Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Eynayim Sheli

Chained

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Rashi has been in the police force for sixteen years and is a strict and relentless advocate of law and order. This is something experienced by a handful of young people who appear to be dealing drugs in the park in the afternoons when Rashi orders two of them to strip naked. The next day it transpires that the father of one of the boys is a high-ranking secret service official. Rashi is promptly accused of sexual harassment and suspended from duty. His world is thrown into disarray and not only his own future, but also that of his small family is called into question. Rashi and his partner Avigail have long been trying to have a child together. Avigail’s 13-year-old daughter Yasmin does not make the situation any easier. She is in the throes of puberty, dreams of a career as a model and always stubbornly tries to impose her will. Things are really heating up for Rashi.
Yaron Shani employs a cast of non-professional actors to create this profile of an outwardly strong man whose questionable idealism leads to disaster. A drama about love and the bid to win control that features intense and utterly authentic dialogue.

by
Yaron Shani

Israel / Germany 2019

Hebrew

112’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Eran Naim (Rashi)
Stav Almagor (Avigail)
Stav Patay (Yasmin)

Crew

Written and directed by
Yaron Shani
Director of Photography
Nizan Lotem, Shai Skiff
Editing
Yaron Shani
Sound Design
Aviv Aldema
Sound
Nir Alon
Production Design
Yoav Sinai
Casting
Maya Kessel
Production Manager
Alona Refua
Producers
Saar Yogev, Naomi Levari
Co-producer
Michael Reuter
Co-production
The Post Republic, Berlin
Electric Sheep, Berlin
in cooperation with
ARTE & ZDF/ Das Kleine Fernsehspiel

Biography

Yaron Shani

Born in 1973, the director studied film at Tel Aviv University. His debut feature film Ajami, co-directed with Scandar Copti, was nominated for an Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film, won a Special Mention at Cannes and was awarded five Ophirs at the Israeli Film Awards, including for Best Film, Best Director and Best Screenplay; it went on to pick up a further 15 international prizes. Mishpatei Hahaim (Life Sentences), co-directed with Nurit Kedar, won the Best Documentary Award at the 2013 Jerusalem Film Festival. Eynayim Sheli (Chained) is the second film in his ‘Love’ trilogy.

Filmography

2003 Disphoria; short film 2009 Ajami 2013 Mishpatei Hahaim (Life Sentences); documentary 2018 Erom (Stripped)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Black Sheep Film Productions
bsheepfilms.com/

World sales

Alpha Violet
www.alphaviolet.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Eynayim Sheli

Chained

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Seit 16 Jahren ist Rashi im Polizeidienst. Ein Verfechter von Gesetz und Ordnung, strikt und unerbittlich. Das bekommen auch ein paar Jugendliche zu spüren, die nachmittags im Park mit Drogen zu dealen scheinen. Zwei von ihnen müssen sich auf Rashis Befehl hin aller Kleidungsstücke entledigen. Einen Tag später stellt sich heraus, dass der Vater eines der Jungen ein hoher Beamter beim Secret Service ist. Rashi wird der sexuellen Belästigung beschuldigt und vom Dienst suspendiert. Seine Welt gerät ins Wanken, und nicht nur die eigene Zukunft, sondern auch die seiner kleinen Familie wird infrage gestellt. Mit seiner Lebensgefährtin Avigail wünscht sich Rashi schon lange ein gemeinsames Kind. Avigails 13-jährige Tochter Yasmin macht die Situation nicht leichter. Sie steckt mitten in der Pubertät, träumt von einer Karriere als Model und versucht stets, stur ihren Willen durchzusetzen. Rashis Krise spitzt sich immer mehr zu.
Mit Laiendarstellern inszeniert Yaron Shani das Psychogramm eines nach außen hin starken Mannes, dessen fragwürdiger Idealismus in die Katastrophe führt. Ein Drama um Liebe und Machtanspruch mit intensiven Dialogen von großer Authentizität.

von
Yaron Shani

Israel / Deutschland 2019

Hebräisch

112’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Eran Naim (Rashi)
Stav Almagor (Avigail)
Stav Patay (Yasmin)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Yaron Shani
Kamera
Nizan Lotem, Shai Skiff
Montage
Yaron Shani
Sound Design
Aviv Aldema
Ton
Nir Alon
Production Design
Yoav Sinai
Casting
Maya Kessel
Production Manager
Alona Refua
Produzenten
Saar Yogev, Naomi Levari
Co-Produzent
Michael Reuter
Co-Produktion
The Post Republic, Berlin
Electric Sheep, Berlin
in Zusammenarbeit mit
ARTE & ZDF/ Das Kleine Fernsehspiel

Biografie

Yaron Shani

Der 1973 geborene Regisseur studierte Film an der Universität von Tel Aviv. Sein Spielfilmdebüt, Ajami (Co-Regie: Scandar Copti), erhielt eine Oscar-Nominierung für den besten fremdsprachigen Film, eine Besondere Erwähnung in Cannes, fünf Auszeichnungen bei den israelischen Filmpreisen Ophir, darunter für den Besten Film, die Beste Regie und das Beste Drehbuch, sowie 15 weitere internationale Preise. Mishpatei Hahaim (Co-Regie: Nurit Kedar) wurde auf dem Jerusalem Film Festival 2013 als Bester Dokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet. Eynayim Sheli ist der zweite Teil seiner „Love“-Trilogie.

Filmografie

2003 Disphoria; Kurzfilm 2009 Ajami; Co-Regie: Scandar Copti 2013 Mishpatei Hahaim (Life Sentences); Dokumentarfilm, Co-Regie: Nurit Kedar 2018 Erom (Stripped)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Black Sheep Film Productions
bsheepfilms.com/

Weltvertrieb

Alpha Violet
www.alphaviolet.com