Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Variety

## ## ## ## ## ##

Christine lives in New York and needs a job. She finds one at the box office of a porn cinema, where she sits between the street and the entrance. Everyone entering the cinema must walk past her. Gradually, she develops a fascination for the porn industry. When one of the customers invites her to a baseball game and suddenly leaves, she decides to follow him. Her obsession takes her to dark streets and fish markets, perhaps into the world of the mafia. The more she follows her desires, the more she seems to resemble the image of a porn star. Her journalist boyfriend distances himself from her, her mother and a friend leave worried messages on her answerphone. Eventually, she tells the man she’s been stalking to meet her at a street corner.
Variety inverts the traditional narrative structure of cinema – whereby a man watches and a woman is watched – without showing, and thus flaunting, the object of female desire. Creating a counter-narrative to Hollywood, Bette Gordon asks the same question formulated by Teresa de Lauretis in “Oedipus Interruptus”: “How did Medusa feel upon seeing herself in Perseus' mirror just before being slain?”

by
Bette Gordon

USA / Federal Republic of Germany / Great Britain 1983

English

97’ · Colour · 35 mm

With

Sandy McLeod (Christine)
Will Patton (Mark)
Luis Guzman (Jose)
Nan Goldin (Nan)
Richard Davidson (Louie)
Mark Boone Jr (Man)
Cookie Mueller (Girl in Bar)
Suzanne Fletcher (Girl in Bar)
Peyton Smith (Girl in Bar)
Spalding Gray (Obscene phone caller)

Crew

Director
Bette Gordon
Screenplay
Kathy Acker, based on an original story by Bette Gordon
Director of Photography
Tom Dicillo, John Forster
Editing
Ila von Hasperg
Music
John Lurie
Sound Design
Ila von Hasperg
Sound
Helene Kaplan
Producer
Renée Shafransky, Variety Motion Pictures
Commissioning Editor
Brigitte Kramer, ZDF – Das kleine Fernsehspiel
Digital restoration
New York Women in Film and Television's Women's Film Preservation Fund
DuArt Film and Video

Biography

Bette Gordon

Born in Boston, Massachusetts, USA in 1955. She studied French Literature, Film Theory and Filmmaking. She is currently a professor at Columbia University in The School of the Arts, where she teaches film directing.

Filmography

1974 i-94; 3 min. 1975 An Erotic Film · Noyes; 4 min. · Still Life; 3 min. · United States of America; 25 min. 1976 An Algorithm; 10 min. 1979 Exchanges; 15 min. 1981 Empty Suitcases; 55 min. 1983 Variety; 97 min., Berlinale Forum 1984 1986 Greed Pay to Play; 20 min. 2000 Luminous Motion; 97 min. 2010 Handsome Harry; 93 min. 2017 The Drowning; 98 min.

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Variety Motion Pictures

ZDF – Das kleine Fernsehspiel
www.daskleinefernsehspiel.zdf.de

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Variety

## ## ## ## ## ##

Christine lebt in New York und braucht einen Job. Sie findet ihn an der Kasse eines Pornokinos. Zwischen Eingang und Straße sitzt sie in ihrem Kartenhäuschen, jeder Besucher muss an ihr vorbei. Nach und nach entwickelt sie eine Faszination für die Pornoindustrie. Als ein Kunde sie zu einem Baseballspiel einlädt und abrupt aufbricht, beginnt sie, ihn zu verfolgen. Ihre Obsession führt sie in dunkle Straßen, auf Fischmärkte, vielleicht in die Welt der Mafia. Je weiter sie sie auslebt, desto mehr ähnelt ihr Bild dem einer Pornodarstellerin. Ihr Freund, ein Journalist, entfernt sich von ihr, Freundin und Mutter hinterlassen besorgte Nachrichten auf dem Anrufbeantworter. Schließlich bestellt sie ihr Verfolgungsopfer an eine Straßenkreuzung.
Variety verkehrt die klassische Erzählstruktur im Kino – der Mann schaut und die Frau wird angeschaut – ins Gegenteil, ohne das Objekt des weiblichen Begehrens zu offenbaren und damit zur Schau zu stellen. Indem sie ein Gegennarrativ zu Hollywood aufbaut, stellt Bette Gordon die Frage, die Teresa de Lauretis in „Ödipus Interruptus“ formulierte: „Was fühlte Medusa, als sie sich, kurz bevor sie erschlagen wurde, in Perseus' Schild gespiegelt sah?“.

von
Bette Gordon

USA / Bundesrepublik Deutschland / Großbritannien 1983

Englisch

97’ · Farbe · 35 mm

Mit

Sandy McLeod (Christine)
Will Patton (Mark)
Luis Guzman (Jose)
Nan Goldin (Nan)
Richard Davidson (Louie)
Mark Boone Jr
Cookie Mueller
Suzanne Fletcher
Peyton Smith
Spalding Gray

Stab

Regie
Bette Gordon
Buch
Kathy Acker, nach einer Erzählung von Bette Gordon
Kamera
Tom Dicillo, John Forster
Montage
Ila von Hasperg
Musik
John Lurie
Sound Design
Ila von Hasperg
Ton
Helene Kaplan
Produzent
Renée Shafransky, Variety Motion Pictures
Redaktion
Brigitte Kramer, ZDF – Das kleine Fernsehspiel
Digitale Restaurierung
New York Women in Film and Television's Women's Film Preservation Fund
DuArt Film and Video

Biografie

Bette Gordon

Geboren 1955 in Boston, Massachusetts, USA. Sie studierte Französische Literaturwissenschaft, Filmwissenschaft und Film und ist derzeit als Professorin für Filmregie an der School of the Arts der Columbia University tätig.

Filmografie

1974 i-94; 3 Min. 1975 An Erotic Film · Noyes; 4 Min. · Still Life; 3 Min. · United States of America; 25 Min. 1976 An Algorithm; 10 Min. 1979 Exchanges; 15 Min. 1981 Empty Suitcases; 55 Min. 1983 Variety; 97 Min., Berlinale Forum 1984 1986 Greed Pay to Play; 20 Min. 2000 Luminous Motion; 97 Min. 2010 Handsome Harry; 93 Min. 2017 The Drowning; 98 Min.

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Variety Motion Pictures

ZDF – Das kleine Fernsehspiel
www.daskleinefernsehspiel.zdf.de