Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Panorama

Woo Sang

Idol

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Politician Koo Myung-hui is in the midst of the run-up to an election when he one day discovers his wife in the garage, frantically cleaning their son Johan’s blood-splattered car. Their son has just run someone over, and has brought the dead man’s body back home. Koo, who considers himself to be morally upright, persuades Johan to turn himself in. He then takes the body of the victim, which turns out to be the cognitively impaired Bu-nam, and places it back near the street. The fact that Bu-nam’s fiancée, an illegal Chinese immigrant called Ryeon-hwa, may have witnessed the accident, is not the only difficulty that Koo soon faces.
Korean director Lee Su-jin’s second feature is a gloomy, rain-drenched thriller with neo-noir elements. A compelling work, not only on account of its imagery that is as poetic as it is shocking and a plot that is full of twists and turns, but also because it can be read as a statement on the political situation of illegal immigrants in South Korea who are driven to despair by their uncertain status.

by
Lee Su-jin

Republic of Korea 2019

Korean

140’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Han Seok-kyu (Myung-hui)
Sul Kyung-gu (Joong-sik)
Chun Woo-hee (Ryeon-hwa)

Crew

Director
Lee Su-jin
Screenplay
Lee Su-jin
Director of Photography
Son Won-ho
Editing
Choi Hyun-sook
Music
Kim Tae-seong
Sound Design
Lee Sung-june
Sound
Lee Sang-june, Ko Dong-hun
Production Design
Kim Si-yong, Jeong Hye-won
Costumes
Kim Ha-kyoung
Make-up
Lee Jeong-sook
Executive Producer
Kang Kyung-ho
Producers
An Eun-mi, Han Sang-hyun
Associate Producer
Eoh Ji-yeon

Biography

Lee Su-jin

Born in Gimcheon, Gyeongsang-do, South Korea in 1977. The director and screenwriter began his career predominantly making short films, such as Papa and Enemy’s Apple, which were screened and won awards at various international film festivals, as was his film Son’s, which premiered at the International Film Festival Rotterdam in 2006. His debut feature film, Han Gong-Ju, about a rape case and based on real-life events, was one of the most successful independent films in South Korea and won numerous prizes including the Citizen Critics’ Award at the Busan International Film Festival.

Filmography

2002 I Go I; short film 2004 Papa; short film 2006 Son's; short film 2007 Enemy's Apple; short film 2013 Han Gong-ju

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Pollux Barunson Production

Vill Lee Film

CGV Arthouse

World sales

Finecut

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Panorama

Woo Sang

Idol

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Der Politiker Koo Myung-hui steht kurz vor einer Wahl, als er eines Tages seine Frau in der Garage antrifft, die panisch versucht, den blutverschmierten Wagen ihres Sohnes Johan zu reinigen. Der hat kurz vorher jemanden überfahren und den Toten mitgebracht. Koo, der sich selbst als moralischen Menschen sieht, überredet Johan, sich zu stellen. Den Leichnam des Opfers, das sich als der kognitiv beeinträchtigte Bu-nam erweist, drapiert er wieder an der Straße. Doch dass es mit Bu-nams Verlobter, der illegalen chinesischen Einwanderin Ryeon-hwa, eine Zeugin für den Unfall geben könnte, ist nicht die einzige Schwierigkeit, mit der sich Koo bald konfrontiert sieht.
Der zweite Langfilm des koreanischen Regisseurs Lee Su-jin ist ein düsterer, verregneter Thriller mit Neo-Noir-Elementen, der nicht nur durch seine gleichermaßen poetischen und erschreckenden Bilder und einen wendungsreichen Plot überzeugt, sondern sich auch als Statement zur politischen Situation illegaler Einwanderinnen und Einwanderer in Südkorea lesen lässt, die ihr ungewisser Status in die Verzweiflung treibt.

von
Lee Su-jin

Republik Korea 2019

Koreanisch

140’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Han Seok-kyu (Myung-hui)
Sul Kyung-gu (Joong-sik)
Chun Woo-hee (Ryeon-hwa)

Stab

Regie
Lee Su-jin
Buch
Lee Su-jin
Kamera
Son Won-ho
Montage
Choi Hyun-sook
Musik
Kim Tae-seong
Sound Design
Lee Sung-june
Ton
Lee Sang-june, Ko Dong-hun
Production Design
Kim Si-yong, Jeong Hye-won
Kostüm
Kim Ha-kyoung
Maske
Lee Jeong-sook
Ausführender Produzent
Kang Kyung-ho
Produzenten
An Eun-mi, Han Sang-hyun
Associate Producer
Eoh Ji-yeon

Biografie

Lee Su-jin

Geboren 1977 in Gimcheon, Gyeongsang-do, Republik Korea. Der Regisseur und Drehbuchautor drehte vor allem Kurzfilme wie Papa oder Enemy’s Apple, die auf diversen internationalen Festivals gezeigt und ausgezeichnet wurden, so auch sein Film Son’s, der 2006 auf dem International Film Festival Rotterdam seine Premiere feiere. Sein erster Langfilm Han Gong-Ju über einen auf wahren Ereignissen beruhenden Vergewaltigungsfall zählt zu den erfolgreichsten Independentfilmen Südkoreas und wurde mit diversen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter dem Citizen Critics’ Award beim Busan International Film Festival.

Filmografie

2002 I Go I; Kurzfilm 2004 Papa; Kurzfilm 2006 Son's; Kurzfilm 2007 Enemy's Apple; Kurzfilm 2013 Han Gong-ju

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Pollux Barunson Production

Vill Lee Film

CGV Arthouse

Weltvertrieb

Finecut