionsfirma Maven Pictures bei der Berlinale zu sehen sein: Guy Nattivs Skin im Panorama und Andrew Ahns Driveways in Generation Kplus. Styler, die sich als UNICEF-Botschafterin und Gründerin des Rainforest Fund wohltätig engagiert, ist auch weiterhin als Film- und Theaterschauspielerin aktiv, zuletzt spielte sie 2018 in der Netflix- Serie Maniac von Cary Fukunaga.

Jury GWFF Preis Bester Erstlingsfilm

Katja Eichinger (Deutschland)

Nach ihrem Abschluss am British Film Institute arbeitete die Autorin und Journalistin Katja Eichinger für Medien wie Variety, Financial Times, Esquire, Dazed & Confused, The Independent on Sunday oder die deutsche VOGUE. Nach dem Tod ihres Ehemannes Bernd Eichinger schrieb sie dessen Biografie „BE“ (2012), ihr Debütroman „Amerikanisches Solo“ erschien 2014. Die Initiatorin der Giorgio–Moroder-Retrospektive „The Sound of Munich“ und der Andy-Warhol-Hommage „Warholmania“ engagiert sich für junge Filmemacher*innen u.a. durch den „NO FEAR Award“, ein Drehbuchstipendium an der HFF München sowie durch ihre Tätigkeit an der dffb. 2014 war sie Jurymitglied des „Made in Germany – Förderpreis Perspektive“ bei der Berlinale. 2018 produzierte sie mit Rem Koohlhaas und der New Yorker Band Tempers das Konzeptalbum „Junkspace“.

Alain Gomis (Frankreich)

Der französisch-senegalesische Regisseur Alain Gomis wurde 1972 in Frankreich geboren und studierte Kunstgeschichte und Film an der Pariser Sorbonne. Nach Video- und Kurzfilmen drehte er 2002 seinen ersten, mit dem Silbernen Leoparden in Locarno ausgezeichneten Spielfilm L’afrance, in dem es um die seelischen Nöte von Migranten in Frankreich geht. Sein Spielfilm Andalucia von 2008 wurde beim Filmfestival Venice Days gezeigt, Aujourd’hui (Tey) lief 2012 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale und wurde als senegalesischer Vorschlag für die Oscar-Nominierung für den besten fremdsprachigen Film eingereicht. 2017 nahm Alain Gomis mit Félicité erneut am Wettbewerb der Berlinale teil und gewann den Silbernen Bären Großer Preis der Jury.

Vivian Qu (Volksrepublik China)

Die Regisseurin, Drehbuchautorin und Produzentin Vivian Qu gehört zu den wichtigsten Vertreter*innen des chinesischen Independent-Kinos. Ihr Regiedebüt Shuiyin jie (Trap Street, 2013) feierte seine viel beachtete Premiere in Venedig und wurde weltweit auf über 50 Filmfestivals gezeigt. 2017 präsentierte sie ihren Film Jia nian hua (Angels Wear White) im Wettbewerb von Venedig, für den sie weltweit mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurde, u.a. in ihrer Heimat mit dem Regiepreis bei den 54. Golden Horse Awards und dem Preis der chinesischen Regie-Gewerkschaft. Zuvor hatte sie mehrere preisgekrönte Independent-Filme produziert, darunter Diao Yinans Bai Ri Yan Huo (Feuerwerk am hellichten Tage), der 2014 bei der Berlinale den Goldenen Bären für den Besten Film und den Silbernen Bären für den Besten Darsteller gewann. 2018 war Qu Jurypräsidentin beim International Antalya Film Festival.

Jury Glashütte Original – Dokumentarfilmpreis

Maria Bonsanti (Italien)

Maria Bonsanti ist bereits seit 2000 eine feste Größe in der Welt des Dokumentarfilms. Zwölf Jahre lang arbeitete sie für das Festival dei Popoli in Florenz, zu dessen Ko-Leiterin sie 2011 ernannt wurde. Sie war wiederholt für das Locarno Festival tätig, wo sie unter anderem 2006 und 2007 die Sektion Play Forward koordinierte. Von 2012 bis 2017 war Bonsanti künstlerische Leiterin des Dokumentarfilmfestivals Cinéma du réel des Centre Pompidou in Paris. Seit 2017 ist sie Programmleiterin bei Eurodoc, einem führenden Trainingsprogramm und Netzwerk für über 1.000 Dokumentarfilmproduzent*innen aus mehr als 60 Ländern weltweit. Maria Bonsanti wurde bereits mehrfach in Festival-Jurys auf der ganzen Welt berufen.

Gregory Nava (USA)

Der Regisseur und Drehbuchautor Gregory Nava ist bekannt für seine bahnbrechenden Latino-Filme. Seine Werke wurden in Cannes, Sundance und San Sebastián gezeigt. Sein Film El Norte (1984) über guatemaltekische Arbeiter ohne Papiere in den USA erhielt eine Oscar-Nominierung für sein Drehbuch und wurde von der Library of Congress als „American Classic“ benannt. Er schrieb das Buch und führte Regie bei dem Oscar-nominierten Film My Family (Meine verrückte Familie, 1995), dem Golden-Globe-nominierten Selena sowie Bordertown, der 2007 im Wettbewerb der Berlinale lief. Er ist Ko-Autor des Oscar-Gewinners Frida (2002) und ausführender Produzent von American Family, einer TV-Serie über eine Latino-Familie in Los Angeles, die für den Emmy und den Golden Globe nominiert war.

Maria Ramos (Brasilien)

Die Regisseurin Maria Ramos studierte Dokumentarfilm in Amsterdam und ist seit Beginn ihrer Karriere weltweit auf Festivals zu Gast. Ihre Filme wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Für Justiça (Justice, 2004) gewann sie u.a. den Grand Prix bei Visions du Réel und den Amnesty Award bei CPH:DOX. 2007 feierte Juízo (Behave) Premiere beim Locarno Festival und wurde bei DOK Leipzig mit dem FIPRESCI-Preis geehrt. Ihr jüngster Film O processo (The Trial) feierte 2018 Weltpremiere im Panorama der Berlinale und erhielt den Grand Prix bei Visions du Réel, den Preis für den Besten Film bei DocumentaMadrid sowie den Publikumspreis bei IndieLisboa. 2013 ehrte die Helsinki Foundation for Human Rights sie mit dem Marek Nowicki-Preis für ihre Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Menschenrechte.

Internationale Kurzfilmjury

Jeffrey Bowers (USA)

Jeffrey Bowers, der gegenwärtig als Senior Curator bei der Streamingplattform Vimeo die Auswahl in der Kategorie Staff Picks sowie das Management von Staff Pick Premieres, Staff Pick Awards und Vimeos Best of the Year Awards verantwortet, arbeitete bereits als Programmer für das Tribeca Film Festival, das Hamptons International Film Festival und das Rooftop Films Festival. Er war zudem Ko-Kurator von VICE Shorts und schrieb die Kurzfilmkolumne „I’m Short, Not Stupid“. Als Juror und Panelist war Bowers schon häufig zu internationalen Festivals eingeladen, u.a. beim Toronto International Film Festival, beim SXSW Film Festival, dem Slamdance Film Festival, dem Palm Springs International ShortFest, dem Guanajuato Film Festival, und beim IFP (Independent Feature Project) in New York.

Vanja Kaludjercic (Kroatien)

Als Leiterin der Akquise ist Vanja Kaludjercic für den Filmeinkauf der kuratierten Online-Mediathek MUBI tätig. Zuvor arbeitete sie für das International Film Festival Rotterdam und verantwortete dort die Reihe Masterclasses & Talks. Sie war zudem Leiterin des Holland Film Meeting des Netherlands Film Festival, Head of Industry des Les Arcs European Film Festival und baute 2014 das Paris Coproduction Village auf. Als Programmerin prägte Kaludjercic zudem das Sarajevo Film Festival, Cinéma du Réel in Paris und CPH:DOX. Darüber hinaus war sie für den Verleih Demiurg in Slowenien und für das Coproduction Office in Paris aktiv.

Koyo Kouoh (Senegal)

Neben der Gründung und der künstlerischen Leitung der senegalesischen RAW Material Company hat Koyo Kouoh eine Vielzahl an internationalen Ausstellungen verantwortet, u.a. zusammen mit Rasha Salti „Saving Bruce Lee: African and Arab Cinema in the Era of Soviet Cultural Diplomacy“ im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin. Sie war zudem Kuratorin von 1:54 FORUM, der Contemporary African Art Fair in London und New York, sowie Mitglied der verschiedenen kuratorischen Teams für documenta 12 (2007) und documenta 13 (2012). Kouoh war außerdem Kuratorin der 37. EVA International, Irlands Biennale (2016). An der 57. Ausgabe der Carnegie International (2018) beteiligte sie sich mit der Ausstellung „Dig Where You Stand“. Sie hat mehrere Bücher herausgegeben, u.a. „Word!Word?Word! Issa Samb and the Undecipherable Form” (2013), „Condition Report on Building Art Institutions in Africa” (2012) und „Chronicle of a Revolt: Photographs of a Season of Protest” (2012).

Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals

Die Empfänger der Ehrenauszeichnungen des Festivals werden nicht von einer Jury bestimmt, sondern von der Festivalleitung selbst.

Kinderjury Generation Kplus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation Kplus entscheidet eine elfköpfige Kinderjury zwischen 11 und 14 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.


Die Mitglieder der Generation Kplus Kinderjury 2019: Lorenz Deutsch, Luis Leonard Hanft, Jonas Khadiri, Sarah Marie Paulick, Pepe Reisinger, Anouk Sommerfeldt, Rosalie Stauffacher, Nikita Takasaki, Johanna Wallrafen, Liv Grete Weinhold und Helene Zschaubitz..

Jugendjury Generation 14plus

Über die Vergabe der Gläsernen Bären im Wettbewerb Generation 14plus entscheidet eine siebenköpfige Jugendjury zwischen 14 und 18 Jahren. Sie wird über im Vorjahr eingereichte Filmfragebögen von der Sektionsleitung ausgesucht und von der Festivalleitung offiziell berufen.


Die Mitglieder der Jugendjury Generation 14plus 2019: Theodor Bittner Rosser, Christian Däbritz, Johanna Deventer, Pauline Rebmann, Avesta Schiefer, Alanza Clarice Leigh Lovejoy Schmidt und Janek Sommerfeldt.

Generation Kplus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation Kplus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise vom Deutschen Kinderhilfswerk.


2019 wurden in die Generation Kplus Internationale Jury berufen: Kamila Andini, Tilda Cobham-Hervey und Jerzy Moszkowicz.

Generation 14plus Internationale Jury

Diese Jury vergibt den mit € 7.500 dotierten „Großen Preis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ an den besten Langfilm. Der mit 2.500 Euro dotierte „Spezialpreis der Internationalen Jury von Generation 14plus“ geht an den besten Kurzfilm. Gestiftet werden die Preise von der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung.


2019 wurden in die Generation 14plus Internationale Jury berufen: Nanouk Leopold, Pascal Plante und Maria Solrun.