Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum

Die Kinder der Toten

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Tourism is booming at the Pension Alpenrose. After a dying in an accident, Karin returns as one of the undead. In a cinema owned by a Nazi widow where the past is mourned, she brings the dead back to life.
In her 666-page ghost novel “The Children of the Dead”, Elfriede Jelinek allows the deceased to rise again – even those with swastikas and yellow stars usually so gladly forgotten. Can Jelinek’s themes be adapted to film, not to mention her way with language? The directorial duo from the Nature Theater of Oklahoma were unafraid to try, conscious that the idea might not work. Using amateur actors and Super 8 film in the original Styrian settings, they carried out a transposition, to borrow a musical term: from text to silent film, complete with brass-band music. Or rather a “heimat” film, a home-movie horror, in which the vulgar and the ridiculous survived the shift intact. The viewer is immersed in the universe of the text – and somewhere else at the same time. The parade of zombies in the supermarket recalls the genre films Jelinek herself mentioned as an inspiration, only giving greater credence to the sense that this blend of text, performance, and film, was a terrific idea.

by
Kelly Copper
Pavol Liska

Austria 2019

German intertitles

90’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Andrea Maier (Karin)
Greta Kostka (Mother)
Klaus Unterrieder (Forester)

Crew

Written and directed by
Kelly Copper, Pavol Liska
Director of Photography
Kelly Copper, Pavol Liska
Editing
Kelly Copper, Pavol Liska
Music
Wolfgang Mitterer
Sound Design
Matz Müller
Sound
David Almeida-Ribeiro
Producer
Ulrich Seidl

Biography

Kelly Copper

Born in Gainesville, Florida, USA in 1971. In 1993, she earned a B.A. from Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire, and in 2007, she earned an M.F.A. from Brooklyn College in New York City. In 1996, together with Pavol Liska, she founded the Nature Theater of Oklahoma in New York. Die Kinder der Toten is her first film.

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Pavol Liska

Born in Skalica, Czechoslovakia (now Slovak Republic) in 1973. He gained a B.A. from Dartmouth College, and earned an M.F.A. from Columbia University. In 1996, together with Kelly Cooper, he founded the Nature Theater of Oklahoma in New York. Die Kinder der Toten is his first film.

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Ulrich Seidl Filmproduktion
ulrichseidl.com

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum

Die Kinder der Toten

## ## ## ## ## ## ##

In der Pension Alpenrose brummt der Fremdenverkehr. Von einem tödlichen Unfall kehrt Karin als Untote wieder und holt im Kino einer Nazi-Witwe, in dem die Vergangenheit beweint wird, die Toten in die Gegenwart zurück.
Elfriede Jelinek lässt in ihrem Gespensterroman „Die Kinder der Toten“ auf 666 Seiten Tote auferstehen, auch die mit Hakenkreuzen oder Judensternen, die so gerne verdrängt werden. Kann man Jelineks Sprachkunst und Themen verfilmen? Das Regieduo vom Nature Theater of Oklahoma hat es unerschrocken gewagt, im Bewusstsein, dass es sich um eine schlechte Idee handeln könnte. An den steirischen Originalschauplätzen entstand mit Laiendarsteller*innen und auf Super-8-Film eine Transposition, um es mit einem musikalischen Begriff zu fassen. Aus Text wurde Stummfilm mit Blasmusik. Oder: Heimatfilm, Home Movie Horror, bei dem das Alberne und Vulgäre die Verschiebung unbeschadet überstanden hat. Man ist ganz im Universum des Textes und gleichzeitig woanders. Die Zombieparade im Supermarkt lässt an die Genrefilme denken, die Jelinek selbst als Inspiration benannt hat. Das bestärkt den Eindruck, dass dieses Projekt zwischen Text, Performance und Film eine sehr gute Idee war.

von
Kelly Copper
Pavol Liska

Österreich 2019

deutsche Zwischentitel

90’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Andrea Maier (Karin)
Greta Kostka (Mutter)
Klaus Unterrieder (Förster)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Kelly Copper, Pavol Liska
Kamera
Kelly Copper, Pavol Liska
Montage
Kelly Copper, Pavol Liska
Musik
Wolfgang Mitterer
Sound Design
Matz Müller
Ton
David Almeida-Ribeiro
Produzent
Ulrich Seidl

Biografie

Kelly Copper

Geboren 1971 in Gainesville, Florida, USA. 1993 schloss sie ein Studium am Dartmouth College in Hanover (New Hampshire) ab, 2007 eines am Brooklyn College in New York City. 1996 gründete sie gemeinsam mit Pavol Liska in New York das Nature Theater of Oklahoma. Die Kinder der Toten ist ihr erster Film.

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Pavol Liska

Geboren 1973 in Skalica, Tschechoslowakei, heute: Slowakische Republik. Er studierte am Dartmouth College in Hanover sowie an der Columbia University. 1996 gründete er gemeinsam mit Kelly Cooper in New York das Nature Theater of Oklahoma. Die Kinder der Toten ist sein erster Film.

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Ulrich Seidl Filmproduktion
ulrichseidl.com