Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Chun nuan hua kai

From Tomorrow on, I Will

## ## ## ## ## ##

Li works nights and sleeps during the day. When he gets home, his roommate is just waking up. They have set up an improvised place to stay in a derelict building without windows in a Beijing expanding in all directions.
Independent Chinese cinema often depicts gigantic skylines, shot from the perspective of people for whom they remain inaccessible and far away . It can hardly be said that Li has made it to such places. He moves through urban life and is still on the margins. The cinematography mainly consists of long shots and captures the inhospitality of the settings. Even if there are people streaming along the streets and though the squares, even if tofu and other meals are sold at the market, the precisely choreographed visual tableaus seem oddly devoid of life. Li works as a night watchman in one of the modern buildings; sometimes he has to change light bulbs. We get an impression of the different tasks and countless activities in the background that are necessary to keep the daily routines of urban life running. We share Li’s pleasure at having bought a new shirt, but when he wears it for the first time, it’s clear that he is still far from finding the rhythm of the megacity.

by
Ivan Marković
Wu Linfeng

Germany / People's Republic of China / Serbia 2019

Mandarin

60’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Li Chuan (Li)
Wei Ruguang (Ma)
A Long (Mr. Wang)
Gu Yueqing (Girl)
Wang Luying (Agency)

Crew

Director
Ivan Marković, Wu Linfeng
Screenplay
Ivan Marković, Tanja Šljivar, Wu Linfeng
Director of Photography
Ivan Marković
Editing
Ivan Marković, Wu Linfeng, Gang Hengju
Sound Design
Shen Sum-Sum
Sound
Zeng Chaopeng
Production Design
Gui Zhou
Costumes
Gui Zhou
Producers
Ivan Marković, Wu Linfeng, Fang Li

Biography

Ivan Marković

Born in Belgrade, Yugoslavia (now Republic of Serbia) in 1989. In 2012, he completed his studies in Cinematography. He is currently completing his master’s degree in Art and Media at the Universität der Künste Berlin. In 2015, he participated in the Berlinale Talent Campus. Ivan Marković works as a cinematographer and filmmaker.

Filmography

2009 Sve, sigurno (Everything Is Safe); 4 min. 2014 Night Walks; multi-channel video 2016 Bai niao (White Bird); 29 min., co-directed by Wu Linfeng, Berlinale Shorts 2016 2017 If and of Any; 19 min., 2-Channel-Video, co-directed by Valentina Knežević 2018 Centar; 48 min. 2019 Chun nuan hua kai

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Wu Linfeng

Born in Hunan, China in 1989. He studied Film at the Lasalle College of the Arts in Singapore. Chun nuan hua kai is his first feature-length film

Filmography

2012 Shuang xi (Double Happiness); 20 min. 2013 Gang Suo (Tightrope); 30 min. 2015 Bai niao (White Bird); 29 min., co-directed by Ivan Marković, Berlinale Shorts 2016 2019 Chun nuan hua kai

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Ivan Marković

Wu Linfeng

Fang Li

World sales

Rediance

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Chun nuan hua kai

From Tomorrow on, I Will

## ## ## ## ## ##

Li arbeitet bei Nacht und schläft am Tag. Wenn er nach Hause kommt, steht sein Mitbewohner gerade auf. Im schnell wuchernden Peking haben sie sich in einem fensterlosen Verschlag eine provisorische Bleibe eingerichtet.
Immer wieder zeigt das unabhängige chinesische Kino gigantische Skylines, aufgenommen aus der Perspektive von Menschen, für die diese Orte so fern wie unerreichbar bleiben. Man kann nicht sagen, dass Li es dorthin geschafft hat. Er bewegt sich im urbanen Leben und ist doch außen vor. Die Kamera bleibt weitgehend in der Totalen und fängt die Unwirtlichkeit der Schauplätze ein. Auch wenn Menschen über Straßen und Plätze strömen, auf dem Markt Tofu und andere Gerichte angeboten werden, wirken die präzise choreografierten Bildtableaus seltsam leblos. Li arbeitet als Nachtwächter in einem der modernen Gebäude, manchmal muss er Glühbirnen auswechseln. Man bekommt einen Eindruck von den Verrichtungen und unzähligen Tätigkeiten im Hintergrund, die für das Funktionieren des städtischen Alltags notwendig sind. Man freut sich mit Li über den Kauf eines neuen Hemdes, doch wenn er es zum ersten Mal trägt, wird er noch längst nicht vom Rhythmus der Megacity aufgenommen.

von
Ivan Marković
Wu Linfeng

Deutschland / Volksrepublik China / Serbien 2019

Mandarin

60’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Li Chuan
Wei Ruguang
A Long
Gu Yueqing
Wang Luying

Stab

Regie
Ivan Marković, Wu Linfeng
Buch
Ivan Marković, Tanja Šljivar, Wu Linfeng
Kamera
Ivan Marković
Montage
Ivan Marković, Wu Linfeng, Gang Hengju
Sound Design
Shen Sum-Sum
Ton
Zeng Chaopeng
Production Design
Gui Zhou
Kostüm
Gui Zhou
Produzenten
Ivan Marković, Wu Linfeng, Fang Li

Biografie

Ivan Marković

Geboren 1989 in Belgrad, Jugoslawien, heute: Republik Serbien. 2012 schloss er ein Kamerastudium ab. Zurzeit absolviert er ein Masterstudium im Fach Kunst und Medien an der Universität der Künste Berlin. 2015 nahm er am Berlinale Talent Campus teil. Ivan Marković arbeitet als Kameramann und Filmemacher in Belgrad und Berlin.

Filmografie

2009 Sve, sigurno (Everything Is Safe); 4 Min. 2014 Night Walks; Multi-Channel Video 2016 Bai niao (White Bird); 29 Min., Co-Regie: Wu Linfeng, Berlinale Shorts 2016 2017 If and of Any; 19 Min., 2-Kanal-Video, Co-Regie: Valentina Knežević 2018 Centar; 48 Min. 2019 Chun nuan hua kai

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Wu Linfeng

Geboren 1989 in Hunan, China, studierte Film. Chun nuan hua kai ist sein erster abendfüllender Film.

Filmografie

2012 Shuang xi (Double Happiness); 20 Min. 2013 Gang Suo (Tightrope); 30 Min. 2015 Bai niao (White Bird); 29 Min., Co-Regie: Ivan Marković, Berlinale Shorts 2016 2019 Chun nuan hua kai

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Ivan Marković

Wu Linfeng

Fang Li

Weltvertrieb

Rediance