Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Berlinale Special

Brecht

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

After award-winning docu-dramas such as Die Manns - Ein Jahrhundertroman (The Manns - Novel of a Century), Heinrich Breloer turns his attentions to the biography of the writer Bertolt Brecht (1898-1956). In a mixture of fiction and documentary, his film sketches a self-confident man who was nonetheless beset by doubts, full of a lust for life and vulnerability. Brecht’s art reflects his inner conflict and is closely linked to the political upheavals of the time. Following Brecht’s life from the beginning of World War I to his death, Breloer concentrates on Brecht’s relationships with his women and his colleagues at the Berliner Ensemble. Time and again, individual portraits are distilled from the extensive material, including that of Brecht’s wife Helene Weigel, who played the legendary role of ‘Mother Courage’; his protégé Martin Pohl, who was arrested by the Stasi; and Brecht’s collaborator and lover, Ruth Berlau. Excerpts from interviews with Brecht’s first love Paula Banholzer, directors Egon Monk and Manfred Wekwerth, actor Regine Lutz and many others contribute to this portrait of the icon of political theatre as a combative, loving and conflicted contemporary.

by
Heinrich Breloer

Germany / Austria 2018

German

Documentary form
187’ · Colour

Rating R0

World premiere

With

Burghart Klaußner (Bertolt Brecht 1947–1956)
Tom Schilling (Bertolt Brecht 1916–1933)
Adele Neuhauser (Helene Weigel 1947–1956)
Trine Dyrholm (Ruth Berlau)
Mala Emde (Paula Banholzer)
Franz Hartwig (Caspar Neher 1916–1933)
Friederike Becht (Marianne Zoff)
Ernst Stötzner (Caspar Neher 1956)
Lou Strenger (Helene Weigel 1927–1933)
Leonie Benesch (Elisabeth Hauptmann 1927–1933)
Marie Luise Stahl (Angelika Hurwicz)

Crew

Written and directed by
Heinrich Breloer
Director of Photography
Gernot Roll
Editing
Claudia Wolscht
Music
Hans Peter Ströer
Sound Design
Frieder Wohlfarth
Sound
Miroslav Píbil
Production Design
Christoph Kanter
Costumes
Ute Paffendorf
Make-up
Silka Lisku
Assistant Director
Eva Kadanová
Casting
Heta Mantscheff
Production Managers
Gilbert Möhler, Tahmee Theiler
Producers
Corinna Eich, Jan S. Kaiser
Co-producers
Georg Höss, Heinrich Ambrosch, Michal Pokorny, Zybnek Pippal
Co-production
Bavaria Fiction, Geiselgasteig
Bavaria Filmproduktion, Köln
Satel Film, Wien

Biography

Heinrich Breloer

Born in Gelsenkirchen, Germany in 1942, he studied German and philosophy followed by a doctorate in literature and theatre at the University of Hamburg and then became a freelance film and television critic. He made his directorial debut in 1976 with Horst Königstein, with whom he collaborated on further films until 1982. In 1997 he caused a sensation with Todesspiel, about the kidnapping and murder of Hanns Martin Schleyer. His four-part mini-series Die Manns. Ein Jahrhundertroman won numerous prizes including a Grimme Award and the Bavarian and the German TV Awards. His 2008 novel adaptation Buddenbrooks was his first fiction film to be released in cinemas.

Filmography (selection)

1993 Wehner – die unerzählte Geschichte; TV movie 1997 Todesspiel; TV documentary 2001 Die Manns - ein Jahrhundertroman (The Manns - Novel of a Century); TV movie 2005 Speer und Er; TV movie 2008 Buddenbrooks (Buddenbrooks – The Decline of a Family) 2018 Brecht

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Produced by

Bavaria Fiction
www.bavaria-fiction.de

Bavaria Filmproduktion Köln
www.bavaria-film.de

World sales

Bavaria Media
www.bavaria-media.de

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Berlinale Special

Brecht

## ## ## ## ## ## ## ## ##

Nach preisgekrönten Doku-Dramen wie Die Manns – Ein Jahrhundertroman wendet sich Heinrich Breloer der Biografie des Dichters Bertolt Brecht (1898–1956) zu. In einer Mischform aus Fiktion und Dokumentation skizziert der Film einen von sich selbst überzeugten und zugleich zweifelnden Menschen voller Lebensgier und Verletzlichkeit. Brechts Kunst spiegelt seine innere Zerrissenheit und ist eng mit den politischen Umwälzungen der Zeit verbunden. Breloer folgt seiner Vita vom Beginn des Ersten Weltkriegs bis zu seinem Tod und zeigt die Beziehungen zu seinen Frauen und zu seinen Mitarbeiter*innen am Berliner Ensemble. Immer wieder werden Einzelporträts aus dem umfangreichen Material gefiltert, so von Brechts Ehefrau, der legendären „Mutter Courage“ Helene Weigel, dem von der Stasi verhafteten Meisterschüler Martin Pohl oder von Brechts Mitarbeiterin und Geliebter Ruth Berlau. Ausschnitte aus Interviews mit Brechts erster Liebe Paula Banholzer, den Regisseuren Egon Monk und Manfred Wekwerth, der Schauspielerin Regine Lutz und vielen anderen tragen dazu bei, die Ikone des politischen Theaters als kämpfenden, liebenden und leidenden Zeitgenossen zu porträtieren.

von
Heinrich Breloer

Deutschland / Österreich 2018

Deutsch

Dokumentarische Form
187’ · Farbe

Altersfreigabe FSK 0

Weltpremiere

Mit

Burghart Klaußner (Bertolt Brecht 1947–1956)
Tom Schilling (Bertolt Brecht 1916–1933)
Adele Neuhauser (Helene Weigel 1947–1956)
Trine Dyrholm (Ruth Berlau)
Mala Emde (Paula Banholzer)
Franz Hartwig (Caspar Neher 1916–1933)
Friederike Becht (Marianne Zoff)
Ernst Stötzner (Caspar Neher 1956)
Lou Strenger (Helene Weigel 1927–1933)
Leonie Benesch (Elisabeth Hauptmann 1927–1933)
Marie Luise Stahl (Angelika Hurwicz)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Heinrich Breloer
Kamera
Gernot Roll
Montage
Claudia Wolscht
Musik
Hans Peter Ströer
Sound Design
Frieder Wohlfarth
Ton
Miroslav Píbil
Production Design
Christoph Kanter
Kostüm
Ute Paffendorf
Maske
Silka Lisku
Regieassistenz
Eva Kadanová
Casting
Heta Mantscheff
Production Managers
Gilbert Möhler, Tahmee Theiler
Produzenten
Corinna Eich, Jan S. Kaiser
Co-Produzenten
Georg Höss, Heinrich Ambrosch, Michal Pokorny, Zybnek Pippal
Co-Produktion
Bavaria Fiction, Geiselgasteig
Bavaria Filmproduktion, Köln
Satel Film, Wien

Biografie

Heinrich Breloer

Geboren 1942 in Gelsenkirchen. Auf ein Germanistik- und Philosophiestudium folgte eine literatur- und theaterwissenschaftliche Dissertation an der Universität Hamburg. Freier Film- und Fernsehkritiker. 1976 erste Regiearbeit mit Horst Königstein, bis 1982 weitere gemeinsame Filme. 1997 sorgte Breloer mit Todesspiel über die Schleyer-Entführung für Aufsehen. Der Vierteiler Die Manns - ein Jahrhundertroman wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen geehrt (u. a. Grimme-Preis, Bayerischer Fernsehpreis, Deutscher Fernsehpreis). Mit der Romanadaption Buddenbrooks brachte er 2008 seinen ersten reinen Spielfilm in die Kinos.

Filmografie (Auswahl)

1993 Wehner – die unerzählte Geschichte; TV-Film 1997 Todesspiel; TV-Dokumentarfilm 2001 Die Manns - ein Jahrhundertroman (The Manns - Novel of a Century); TV-Film 2005 Speer und Er; TV-Film 2008 Buddenbrooks (Buddenbrooks – The Decline of a Family) 2018 Brecht

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019

Produktion

Bavaria Fiction
www.bavaria-fiction.de

Bavaria Filmproduktion Köln
www.bavaria-film.de

Weltvertrieb

Bavaria Media
www.bavaria-media.de