Berlinale: Programme


Film File

Forum Expanded

Meridian

## ## ##

Meridian follows the last unit in a fleet of autonomous machines sent to deliver an emergency vaccine. Through a robot’s agnostic eye, the film looks at how human dramas are inscribed onto the inanimate, searching for possible parallels between automation and purgatory, depression and malfunction.
The film is inspired by a real event that occurred in Washington, D.C. on 17 July 2017, where an automated security robot from the company Knightscope was found floating in a fountain at the building it patrolled. It had plunged into the water while on a routine patrol, spurring speculation about whether the machine had chosen to end its life or if this was just a glitch in an otherwise reliable new technology. Perhaps more interesting than the fate of the machine was the desire to see its death within a human context.

by
Calum Walter

USA 2019

Without dialogue

15’ · Colour

World premiere

With

Gail Walter (Human)

Crew

Written and directed by
Calum Walter
Director of Photography
Calum Walter
Editing
Calum Walter
Music
Calum Walter
Sound Design
Calum Walter
Sound
Calum Walter
Production Design
Calum Walter
Casting
Calum Walter
Production Manager
Calum Walter
Producers
Zach Barner, Rose Dickson

Biography

Calum Walter

Calum Walter, born in South Africa in 1985, studied film at the University of Colorado and later received an MFA from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. He is an artist working in sound and moving image. He lives in Chicago and is a lecturer in the Department of Radio, Television and Film at Northwestern School of Communication. His films have screened at various film festivals.

Filmography

2013 Heights; 19 min. · Experiments in Buoyancy; 5 min. 2014 Relief; 5 min. 2015 Terrestrial; 10 min. 2016 Unknown Hours; 10 min. 2018 Meridian

Bio- & filmography as of Berlinale 2019

Berlinale: Programm


Filmdatenblatt

Forum Expanded

Meridian

## ## ##

Meridian folgt der letzten Einheit einer Flotte autonomer Maschinen, die zur Lieferung eines Notfallimpfstoffs ausschwärmen. Mittels des agnostischen Blicks eines Roboterauges macht sich der Film auf die Suche nach möglichen Parallelen zwischen Automatisierung und Verdammnis, Depression und Fehlfunktion und untersucht, wie menschliche Dramen in unbeseelte Objekte und Maschinen eingeschrieben werden.
Der Film ist von einem Ereignis inspiriert, das sich am 17. Juli 2017 in Washington, D.C. zugetragen hat: Ein automatisierter Sicherheitsroboter der Firma Knightscope wurde in einem Brunnen des Gebäudes entdeckt, in dem er patrouillierte. Er war auf einem Routinerundgang ins Wasser gestürzt, was zu Spekulationen führte, ob die Maschine absichtlich den Freitod gesucht hatte oder ob vielmehr ein Fehler in einer ansonsten zuverlässigen neuen Technologie die Ursache für den Unfall war. Interessanter als das Schicksal der Maschine ist vielleicht der Wunsch, ihren Tod in einem menschlichen Zusammenhang zu sehen.

von
Calum Walter

USA 2019

Ohne Dialog

15’ · Farbe

Weltpremiere

Mit

Gail Walter (Mensch)

Stab

Regie, Buch
Calum Walter
Kamera
Calum Walter
Montage
Calum Walter
Musik
Calum Walter
Sound Design
Calum Walter
Ton
Calum Walter
Production Design
Calum Walter
Casting
Calum Walter
Production Manager
Calum Walter
Produzenten
Zach Barner, Rose Dickson

Biografie

Calum Walter

Calum Walter, geboren 1985 in Südafrika, studierte Film an der University of Colorado und absolvierte anschließend einen MFA an der School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Er ist Künstler und arbeitet mit Sound und Bewegtbild. Er lebt in Chicago und ist als Dozent an der Northwestern School of Communication tätig. Seine Filme wurden auf internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt.

Filmografie

2013 Heights; 19 Min. · Experiments in Buoyancy; 5 Min. 2014 Relief; 5 Min. 2015 Terrestrial; 10 Min. 2016 Unknown Hours; 10 min. 2018 Meridian

Stand Bio- & Filmografie: Berlinale 2019