Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

The Garden

## ## ## ## ## ##

Derek Jarman had two gardens. One was in Dungeness, he started to work on it after being diagnosed with HIV. ''The gardener digs in another time, without past or future, beginning or end,'' he wrote in his journal. The other one, this film, opens with images of a man sleeping on a desk, his face resting on an open notebook as a voice proclaims ''I want to share this emptiness with you,'' before a series of vignettes begins in which hallucinations of a two-man-Eden become progressively unravelled. This is a cinema of ecstasy; extinction looms from all sides, friends die silently, queer bodies are whipped, hanged, stoned and chased by cameras. There is the growing impression that representation means violence, means imprisonment. But this is also a cinema of sharing, stemming from the hope that it is indeed possible to share one's dreams, failures, uncertainties and cares. Jarman repeatedly shows himself tending the garden and offers us snapshots of mushrooms, stones, butterflies, poppies, snails, crows, clouds, embraces and music: a whole ecology of images.

by
Derek Jarman

Great Britain 1990

English

95’ · Colour

With

Tilda Swinton (Madonna)
Johnny Mills (Lover)
Kevin Collins (Lover)
Pete Lee-Wilson (Devil)
Spencer Leigh (Maria Magdalena / Adam)
Jody Graber (Boy)
Roger Cook (Christus)
Jessica Martin (Singer)
Philip Macdonald (Joseph/Jesus)

Crew

Director
Derek Jarman
Director of Photography
Christopher Hughes
Editing
Peter Cartwright
Music
Simon Fisher Turner
Producer
James Mackay
Digital restoration
British Film Institute
Halo Post London

Biography

Derek Jarman

Born in Northwood, Middlesex, England in 1942. He studied English and History, then Painting. After his studies, he initially worked as a costume and set designer for the Royal Ballet. In the early 1970s, he was responsible for production design for Ken Russell’s The Devils (GB 1971) and was the set designer for Russell’s Savage Messiah (GB 1972). In 1976, he made his first feature-length film, Sebastiane. Derek Jarman died in 1994.

Filmography

1976 Sebastiane; 85 Min., co-directed by Paul Humfress 1977 Jubilee; 103 min. 1979 The Tempest; 95 min. · Broken English; 12 min. 1980 In the Shadow of the Sun; 54 min., Forum 1981 · Psychic Rally In Heaven; 8 min. · A Room of One's Own; 10 min. 1983 The Dream Machine; 34 min., Panorama 1987 · Pirate Tape; 16 min., Panorama 1987 · Waiting for Waiting for Godot; 18 min. 1984 Imagining October; 27 min. 1985 The Angelic Conversation; 84 min., Panorama 1985 1986 Caravaggio; 90 min., Competition 1986 · The Queen is Dead; 13 min. 1988 The Last of England; 87 min., Forum 1988 1989 War Requiem; 92 min., Competition 1989 1990 The Garden; 92 min., Forum 1991 1991 Edward II; 90 min., Forum 1992 1993 Wittgenstein; 72 min., Panorama 1993 · Blue; 76 min.

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Basilisk Communications

ZDF

World sales

Basilisk Communications

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

The Garden

## ## ## ## ## ##

Derek Jarman hatte zwei Gärten, einer befand sich in Dungeness, hier begann er nach seiner HIV-Diagnose zu gärtnern: „Der Gärtner gräbt zu einer anderen Zeit, ohne Vergangenheit oder Zukunft, ohne Anfang oder Ende“, heißt es in seinem Journal. Sein zweiter Garten ist dieser Film. Er beginnt mit dem Bild eines Mannes, der an einem Schreibtisch schläft, das Gesicht auf einem offenen Notizbuch ruhend. Eine Stimme sagt: „Ich will diese Leere mit dir teilen“, dann folgt eine Reihe Vignetten, in der Halluzinationen eines rein männlichen Garten Eden sich allmählich auflösen. Dies ist ein Kino der Ekstase; von überall her droht Auslöschung, Freunde sterben stumm, queere Körper werden gepeitscht, gehängt, gesteinigt und von Kameras verfolgt. Repräsentation scheint Gewalt und Freiheitsentzug nach sich zu ziehen. Dies ist aber auch ein Kino der Gemeinsamkeit, das auf der Hoffnung gründet, dass es möglich sei, seine Träume, sein Scheitern, seine Unsicherheiten und seine Sorgen zu teilen. Jarman zeigt sich immer wieder beim Gärtnern, überreicht uns Pilze, Steine, Schmetterlinge, Mohnblumen, Schnecken, Krähen, Wolken, Umarmungen und Musik – ein Garten der Bilder.

von
Derek Jarman

Großbritannien 1990

Englisch

95’ · Farbe

Mit

Tilda Swinton (Madonna)
Johnny Mills (Liebhaber)
Kevin Collins (Liebhaber)
Pete Lee-Wilson (Teufel)
Spencer Leigh (Maria Magdalena / Adam)
Jody Graber (Knabe)
Roger Cook (Christus)
Jessica Martin (Sängerin)
Philip Macdonald (Joseph/Jesus)

Stab

Regie
Derek Jarman
Kamera
Christopher Hughes
Montage
Peter Cartwright
Musik
Simon Fisher Turner
Produzent
James Mackay
Digitale Restaurierung
British Film Institute
Halo Post London

Biografie

Derek Jarman

Geboren 1942 im englischen Northwood (Middlesex). Er studierte Englisch und Geschichte, anschließend Malerei. Nach seinem Studium arbeitete er zunächst als Kostüm- und Bühnenbildner für das Royal Ballet. Er verantwortete das Production Design für Ken Russells The Devils (GB 1971) und war als Set Designer für Russels Savage Messiah (GB 1972) tätig. 1976 realisierte er seinen ersten abendfüllenden Film Sebastiane. Derek Jarman starb 1994.

Filmografie

1976 Sebastiane; 85 Min., Co-Regie: Paul Humfress 1977 Jubilee; 103 Min. 1979 The Tempest; 95 Min. · Broken English; 12 Min. 1980 In the Shadow of the Sun; 54 Min., Forum 1981 · Psychic Rally In Heaven; 8 Min. · A Room of One's Own; 10 Min. 1983 The Dream Machine; 34 Min., Panorama 1987 · Pirate Tape; 16 Min., Panorama 1987 · Waiting for Waiting for Godot; 18 Min. 1984 Imagining October; 27 Min. 1985 The Angelic Conversation; 84 Min., Panorama 1985 1986 Caravaggio; 90 Min., Wettbewerb 1986 · The Queen is Dead; 13 Min. 1988 The Last of England; 87 Min., Forum 1988 1989 War Requiem; 92 Min., Wettbewerb 1989 1990 The Garden; 92 Min., Forum 1991 1991 Edward II; 90 Min., Forum 1992 1993 Wittgenstein; 72 Min., Panorama 1993 · Blue; 76 Min.

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Basilisk Communications

ZDF

Weltvertrieb

Basilisk Communications