Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

Fordlandia Malaise

## ## ## ##

Fordlandia Malaise is a film about the memory and the present of Fordlandia, the company town founded by Henry Ford in the Amazon rain forest in 1928. His aim was to break the British rubber monopoly and produce this material in Brazil for his car production in the United States. Today, the remains of construction testify to the scale of the failure of this neocolonialist endeavor that lasted less than a decade.
Nowadays, Fordlandia is a space suspended between times, between the 20th and 21st centuries, between utopia and dystopia, between visibility and invisibility: architectural buildings of steel, glass, and masonry still remain in use while traces of indigenous life left no marks on the ground.
Although Fordlandia is well-known due to the brief Fordian period, one must not forget the history either before or after. Giving voice to the inhabitants who claim the right to write their own story and reject the ghost town label, Fordlandia Malaise blends together archival imagery, drone footage, tales and narratives, myths and songs.

by
Susana de Sousa Dias

Portugal 2019

Portuguese

Documentary form
40’ · Colour & Black/White

World premiere

Crew

Director
Susana de Sousa Dias
Director of Photography
Susana de Sousa Dias
Editing
Susana de Sousa Dias
Sound Design
António de Sousa Dias, Susana de Sousa Dias
Sound
Susana de Sousa Dias
Production Manager
Ansgar Schaefer
Producer
Ansgar Schaefer

Biography

Susana de Sousa Dias

Susana de Sousa Dias, born in Lisbon, Portugal in 1962, holds a PhD in Fine Arts/Video and teaches at the Fine Arts Faculty of the Universidade de Lisboa. She has exhibited her cinematic works at international film festivals and art exhibitions worldwide and received several awards. In 2012 she was Co-director of the international film festival Doclisboa, opening up the new sections “Cinema of Urgency” and “Passages” there in 2013.

Filmography

2005 Natureza Morta, Visages díune dictature; 72 min. 2009 48; 93 min. 2010 Natureza Morta | Stilleben; video installation, 33 min. 2017 Luz Obscura; 76 min. 2019 Fordlandia Malaise

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Fordlandia Malaise

## ## ## ##

Fordlandia Malaise ist ein Film über die Erinnerung und die Gegenwart von Fordlandia, der Firmensiedlung, die 1928 von Henry Ford im Amazonas-Regenwald gegründet wurde. Sein Ziel war es, das britische Kautschuk-Monopol zu brechen und für seine Autoproduktion in den Vereinigten Staaten dieses Material in Brasilien selbst zu produzieren. Heute zeugen die Überreste der Bauten vom Ausmaß des Scheiterns dieses neokolonialistischen Vorhabens, das weniger als ein Jahrzehnt fortbestand.
Fordlandia ist heute ein Ort zwischen den Zeiten, dem 20. und 21. Jahrhundert, zwischen Utopie und Dystopie, zwischen Sichtbarkeit und Unsichtbarkeit: Gebäude aus Stahl, Glas und Stein werden noch genutzt, während das indigene Leben keine Spuren hinterlassen hat.
Obwohl Fordlandia durch die kurze fordistische Periode bekannt ist, darf man die Geschichte sowohl davor als auch danach nicht vergessen. Fordlandia Malaise gibt den Einwohner*innen eine Stimme, die das Recht, ihre eigene Geschichte zu schreiben, für sich beanspruchen und den Stempel der Geisterstadt ablehnen. Der Film verbindet Archivbilder, Drohnenaufnahmen, Geschichten und Erzählungen, Mythen und Lieder.

von
Susana de Sousa Dias

Portugal 2019

Portugiesisch

Dokumentarische Form
40’ · Farbe & Schwarz-Weiß

Weltpremiere

Stab

Regie
Susana de Sousa Dias
Kamera
Susana de Sousa Dias
Montage
Susana de Sousa Dias
Sound Design
António de Sousa Dias, Susana de Sousa Dias
Ton
Susana de Sousa Dias
Production Manager
Ansgar Schaefer
Produzent
Ansgar Schaefer

Biografie

Susana de Sousa Dias

Susana de Sousa Dias, geboren 1962 in Lissabon, Portugal, promovierte in Bildende Kunst/Video und lehrt Kunst an der Universidade de Lisboa. Ihre filmische Arbeit wurde auf internationalen Filmfestivals und in Kunstausstellungen weltweit gezeigt. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Preise. 2012 war sie Ko-Direktorin des internationalen Filmfestivals Doclisboa, in dem sie 2013 die neuen Sektionen „Cinema of Urgency“ und „Passages“ gründete.

Filmografie

2005 Natureza Morta, Visages díune dictature; 72 Min. 2009 48; 93 Min. 2010 Natureza Morta | Stilleben; Videoinstallation, 33 Min. 2017 Luz Obscura; 76 Min. 2019 Fordlandia Malaise

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion