Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Malchik russkiy

A Russian Youth

## ## ## ## ##

In a First World War trench, a uniformed Russian boy with freckles loses his sight during a German gas attack. Due to his keen sense of hearing, he is kept at the front and deployed to listen out for enemy planes at the giant metal pipes that form a kind of early-warning system.
The colours are faded, as if the images were from another time. But there’s also a stylised, abstract quality to the grainy footage. Little by little, the bodies take centre stage – their vulnerability and their energy, they almost seem like creatures. The camera and the editing keep pace with the young blind man. He lurches through the military camp, annoying the other men because he can only grasp his surroundings by touch. His face remains open, innocent. He seems to be trying to find a place for himself as a soldier, both literally and figuratively. Contemporary documentary recordings of orchestra rehearsals for Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3 Op. 30 (1909) and Symphonic Dances Op. 45 (1940) don’t interrupt the narrative flow, but rather translate motifs and themes into an acoustic resonance chamber.

by
Alexander Zolotukhin

Russian Federation 2019

Russian

72’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Vladimir Korolev (Alexey)
Mikhail Buturlov (Nazarka)
Artem Leshik (Makar Petrovich)
Danil Tyabin (Corpsman)
Sergey Goncharenko (Officer)
Filipp Dyachkov (Propagandist)

Crew

Written and directed by
Alexander Zolotukhin
Director of Photography
Ayrat Yamilov
Editing
Tatyana Kuzmicheva
Music
Sergei Rachmaninow
Sound Design
Andrey Fonin
Sound
Andrey Fonin
Production Design
Elena Zhukova
Costumes
Olga Bakhareva
Make-up
Kseniya Malkina
Producers
Eduard Pichugin, Lenfilm Studios, Alexander Sokurov, "Example of Intonation" Fund

Biography

Alexander Zolotukhin

Born in in Saporoschje, Soviet Union, Ukraine in 1988. He earned a degree in Computer Science. Malchik russkiy is his first feature-length film.

Filmography

2011 Novyi Prometei (New Prometheus); 7 min. 2012 Pesni, chto peli do menya (Songs That People Sang Before I Was Born); 12 min. 2014 Ornament; 20 min. 2016 Opyty (Esse); 55 min. 2017 Zhizn' moego druga (Life Story of My Friend); 22 min. 2019 Malchik russkiy (A Russian Youth)

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Lenfilm Studios
lenfilm.ru

Example of Intonation Fund

World sales

ANT!DOTE Sales

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Malchik russkiy

A Russian Youth

## ## ## ## ##

Ein sommersprossiger uniformierter russischer Junge verliert in einem Schützengraben des Ersten Weltkriegs bei einem Gasangriff der Deutschen das Augenlicht. Man behält ihn an der Front und setzt ihn aufgrund seines guten Gehörs an riesigen Metallrohren lauschend als Frühwarnsystem für feindliche Flugzeuge ein.
Die Farben sind ausgeblichen, als würden die Bilder aus einer anderen Zeit stammen. Gleichzeitig haftet dem grobkörnigen Material etwas Stilisiertes, Abstraktes an. Nach und nach treten die Körper in den Vordergrund, ihre Verletzlichkeit und Kreatürlichkeit, aber auch ihre Energie. Kamera und Schnitt halten Schritt mit dem Erblindeten. Er taumelt durch das Militärlager, irritiert die anderen Männer mit Berührungen, weil er seine Umgebung nur noch ertasten kann. Seine Gesichtszüge bleiben stets offen, unschuldig. Im konkreten wie im übertragenen Sinn scheint er Halt im Soldatendasein zu suchen. Aktuelle dokumentarische Aufnahmen von Orchesterproben zu Sergei Rachmaninows 3. Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Op. 30 (1909) und den Sinfonischen Tänzen Op. 45 (1940) unterbrechen nicht den Erzählfluss, vielmehr übersetzen sie Motive und Themen in einen akustischen Resonanzraum.

von
Alexander Zolotukhin

Russische Föderation 2019

Russisch

72’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Vladimir Korolev (Alexey)
Mikhail Buturlov (Nazarka)
Artem Leshik (Makar Petrovich)
Danil Tyabin (Sanitäter)
Sergey Goncharenko (Offizier)
Filipp Dyachkov (Propagandist)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Alexander Zolotukhin
Kamera
Ayrat Yamilov
Montage
Tatyana Kuzmicheva
Musik
Sergei Rachmaninow
Sound Design
Andrey Fonin
Ton
Andrey Fonin
Production Design
Elena Zhukova
Kostüm
Olga Bakhareva
Maske
Kseniya Malkina
Produzenten
Eduard Pichugin, Lenfilm Studios, Alexander Sokurov, "Example of Intonation" Fund

Biografie

Alexander Zolotukhin

Geboren 1988 in Saporoschje, Sowjetunion, heute: Ukraine, absolvierte ein Informatikstudium. Malchik russkiy ist sein erster abendfüllender Film.

Filmografie

2011 Novyi Prometei (New Prometheus); 7 Min. 2012 Pesni, chto peli do menya (Songs That People Sang Before I Was Born); 12 Min. 2014 Ornament; 20 Min. 2016 Opyty (Esse); 55 Min. 2017 Zhizn' moego druga (Life Story of My Friend); 22 Min. 2019 Malchik russkiy (A Russian Youth)

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Lenfilm Studios
lenfilm.ru

Example of Intonation Fund

Weltvertrieb

ANT!DOTE Sales